DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9, 11-12, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Vandemergel (WO 2024126784 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vandemergel (hereafter “D1”) discloses an automated storage and retrieval system (abstract) comprising: racking (figure 1) comprising a plurality of rails (7); a shuttle (2) comprising a wheel (figure 2b; [24]) that is configured to roll along at least one of the plurality of rails along a linear rolling path ([26]); and a wedge stop (blocking arrangement 10/10’) coupled, directly or indirectly, to the racking and proximate to the linear rolling path, wherein the wedge stop comprises a sloped surface (at second leg portion 11b’) that is configured to receive the wheel as the wheel is rolling along the linear rolling path ([29]).
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the wedge stop (10’) is configured to progressively slow and stop the rolling of the wheel along the linear rolling path (includes a ramp at the front second leg portion 11b’ – figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, D1 discloses wherein the wedge stop (10’) comprises a depression (depressed area is shown between instances of 15’ on 11b’ – figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, D1 discloses wherein the sloped surface of the wedge stop comprises a channel (in 11b’ adjacent 15’), wherein a width of the channel is within five percent of a width of a rolling surface of the wheel (11b’ configured to match a wheel width) ([29]).
Regarding claims 11-12, 14 and 19, see the discussions of claims 1-2, 4 and 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandemergel (WO 2024126784 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, D1 discloses wherein the sloped surface (at 11b’) of the wedge stop defines a slope angle relative to the linear rolling path ([29] discloses beveled front) but does not specify the exact angle beyond what is shown in figure 5, a slight angle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to select the angle to be three degrees or less as a matter of obvious design choice as D1 already discloses selecting angle based on length of the leg portion.
Claim(s) 5-8, 10, 15-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandemergel (WO 2024126784 A1) in view of Don (KR 100784618 B1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, D1 does not disclose wherein a depression of the wedge stop defines a first radius of curvature and the wheel defines a second radius of curvature, wherein the first radius of curvature is within five percent of the second radius of curvature.
Don (hereafter “D2”) discloses a wedge stop device (12) for stopping a wheels of a trolley (2), the wedge stop device (12) comprising a depression (12a) which matches and receives the wheel and has the same radius of curvature (figure 2) to slow the wheel travel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add a curved depression as taught by D2 in the upper side of second leg portion of D1 to secure the wheel in place of the wedge stop and prevent bounce back.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, D1 as modified discloses wherein the wedge stop (10’) comprises a first end (front) and a second end (30, rear), wherein a first thickness of the wedge stop at the first end is less than a second thickness of the wedge stop at the second end, and wherein the depression is positioned within one inch of the second end (rear end at 30 is wider and as modified the depression would be at a top of 11b’ adjacent to the front of 30).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 17-18, D1 as modified discloses, wherein the wedge stop (10’) has a longitudinal length and the depression defines a longitudinal distance (as modified the depression would extend along a part of the top of 11b’ less than a quarter of the total length according to a wheel size) where a ratio between the longitudinal length and the longitudinal distance is at least 4:1 and up to 7:1.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, see the discussions of claims 1-9 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.
/PATRICK D HAWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631