DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-13 & 14-18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al., US PG Pub 2008/0191653 A1., (hereafter Han) in view of Wu US PG Pub 2022/0192444., A1 (hereafter WU).
Regarding claim 1 where it is disclosed by Han to have a robotic cleaning device that uses edge detection and controlling the path of the robotic device using the detected edges as described in at least the summary of the invention. Han does discloses their system having:
“A method for determining a working path of a cleaning robot [at least paragraphs 15-17 & 47, where it cites, “…the traveling path of the robot cleaner, moving the robot cleaner to go straight in parallel to the obstacle by a first predetermined distance when the obstacle is detected to be in the traveling path of the robot cleaner…”], comprising: controlling the cleaning robot to rotate a preset angle based on a target rotation direction on a surface [at least paragraphs 18, 46-47, & 74 as well as figures 3 & 5-7]; detecting [at least paragraphs 44-46 describes sensors], during the rotation of the cleaning robot, whether the cleaning robot generates a first edge corner trigger signal [at least paragraphs 11-18 and figures 5-7 ]; and based on the detecting result of the first edge corner trigger signal [at least figures 6-7 and paragraphs 79-81], determining a working path of the cleaning robot on the surface [at least figures 6-7 and paragraphs 79-81].”
Where it is not specifically disclosed by the prior art of Han to have “a trigger signal” that causes the robot to turn. The prior art of Han does teach their system detecting via a sensors, described in paragraphs 44-46, to have the robotic device detect corner and turn the robot based on the detected corner. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the system produce “a trigger signal” when the robot detects a corner. Where the sensor in the prior art of Hand would be able to produce a signal when it detects a corner and send the signal to the controller, this has been determined to be equivalent to applicants “trigger signal”. Furthermore, since it has been held that the omission of an element/trigger signal and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before only involves routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184. Where in this instance the modification of Han which has a sensor signal that is produced from the sensor and sent to the controller to have the controller now carry out a function based on the “trigger” sent from the sensor would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for example to prevent the robotic device from bumping into obstacles and/or falling down stairs. Han discloses in at least figure 7 to have their robotic system being able to move based on detected corners/edges. Where in figure 7 it is shown how the robot moves from point “s” to point “A” where it detects the wall/edge thus turns horizontal to move towards point “B”.
However, where it is not specifically disclosed by Han to have their system also include, “… wherein the cleaning robot [at least paragraph 38 where it cites “window wiping robot”] is a window cleaning robot for cleaning a glass surface [at least paragraph 38 where it states “glass window with frame”], a marble media wall, and a tile;…”, “when the first edge corner trigger signal is not detected, determine the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface to be a horizontal sweeping path [at least paragraphs 38, 49 & 74, as well as figure 1f ].”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Han by the teachings of Wu, where they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of robotic cleaning devices. Where one would have been motived to modify Han, with a reasonable expectation of success, by the teachings of Wu, by the sue of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. Where in this instance the modification of Han whom does not specifically have their system have the robotic device detect the edge of the window to allow it to move in a horizontal direction as it cleans a window, as taught by Wu, in at least figure 1f. Furthermore, it is also disclosed by WU to have “the window wiping robots not only liberate people from heavy household chores, but also reduce the risk of aerial work,” see paragraph 2 of Wu.
Regarding claim 2 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu, where Han further discloses having their robot include sensors that allow the device to determine where it is and what direction it is moving in, as described in at least paragraph 46. Where it is stated by Han to have a “traveling-direction detector 16 detects a rotation angle of the robot cleaner. If an obstacle has been detected on the traveling path of the robot cleaner, the traveling-direction detector is implemented with a rotation-angle sensor (e.g., a gyro sensor) to detect the rotation angle of the robot cleaner at the detected obstacle.” Furthermore, it is also shown in at least figure 5 to have the robotic device travel towards an obstacle and then at it approaches the obstacle it moves a determined angle “A1” so that it moves along the obstacle. This is read upon by applicants claim to, “before controlling the cleaning robot to rotate based on the target rotation direction, the method comprises: obtaining an initial orientation of the cleaning robot on the surface; determining the target rotation direction based on the initial orientation.”
Regarding claim 3 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least figures 6-7 to have the robot, “before controlling the cleaning robot to rotate based on the target rotation direction, the method comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to rotate back to a correct position, so that the cleaning robot rotates from a current orientation to a first preset orientation, using the first preset orientation as the initial orientation of the cleaning robot.”
Regarding claim 4 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least paragraph 46 to have, “traveling-direction detector 16 detects a rotation angle of the robot cleaner. If an obstacle has been detected on the traveling path of the robot cleaner, the traveling-direction detector is implemented with a rotation-angle sensor (e.g., a gyro sensor) to detect the rotation angle of the robot cleaner at the detected obstacle.” This is read upon by applicants claim to, “obtaining the initial orientation of the cleaning robot on the surface comprises: obtaining a posture signal of the cleaning robot; based on the posture signal, obtaining the initial orientation of the cleaning robot on the surface.” Where the gyroscope that is described above by Han would allow the robotic device to determine the direction of travel of the robotic device.
Regarding claim 5 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han to have their system have the features of, “wherein detecting during the rotation of the cleaning robot whether the cleaning robot generates a first edge corner trigger signal [where in figure 7 the robot moves to the edge and then at point A turns to follow the wall to once again hit a corner B and furthermore turn and travel to point C] comprises: if the cleaning robot, during rotation, is exposed by an edge of the surface or touches a frame of the surface [at least figure 7 and paragraphs 78-82], then it is detected that the cleaning robot generates the first edge corner trigger signal [at least paragraphs 78-82 and figure 7]; otherwise, it is detected that the cleaning robot does not generate the first edge corner trigger signal [at least figure 7 and paragraphs 78-82].”
Regarding claim 7 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least figure 7 and paragraphs 78-82 to have their system also detect a corner/edge and move based on that sensed condition. Where this is shown in at least figure 7 as the robot moves from point “s” to point “A” where the first edge/corner is detected and then move towards point “B” where another edge/corner is detected to now move towards point “C” and then to point “D”. This is read upon by applicants claim to, “based on the cleaning robot generating the first edge corner trigger signal or not, determining the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface, comprises: if the first edge corner trigger signal is detected, controlling the cleaning robot to move based on a preset motion trajectory according to the positioning of the first edge corner trigger signal, and simultaneously detecting whether a second edge corner trigger signal is generated during the movement; determining the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface based on the cleaning robot generating the second edge corner trigger signal or not.
Regarding claim 9 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least figures 5-7 and described in at least paragraphs 77-82 to have their system also, “if the positioning of the first edge corner trigger signal is at a head of the cleaning robot, controlling the cleaning robot to move vertically downward a preset first distance on the surface; if the second edge corner trigger signal is not detected during the movement, controlling the cleaning robot to rotate a preset angle in the target rotation direction and an opposite direction of the target rotation direction, respectively, and detecting whether a fourth edge corner trigger signal is generated during the two rotations; if the fourth edge corner trigger signal is detected during both rotations, determining that the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface to be a vertical sweeping path; otherwise, determining that the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface to be a horizontal sweeping path.” Where the robot moves on a horizontal path as shown in at least figure 7 when it moves from at least points “A to B” and “C to D”.
Regarding claim 10 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least figure 7 and paragraphs 78-82 to have their robotic system being able to, “if the positioning of the first edge corner trigger signal is at one side of the cleaning robot, controlling the cleaning robot to move vertically downward a preset second distance on the surface, then rotate around its own center point in an opposite direction of the target rotation direction or rotate around its own center point in an opposite direction of the target rotation direction and perform a walking movement, until the angle between a current orientation of the cleaning robot and the direction when facing vertically downward exceeds a preset angle threshold; if the second edge corner trigger signal is not detected during the movement, determining that the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface to a horizontal sweeping path.”
Regarding claim 11 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least figure 7 and paragraphs 78-82 to have their system also, “determining the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface based on the cleaning robot generating the second edge corner trigger signal, comprises: if the second edge corner trigger signal is detected during the movement, and the positioning of the second edge corner trigger signal is at another side of the cleaning robot, determining that the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface to be a vertical sweeping path.” This is shown by Han in at least figure 7 where the robot moves from point “E” to point “F” where the robot could be considered to be moving in the vertical direction.
Regarding claim 12 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least paragraphs 78-82 and figure 7 to have, “before controlling the cleaning robot to rotate on the surface based on the target rotation direction, the method further comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to rotate from its current orientation to a second preset orientation; detecting whether the cleaning robot generates a third edge corner trigger signal during the rotation; based on the cleaning robot generating the third edge corner trigger signal, determining the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface.” Where it can be seen that in at least figure 7 and its associated description in the description of the invention the robot moves around the space and as it detects a corner/edge it turns and hence will at least detect 4 corners or edges in a space as it cleans around the square area.
Regarding claim 13 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least figures 5-7 to have their robot also, “based the cleaning robot generating the third edge corner trigger signal or not, determining the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface , comprises: if the third edge corner trigger signal is detected, and the positioning of the third edge corner trigger signal is at both sides of the cleaning robot, determining that the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface to be a horizontal sweeping path.” Where it can be seen that in at least figure 7 and its associated description in the description of the invention the robot moves around the space and as it detects a corner/edge it turns and hence will at least detect 4 corners or edges in a space as it cleans around the square area.
Regarding claim 14 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han to have a robotic system that include the following features: “A cleaning robot comprising: a robot body [at least figure 2 and paragraphs 41-51]; detectors at corners of the robot body [at least paragraphs 44 & 63-70 and shown in figure 2 “obstacle detector”]; a memory [at least figure 2 box “storage unit 26” and paragraph 50] and a processor on the robot body [at least figure 2 “controller 18” and paragraphs 47-50], the memory being configured with instructions executable by the processor to perform operations [at least paragraph 47 where the robot is controlled by the controller 18 thus must include software to allow this to occur] comprising: controlling the robot body to rotate a preset angle based on a target rotation direction on a surface [at least paragraphs 18, 46-47, & 74 as well as figures 3 & 5-7]; detecting [at least paragraphs 44-46 describes sensors], during the rotation of the robot body, whether any of the detectors generates a first edge corner trigger signal [at least paragraphs 11-18 and figures 5-7]; and based on the detecting result of the first edge corner trigger signal [at least figures 6-7 and paragraphs 79-81], determining a working path of the robot body on the surface [at least figures 6-7 and paragraphs 79-81].” Han discloses in at least figure 7 to have their robotic system being able to move based on detected corners/edges. Where in figure 7 it is shown how the robot moves from point “s” to point “A” where it detects the wall/edge thus turns horizontal to move towards point “B”.
However, where it is not specifically disclosed by Han to have their system also include, “… wherein the cleaning robot [at least paragraph 38 where it cites “window wiping robot”] is a window cleaning robot for cleaning a glass surface [at least paragraph 38 where it states “glass window with frame”], a marble media wall, and a tile;…”, “when the first edge corner trigger signal is not detected, determine the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface to be a horizontal sweeping path [at least paragraphs 38, 49 & 74, as well as figure 1f ].”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Han by the teachings of Wu, where they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of robotic cleaning devices. Where one would have been motived to modify Han, with a reasonable expectation of success, by the teachings of Wu, by the sue of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. Where in this instance the modification of Han whom does not specifically have their system have the robotic device detect the edge of the window to allow it to move in a horizontal direction as it cleans a window, as taught by Wu, in at least figure 1f. Furthermore, it is also disclosed by WU to have “the window wiping robots not only liberate people from heavy household chores, but also reduce the risk of aerial work,” see paragraph 2 of Wu.
Where it is not specifically disclosed by the prior art of Han to have “a trigger signal” that causes the robot to turn. The prior art of Han does teach their system detecting via a sensors, described in paragraphs 44-46, to have the robotic device detect corner and turn the robot based on the detected corner. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the system produce “a trigger signal” when the robot detects a corner. Where the sensor in the prior art of Hand would be able to produce a signal when it detects a corner and send the signal to the controller, this has been determined to be equivalent to applicants “trigger signal”. Furthermore, since it has been held that the omission of an element/trigger signal and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before only involves routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184. Where in this instance the modification of Han which has a sensor signal that is produced from the sensor and sent to the controller to have the controller now carry out a function based on the “trigger” sent from the sensor would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for example to prevent the robotic device from bumping into obstacles and/or falling down stairs.
Regarding claim 15 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han to have in at least figures 6-7 and paragraphs 79-82, “the operations further comprise, before controlling the robot body to rotate based on the target rotation direction: obtaining an initial orientation of the robot body on the surface; determining the target rotation direction based on the initial orientation.” Where it is disclosed by Han to have their robot include sensors that allow the device to determine where it is and what direction it is moving in, as described in at least paragraph 46. Where it is stated by Han to have a “traveling-direction detector 16 detects a rotation angle of the robot cleaner. If an obstacle has been detected on the traveling path of the robot cleaner, the traveling-direction detector is implemented with a rotation-angle sensor (e.g., a gyro sensor) to detect the rotation angle of the robot cleaner at the detected obstacle.” Furthermore, it is also shown in at least figure 5 to have the robotic device travel towards an obstacle and then at it approaches the obstacle it moves a determined angle “A1” so that it moves along the obstacle. Hence this is read upon by applicants claims above.
Regarding claim 16 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least figures 6-7 to have the robot, “before controlling the robot body to rotate based on the target rotation direction: controlling the robot body to rotate back to a correct position, so that the robot body rotates from a current orientation to a first preset orientation, using the first preset orientation as the initial orientation of the robot body.”
Regarding claim 17 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least paragraph 46 to have, “traveling-direction detector 16 detects a rotation angle of the robot cleaner. If an obstacle has been detected on the traveling path of the robot cleaner, the traveling-direction detector is implemented with a rotation-angle sensor (e.g., a gyro sensor) to detect the rotation angle of the robot cleaner at the detected obstacle.” This is read upon by applicants claim to, “wherein obtaining the initial orientation of the robot body on the surface comprises: obtaining a posture signal of the robot body; based on the posture signal, obtaining the initial orientation of the robot body on the surface.”
Regarding claim 18 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han to have, “wherein detecting during the rotation of the robot body whether any of the detectors generates a first edge corner trigger signal [at least figure 2 and 5-7 and paragraphs 44-46] comprises: if the robot body, during rotation [see figure 7], is exposed by an edge of the surface or touches a frame of the surface [where in figure 7 the robot moves to the edge and then at point A turns to follow the wall to once again hit a corner B and furthermore turn and travel to point C], then it is detected that one of the detectors generates the first edge corner trigger signal [at least figure 7 and paragraphs 78-82]; otherwise, it is detected no detectors generate the first edge corner trigger signal [at least figure 7 and paragraphs 78-82].”
Regarding claim 20 where it is disclosed by Han and Wu and further by Han in at least figure 7 and paragraphs 78-82 to have their system also detect a corner/edge and move based on that sensed condition. Where this is shown in at least figure 7 as the robot moves from point “s” to point “A” where the first edge/corner is detected and then move towards point “B” where another edge/corner is detected to now move towards point “C” and then to point “D”. This is read upon by applicants claim to, “based on the cleaning robot generating the first edge corner trigger signal or not, determining the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface, comprises: if the first edge corner trigger signal is detected, controlling the robot body to move based on a preset motion trajectory according to the positioning of the first edge corner trigger signal, and simultaneously detecting whether a second edge corner trigger signal is generated during the movement; determining the working path of the cleaning robot on the surface based on the cleaning robot generating the second edge corner trigger signal or not.”
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ziegler et al., US PG Pub 2007/0016328 A1., (hereafter Ziegler).
Regarding claim 8 where all the limitations of claim 7 are disclosed by Han and Wu as described above. Where it is not specifically disclosed by Han or Wu to have, “ if the positioning of the first edge corner trigger signal is at a head of the cleaning robot, controlling the cleaning robot to move vertically downward a preset first distance on the surface; if the second edge corner trigger signal is detected during the movement, determining that the cleaning robot cannot work on the surface and issuing a corresponding alarm message.”
Ziegler is directed to an autonomous surface cleaning robot for wet and dry cleaning. Where it is disclosed by Ziegler in at least paragraphs 13, 346, 347, 375, 376 and 377 to have their system also, “ if the positioning of the first edge corner trigger signal is at a head of the cleaning robot, controlling the cleaning robot to move vertically downward a preset first distance on the surface; if the second edge corner trigger signal is detected during the movement, determining that the cleaning robot cannot work on the surface and issuing a corresponding alarm message.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Han and Wu by the teachings of Ziegler, where they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of robot cleaning devices and the controlling of said devices. Where one with a reasonable expectation of success would have been motivated to modify Han and Wu by the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, as taught by Ziegler. Where in this instance the modification of Han and Wu whom do not have their system produce alerts or warnings to the user when the robot may be in trouble or encounter situations which it need help to remove its self from, as described in paragraph 0376, where the robot can call for help when stuck.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-18 & 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Where applicant has amended the claims to now include the feature of cancelled claims 6 & 19 in the independent claims, which creates a new claimed combination that was now rejected using the prior art of Wu as described above. Hence, the newly found art has been used for the amended portion of the claims. Applicants arguments are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 02/10/2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BHAVESH V. AMIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/BHAVESH V AMIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657