DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the filing of Applicants Arguments on 04/10/2026. The Amendments have overcome the 112 rejection on record.
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16, 20, 6 - 9, 11, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colijn (US 20160370194) in view of Donnelly (US 20180342157).
Claim 1, Colijn discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a dynamic transportation matching system, a request for transportation between initial waypoints [see p0021 - an autonomous vehicle service for maneuvering a user or passenger to a destination, for example taking a trip, autonomously. In order to do so, the user may provide a pickup location and one or more destination locations (initial waypoints) for the trip to a centralized dispatching system via a client computing device, such as a mobile phone];
Colijn does not specifically disclose:
calculating, by the dynamic transportation matching system, a first value based on at least one value metric for an initial driving route between the initial waypoints and a second value based on the at least one value metric for an alternative walk-enabled driving route with at least one alternate waypoint within a predetermined walking range of one of the initial waypoints, wherein the calculation accounts for an acceptance score for the transportation requestor, the acceptance score being calculated by the dynamic transportation matching system based on one or more factors indicative of whether the transportation requestor will accept the route, and at least one of:
a side of street of one or more of the initial waypoints;
or a side of street of the alternate waypoint;
comparing the first and second values to determine a fulfillment value difference;
determining that the fulfilment value difference satisfies a walking – value threshold, the walking value threshold indicating a minimum difference in value between the first value and the second value; and
selecting the alternative walk-enabled driving route for fulfilling the request for transportation based on the determination.
However, Donnelly discloses an autonomous vehicle can travel in accordance with the first vehicle route to arrive within a vicinity of the location associated with the user. The vicinity can be defined by a distance (e.g., a radial distance) from the location associated with the user. The distance can be indicative of an acceptable walking distance from the location associated with the user. For example, an acceptable walking distance can be distance that a user would be willing walk to arrive at a vehicle. The acceptable walking distance can be determined based on a variety of information. Such information can include, for example, specific user preferences stored in a profile associated with the user, weather information (e.g., gathered via sensors onboard the vehicle, provided by a third party source, etc.), traffic conditions (e.g., current, historic, future predicted traffic conditions), historic vehicle services data (e.g., historic pickup data for previous transportation services), and/or other types of information. The autonomous vehicle can provide a communication to the user indicating that the autonomous vehicle is within the vicinity of the location associated with the user [see p0034, p0079].
Further teaching, calculating, by the dynamic transportation matching system, a first value based on at least one value metric for an initial driving route between the initial waypoints and a second value based on the at least one value metric for an alternative walk-enabled driving route with at least one alternate waypoint within a predetermined walking range of one of the initial waypoints [see p0082, Fig. 2 - the first vehicle route 204 to arrive within a vicinity 206 of the location 202 associated with the user 110. For example, the vehicle computing system 102 can control the vehicle 104 (e.g., via a motion plan 134 implemented by the control system(s) 116) to travel along a first vehicle route 204 to arrive within a vicinity 206 of the location 202 associated with the user 110. The vicinity 206 of the location 202 associated with the user 110 can be defined at least in part by a distance (e.g., a radial distance) from the location 202 associated with the user 110. The distance can be indicative of an acceptable walking distance from the location 202 associated with the user 110. For example, an acceptable walking distance can be distance that a user would be willing walk (or otherwise travel) to arrive at a vehicle. In some implementations, the operations computing system 106 can determine the acceptable walking distance, as described herein, and provide such information to the vehicle 104. In some implementations, the vehicle 104 can determine the acceptable walking distance. In some implementations, the acceptable walking distance can be determined by another computing system and provided to the operations computing system 106 and/or the vehicle 104. Additionally teaching, traffic, timing, the systems and methods can improve the vehicle computing system's situational awareness by allowing it to take into account (e.g., in real-time) such circumstances when making a determination as to how to best provide vehicle services.
wherein the calculation accounts for an acceptance score for the transportation requestor, the acceptance score being calculated by the dynamic transportation matching system based on one or more factors indicative of whether the transportation requestor will accept the route, and at least one of [see Figs 2 - 3, p0082 – p0089 – teaching historic data 304B can include historic data associated with providing vehicle services to a user. For instance, the historic data 304B can be indicative of previously calculated acceptable walking distances for the specific user 110 and/or for other user(s) of the vehicle services. By way of example, in the event that the user (or similarly situated user(s)) has shown a willingness to walk a certain distance to a vehicle, the acceptable walking distance 302 can be determined to reflect the historically acceptable walking distance. In some implementations, the historic data 304B can include historic traffic data; the vehicle 104 can search for a parking location after it passes the location 202 associated with the user 110 and is still within the vicinity 206 of the user 110 (e.g., within the acceptable walking distance 302);
a side of street of one or more of the initial waypoints; or a side of street of the alternate waypoint [the acceptable walking distance is shown in Fig. 2, see 206 The vicinity 206 of the location 202 associated with the user 110 and can be indicative of an acceptable walking distance from the location 202 associated with the user 110 and shows an alternate pick-up place may be across the street, or on a side street of the optimal pick-up (202)].
Further Donnelly teaches, comparing the first and second values to determine a fulfillment value difference; [see p0041 – p0042, p0046, p0057, p0082, p0093, Figs 3 – 5 -dynamically and in real-time, a comparison is made to level of traffic, the acceptable amount of time for stopping and/cost data, the estimated amount of time per stop of user arrival, and a number of other factors, including user preferences, to determine which is the pick-up or drop-off point]
determining that the fulfilment value difference satisfies a walking – value threshold, the walking value threshold indicating a minimum difference in value between the first value and the second value [see p0034, Figs 2 – 5, a distance (e.g., a radial distance) from the location associated with the user. the distance can be indicative of an acceptable walking distance from the location associated with the user. For example, an acceptable walking distance can be distance that a user would be willing walk to arrive at a vehicle. The acceptable walking distance can be determined based on a variety of information; Donnelly does not just compare one stop to one other stop, but a number of stops within the user preference of “acceptable walking distance” and is dynamically comparing many scenarios, such as traffic and specific user preferences stored in a profile associated with the user, weather information (e.g., gathered via sensors onboard the vehicle, provided by a third party source, etc.), traffic conditions (e.g., current, historic, future predicted traffic conditions), historic vehicle services data (e.g., historic pickup data for previous transportation services)];
and selecting the alternative walk-enabled driving route for fulfilling the request for transportation based on the determination [see at least p0053, the vehicle can provide the user with one or more communications indicating the actions taken by the autonomous vehicle. For example, in the event that the autonomous vehicle stops within the travel way, the autonomous vehicle can provide a communication to the user indicating that the vehicle is waiting for the user (e.g., “your vehicle has arrived, please proceed quickly to the vehicle”)].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Colijn to include calculating, by the dynamic transportation matching system, a first value based on at least one value metric for an initial driving route between the initial waypoints and a second value based on the at least one value metric for an alternative walk-enabled driving route with at least one alternate waypoint within a predetermined walking range of one of the initial waypoints, wherein the calculation accounts for an acceptance score for the transportation requestor, the acceptance score being calculated by the dynamic transportation matching system based on one or more factors indicative of whether the transportation requestor will accept the route, and at least one of: a side of street of one or more of the initial waypoints; or a side of street of the alternate waypoint; comparing the first and second values to determine a fulfillment value difference; determining that the fulfilment value difference satisfies a walking – value threshold, the walking value threshold indicating a minimum difference in value between the first value and the second value; and selecting the alternative walk-enabled driving route for fulfilling the request for transportation based on the determination, as suggested and taught by Donnelly, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a vehicle that is capable of sensing its environment and navigating without human input. In particular, an autonomous vehicle can observe its surrounding environment using a variety of sensors and can attempt to comprehend the environment by performing various processing techniques on data collected by the sensors. Given knowledge of its surrounding environment in real-time, the autonomous vehicle can identify an appropriate motion path through such surrounding environment.
Claim 16 is similarly rejected as Claim 1, see above.
Claim 20 is similarly rejected as Claim 1, see above.
Claim 6, Colijn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the request for transportation between the initial waypoints comprises: identifying a requestor device on which the request for transportation initiated [see at least Figs 1, 4A, 4B and 4C, p0002, p0050 – p0051- a user may download an application for requesting a vehicle to a client computing device. For example, users 122 and 132 may download the application via a link in an email, directly from a website, or an application store to client computing devices 120 and 130]; and directing the requestor device to display, via a graphical user interface, a toggle that enables a transportation requestor to opt in to having the request for transportation fulfilled via the walk-enabled driving route [see at least p0025 – p0028 and p0059 – p0062 - The user may then approve or select the returned suggested location as a pick up or destination location and initiate (or continue as the case may be) a trip. If the location is a pickup location, the server may then dispatch a vehicle to the selected location to pick up the user for a trip. When the received location does not correspond to one of the predetermined locations, the one or more server computing devices may use the detailed map information to identify a set of predetermined locations within a threshold distance of the received location. The threshold distance may be defined as a predetermined radial or walking distance from the received location and may also be adjusted by a user. For example, a default threshold distance may be 500 feet, or more or less, radially or in walking distance from a particular location. A user may then use his or her client computing device to adjust this value up or down and any adjustments may be provided to the one or more server computing devices by the user's client computing device].
Claim 7, Colijn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the request for transportation between the initial waypoints comprises determining that a transportation requestor device, of a transportation requestor, that originated the request for transportation previously opted in to having requests for transportation fulfilled via walk-enabled driving routes [see at least p0026 - the threshold distance may be defined as a predetermined radial or walking distance from the received location and may also be adjusted by a user. For example, a default threshold distance may be 500 feet, or more or less, radially or in walking distance from a particular location. A user may then use his or her client computing device to adjust this value up or down and any adjustments may be provided to the one or more server computing devices by the user's client computing device].
Claim 8, Colijn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route comprises determining a level of complexity of the walk-enabled driving route for a transportation provider traversing the walk-enabled driving route [see at least p0023, p0067 - In order to provide suggestion in response, the one or more server computing devices may access detailed map information. The detailed map information may include information about roads, buildings, elevations, fire hydrants, construction zones, real time traffic conditions, etc. from various sources such as governmental institutions, paid informational services, manually entered information, information gathered and provided in real time by autonomous vehicles, etc. The detailed map information may also include information identifying predetermined locations where an autonomous vehicle can stop to pick up or drop off a passenger. These predetermined locations may include reasonable locations where a vehicle could stop selected manually or through some analysis of the characteristics of each location].
Claim 9, Coljin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route comprises: identifying a current location of a transportation provider matched with the request for transportation; and selecting the at least one alternate waypoint for the walk-enabled driving route based at least in part on the current location of the transportation provider [see at least p0061 - The set of suggested locations may include all of the predetermined locations within the threshold distance, as shown in FIGS. 7 and 8. Alternatively, the set may include one or more predetermined locations that are closest to the received location, up to some maximum value, such as 3 or more or less, within the threshold distance].
Claim 11, Colijn discloses computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined walking range comprises at least one of: a length of a walking route between the alternate waypoint and the initial waypoint; an expected traversal time of a walking route between the alternate waypoint and the initial waypoint; or a level of complexity of a walking route between the alternate waypoint and the initial waypoint [see at least p0065 – p0069 and Fig 11 - the scoring may be especially useful situations in which a predetermined location very close to the received location is somehow less desirable than another predetermined location farther away. For example, if a predetermined location on one side of a highway is closer in distance to a received location, but because of the difficulty involved in walking there from the received location, the scoring may identify another predetermined location that is farther away from the received location but easier to reach by walking. In one example, although point 1122 is farther away from the location of map marker 1130 than point 1120, point 1122 may have a higher score than point 1120. For instance, point 1120 may require a person to cross road 1160 which may be a highway or typically busy area in terms of traffic, whereas point 1122, though farther away from map marker 1130 does not require a person to cross any roads and is on the same side of road 1162 as the location of map marker 1130].
Claim 13, Colijn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined walking range comprises a walking range preference set by a transportation requestor who initiated the request for transportation [see at least p0026 -the threshold distance may be defined as a predetermined radial or walking distance from the received location and may also be adjusted by a user. For example, a default threshold distance may be 500 feet, or more or less, radially or in walking distance from a particular location. A user may then use his or her client computing device to adjust this value up or down and any adjustments may be provided to the one or more server computing devices by the user's client computing device].
Claim 14, Colijn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but is silent to wherein the calculation accounts for one or more waypoints for a particular route being located on a far side of a street from the transportation provider using the particular route.
However, Donnelly discloses an acceptable walking distance can be distance that a user would be willing walk (or otherwise travel) to arrive at a vehicle. In some implementations, the operations computing system 106 can determine the acceptable walking distance, as described herein, and provide such information to the vehicle 104. In some implementations, the vehicle 104 can determine the acceptable walking distance. In some implementations, the acceptable walking distance can be determined by another computing system and provided to the operations computing system 106 and/or the vehicle 104.
Further discloses, the acceptable walking distance is shown in Fig. 2, see 206 The vicinity 206 of the location 202 associated with the user 110 and can be indicative of an acceptable walking distance from the location 202 associated with the user 110 and shows an alternate pick-up place may be across the street, or on a side street of the optimal pick-up (202) [see at least Figs 2 - 3, p0082 – p0089].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Colijn to include, wherein the calculation accounts for one or more waypoints for a particular route being located on a far side of a street from the transportation provider using the particular route, as suggested and taught by Donnelly, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing pickup locations to users that yield optimization for actual road conditions, that are complete in real time, pick up time or total trip time are reduced or minimized. Users will not need an extra step to contact the provider to adjust a pick up location, for example to cross the street, or because the initially-proposed pickup location may not be not suitable for the pickup. In addition, any need for an additional step in the user's request for trip services is eliminated.
Claim 15, Colijn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a provider device associated with a transportation provider matched with the request for transportation; and directing the provider device to display, via a graphical user interface that comprises a map, directions for: meeting a transportation requestor at a waypoint within the walk-enabled driving route; traversing a portion of the walk-enabled driving route that does not comprise walking; and dropping off the transportation requestor at a waypoint within the walk-enabled driving route [see at least p0021 – p0024, p0026 Once a pickup or destination location is received, the one or more server computing devices may access the detailed map information to determine whether the received location corresponds to one of the predetermined locations. If so, the one or more server computing devices may determine that the received location is in fact reachable; the threshold distance may be defined as a predetermined radial or walking distance from the received location and may also be adjusted by a user. For example, a default threshold distance may be 500 feet, or more or less, radially or in walking distance from a particular location].
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 17, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colijn (US 20160370194) in view of Donnelly (US 20180342157) and Nesbitt (US 7133771).
Claims 2 and 17, Colijn as modified discloses the computer-implemented method and system of claim 1 and Claim 16, but does not specifically teach wherein calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route comprises: creating a graph where each node represents a waypoint and a weight of each edge represents a traversal cost between two waypoints connected by the edge; and calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route based in part on a total traversal cost of traversing a set of waypoints and edges that comprise the walk-enabled driving route.
However, Nesbitt discloses a preferred route from an origin location to a destination location. The preferred route a voids a particular maneuver or maneuvers identified by a user. In general, the routing determination is made by processing directed links (e.g., one-way edges) in a graph that includes one or more links and two or more nodes. The determination of a preferred route may include an estimate of the waiting time required at one or more intersections along alternative routes and/or an estimate of the time required to travel the alternative routes based on the day of the week or the day of the year that travel is to occur [see Col 2, ll. 34 – 45]. Also, see Fig 3, the routing graph 300 includes a collection of directed links (e.g., one-way edges) and nodes. A node on the routing graph 300 is represented by a point and is labeled by an uppercase alphabetic character (e.g., A, B, or C). A directed link on the routing graph 300 is represented by a line (or edge) that connects two nodes. Additionally, FIG. 3A (below) illustrates an exemplary process to determine a preferred route from an origin location ("origin") to a destination location ("destination") on a routing graph 300A. A process to determine a preferred route from Springfield to Redding begins by determining which of the directed links 310A and 330A that are adjacent to the origin, Springfield, should be examined first. The directed link 330A is examined first because directed link 310A has a lower cost here, 6) than directed link 330A that has a cost of 16 [see at least Col 5 line 20 – Col 6, line 48].
Nesbitt is capable of providing a cost analysis between two waypoints. FIG. 5 illustrates the results of determining a preferred route using directed links. A preferred route is determined from node B 315N to node M 375N in routing graph 300 of FIG. 3. Data 500 includes an adjacency set 510 that includes one or more directed links that have been identified by the routing system as adjacent (or otherwise near) a particular portion of the route graph 300 (e.g., adjacent to an end node of a particular directed link). The adjacency set also may be referred to as a priority set [see Col 11, ll. 41 – 53].
Nesbitt teaches that a preferred route may be the least cost route only after a destination is found, thereby teaching calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route, which in Nesbitt is can be any route between two points (including a walking distance route) [see at least Fig 4, Col 6, ll. 29 – 48].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Colijn as modified to include, wherein calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route comprises: creating a graph where each node represents a waypoint and a weight of each edge represents a traversal cost between two waypoints connected by the edge; and calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route based in part on a total traversal cost of traversing a set of waypoints and edges that comprise the walk-enabled driving route, as suggested and taught by Nesbitt, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing that a preferred route between an origin location and a destination location may be determined by a computer system. A computer system may be used to search for an optimal path through a directed graph (e.g., a collection of nodes and edges) that represents a network of roads and intersections. Each edge (or line) of the graph may represent a road in a map, and each node of the graph may represent an intersection of two or more roads or a terminal point of a road, such as a dead end road. The path that requires the least distance or time may be determined.
Claims 3 and 18, Colijn as modified discloses the computer-implemented method/system of claim 2 and Claim 17, yet it does not specifically teach wherein creating the graph comprises: identifying a set of waypoints that comprises the initial waypoints and the at least one alternate waypoint; creating an initial graph that comprises a set of vertices that represent the set of waypoints and a set of edges that comprises an edge between each pair of vertices that represent geographically adjacent waypoints in the set of waypoints; and creating a directed acyclic graph by pruning from the initial graph at least one edge with a traversal cost that exceeds a threshold for traversal cost.
However, Nesbitt teaches the routing graph 300 includes a collection of directed links (e.g., one-way edges) and nodes. A node on the routing graph 300 is represented by a point and is labeled by an uppercase alphabetic character (e.g., A, B, or C). A directed link on the routing graph 300 is represented by a line (or edge) that connects two nodes. A directed link may be referenced using an ordered pair of nodes where the order of the nodes corresponds to the direction of travel. For example, a line between two nodes B and C includes two directed links, namely a directed link from B to C that may be referred to as directed link BC, and another directed link from C to B that may be referred to as directed link CB.
Further for the teaching of and creating a directed acyclic graph by pruning from the initial graph at least one edge with a traversal cost that exceeds a threshold for traversal cost, Nesbitt teaches for each directed link identified, the routing system determines a cost associated with the directed link and adds the directed link and its associated cost to the set of directed links. The routing system continues by selecting a directed link from the set and identifying one or more directed links that arc adjacent (e.g., expanding the search set) until the destination has been reached or found. The destination has been reached, for example, when one or more identified directed links that include the destination as an end node [see at least Figs 3, 3A, Col 5, ll. 20 – 60].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Colijn as modified to include, wherein creating the graph comprises: identifying a set of waypoints that comprises the initial waypoints and the at least one alternate waypoint; creating an initial graph that comprises a set of vertices that represent the set of waypoints and a set of edges that comprises an edge between each pair of vertices that represent geographically adjacent waypoints in the set of waypoints; and creating a directed acyclic graph by pruning from the initial graph at least one edge with a traversal cost that exceeds a threshold for traversal cost, as suggested and taught by Nesbitt, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing, when the routing system determines that the destination has been found or identified, the routing system determines the least-cost route. The routing system may determine the least-cost route by tracing back through the adjacent directed links that comprise the route. For example, the routing system may trace back through the adjacent directed links that comprise the route through the use of information that identifies the previous directed link for each directed link in the adjacency set. Other software engineering methods, processes or techniques may also be used to determine the least-cost route after the destination has been found. The least-cost route also may be referred to as a preferred route.
Claims 4 and 19, Colijn as modified discloses the computer-implemented method/system of claim 2 and claim 17, but does not specifically disclose wherein determining that the difference between the value metric of the walk-enabled driving route and the value metric of the initial driving route satisfies a walking-value threshold comprises: identifying at least two routes through the graph from a set of vertices representing potential starting waypoints to a set of vertices representing potential destination waypoints, where the at least two routes comprise at least the initial driving route between the initial waypoints and the walk-enabled driving route; and
providing the at least two routes as input to an objective function that produces, as output, a value metric for each route.
However, Nesbitt discloses the routing determination is made by processing directed links (e.g., one-way edges) in a graph that includes one or more links and two or more nodes. The determination of a preferred route may include an estimate of the waiting time required at one or more intersections along alternative routes and/or an estimate of the time required to travel the alternative routes based on the day of the week or the day of the year that travel is to occur [see Col 2, ll. 34 – 45]. Also, see Fig 3, the routing graph 300 includes a collection of directed links (e.g., one-way edges) and nodes. A node on the routing graph 300 is represented by a point and is labeled by an uppercase alphabetic character (e.g., A, B, or C). A directed link on the routing graph 300 is represented by a line (or edge) that connects two nodes. Additionally, FIG. 3A illustrates an exemplary process to determine a preferred route from an origin location ("origin") to a destination location ("destination") on a routing graph 300A. A process to determine a preferred route from Springfield to Redding begins by determining which of the directed links 310A and 330A that are adjacent to the origin, Springfield, should be examined first. The directed link 330A is examined first because directed link 310A has a lower cost here, 6) than directed link 330A that has a cost of 16 [see at least Col 5 line 20 – Col 6, line 48].
Nesbitt is capable of providing a cost analysis between two waypoints. FIG. 5 illustrates the results of determining a preferred route using directed links. A preferred route is determined from node B 315N to node M 375N in routing graph 300 of FIG. 3. Data 500 includes an adjacency set 510 that includes one or more directed links that have been identified by the routing system as adjacent (or otherwise near) a particular portion of the route graph 300 (e.g., adjacent to an end node of a particular directed link). The adjacency set also may be referred to as a priority set [see Col 11, ll. 41 – 53].
Nesbitt teaches that a preferred route may be the least cost route only after a destination is found, thereby teaching calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route, which in Nesbitt is can be any route between two points (including a walking distance route) [see at least Fig 4, Col 6, ll. 29 – 48].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Colijn as modified to include, determining that the difference between the value metric of the walk-enabled driving route and the value metric of the initial driving route satisfies a walking-value threshold comprises: identifying at least two routes through the graph from a set of vertices representing potential starting waypoints to a set of vertices representing potential destination waypoints, where the at least two routes comprise at least the initial driving route between the initial waypoints and the walk-enabled driving route; and providing the at least two routes as input to an objective function that produces, as output, a value metric for each route, as suggested and taught by Nesbitt, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing that a preferred route between an origin location and a destination location may be determined by a computer system. A computer system may be used to search for an optimal path through a directed graph (e.g., a collection of nodes and edges) that represents a network of roads and intersections. Each edge (or line) of the graph may represent a road in a map, and each node of the graph may represent an intersection of two or more roads or a terminal point of a road, such as a dead end road. The path that requires the least distance or time may be determined.
Claim(s) 5, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colijn(US 20160370194) in view of Donnelly (US 20180342157) and Chachra (US 20180328748).
Claim 5, Colijn as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein determining that the difference between the value metric of the walk-enabled driving route and the value metric of the initial driving route satisfies the walking-value threshold comprises determining that, compared to the initial driving route, the walk-enabled driving route reduces an estimated time a transportation provider spends traveling to meet a transportation requestor associated with the request for transportation.
However, Chachra discloses systems and methods, for determining alternate request locations based on a pickup location score (PLoS) of a location associated with transportation request information. An estimated time to destination (ETD) of a provider matched to a transport request is determined. The ETD may include an ETA to the request location, as described herein, or may be determined between the request location and a destination of the request, or a combination. An ETT for the requestor to move to each of a number of alternate request locations is determined; for example, how long would it take for the particular requestor to walk to the new location (e.g., taking into account various factors such as average walking rate, elevation, number of intersections to be crossed, road data, etc.). A new ETD to the destination from each of the alternate request locations is determined, taking into account the ETT, and a determination is made whether the travel to one of the alternate destination locations would save time on the journey; for example, the time taken to walk to the new request location (e.g., ETT) would be compensated for by a reduction in the time to the destination based on the new request location as compared to the original request location [see at least p0025].
Also disclosing, the pickup location scores may be compared to a threshold pickup location score value and as long as they meet that threshold value, the locations may be sufficiently fit as an alternate pickup location for the request. As such, a pickup location score threshold may be used to filter potential alternate request locations that may be used in optimizing a pickup location for travel time or arrival time to a destination but the pickup location score values may not be compared to one another to identify the best possible location [see at least p0043].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Colijn as modified to include, wherein determining that the difference between the value metric of the walk-enabled driving route and the value metric of the initial driving route satisfies the walking-value threshold comprises determining that, compared to the initial driving route, the walk-enabled driving route reduces an estimated time a transportation provider spends traveling to meet a transportation requestor associated with the request for transportation, as suggested and taught by Chachra, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing accurate matching between providers and requestors and efficient use of system resources while attempting to find requestors. Also, to improve the identification of interaction locations and improve interactions between providers and requestors for overall travel time determinations, efficient use of system and processor resources, and overall improved experiences between providers and requestors [see Chachra p0003].
Claim 10, Colijn as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route comprises: identifying a potential waypoint for a future request for transportation associated with a transportation provider matched with the request for transportation; and
selecting the at least one alternate waypoint for the walk-enabled driving route based at least in part on a location of the potential waypoint for the future request for transportation.
However, Chachra discloses systems and methods, for determining alternate request locations based on a pickup location score (PLoS) of a location associated with transportation request information. This dynamic transportation matching system may maintain data indicating a default distance from a request location 302 that will be used for every request. This data may apply to all or a subset of requestors; for example, a user may set a default distance in an application, which is then sent to the dynamic transportation matching system and stored in relation to the requestor's account and used for future requests [see at least p0048]. Further teaching, a threshold distance 304 from the request location 302 may be determined along with a number of alternate request locations 306 within the threshold distance 304. For example, the dynamic transportation matching system may maintain data indicating a default distance from a request location 302 that will be used for every request. This data may apply to all or a subset of requestors; for example, a user may set a default distance in an application, which is then sent to the dynamic transportation matching system and stored in relation to the requestor's account and used for future requests. In an embodiment, the distance may be automatically determined based on a requirement that a minimum and/or maximum number of alternate request locations 306 be provided in response to the request.
A user may have a setting in the application indicating a maximum walking distance they are willing to accept in order to travel to an alternate request location 306. Data on the device, such as accumulated and stored by a motion detection component, may allow the dynamic transportation matching system to determine that the user walks an above-average amount (e.g., compared to other users), and therefore may be more inclined to walk a longer threshold distance 304 [see at least Fig 3, p0048].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Colijn as modified to include, wherein calculating the value metric for the walk-enabled driving route comprises: identifying a potential waypoint for a future request for transportation associated with a transportation provider matched with the request for transportation; and selecting the at least one alternate waypoint for the walk-enabled driving route based at least in part on a location of the potential waypoint for the future request for transportation, as suggested and taught by Chachra, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing accurate matching between providers and requestors and efficient use of system resources while attempting to find requestors. Also, to improve the identification of interaction locations and improve interactions between providers and requestors for overall travel time determinations, efficient use of system and processor resources, and overall improved experiences between providers and requestors [see Chachra p0003].
Claim 12, Colijn as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein the predetermined walking range comprises a ratio of an expected traversal time of a walking route between the alternate waypoint and the initial waypoint to an expected trip time of fulfilling the request for transportation.
However, Chachra discloses an estimated time to destination (ETD) of a provider matched to a transport request is determined. The ETD may include an ETA to the request location, as described herein, or may be determined between the request location and a destination of the request, or a combination. An ETT for the requestor to move to each of a number of alternate request locations is determined; for example, how long would it take for the particular requestor to walk to the new location (e.g., taking into account various factors such as average walking rate, elevation, number of intersections to be crossed, road data, etc.). A new ETD to the destination from each of the alternate request locations is determined, taking into account the ETT, and a determination is made whether the travel to one of the alternate destination locations would save time on the journey; for example, the time taken to walk to the new request location (e.g., ETT) would be compensated for by a reduction in the time to the destination based on the new request location as compared to the original request location [see at least p0025].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Colijn as modified to include, wherein the predetermined walking range comprises a ratio of an expected traversal time of a walking route between the alternate waypoint and the initial waypoint to an expected trip time of fulfilling the request for transportation, as suggested and taught by Chachra, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing accurate matching between providers and requestors and efficient use of system resources while attempting to find requestors. Also, to improve the identification of interaction locations and improve interactions between providers and requestors for overall travel time determinations, efficient use of system and processor resources, and overall improved experiences between providers and requestors [see Chachra p0003].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, the Examiner would like to note that the reference of Donnelly performs a backend comparison that accounts for a predicted acceptance behavior of the requestor or user and can accept the location for pick-up once the walking -value or (acceptable walking distance) is satisfied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/Renee LaRose/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/SOHANA TANJU KHAYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657