DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 02/27/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 12, 15, and 17-20 have been amended. The objections to claims 1, 12, and 17-20 have been withdrawn in light of the instant amendments. This action is made final, as necessitated by amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 12/17/2025 has been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments appear to be directed solely to the amended subject matter which have been considered and addressed as detailed below under Claim Rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pijl (US 10142790 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Pijl teaches a method comprising:
responsive to a trigger signal at an associated first time, generating a first location value of a mobile device using a first ranging session with one or more other devices (column 6 line 34 and Fig. 2, “an initial location of the device 2 is determined. This initial location can be stored in the memory module 14, and the initial location used as a reference point to which subsequent movement of the device 2 is compared”—since the method is a loop, the “trigger” would be at step 109);
storing the first location value in a memory (column 6 line 35, “This initial location can be stored in the memory module 14”);
before any subsequent ranging with the one or more or more other devices (column 6 line 45, “In step 103, the processor 8 controls the GPS module 4 (or other receiver used to obtain position measurements) to deactivate or power down so that it is no longer collecting or processing measurements from the GPS satellites”), tracking, using a motion sensor of the mobile device, motion of the mobile device to determine a present location relative to the first location value (column 6 line 49, “Subsequently, in step 105, measurements of the movement of the device 2 are collected using the movement sensor 16. In particular, measurements of the acceleration acting on the device 2 are collected by accelerometer 16”);
determining that the present location for the mobile device has changed by a threshold amount from the first location value since the associated first time (column 6 line 63, “After the measure of the distance has been determined, it is determined in step 109 whether the device 2 has moved more than a threshold distance from the location given by the last location measurement (obtained in step 101)”);
responsive to the present location for the mobile device having changed by more than the threshold amount since the associated first time (column 7 line 4, “If it is determined that the device 2 has moved more than the threshold distance from the location given by the last location measurement”), generating a second location value using a second ranging session with the one or more other devices (column 7 line 6, “then the processor 8 activates the GPS module 4 (step 111) and the GPS module 4 takes a measurement of the current location of the device 2 (step 113)”);
and storing the second location value in the memory (column 6 line 9, “a memory module 14 that can store at least the last measurement of the location of the device 2 obtained by the GPS module 4 (although preferably a plurality of earlier measurements of the location of the device 2 are stored to allow the change in location of the device 2 over time to be determined)”).
Regarding claim 6, Pijl teaches the method of claim 1. Pijl further teaches the motion sensor is an accelerometer of the mobile device (column 6 line 23, “the movement sensor 16 is an accelerometer”).
Regarding claim 8, Pijl teaches the method of claim 1. Pijl further teaches generating the second location value is delayed until the mobile device is stationary for a specified period of time (column 7 line 19, “the measure of the distance moved by the device 2 is determined by computing the total amount of acceleration of the device 2 at each sampling instant, comparing the total amount of acceleration at each sampling instant to a threshold and determining that the device 2 has moved a sufficient distance from the location given by the last location measurement when a predetermined period of time expires after the total amount of acceleration at a particular sampling instant exceeds the threshold”).
Regarding claim 12, Pijl teaches a mobile device, comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 1 processor 8);
and a memory storing instructions (Fig. 1, memory module 14) that when executed by the one or more processors perform operations to:
responsive to a trigger signal at an associated first time, generate a first location value using a first ranging session with one or more other devices (column 6 line 34 and Fig. 2, “an initial location of the device 2 is determined. This initial location can be stored in the memory module 14, and the initial location used as a reference point to which subsequent movement of the device 2 is compared”—since the method is a loop, the “trigger” would be at step 109);
store the first location value in a memory (column 6 line 35, “This initial location can be stored in the memory module 14”);
before any subsequent ranging with the one or more or more other devices (column 6 line 45, “In step 103, the processor 8 controls the GPS module 4 (or other receiver used to obtain position measurements) to deactivate or power down so that it is no longer collecting or processing measurements from the GPS satellites”), track, using a motion sensor of the mobile device, motion of the mobile device to determine a present location relative to the first location value (column 6 line 49, “Subsequently, in step 105, measurements of the movement of the device 2 are collected using the movement sensor 16. In particular, measurements of the acceleration acting on the device 2 are collected by accelerometer 16”);
determine that the present location for the mobile device has changed by a threshold amount from the first location value since the associated first time (column 6 line 63, “After the measure of the distance has been determined, it is determined in step 109 whether the device 2 has moved more than a threshold distance from the location given by the last location measurement (obtained in step 101)”);
responsive to the present location for the mobile device having changed by more than the threshold amount since the associated first time (column 7 line 4, “If it is determined that the device 2 has moved more than the threshold distance from the location given by the last location measurement”), generate a second location value using a second ranging session with the one or more other devices (column 7 line 6, “then the processor 8 activates the GPS module 4 (step 111) and the GPS module 4 takes a measurement of the current location of the device 2 (step 113)”);
and store the second location value in the memory (column 6 line 9, “a memory module 14 that can store at least the last measurement of the location of the device 2 obtained by the GPS module 4 (although preferably a plurality of earlier measurements of the location of the device 2 are stored to allow the change in location of the device 2 over time to be determined)”).
Regarding claim 17, Pijl teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 1, memory module 14) storing instructions that when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 1 processor 8) perform operations to:
responsive to a trigger signal at an associated first time, generate a first location value of a mobile device using a first ranging session with one or more other devices (column 6 line 34 and Fig. 2, “an initial location of the device 2 is determined. This initial location can be stored in the memory module 14, and the initial location used as a reference point to which subsequent movement of the device 2 is compared”—since the method is a loop, the “trigger” would be at step 109);
store the first location value in a memory (column 6 line 35, “This initial location can be stored in the memory module 14”);
before any subsequent ranging with the one or more or more other devices, (column 6 line 45, “In step 103, the processor 8 controls the GPS module 4 (or other receiver used to obtain position measurements) to deactivate or power down so that it is no longer collecting or processing measurements from the GPS satellites”) track, using a motion sensor of the mobile device, motion of the mobile device to determine a present location relative to the first location value (column 6 line 49, “Subsequently, in step 105, measurements of the movement of the device 2 are collected using the movement sensor 16. In particular, measurements of the acceleration acting on the device 2 are collected by accelerometer 16”);
determine that the present location for the mobile device has changed by a threshold amount from the first location value since the associated first time (column 6 line 63, “After the measure of the distance has been determined, it is determined in step 109 whether the device 2 has moved more than a threshold distance from the location given by the last location measurement (obtained in step 101)”);
responsive to the present location for the mobile device having changed by more than the threshold amount since the associated first time (column 7 line 4, “If it is determined that the device 2 has moved more than the threshold distance from the location given by the last location measurement”), generate a second location value using a second ranging session with the one or more other devices (column 7 line 6, “then the processor 8 activates the GPS module 4 (step 111) and the GPS module 4 takes a measurement of the current location of the device 2 (step 113)”);
and store the second location value in the memory (column 6 line 9, “a memory module 14 that can store at least the last measurement of the location of the device 2 obtained by the GPS module 4 (although preferably a plurality of earlier measurements of the location of the device 2 are stored to allow the change in location of the device 2 over time to be determined)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pijl in view of Rahman (Rahman, M. (2021, May 2). How to customize Android’s built-in Battery Saver mode. XDA. https://www.xda-developers.com/customize-android-battery-saver-mode/) and Shukla (Shukla, G. (2021, July 22). How to set up Face Unlock on Android. XDA. https://www.xda-developers.com/how-to-setup-face-unlock-android/).
Regarding claim 2, Pijl teaches the method of claim 1. Pijl fails to teach the second ranging session is further generated based on a screen of the mobile device facing towards a user. However, limiting location services based on whether a user is using the device is well-known in the field.
Rahman teaches the second ranging session is further generated based on a screen of the mobile device is active (“What Battery Saver limits…Location services stop when your screen is off”).
Furthermore, Shukla teaches turning on the screen when the mobile device is facing towards a user (Face unlock and Lift to unlock).
Rahman and Shukla describe basic features of Android phones. Android phones limit location services when the screen is off or locked in order to save battery, and they can be configured to unlock based on the phone detecting a user’s face. Therefore, location services would be tied to when the mobile device is facing towards the user.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Rahman and Shukla. Pijl aims to improve battery consumption due to GPS usage (column 1 line 40, “Another drawback with satellite positioning systems is that the receiver consumes a relatively large amount of power while making a location measurement”). Pijl would have been motivated to look towards other methods of battery saving utilized by current mobile devices such as Android phones.
Regarding claim 13, Pijl teaches the mobile device of claim 12. Pijl fails to teach the second ranging session is further generated based on a screen of the mobile device facing towards a user. However, limiting location services based on whether a user is using the device is well-known in the field.
Rahman teaches the second ranging session is further generated based on a screen of the mobile device is active (“What Battery Saver limits…Location services stop when your screen is off”).
Furthermore, Shukla teaches turning on the screen when the mobile device is facing towards a user (Face unlock and Lift to unlock).
Rahman and Shukla describe basic features of Android phones. Android phones limit location services when the screen is off or locked in order to save battery, and they can be configured to unlock based on the phone detecting a user’s face. Therefore, location services would be tied to when the mobile device is facing towards the user.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Rahman and Shukla. Pijl aims to improve battery consumption due to GPS usage (column 1 line 40, “Another drawback with satellite positioning systems is that the receiver consumes a relatively large amount of power while making a location measurement”). Pijl would have been motivated to look towards other methods of battery saving utilized by current mobile devices such as Android phones.
Regarding claim 18, Pijl teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17. Pijl fails to teach the second ranging session is further generated based on a screen of the mobile device facing towards a user. However, limiting location services based on whether a user is using the device is well-known in the field.
Rahman teaches the second ranging session is further generated based on a screen of the mobile device is active (“What Battery Saver limits…Location services stop when your screen is off”).
Furthermore, Shukla teaches turning on the screen when the mobile device is facing towards a user (Face unlock and Lift to unlock).
Rahman and Shukla describe basic features of Android phones. Android phones limit location services when the screen is off or locked in order to save battery, and they can be configured to unlock based on the phone detecting a user’s face. Therefore, location services would be tied to when the mobile device is facing towards the user.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Rahman and Shukla. Pijl aims to improve battery consumption due to GPS usage (column 1 line 40, “Another drawback with satellite positioning systems is that the receiver consumes a relatively large amount of power while making a location measurement”). Pijl would have been motivated to look towards other methods of battery saving utilized by current mobile devices such as Android phones.
Claim(s) 3, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pijl in view of Rahman.
Regarding claim 3, Pijl teaches the method of claim 1. Pijl fails to teach the second ranging session also requires that a screen of the mobile device is active.
However, Rahman teaches the second ranging session also requires that a screen of the mobile device is active (“What Battery Saver limits…Location services stop when your screen is off”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Rahman and Shukla. Pijl aims to improve battery consumption due to GPS usage (column 1 line 40, “Another drawback with satellite positioning systems is that the receiver consumes a relatively large amount of power while making a location measurement”). Pijl would have been motivated to look towards other methods of battery saving utilized by current mobile devices such as Android phones.
Regarding claim 14, Pijl teaches the mobile device of claim 12. Pijl fails to teach the second ranging session also requires that a screen of the mobile device is active.
However, Rahman teaches the second ranging session also requires that a screen of the mobile device is active (“What Battery Saver limits…Location services stop when your screen is off”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Rahman and Shukla. Pijl aims to improve battery consumption due to GPS usage (column 1 line 40, “Another drawback with satellite positioning systems is that the receiver consumes a relatively large amount of power while making a location measurement”). Pijl would have been motivated to look towards other methods of battery saving utilized by current mobile devices such as Android phones.
Regarding claim 19, Pijl teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17. Pijl fails to teach the second ranging session also requires that a screen of the mobile device is active.
However, Rahman teaches the second ranging session also requires that a screen of the mobile device is active (“What Battery Saver limits…Location services stop when your screen is off”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Rahman and Shukla. Pijl aims to improve battery consumption due to GPS usage (column 1 line 40, “Another drawback with satellite positioning systems is that the receiver consumes a relatively large amount of power while making a location measurement”). Pijl would have been motivated to look towards other methods of battery saving utilized by current mobile devices such as Android phones.
Claim(s) 4, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pijl in view of Hollinger (US 10833886 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Pijl teaches the method of claim 1. Pijl fails to teach determining a playback device for a streaming service based on the first location value or the second location value.
However, Hollinger teaches determining a playback device for a streaming service based on the first location value or the second location value (claim 5, “the playback environment module further comprises a position module that determines a distance between a user and each of the two or more connected playback devices and the analysis module determines at least a portion of the quality of experience score based on the distance between the user and each of the two or more connected playback devices”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Hollinger in order to select the playback device with the highest quality experience (claim 5).
Regarding claim 15, Pijl teaches the mobile device of claim 12. Pijl fails to teach determining a playback device for a streaming service based on the first location value or the second location value.
However, Hollinger teaches determining a playback device for a streaming service based on the first location value or the second location value (claim 5, “the playback environment module further comprises a position module that determines a distance between a user and each of the two or more connected playback devices and the analysis module determines at least a portion of the quality of experience score based on the distance between the user and each of the two or more connected playback devices”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Hollinger in order to select the playback device with the highest quality experience (claim 5).
Regarding claim 20, Pijl teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13. Pijl fails to teach determining a playback device for a streaming service based on the first location value or the second location value.
However, Hollinger teaches determining a playback device for a streaming service based on the first location value or the second location value (claim 5, “the playback environment module further comprises a position module that determines a distance between a user and each of the two or more connected playback devices and the analysis module determines at least a portion of the quality of experience score based on the distance between the user and each of the two or more connected playback devices”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Hollinger in order to select the playback device with the highest quality experience (claim 5).
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pijl in view of Choe (US 20190089752 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Pijl in view of Hollinger teaches the method of claim 4. Both Pijl and Hollinger fail to teach receiving a notification from a playback device instructing the mobile device to generate a third location value using a third ranging session for the mobile device.
However, Choe teaches receiving a notification from a playback device instructing the mobile device to generate a third location value using a third ranging session for the mobile device (par. 3, “Each device may support a local device state application. When a user engages in a communication, such as a call, the device state application triggers the communication-active device to forward current device state data, along with context data and sensor data to the remote device state service in real time. The context data can include, for example, a location of the communication-active and communication-inactive devices”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Pijl in view of Hollinger to incorporate the teachings of Choe in order to enhance the quality of user-device interactions (par. 6).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Pijl in view of Hollinger teaches the mobile device of claim 15. Both Pijl and Hollinger fail to teach receiving a notification from a playback device instructing the mobile device to generate a third location value using a third ranging session for the mobile device.
However, Choe teaches receiving a notification from a playback device instructing the mobile device to generate a third location value using a third ranging session for the mobile device (par. 3, “Each device may support a local device state application. When a user engages in a communication, such as a call, the device state application triggers the communication-active device to forward current device state data, along with context data and sensor data to the remote device state service in real time. The context data can include, for example, a location of the communication-active and communication-inactive devices”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Pijl in view of Hollinger to incorporate the teachings of Choe in order to enhance the quality of user-device interactions (par. 6).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pijl in view of Oral (TR 201617325 A2).
Regarding claim 7, Pijl teaches the method of claim 1. Pijl fails to teach the mobile device delays generating the second location value until a screen of the mobile device is on.
However, Oral teaches the mobile device delays generating the second location value until a screen of the mobile device is on (par. 24, “at least one application (5) that runs on the mobile device (4), continuously listens to the screen sensor (2) that is in communication with the screen sensor (2) and the location detection element (3) and connects to the location detection element (3) during screen status changes such as the screen switching from on to off or from off to on, and that receives the calculated instant location information of the mobile device (4) from the location detection element (3)”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Oral in order to track the location of the mobile device (par. 5-6).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pijl in view of Wirola (US 20210058735 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Pijl teaches the method of claim 8. Pijl fails to teach determining that the mobile device is stationary by establishing a series of progressively smaller geo-fences to determine that the mobile device has stopped moving.
However, Wirola teaches determining that the mobile device is stationary by establishing a series of progressively smaller geo-fences to determine that the mobile device has stopped moving (par. 164, “the slower the speed indicated by the at least one parameter being indicative of a speed of the mobile device, the shorter the size of the geofence may be determined in action 210 or 510”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Wirola in order to minimize power consumption (par. 4).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pijl in view of Dunlap (20130085861).
Regarding claim 10, Pijl teaches the method of claim 1. Pijl fails to explicitly teach presenting a graphical user interface in response to the second location value.
Dunlap teaches presenting a graphical user interface in response to the second location value (par. 69, “Various location-triggered applications and/or services may also be activated based on the current geoposition of mobile device 102A”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap. Pijl only teaches using the user’s GPS location “for example if the user of the device is placing an emergency call and needs to provide their exact location, or the user of the device suffers a fall or other accident and the device is configured to automatically request assistance for the user” (Pijl column 1 line 47). However, it is obvious that the user’s GPS location can be used for other purposes as well. According to Dunlap, “GPS receivers in mobile devices enable mobile applications that are location-aware, such as applications that allow users to search for information based on their location, to find their place in a map, or to share their location with others. GPS receivers may enable mobile applications that are even more beneficial than those conventional applications, if the GPS receivers are kept engaged to continuously update the location of the mobile devices while users carry their mobile devices to various places in their daily lives. For example, such continuously engaged GPS receiver may allow mobile applications to utilize the real-time location of the mobile devices” (Dunlap par. 6).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Pijl in view of Dunlap teaches the method of claim 10. Pijl fails to explicitly teach presenting the graphical user interface comprises: determining one or more applications based on the second location value; and presenting, by the graphical user interface, one or more graphical elements representing the one or more applications.
However, Dunlap teaches presenting the graphical user interface comprises: determining one or more applications based on the second location value; and presenting, by the graphical user interface, one or more graphical elements representing the one or more applications (par. 69, “Various location-triggered applications and/or services may also be activated based on the current geoposition of mobile device 102A”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pijl to incorporate the teachings of Dunlap. Pijl only teaches using the user’s GPS location “for example if the user of the device is placing an emergency call and needs to provide their exact location, or the user of the device suffers a fall or other accident and the device is configured to automatically request assistance for the user” (Pijl column 1 line 47). However, it is obvious that the user’s GPS location can be used for other purposes as well. According to Dunlap, “GPS receivers in mobile devices enable mobile applications that are location-aware, such as applications that allow users to search for information based on their location, to find their place in a map, or to share their location with others. GPS receivers may enable mobile applications that are even more beneficial than those conventional applications, if the GPS receivers are kept engaged to continuously update the location of the mobile devices while users carry their mobile devices to various places in their daily lives. For example, such continuously engaged GPS receiver may allow mobile applications to utilize the real-time location of the mobile devices” (Dunlap par. 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665