DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 11, 13-16, 18-20, 22-24, 26, 27, 29, 30, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb to (WO 2021175744A1) in view of Torabian to (WO2024033818A1)
Regarding claims 1,20,32 Teyeb a method performed by a wireless terminal device(fig.3 “302”) in communication with a Master Node (MN) associated with a Master Cell Group (MCG (fig.3 “304”) and a Secondary Node (SN) associated with a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) (fig.3 “306”), comprising: instantiating a fast MGC failure recovery mode in response to receiving an MCG failure recovery configuration from the MN;( [0058] In response to detecting the RLF, UE also initiates a fast MCG link recovery procedure (this assumes that the UE is configured for MCG failure recovery). Initiating the fast MCG link recovery procedure comprises the UE 302 transmitting MCG failure information to the MN 304 via a secondary node (SN) 306) detecting an MCG radio link failure;( [0058] In response to detecting the RLF, UE also initiates a fast MCG link recovery procedure), generating a reporting data structure associated with the MCG link failure and the no-MN-response condition;( [0058] the UE initializes a radio link failure report list (with zero entries) and adds the generated radio link failure report as one element to the radio link failure report list. In one embodiment, an indication is included in this entry to indicate that the RLF report was generated while MCG failure recovery was available)
Teyeb does not explicitly teach determining a no-MN-response condition associated with informing the MN of the MCG radio link failure via the SN , transmitting the reporting data structure to an intermediary wireless access network node for relaying the MCG link failure and the no-MN-response condition to the MN or the SN
However, Torabian teaches determining a no-MN-response condition associated with informing the MN of the MCG radio link failure via the SN ,( page 12 , lines 1-25 discloses ..if the SCG has failed while the T316 was running or before transmitting MCG failure information, a primary secondary cell identity is set to a global cell identity of a primary secondary cell group (PSCell) if available, otherwise to a physical cell identity and carrier frequency of the PSCell. In some embodiments, if the SCG has failed while the T316 was running or before transmitting MCG failure information and if a second timer (T310) expires at the SCG while the T316 was running or before transmitting the MCG failure information, the indication is set to expiry of the T310 at SCG. … if the WD declares a radio link failure at the SCG due to a random access problem indication from SCG Medium Access Control (MAC) while the T316 was running or before transmitting the MCG failure information, the indication is set to SCG random access problem)transmitting the reporting data structure to an intermediary wireless access network node for relaying the MCG link failure and the no-MN-response condition to the MN or the SN (page 12 , lines 1-25 discloses the WD is configured with a dual connectivity (DC) configuration including one or more parameters usable by the WD to communicate using a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG). The WD is configurable with a fast MCG link recovery configuration. The network node is configured to receive, from the WD, information related to a reason for a failure of an MCG recovery procedure, where the MCG recovery procedure is associated with a failure of the MCG, and perform one or more actions based on the information. .. the failure of the MCG recovery procedure occurs after a radio link failure at the MCG. .. page.39, lines 10-16 discloses network node fetching RFL report)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the system of Teyeb determining a no-MN-response condition associated with informing the MN of the MCG radio link failure via the SN , transmitting the reporting data structure to an intermediary wireless access network node for relaying the MCG link failure and the no-MN-response condition to the MN or the SN, as suggested by Torabian. This modification would benefit the system to reduce synchronization error.
Regarding claims 2,22 Teyeb and Torabian teaches wherein the no-MN-response condition comprises a detection of an SCG radio link failure between the wireless terminal device and the SN prior to the wireless terminal device successfully informing the SN of the MCG radio link failure( Torabian ,page 12 , lines 1-25 discloses ..if the SCG has failed while the T316 was running or before transmitting MCG failure information, a primary secondary cell identity is set to a global cell identity of a primary secondary cell group (PSCell) if available, otherwise to a physical cell identity and carrier frequency of the PSCell. In some embodiments, if the SCG has failed while the T316 was running or before transmitting MCG failure information and if a second timer (T310) expires at the SCG while the T316 was running or before transmitting the MCG failure information, the indication is set to expiry of the T310 at SCG. … if the WD declares a radio link failure at the SCG due to a random access problem indication from SCG Medium Access Control (MAC) while the T316 was running or before transmitting the MCG failure information, the indication is set to SCG random access problem).
Regarding claim 3, Teyeb and Torabian teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the reporting data structure comprises at least one of: a first cell identification of the MN; a second cell identification of the SN; a first failure information associated with the MCG radio link failure; or a second failure information associated with the SCG radio link failure( Torabian ,page 12 , lines 1-25 discloses ..if the SCG has failed while the T316 was running or before transmitting MCG failure information, a primary secondary cell identity is set to a global cell identity of a primary secondary cell group (PSCell) if available, otherwise to a physical cell identity and carrier frequency of the PSCell).
Regarding claims 5,23 Teyeb and Torabian teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the first failure information comprises at least one of an MCG link failure type or a list of MCG frequency measurements and the second failure information comprises at least one cell measurement associated with the SN( Torabian ,page 12 , lines 1-25 discloses ..if the SCG has failed while the T316 was running or before transmitting MCG failure information, a primary secondary cell identity is set to a global cell identity of a primary secondary cell group (PSCell) if available, otherwise to a physical cell identity and carrier frequency of the PSCell).
Regarding claims 7,24 Teyeb and Torabian teaches wherein the reporting data structure is included as an Information Element (IE) in a UE Radio Link Failure (RLF) report message, or in the UE RLF report message as a container, or in a fast MCG link recovery report message separate from a UE RLF report message(Torabian ,page 7, lines 3-11 discloses If the wireless device RLF Report Container information element (IE) is included in the FAILURE INDICATION message, the first network node (e.g., NG-RAN node1),may use it to derive failure case information).
Regarding claims 11,26 Teyeb and Torabian teaches wherein the no-MN-response condition comprises a detection of an SCG radio link failure between the wireless terminal device and the SN after the wireless terminal device successfully informs the SN of the MCG radio link failure (Torabian .page 33, lines 6-10 discloses the WD is further configured to, in response to determining the failure of the MCG recovery procedure has occurred, store information related to a reason for the failure of the MCG recovery procedure and cause transmission of the stored information to the network node. In some embodiments, the WD is further configured to determine the failure of the MCG recovery procedure has occurred after detection of a radio link failure at the MCG. In some other embodiments, the information includes an indication indicating the reason for the failure of the MCG recovery procedure. The WD is further configured to, if a first timer (T316) has expired, set the indication to an expiry of the T316) and wherein the reporting data structure comprises: an indication that the wireless terminal device has successfully informed the SN of the MCG radio link failure;( Torabian ,page.33, lines 9-10 discloses the information includes an indication indicating the reason for the failure of the MCG recovery procedure) and at least one of: a first cell identification of the MN; a second cell identification of the SN; a first failure information associated with the MCG radio link failure; or a second failure information associated with the SCG radio link failure(Torabian ,page 33, lines 15-23 discloses the WD is further configured to, if the T316 has not expired and the SCG was deactivated at an initiation time of the MCG recovery procedure, set the indication to SCG deactivated. In some other embodiments, the WD is further configured to, if the SCG has failed while the T316 was running or before transmitting MCG failure information, set a primary secondary cell identity to a global cell identity of a primary secondary cell group (PSCell))).
Regarding claims 13,27 Teyeb and Torabian teaches wherein the first failure information comprises at least one of an MCG link failure type or a list of MCG frequency measurements and the second failure information comprises at least one cell measurement associated with the SN(Torabian, page 3, lines 15-18 discloses The content of the SCG Failure report may contain a failure type, MCG related measurements, and SCG related measurements).
Regarding claims 14, Teyeb and Torabian teaches wherein the reporting data structure is included as: an Information Element (IE) or a container in a UE Radio Link Failure (RLF) report message; or a fast MCG link recovery report message separate from the UE RLF report message(Torabian,page 7, lines 3-11 discloses If the wireless device RLF Report Container information element (IE) is included in the FAILURE INDICATION message, the first network node (e.g., NG-RAN node1),may use it to derive failure case information).
Regarding claims 15,29 Teyeb and Torabian teaches wherein: the MCG failure recovery configuration comprises a timer having a preconfigured time length; ([0123] the LIE receiving configuration information transmitted by a network function (304, 306), the configuration information comprising MCG failure recovery configuration information for configuring the LIE to initiate a fast MCG link recovery procedure in response to the LE detecting an MCG link failure ) the method further comprising transmitting a failure message indicating the MCG radio link failure to the SN;( [0058] the UE initializes a radio link failure report list (with zero entries) and adds the generated radio link failure report as one element to the radio link failure report list. In one embodiment, an indication is included in this entry to indicate that the RLF report was generated while MCG failure recovery was available), but does not explicitly teach the no-MN-response condition comprises an expiration of the timer prior to receiving a response to the failure message from the MN; however, Torabian teaches the no-MN-response condition comprises an expiration of the timer prior to receiving a response to the failure message from the MN(page 12 , lines 1-25 discloses … if the WD declares a radio link failure at the SCG due to a random access problem indication from SCG Medium Access Control (MAC) while the T316 was running or before transmitting the MCG failure information, the indication is set to SCG random access problem)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the system of Teyeb include the no-MN-response condition comprises an expiration of the timer prior to receiving a response to the failure message from the MN, as suggested by Torabian. This modification would benefit the system to reduce synchronization error.
Regarding claim 16, Teyeb and Torabian teaches wherein the reporting data structure comprises: an indication that the timer has expired; and at least one of: a first cell identification of the MN; a second cell identification of the SN; a failure information associated with the MCG radio link failure; or a cell measurement of the SN upon the expiration of the timer,( Torabian, page 12 , lines 1-25 discloses ..if the SCG has failed while the T316 was running or before transmitting MCG failure information, a primary secondary cell identity is set to a global cell identity of a primary secondary cell group (PSCell) if available, otherwise to a physical cell identity and carrier frequency of the PSCell. In some embodiments, if the SCG has failed while the T316 was running or before transmitting MCG failure information and if a second timer (T310) expires at the SCG while the T316 was running or before transmitting the MCG failure information).
Regarding claim 18, Teyeb and Torabian teaches wherein the failure information comprises at least one of an MCG link failure type or a list of MCG frequency measurements(Torabian, page 3, lines 15-18 discloses The content of the SCG Failure report may contain a failure type, MCG related measurements, and SCG related measurements).
Regarding claims 19,30 Teyeb and Torabian teaches wherein the reporting data structure is included as: an Information Element (IE) or a container in a UE Radio Link Failure (RLF) report message; or a fast MCG link recovery report message separate from the UE RLF report message(Torabian, ,page 7, lines 3-11 discloses If the wireless device RLF Report Container information element (IE) is included in the FAILURE INDICATION message, the first network node (e.g., NG-RAN node1),may use it to derive failure case information).
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461