CTNF 18/677,449 CTNF 77787 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Drogi et al (WO 2007,092,244; hereinafter Drogi) . Regarding claim 1, Drogi disclose circuitry (Fig. 10A) comprising: a radio-frequency amplifier (PA 104); a plurality of power supply switches (switched mode power supply SMPS 404) coupled to a power supply terminal of the radio-frequency amplifier (PA 104); a voltage sensor (1002) coupled to the radio frequency amplifier and configured to output a sensor output signal (sensing VSWR at output of PA 104; ¶ [0079]); and a control logic (1004) configured to generate a digital control signal (1008) for selectively activating and deactivating the plurality of power supply switches (404) based on the sensor output signal (322) (if the power dissipated by the PA 104 is above a predetermined threshold, the antenna load variation control circuit 1004 may then control the RPFA 306 to decrease its attenuation level to increase the output feedback voltage input to the amplitude comparator 308, in turn, this results in reducing the adjusted supply voltage 208, e.g. by activating and deactivating the switched mode power supply SMPS 404, and the overall output power of the PA 104 until a safe level of power dissipation in the PA 104 is reached; Fig. 10A; ¶ [0082]). Regarding claim 2, Drogi disclose the circuitry of claim 1, wherein the plurality of power supply switches comprises: a first power supply switch (404) having a first terminal coupled to the power supply terminal (208) of the radio-frequency amplifier (104) and having a second terminal coupled to a power supply line (210) on which a positive power supply voltage (Vcc) is provided (Figs. 3A, 10A; paras. [0054], [0062], [0080]) . 07-15 AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Rabjohn et al (US 2007/0,296,504) . Regarding claim 15, Rabjohn disclose a circuitry (Figs. 2a, 2b) comprising: a radio frequency amplifier (230) (¶ [0034]); a voltage sensor (250) coupled to the radio frequency amplifier (230) and configured to generate a sensor output signal (¶ [0034]); a filter (240, 260) configured to filter the sensor output signal and to produce a corresponding filtered signal (¶ [0033]); and a control logic (280, 220) configured to adjust one or more components associated with the radio-frequency amplifier (230) based on the filtered signal (paras. [0034]-[0042]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drogi et al (WO 2007,092,244) in view of Yao et al (CN 109,510,634; hereinafter Yao) . Regarding claim 4, Drogi disclose the circuitry of claim 1, further comprising: a filter (411) and having an input coupled to the control logic (506) (Fig. 10A; ¶ [0060]). Drogi do not disclose the filter having an input coupled to the voltage sensor and having an output coupled to the control logic. In the same field of endeavor, Yao disclose a filter (3) having an output coupled to the voltage sensor (4) and having an output coupled to the control logic (5 & 6) (Fig. 1; pg. 3, lines 7-39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so to filter out the unwanted RF component from the output signal. Yao do not disclose the filter input is coupled to the sensor. However, the examiner takes official notice that rearranging the order of the filter and the voltage sensor is well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention or mere reversal of essential working parts of a device involved only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein , 8 USPQ 167. In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drogi et al (WO 2007,092,244) in view of Rabjohn (US 2007/0,296,504) . Regarding claim 4, Drogi disclose the circuitry of claim 1, further comprising: a filter (411) and having an input coupled to the control logic (506) (Fig. 10A; ¶ [0060]). Drogi do not disclose the filter having an input coupled to the voltage sensor and having an output coupled to the control logic. In the same field of endeavor, Rabjohn disclose a filter (240, 260) having an output coupled to the voltage sensor (250) and having an output coupled to the control logic (280, 220) (Fig. 2a, 2b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so to filter out the unwanted RF component from the output signal . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drogi et al (WO 2007,092,244) in view of Yao et al (CN 109,510,634) further in view of Li et al (CN 114,285,392; hereinafter Li) . Regarding claim 5, Drogi and Yao disclose the circuitry of claim 4, wherein the control logic is further configured to output a filter adjustment signal (509) for adjusting the filter between a first mode (at LPF 411) with a first bandwidth and a second mode (at HPF 410) with a second bandwidth inherently different than the first bandwidth (Drogi; Fig. 10A; paras. [0056], [0061]-[0062], [0067]). Drogi and Yao do not a filter adjustment signal for adjusting the filter between a first mode with a first bandwidth and a second mode with a second bandwidth different than the first bandwidth. In the same field of endeavor, Li disclose a filter adjustment signal for adjusting the filter between a first mode with a first bandwidth and a second mode with a second bandwidth different than the first bandwidth (pg. 3, lines 18-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to tune the bandwidth of the filter with different bandwidths according to the mode control signals . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drogi et al (WO 2007,092,244) in view of Long et al (CN 209,930,023; hereinafter Long) . Regarding claim 7, Drogi disclose the circuitry of claim 1, wherein Drogi do not disclose the control logic comprises: a comparator circuit having a first voltage threshold and a second voltage threshold different than the first voltage threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Long discloses a comparator circuit having a first voltage threshold and a second voltage threshold different than the first voltage threshold (clm. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indicator of two diverse voltage thresholds for comparison in order to control the power supply voltage to the power amplifier based on e.g. different switched modes of operation that require separate voltage thresholds . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drogi et al (WO 2007,092,244) in view of Long et al (CN 209,930,023) in view of Rana (US 7,919,983) further in view of Pietri et al (US 2009/0,278,571) . Regarding claim 8, Drogi disclose the circuitry of claim 7, wherein Drogi do not disclose the comparator circuit comprises: a first comparator having p-type input transistors; and a second comparator having n-type input transistors. In the same field of endeavor, Rana disclose a first comparator and a second comparator having p-type transistors (clm. 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to have the comparator made of transistors for purposes of e.g. switching between different comparator thresholds. Drogi and Rana do not disclose the second comparator having n-type transistors. In the same field of endeavor, Pietri disclose a comparator (302) having n-type transistors (508-511) (¶ [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to have an alternative well-known type of transistors, e.g. n-FETs, to make up the structure of the comparator . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drogi et al (WO 2007,092,244) in view of Rabjohn et al (US 2007/0,296,504; hereinafter Rabjohn) . Regarding claim 13, Drogi disclose the circuitry of claim 1, wherein Drogi do not explicitly disclose the voltage sensor is coupled to an output port or an input port of the radio frequency amplifier. In the same field of endeavor, Rabjohn disclose the voltage sensor (250) is coupled to an output port or an input port of the radio frequency amplifier (paras. [0032]-[0034]; Fig. 2a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order have a voltage detector coupled directly to the output port of the radio frequency amplifier to sense when the voltage at the collector/drain of the RF amplifier 230 drops below a threshold which indicates the onset of saturation (Rabjohn; ¶ [0034]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drogi et al (WO 2007,092,244) in view of Doherty et al (US 6,822,511; hereinafter Doherty) . Regarding claim 14, Drogi disclose the circuitry of claim 1, wherein Drogi do not disclose the voltage sensor is coupled to an internal node within the radio-frequency amplifier. In the same field of endeavor, Doherty disclose a voltage sensor (406, 506) is coupled to an internal node (at 411, 412, 513) within the radio-frequency amplifier stages (421, 422, 423) (Figs. 4, 5; col 10, lines 3-23; col 12, lines 42-59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to sense the voltage based on a potential of the supply voltage and at different stages inside the radio frequency amplifier . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabjohn et al (US 2007/0,296,504) in view of Li et al (CN 114,285,392; hereinafter Li) . Regarding claim 17, Rabjohn disclose the circuitry of claim 15, wherein Rabjohn do not disclose the control logic is further configured to output a bandwidth adjustment signal for selectively configuring the filter in a first mode with a first bandwidth and a second mode with a second bandwidth different than the first bandwidth. In the same field of endeavor, Li disclose a control logic is configured to output a bandwidth adjustment signal for selectively configuring the filter in a first mode with a first bandwidth and a second mode with a second bandwidth different than the first bandwidth (pg. 3, lines 18-22; pg. 5, line 4-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to tune the bandwidth of the filter with different bandwidths according to the mode control signals. Regarding claim 20, Rabjohn disclose circuitry (Figs. 2a, 2b) comprising: an amplifier (230) (¶ [0034]); a sensor (250) configured to monitor a signal associated with the amplifier and to produce a corresponding sensor output signal (¶ [0034]); a control circuit (280, 220) configured to control one or more components associated with the amplifier (230) based on the sensor output signal (paras. [0034]-[0042]); and an adjustable latency circuit (240, 260) coupled between the sensor (250) and the control circuit (280, 220). Rabjohn do not explicitly disclose the adjustable latency circuit has an adjustable latency that is tuned by the control circuit. In the same field of endeavor, Li disclose an adjustable latency circuit has an adjustable latency that is tuned by a control circuit (pg. 3, lines 18-22, pg. 5, line 4- pg. 6, line 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to adjust the filter components with the desired latency, e.g. delay, depending on the tuning control signals . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabjohn et al (US 2007/0,296,504) in view of Rana (US 7,919,983) further in view of Pietri et al (US 2009/0,278,571) . Regarding claim 18, Rabjohn disclose the circuitry of claim 15, wherein Rabjohn do not disclose the control logic further comprises a comparator circuit having a p type comparator and an n-type comparator. In the same field of endeavor, Rana disclose a comparator circuit having a p type comparator and a second p type comparator (clm. 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to have the comparator made of transistors for purposes of e.g. switching between different comparator thresholds. Rabjohn and Rana do not disclose the second comparator is n type. In the same field of endeavor, Pietri disclose a comparator (302) having n-type transistors (508-511) (¶ [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to have diverse well-known type of transistors, e.g. n-FETs, to make up the structure of the comparator . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 6, 9-12, 16, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 3, Drogi disclose the circuitry of claim 2, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the plurality of power supply switches further comprises: a resistor; and a second power supply switch coupled in series with the resistor between the power supply terminal of the radio frequency amplifier and the power supply line. Regarding claim 6, Drogi and Yao disclose the circuitry of claim 5, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the filter comprises: an adjustable resistor coupled between an input of the filter and an output of the filter, wherein the adjustable resistor is tuned by the filter adjustment signal; and a capacitor coupled between the output of the filter and a ground power supply line. Regarding claim 9, Drogi, Long, Rana, and Pietri disclose the circuitry of claim 8, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the comparator circuit further comprises: a first inverting buffer having an input coupled to the first comparator via a first switch and coupled to the second comparator via a second switch, wherein the first switch is also coupled to an output of the first inverting buffer. Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the circuitry of claim 9, wherein the comparator circuit further comprises: a second inverting buffer having an input coupled to the first inverting buffer and having an output coupled to the second switch. Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest circuitry of claim 10, wherein the comparator circuit further comprises: a resistive array coupled to the output of the second inverting buffer, to an input of the first comparator, and to an input of the second comparator, wherein the resistive array is configured to receive a reference voltage. Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest circuitry of claim 10, wherein the first comparator is selectively activated and deactivated based on a first control signal generated at the output of the first inverting buffer, and wherein the second comparator is selectively activated and deactivated based on a second control signal generated at the output of the second inverting buffer. Regarding claim 16, Drogi disclose the circuitry of claim 15, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the one or more components associated with the radio-frequency amplifier comprises: a first power supply switch having a first terminal coupled to a power supply terminal of the radio-frequency amplifier and having a second terminal coupled to a power supply line on which a positive power supply voltage is provided; and a second power supply switch coupled in series with a resistor between the power supply terminal of the radio-frequency amplifier and the power supply line. Regarding claim 19, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the circuitry of claim 18, wherein the comparator circuit further comprises: a first inverting buffer; a first switch coupled between the p-type comparator and the first inverting buffer; a second switch coupled between the n-type comparator and the first inverting buffer; a second inverting buffer coupled in series with the first inverting buffer; and a resistive chain coupled between the second inverting buffer and inputs of the p-type and n-type comparators. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LANA N LE whose telephone number is (571) 272-7891. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wesley Kim, can be reached at (571) 272-7867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 2 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 3 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 4 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 5 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 6 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 7 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 8 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 9 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 10 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/677,449 Page 11 Art Unit: 2648