Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “preventing the pull connecting pieces from designating from the through-holes”. A screen capture is provided below from the Cambridge dictionary entry for “designate” (https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/designating).
It is unclear what is meant by “designating from”. Examiner respectfully suggests the Applicant amend the claim to recite “preventing the pull connecting pieces from sliding out of the through-holes” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “according to any one of Claim 1”. For the purpose of continuing examination on the merits, Examiner has assumed Applicant intended to recite “according to Claim 1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “one said upper fixed seat and one said lower fixed seats”. For the purpose of continuing examination on the merits, Examiner has assumed Applicant intended to recite “one said upper fixed seat and one said lower fixed seat”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “two sides of an upper end of the folding member are riveted to the group of upper fixed seats receptively”. For the purpose of continuing examination on the merits, Examiner has assumed Applicant intended to recite “two sides of an upper end of the folding member are riveted to the group of upper fixed seats respectively”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “according to any one of Claim 2”. For the purpose of continuing examination on the merits, Examiner has assumed Applicant intended to recite “according to Claim 2”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “one said upper fixed seat and one said lower fixed seats”. For the purpose of continuing examination on the merits, Examiner has assumed Applicant intended to recite “one said upper fixed seat and one said lower fixed seat”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “two sides of an upper end of the folding member are riveted to the group of upper fixed seats receptively”. For the purpose of continuing examination on the merits, Examiner has assumed Applicant intended to recite “two sides of an upper end of the folding member are riveted to the group of upper fixed seats respectively”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “according to any one of Claim 3”. For the purpose of continuing examination on the merits, Examiner has assumed Applicant intended to recite “according to Claim 3”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “one said upper fixed seat and one said lower fixed seats”. For the purpose of continuing examination on the merits, Examiner has assumed Applicant intended to recite “one said upper fixed seat and one said lower fixed seat”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “two sides of an upper end of the folding member are riveted to the group of upper fixed seats receptively”. For the purpose of continuing examination on the merits, Examiner has assumed Applicant intended to recite “two sides of an upper end of the folding member are riveted to the group of upper fixed seats respectively”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US-20210107549-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches:
A cart with a double-center chassis, comprising:
a chassis (Fig. 4);
a frame arranged on the chassis and formed by a front wall, a back wall and two side walls (Fig. 4);
wherein the chassis comprises two symmetrical sub-frames, two connecting seats and two pull connecting pieces (Fig. 4, items 25, 26, 60, and 70);
each said sub-frame comprises a center seat and four bottom tubes symmetrically riveted to the center seat (Fig. 4, items 45-48, 85-88, 92, and 95);
the two bottom tubes, close to a center, of each said sub-frame are riveted to the two connecting seats respectively (Fig. 4, items 93 and 94);
and the other two tubes, away from the center, of each said sub-frame are riveted to the front wall or the back wall (Fig. 3);
wherein the side walls and the connecting seats are slidably connected through the pull connecting pieces (Description ¶ [0116] line 12, "The right base joint 93 is mounted on the right middle post 25 to slide up and down with the opening and closing of the wagon frame, and the left base joint 94 is mounted on the left middle post 26 to slide up and down with the opening and closing of the wagon frame.").
Regarding Claim 2, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 1,
wherein vertical through-holes are formed in the connecting seats,
lower ends of the pull connecting pieces penetrate through the through-holes and are able to slide upwards and downwards (Description ¶ [0116] line 12, "The right base joint 93 is mounted on the right middle post 25 to slide up and down with the opening and closing of the wagon frame, and the left base joint 94 is mounted on the left middle post 26 to slide up and down with the opening and closing of the wagon frame."),
and limiting parts for preventing the pull connecting pieces from designating from the through-holes are arranged at bottoms of the pull connecting pieces (Fig. 3, unnumbered rivet joint at base of pull connecting piece).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to any one of Claim 1,
wherein each of the side walls comprises a folding unit, a front side and a back side of the folding unit are riveted to the front wall and the back wall respectively, and the upper ends of the pull connecting pieces are riveted to the folding unit (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to any one of Claim 2,
wherein each of the side walls comprises a folding unit, a front side and a back side of the folding unit are riveted to the front wall and the back wall respectively, and the upper ends of the pull connecting pieces are riveted to the folding unit (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US-20210107549-A1) in view of Sun (CN-115675598-A).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 4,
wherein the folding unit comprises two symmetrical long tubes, two symmetrical short tubes and two symmetrical connecting tubes (Fig. 1, items 71-76),
lower ends of the two long tubes are articulated (Fig. 1, item 78),
and upper ends of the two long tubes are riveted to an upper end of the front wall and an upper end of the back wall respectively (Wang, Fig. 1, items 35 and 37);
lower ends of the two short tubes are vertically and slidably connected with the front wall and the back wall respectively (Wang, Fig. 1, items 27 and 29),
upper ends of the two short tubes are articulated with upper ends of the connecting tubes (Wang, Fig. 1, items 79 and 91),
and the two short tubes are riveted to upper sections of the two long tubes (Wang, Fig. 1, unnumbered rivet connection between items 74 and 75).
Wang fails to teach lower ends of connecting tubes riveted to the long tubes, and upper ends of the pull connecting pieces riveted to the long tubes. Sun teaches lower ends of the two connecting tubes are riveted to lower sections of the two long tubes (Sun, Fig. 3, items 33 and 32); and upper ends of the pull connecting pieces are riveted to the lower ends of the two long tubes (Sun, Fig. 3, unnumbered pull connecting pieces at lower ends of item 32). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide Wang with lower ends of connecting tubes riveted to the long tubes, and upper ends of the pull connecting pieces riveted to the long tubes, as suggested by Sun; the motivation being: providing additional interconnections between the side wall members in order to increase structural integrity of the side walls.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 5,
wherein the front wall comprises a group of vertical tubes, a group of sliding seats, a group of upper fixed seats, a group of lower fixed seats and a folding member (Fig. 1, items 21-24, 27-30, 35-38, 41-44, 56-59),
one said upper fixed seat and one said lower fixed seats are arranged at an upper end and a lower end of each said vertical tube respectively (Fig. 1),
the sliding seats are disposed around the vertical tubes and are able to slide vertically, two sides of an upper end of the folding member are riveted to the group of upper fixed seats receptively, and two sides of a lower end of the folding member are riveted to the group of sliding seats respectively (Wang, Fig. 1, Description ¶ [0106] line 5, "The corner posts are preferably tubular and aligned to allow the slide joint to slide between the upper joint and the lower joint.");
the back wall is identical in structure with the front wall (Fig. 1);
in each said folding unit, the upper ends of the two long tubes are riveted to one said upper fixed seat of the front wall and one said upper fixed seat of the back wall respectively (Fig. 1),
the lower ends of the two short tubes are slidably riveted with the front wall and the back wall respectively, and slidable connection is realized through the sliding seats (Fig. 1);
the two bottom tubes, away from the center, of each said sub-frame are riveted to the group of lower fixed seats of the front wall or the back wall respectively (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 6,
wherein the folding member comprises two articulated X-shaped tubes, and each said X-shaped tube is formed by cross riveting of two cross tubes (Fig. 1, items 56-59).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 7,
wherein an articulation piece is used for realizing articulation, the articulation piece comprises a left riveting piece and a right riveting piece which are symmetrical in structure,
one end of the left riveting piece and one end of the right riveting piece are rotatably connected,
and the other end of the left riveting piece or the other end of the right riveting piece is inserted into one said long tube, one said short tube, one said connecting tube or one said cross tube to be fixed (Fig. 5, unnumbered articulation pieces shown at top and bottom of unnumbered pull connecting pieces).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 1,
wherein the cart further comprises a hand lever assembly arranged on the back wall, the hand lever assembly comprises a handle, an upper pull tube, a hand lever base and two symmetrical lower pull tubes (Wang, Figs. 3-5, unnumbered handle assembly).
Wang fails to teach the upper pull tube is slidably connected with the hand lever base. Sun teaches the handle is arranged at an upper end of the upper pull tube, the upper pull tube is slidably connected with the hand lever base, and an upper end and a lower end of each said lower pull tube are riveted to the hand lever base and the corresponding lower fixed seat respectively (Sun, Figs. 1 and 4, item 6). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide Wang with a slidable upper pull tube for the handle, as suggested by Sun; the motivation being: reducing the overall size of the cart when in collapsed or storage state by providing a telescoping handle tube.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang fails to teach upper ends of the caster axles are inserted into the vertical tubes, or casters on the back wall are provided with brakes. Sun teaches wherein caster brackets are arranged at upper ends of casters, axles are fixed at upper ends of the caster brackets, and upper ends of the axles are inserted into the vertical tubes (Sun, Fig. 6, items 5, 11, 51, and 52). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide Wang with upper ends of the caster axles inserted into the vertical tubes, as suggested by Sun; the motivation being: providing structural integrity to the connection between casters and the chassis.
Regarding Claim 12, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 11,
wherein the folding unit comprises two symmetrical long tubes, two symmetrical short tubes and two symmetrical connecting tubes (Fig. 1, items 71-76),
lower ends of the two long tubes are articulated (Fig. 1, item 78),
and upper ends of the two long tubes are riveted to an upper end of the front wall and an upper end of the back wall respectively (Wang, Fig. 1, items 35 and 37);
lower ends of the two short tubes are vertically and slidably connected with the front wall and the back wall respectively (Wang, Fig. 1, items 27 and 29),
upper ends of the two short tubes are articulated with upper ends of the connecting tubes (Wang, Fig. 1, items 79 and 91),
and the two short tubes are riveted to upper sections of the two long tubes (Wang, Fig. 1, unnumbered rivet connection between items 74 and 75).
Wang fails to teach lower ends of connecting tubes riveted to the long tubes, and upper ends of the pull connecting pieces riveted to the long tubes. Sun teaches lower ends of the two connecting tubes are riveted to lower sections of the two long tubes (Sun, Fig. 3, items 33 and 32); and upper ends of the pull connecting pieces are riveted to the lower ends of the two long tubes (Sun, Fig. 3, unnumbered pull connecting pieces at lower ends of item 32). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to provide Wang with lower ends of connecting tubes riveted to the long tubes, and upper ends of the pull connecting pieces riveted to the long tubes, as suggested by Sun; the motivation being: providing additional interconnections between the side wall members in order to increase structural integrity of the side walls.
Regarding Claim 13, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 12,
wherein the front wall comprises a group of vertical tubes, a group of sliding seats, a group of upper fixed seats, a group of lower fixed seats and a folding member (Fig. 1, items 21-24, 27-30, 35-38, 41-44, 56-59),
one said upper fixed seat and one said lower fixed seats are arranged at an upper end and a lower end of each said vertical tube respectively (Fig. 1),
the sliding seats are disposed around the vertical tubes and are able to slide vertically, two sides of an upper end of the folding member are riveted to the group of upper fixed seats receptively, and two sides of a lower end of the folding member are riveted to the group of sliding seats respectively (Wang, Fig. 1, Description ¶ [0106] line 5, "The corner posts are preferably tubular and aligned to allow the slide joint to slide between the upper joint and the lower joint.");
the back wall is identical in structure with the front wall (Fig. 1);
in each said folding unit, the upper ends of the two long tubes are riveted to one said upper fixed seat of the front wall and one said upper fixed seat of the back wall respectively (Fig. 1),
the lower ends of the two short tubes are slidably riveted with the front wall and the back wall respectively, and slidable connection is realized through the sliding seats (Fig. 1);
the two bottom tubes, away from the center, of each said sub-frame are riveted to the group of lower fixed seats of the front wall or the back wall respectively (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 13,
wherein the folding member comprises two articulated X-shaped tubes, and each said X-shaped tube is formed by cross riveting of two cross tubes (Fig. 1, items 56-59).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang teaches:
The cart with a double-center chassis according to Claim 14,
wherein an articulation piece is used for realizing articulation, the articulation piece comprises a left riveting piece and a right riveting piece which are symmetrical in structure,
one end of the left riveting piece and one end of the right riveting piece are rotatably connected,
and the other end of the left riveting piece or the other end of the right riveting piece is inserted into one said long tube, one said short tube, one said connecting tube or one said cross tube to be fixed (Fig. 5, unnumbered articulation pieces shown at top and bottom of unnumbered pull connecting pieces).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 describes vertical sliding grooves in the pull connecting pieces, lower ends of the pull connecting pieces mounted on the connecting seats through pins, and rivets for riveting the upper ends of the pull connecting pieces to the side walls being able to slide vertically in the sliding grooves. The combination does not teach any of these limitations. It would not be obvious to modify the combination to read on Claim 3.
Claims 16-20 are allowable by virtue of their dependency upon Claim 3.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Duan (CN-218287797-U) teaches a slot in the pull connecting pieces, allowing the pull connecting pieces to slide vertically in the slot (Duan, Figs. 1 & 3, items 32, 3211, and 3221). However, Duan does not teach that lower ends of the pull connecting pieces are mounted on the connecting seats through pins, or that rivets for riveting the upper ends of the pull connecting pieces are able to slide in the groove. It would not be obvious to modify the combination to read on Claim 3.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM RICHARD BRENNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613