Detailed Action
The instant application having Application No. 18/677,529 has claims 1-20 pending filed on 05/29/2024; there are 3 independent claims and 17 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on October 2, 2025 in response to PTO Office Action dated July 2, 2025. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or specification were considered with the results that follow.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
After considering the applicant’s argument for the claims 16-20 (dated 10/02/2025), the Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is maintained as the claim limitations meets the three-prong test (MPEP § 2181). The claims limitation(s) for the independent claim 16 “A system, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing a program, which, when executed on any combination of the one or more processors, performs operations, the operations comprising …” do not modify the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Refer MPEP § 2181 II (B) “To claim a means for performing a specific computer-implemented function and then to disclose only a general-purpose computer as the structure designed to perform that function amounts to pure functional claiming. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d 1328 at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239.”
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In view of the applicant’s amendments to the independent claims 1, 10 and 16 (dated 10/02/2025), the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 for judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more of the claims 1-6 and 8-20 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
35 USC § 103 Rejection of claims 1-20
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/02/2025 with respect to the claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: component in claims 16-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-12, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al (US PGPUB 20260111422) in view of Wong et al (US PGPUB 20160267082) and in further view of Kwong et al(US PGPUB 20240394700)
As per claim 1:
James teaches:
“A computer-implemented method, comprising” (Paragraph [0341] (a method, comprising))
“retrieving unstructured log data relating to data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0125] (machine data received by the system can correspond to data from one or more host devices or data sources (electronic repositories) where the machine data may be log data that is unstructured or that does not have any clear structure or fields and include different portions))
“transforming the unstructured log data to generate structured table data, comprising” (Paragraph [0128] (the intake system can perform additional processing on the incoming data, such as transforming unstructured data into structured data))
“matching one or more patterns in one or more file paths of the unstructured log data to identify corresponding structured tables” (Paragraph [0029] (the machine data may not have a predefined structure (unstructured log data), but may have repeatable (e.g., non-random) patterns ) and may include data associated with fields in a database table))
“and generating the structured table data by intaking information from the unstructured log data into the corresponding structured tables based on the one or more patterns” (Paragraph [0032] (the data intake and query system receives machine data from any type and number of sources parses the machine data to produce events each having a portion of machine data associated with a timestamp, and stores the events (generating the structured table data), the system enables users to run queries against the stored events to retrieve events that meet filter criteria specified in a query ( tables based on the one or more patterns))).
James does not EXPLICITLY teach: identifying, using one or more computer processors, a plurality of data relationships for the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, comprising; identifying metadata associated with the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories; and correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata; and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of: (i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories.
.However, in an analogous art, Wong teaches:
“identifying, using one or more computer processors, a plurality of data relationships for the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, comprising” (Paragraph [0073] and Paragraph [0334] (the data may be extracted from various data sources, transformed and/or loaded in various forms to support various analytical processes including determining relationships between elements of data and each computer using at least one processor)
“identifying metadata associated with the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0054] (the data may be associated with a set of metadata tags, each of the metadata tags used to capture information about or relating to the data))
“and correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata” (Paragraph [0063] (the metadata tags may be associated with each datum of the electronic data and maintained in various sub-repositories which are connected to each other to form a structured database (structured table data))).
“and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to at least one of: (i) modify operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) identify for removal a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0079] and Paragraph [0147] (risk exposure may also be related to relationships identified between one or more entities, such as the nature and character of their relationship, whether direct or indirect like relationships could be lending relationships, business relationships or partnering relationships and events at one entity may have various effects on other entities (modify operation of a computer software job operating) and based on derived information, recommendations may be generated which may also relate more broadly to problematic data sources, streams, similar problems across multiple disparate elements of data (identify for removal a portion of the data stored))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Wong and apply them on teachings of James for the computer implemented method “identifying, using one or more computer processors, a plurality of data relationships for the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, comprising; identifying metadata associated with the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories; and correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata”. One would be motivated as the risk exposure may also be related to relationships identified between one or more entities, such as the nature and character of their relationship, whether direct or indirect and events at one entity may have various effects on other entities which allows an institution to be ahead of the curve on regulatory requirements (Wong, Paragraph [0079]).
James and Wong do not EXPLICITLY teach: and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of; (i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories.
.However, in an analogous art, Kwong teaches:
“and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of” (Paragraph [0080] (the control management system stores data objects corresponding to data processes, data analysis projects, controls, and/or evidence tasks in a plurality of data structures indicating relationships between the data objects})
“(i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0132] (the control management system can provide tools for merging, cloning, removing, or changing data objects in accordance with modifying a control scope of a control and the control management system can provide tools for managing evidence tasks to collect evidence data stored at one or more digital data repositories according to implementations of various controls and/or for various data processes)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Kwong and apply them on teachings of James and Wong for the computer implemented method “and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of; (i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories”. One would be motivated as the control management system provides efficient and flexible customization of digital data management for an entity via a plurality of interactive interfaces that can access and modify data in data objects via integrations with a plurality of computing applications and computing systems (Kwong, Paragraph [0132]).
As per claim 2:
James, Wong and Kwong teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above.
James further teaches:
“wherein matching the one or more pattern in the one or more file paths of the unstructured log data to generate the structured table data comprises: applying a regular expression to the unstructured log data” (Paragraph [0032] (the system parses the machine data (including unstructured logs) to produce events, the system enables users to run queries against the stored events to retrieve events that meet filter criteria or regular expression specified in a query, such as criteria or expressions (to the unstructured log data) indicating certain keywords or having specific values in defined fields))..
As per claim 3:
James, Wong and Kwong teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2 above.
James further teaches:
“identifying a map of table prefixes to regular expression patterns” (Paragraph [0180] (the extraction rules may also include instructions for deriving a field value by performing a function on a character string or value retrieved by the extraction rule (a map of table prefixes to regular expression patterns)))
“and parsing the unstructured log data using the map” (Paragraph [0180] (the extraction rules can be used to extract one or more values for a field from events by parsing the portions of machine data in the events and examining the data for one or more patterns))).
As per claim 4:
James, Wong and Kwong teach the computer-implemented method of claim 3 above.
James further teaches:
“wherein the unstructured log data comprises both access log data and inventory log data” (Paragraph [0127] and Paragraph [0142] (the raw machine data generated by the server and extracted from a server access log and the log data generated by an application (inventory log data) that enables the sharing of computing resources between isolated execution environments))
“and wherein the regular expression patterns relate to date information” (Paragraph [0170] (a query can start with a search command and one or more corresponding search terms or filter criteria or regular expression patterns where such search terms or filter criteria or regular expression patterns can include dates etc.)).
As per claim 7:
James, Wong and Kwong teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above.
Wong further teaches:
“generating a graph based on the identified plurality of data relationships” (Paragraph [0321] (create a graph of corporate entities that are clients of a financial institution))
“the graph comprises a plurality of edges and a plurality of vertices reflecting the identified plurality of data relationships” (Paragraph [0322] (The graph consists of vertices and edges that represent entities and relationships)).
As per claim 8:
James, Wong and Kwong teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above.
Wong further teaches:
“automatically, without human intervention, modifying operation of the computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, based on the identified plurality of data relationships” (Paragraph [0147] and Paragraph [0148] (specific actionable recommendations may be automatically generated by system which may be developed through the application of various rules and risk exposure may also be related to relationships identified between one or more entities,such as the nature and character of their relationship, whether direct or indirect like relationships could be lending relationships, business relationships or partnering relationships and events at one entity may have various effects on other entities (modify operation of a computer software job operating))).
As per claim 9:
James, Wong and Kwong teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above.
Wong further teaches:
“automatically, without human intervention, identifying for removal a portion of the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, based on the identified plurality of data relationships” (Paragraph [0147] and Paragraph [0148] (specific actionable recommendations may be automatically generated by system which may be developed through the application of various rules and risk exposure may also be related to relationships identified between one or more entities, such as the nature and character of their relationship and based on derived information, recommendations may be generated which may also relate more broadly to problematic data sources, streams, similar problems across multiple disparate elements of data (identifying for removal a portion of the data stored))).
As per claim 10:
James teaches:
“A non-transitory computer program product comprising” (Paragraph [0263] (a computing device that comprises a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium including))
“one or more non-transitory computer readable media containing, in any combination, computer program code that, when executed by operation of any combination of one or more processors, performs operations comprising” (Paragraph [0263] (the non-transitory computer readable medium can be storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, can cause the processor to perform the operations including))
“retrieving unstructured log data relating to data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0125] (machine data received by the system can correspond to data from one or more host devices or data sources (electronic repositories) where the machine data may be log data that is unstructured or that does not have any clear structure or fields and include different portions))
“transforming the unstructured log data to generate structured table data, comprising” (Paragraph [0128] (the intake system can perform additional processing on the incoming data, such as transforming unstructured data into structured data))
“matching one or more patterns in one or more file paths of the unstructured log data to identify corresponding structured tables” (Paragraph [0029] (the machine data may not have a predefined structure (unstructured log data), but may have repeatable (e.g., non-random) patterns ) and may include data associated with fields in a database table))
“and generating the structured table data by intaking information from the unstructured log data into the corresponding structured tables based on the one or more patterns” (Paragraph [0032] (the data intake and query system receives machine data from any type and number of sources parses the machine data to produce events each having a portion of machine data associated with a timestamp, and stores the events (generating the structured table data), the system enables users to run queries against the stored events to retrieve events that meet filter criteria specified in a query ( tables based on the one or more patterns))).
James does not EXPLICITLY teach: identifying, using one or more computer processors, a plurality of data relationships for the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, comprising; identifying metadata associated with the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories; and correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata; and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of: (i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories.
.However, in an analogous art, Wong teaches:
“identifying, using one or more computer processors, a plurality of data relationships for the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, comprising” (Paragraph [0073] and Paragraph [0334] (the data may be extracted from various data sources, transformed and/or loaded in various forms to support various analytical processes including determining relationships between elements of data and each computer using at least one processor)
“identifying metadata associated with the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0054] (the data may be associated with a set of metadata tags, each of the metadata tags used to capture information about or relating to the data))
“and correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata” (Paragraph [0063] (the metadata tags may be associated with each datum of the electronic data and maintained in various sub-repositories which are connected to each other to form a structured database (structured table data))).
“and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to at least one of: (i) modify operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) identify for removal a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0079] and Paragraph [0147] (risk exposure may also be related to relationships identified between one or more entities, such as the nature and character of their relationship, whether direct or indirect like relationships could be lending relationships, business relationships or partnering relationships and events at one entity may have various effects on other entities (modify operation of a computer software job operating) and based on derived information, recommendations may be generated which may also relate more broadly to problematic data sources, streams, similar problems across multiple disparate elements of data (identify for removal a portion of the data stored))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Wong and apply them on teachings of James for the non-transitory computer program product “identifying, using one or more computer processors, a plurality of data relationships for the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, comprising; identifying metadata associated with the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories; and correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata”. One would be motivated as the risk exposure may also be related to relationships identified between one or more entities, such as the nature and character of their relationship, whether direct or indirect and events at one entity may have various effects on other entities which allows an institution to be ahead of the curve on regulatory requirements (Wong, Paragraph [0079]).
James and Wong do not EXPLICITLY teach: and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of; (i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories.
.However, in an analogous art, Kwong teaches:
“and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of” (Paragraph [0080] (the control management system stores data objects corresponding to data processes, data analysis projects, controls, and/or evidence tasks in a plurality of data structures indicating relationships between the data objects})
“(i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0132] (the control management system can provide tools for merging, cloning, removing, or changing data objects in accordance with modifying a control scope of a control and the control management system can provide tools for managing evidence tasks to collect evidence data stored at one or more digital data repositories according to implementations of various controls and/or for various data processes)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Kwong and apply them on teachings of James and Wong for the non-transitory computer program product “and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of; (i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories”. One would be motivated as the control management system provides efficient and flexible customization of digital data management for an entity via a plurality of interactive interfaces that can access and modify data in data objects via integrations with a plurality of computing applications and computing systems (Kwong, Paragraph [0132]).
As per claim 11, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 10 and the claim 2 above.
As per claim 12, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 11 and the claim 3 above.
As per claim 14, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 10 and the claim 8 above.
As per claim 15, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 10 and the claim 9 above.
As per claim 16:
James teaches:
“A system, comprising” (Paragraph [0370] (a system, comprising))
“one or more processors” (Paragraph [0372] (one or more processors configured to))
“and one or more memories storing a program, which, when executed on any combination of the one or more processors, performs operations, the operations comprising” (Paragraph [0494] (the computer programs typically comprise one or more instructions set at various times in various memory devices of a computing device, which, when read and executed by at least one processor, will cause a computing device to execute functions including))
“retrieving unstructured log data relating to data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0125] (machine data received by the system can correspond to data from one or more host devices or data sources (electronic repositories) where the machine data may be log data that is unstructured or that does not have any clear structure or fields and include different portions))
“transforming the unstructured log data to generate structured table data, comprising” (Paragraph [0128] (the intake system can perform additional processing on the incoming data, such as transforming unstructured data into structured data))
“matching one or more patterns in one or more file paths of the unstructured log data to identify corresponding structured tables” (Paragraph [0029] (the machine data may not have a predefined structure (unstructured log data), but may have repeatable (e.g., non-random) patterns ) and may include data associated with fields in a database table))
“and generating the structured table data by intaking information from the unstructured log data into the corresponding structured tables based on the one or more patterns” (Paragraph [0032] (the data intake and query system receives machine data from any type and number of sources parses the machine data to produce events each having a portion of machine data associated with a timestamp, and stores the events (generating the structured table data), the system enables users to run queries against the stored events to retrieve events that meet filter criteria specified in a query ( tables based on the one or more patterns))).
James does not EXPLICITLY teach: identifying, using one or more computer processors, a plurality of data relationships for the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, comprising; identifying metadata associated with the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories; and correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata; and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of: (i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories.
.However, in an analogous art, Wong teaches:
“identifying, using one or more computer processors, a plurality of data relationships for the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, comprising” (Paragraph [0073] and Paragraph [0334] (the data may be extracted from various data sources, transformed and/or loaded in various forms to support various analytical processes including determining relationships between elements of data and each computer using at least one processor)
“identifying metadata associated with the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0054] (the data may be associated with a set of metadata tags, each of the metadata tags used to capture information about or relating to the data))
“and correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata” (Paragraph [0063] (the metadata tags may be associated with each datum of the electronic data and maintained in various sub-repositories which are connected to each other to form a structured database (structured table data))).
“and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to at least one of: (i) modify operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) identify for removal a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0079] and Paragraph [0147] (risk exposure may also be related to relationships identified between one or more entities, such as the nature and character of their relationship, whether direct or indirect like relationships could be lending relationships, business relationships or partnering relationships and events at one entity may have various effects on other entities (modify operation of a computer software job operating) and based on derived information, recommendations may be generated which may also relate more broadly to problematic data sources, streams, similar problems across multiple disparate elements of data (identify for removal a portion of the data stored))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Wong and apply them on teachings of James for the system “identifying, using one or more computer processors, a plurality of data relationships for the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories, comprising; identifying metadata associated with the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories; and correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata”. One would be motivated as the risk exposure may also be related to relationships identified between one or more entities, such as the nature and character of their relationship, whether direct or indirect and events at one entity may have various effects on other entities which allows an institution to be ahead of the curve on regulatory requirements (Wong, Paragraph [0079]).
James and Wong do not EXPLICITLY teach: and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of; (i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories.
.However, in an analogous art, Kwong teaches:
“and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of” (Paragraph [0080] (the control management system stores data objects corresponding to data processes, data analysis projects, controls, and/or evidence tasks in a plurality of data structures indicating relationships between the data objects})
“(i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories” (Paragraph [0132] (the control management system can provide tools for merging, cloning, removing, or changing data objects in accordance with modifying a control scope of a control and the control management system can provide tools for managing evidence tasks to collect evidence data stored at one or more digital data repositories according to implementations of various controls and/or for various data processes)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Kwong and apply them on teachings of James and Wong for the system “and applying the identified plurality of data relationships to implement at least one of; (i) modification of operation of a computer software job operating on the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories or (ii) removal of a portion of the data stored in a plurality of electronic repositories”. One would be motivated as the control management system provides efficient and flexible customization of digital data management for an entity via a plurality of interactive interfaces that can access and modify data in data objects via integrations with a plurality of computing applications and computing systems (Kwong, Paragraph [0132]).
As per claim 17, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 16 and the claim 3 above.
As per claim 19, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 16 and the claim 8 above.
As per claim 20, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 16 and the claim 9 above.
Claims 5-6, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al (US PGPUB 20260111422) in view of Wong et al (US PGPUB 20160267082) and in further view of Kwong et al(US PGPUB 20240394700) and Bardhan et al(US PGPUB 20240205231).
As per claim 5:
James, Wong and Kwong teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above.
James, Wong and Kwong do not EXPLICITLY teach: wherein the metadata associated with the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories comprise an internet protocol (IP) address.
.However, in an analogous art, Bardhan teaches:
“wherein the metadata associated with the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories comprise an internet protocol (IP) address” (Paragraph [0148] (the metadata of the plurality of applications can include a server Internet Protocol (IP) address, a port, and a protocol used by each of the plurality of applications (the plurality of electronic repositories))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Bardhan and apply them on teachings of James, Wong and Kwong for the computer implemented method “wherein the metadata associated with the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories comprise an internet protocol (IP) address”. One would be motivated as it can speed up the configuration process for a zero-trust policy by assisting in all three stages during configuration which includes defining segmentation-group, where each segmentation-group could consist of a few app-segments, an app-segment includes a set of apps, where each app is characterized by domain/IP address, port, protocol (Bardhan, Paragraph [0096] and Paragraph [0097]).
As per claim 6:
James, Wong, Kwong and Bardhan teach the computer-implemented method of claim 5 above.
Bardhan further teaches:
“identifying a plurality of time windows in which a same IP address is interacting with one or more data objects” (Paragraph [0135] (the process includes obtaining log data for a plurality of users of an enterprise where the log data relates to usage of a plurality of applications by the plurality of users and user metadata (which includes IP address) and analyzing the log data to determine one or more sequential patterns of application access))
“correlating the generated structured table data with associated IP addresses using the plurality of time windows” (Paragraph [0135] (determining app-segments that are groupings of application of the plurality of applications and user-groups that are groupings of users of the plurality of users, based on the log data including user metadata (which includes IP address) and the one or more sequential patterns of application access where the one or more sequential patterns of application access include a sequence of accessing a plurality of applications in a given time period (time window)))..
As per claim 13:
James, Wong and Kwong teach the non-transitory computer product of claim 10 above.
Wong further teaches:
“wherein correlating the generated structured table data with the associated metadata comprises;” (Paragraph [0063] (the metadata tags may be associated with each datum of the electronic data and maintained in various sub-repositories which are connected to each other to form a structured database (structured table data) includes))
James, Wong and Kwong do not EXPLICITLY teach: wherein the metadata associated with the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories comprise an internet protocol (IP) address; identifying a plurality of time windows in which a same IP address is interacting with one or more data objects; correlating the generated structured table data with associated IP addresses using the plurality of time windows.
.However, in an analogous art, Bardhan teaches:
“wherein the metadata associated with the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories comprise an internet protocol (IP) address” (Paragraph [0148] (the metadata of the plurality of applications can include a server Internet Protocol (IP) address, a port, and a protocol used by each of the plurality of applications (the plurality of electronic repositories)))
“identifying a plurality of time windows in which a same IP address is interacting with one or more data objects” (Paragraph [0135] (the process includes obtaining log data for a plurality of users of an enterprise where the log data relates to usage of a plurality of applications by the plurality of users and user metadata (which includes IP address) and analyzing the log data to determine one or more sequential patterns of application access))
“correlating the generated structured table data with associated IP addresses using the plurality of time windows” (Paragraph [0135] (determining app-segments that are groupings of application of the plurality of applications and user-groups that are groupings of users of the plurality of users, based on the log data including user metadata (which includes IP address) and the one or more sequential patterns of application access where the one or more sequential patterns of application access include a sequence of accessing a plurality of applications in a given time period (time window)))..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Bardhan and apply them on teachings of James, Wong and Kwong for the the non-transitory computer product “wherein the metadata associated with the data stored in the plurality of electronic repositories comprise an internet protocol (IP) address; identifying a plurality of time windows in which a same IP address is interacting with one or more data objects; correlating the generated structured table data with associated IP addresses using the plurality of time windows”. One would be motivated as it can speed up the configuration process for a zero-trust policy by assisting in all three stages during configuration which includes defining segmentation-group, where each segmentation-group could consist of a few app-segments, an app-segment includes a set of apps, where each app is characterized by domain/IP address, port, protocol (Bardhan, Paragraph [0096] and Paragraph [0097]).
As per claim 18, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 16 and the claim 13 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cember et al (US PGPUB 20250390478), a constraint on a location at which a portion of a data set can be stored is determined based on input received via a programmatic interface. The portion of the data set is stored at a location selected in accordance with the constraint. An analysis operation, whose input includes the portion of the data set, is performed at a set of computing resources selected from a plurality of resources based at least in part on their location.
Morris Andrew (US Patent 11909750), When reviewing a large set of data for potential fraudulent action there is often too much data for a human to reasonably analyze. A technique to reduce the overall amount of data associates entities that have duplicate values stored in corresponding data elements with one another and removes those entities that do not have at least one duplicate value. The entities with duplicate values are entered into a node graph and analyzed for connected components. The connected components analysis and a duplicate threshold analysis provide usable results to identify fraudulent activity.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KAMAL K DEWAN whose telephone number is (571)272-2196. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, TONY MAHMOUDI can be reached on 571-272-4078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Kamal K Dewan/
Examiner, Art Unit 2163
/TONY MAHMOUDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2163