DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the RCE filed on 09/30/2025.
The Claims have not been amended.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/30/2025 regarding the 35 USC 103 rejections to the claims on pg. 8-15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in essence:
[a] “The rejection of claim 1 should be withdrawn at least because none of the cited references, alone or in combination, teach or suggest the psychological profiles including the psychological parameter values as recited in the claim…. With respect to claim 1, the Office Action alleges Lau discloses "determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user," but acknowledges "Lau-Aghdaie does not explicitly disclose the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence." [Office Action, pp. 34 and 38, respectively]. T he Office Action relies on Blanco to make up for the acknowledged deficiencies of Lau and Aghdaie. [Office Action, p. 38]. Applicant disagrees - Lau fails to describe the very features alleged to be disclosed by Lau; Aghdaie and/or Blanco fail to make up for the deficiencies of Lau.
For example, Lau does not describe "a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user." This is because the profiles in Lau do not characterize psychology. Lau describes a "class profile." The "class profile" of Lau is not a profile characterizing psychology of a given user. Instead, a "class profile" is an anonymized user profile, where a user profile describes "content item preferences" of a user. [Lau, 85]. Content preferences are not a psychological characterization of a user, and Lau does not describe it as such.” Pg. 9-10 of Remarks.
In response to [a], Applicant argues that Lau does not disclose a psychological profile, however Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the term “psychology”, it is not defined by the specification, however a review of the specification shows that in para.0018 “The psychological profiles may characterize a user type and content that suits the user type. A user type may be defined by multiple psychological parameter values”. Therefore, as long as the psychological profile has psychological parameter values, it is a psychological profile that characterizes the psychology of the user. Lau teaches that the psychological profile contains engagement and interaction information in para.0066, para.0085 and para.0144 below, by including behavior trends and content preferences. These are all examples of psychological parameters in applicants’ of at least affinity information in para.0019. Additionally, claims 19 and 20 now recite that the psychological profile characterizes the psychology based on content affinity. Therefore, while examiner provides an additional reference to show the added types of information for characterizing the psychology of the user, Lau is relied upon for the psychological profiled based on content affinity.
Para.0066 “For example, different users may have similar interests and/or content consumption preferences or habits. User with similar interests will have similar, although not identical, user profiles and, therefore, similar reduced user profiles.”
para.0085 “At step 702, server device 120 can obtain anonymous user profile data. For example, the anonymous user profile data (e.g., detailed user profile) can be received from a large number of client devices (e.g., user device 110) and represent the content consumption behavior of a large number of users. The anonymous user profile data can be received as anonymous user activity data from client devices and can include a detailed user profile having hundreds or thousands of dimensions (e.g., detailed user profile attributes, topic tags, tag relevance scores, etc.) describing the content item preferences associated with a user of the particular client device.”
Para.0144 “At step 1004, user device 110 can monitor user activity related to the presented content items. For example, content application 112 can record data identifying which content items were presented, which content items were read or viewed, and which content items the user passed over (e.g., did not view).”
[b] “Even if, for argument's sake and without concession, a profile of content item preferences could map to a psychology profile, this still would not be enough to support a rejection under Section 103 without evidence and/or reasoning establishing such an adaptation of a plain reading of Lau would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. Since the Office Action does not do this, the rejection is deficient and should be withdrawn. Conclusory statements cannot sustain a prima facie case of obviousness. [MPEP 2142].” Pg. 10 of Remarks.
In response to [b], examiner respectfully disagrees. In the case of Lau, its psychological profile is used to modify content, and similarly, Blanco uses an anonymized psychological profile for content curation, using “the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence” as established in Blanco shown in at least Fig. 3. Both references use user information, with Blanco including more types of psychological metrics, to alter content based on the user information. Blanco further discloses that by using the emotional and psychological responses, it would result in proved content in real time in para.0012 “Presented is a method, system, and computer program product to analyze digital content as it is generated in real-time based on emotional and physiological responses of consumers of digital content, and present predictive feedback and various options to an author of the digital content in real-time, in order to automatically improve or facilitate improvement of the digital content, also in real-time.”
Therefore, examiner respectfully disagrees, and the teachings of Lau would be enough to support a 35 USC 103 rejection.
[c] “Moreover, the profiles in Aghdaie also do not characterize psychology. Aghdaie describes user profiles determined "based upon the obtained user interaction information," including attributes which correspond to "the user's behavior with regards to the video game 112, such as a determined skill level of the user, a total length of time the user has played the game, average session time, high score, average score, kills/deaths, average attempts per level, highest number of attempts for a level, and/or the like." [See, e.g., Aghdaie, 43 and 44]. User behavior in a video game is not a psychological characterization of a user, and Aghdaie does not describe it as such (and nothing in the listing of what the user behavior could be is related to user psychology). Even if, for argument's sake and without concession, a user behavior profile could map to a psychology profile, this still would not be enough to support a rejection under Section 103 without evidence and/or reasoning establishing such an adaptation of a plain reading of Aghdaie would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. Since the Office Action does not do this, the rejection is deficient and should be withdrawn. Conclusory statements cannot sustain a prima facie case of obviousness. [MPEP 2142]. Blanco fails to make up for the deficiencies of Lau and/or Aghdaie.” Pg. 10 of Remarks.
In response to [c], examiner respectfully disagrees.
The psychological profile as described in the applicant specification in para.0019 includes “The psychological parameter values may define, by way of non-limiting example,… gaming/experience using time, subscription behavior, affinity information”. In para.0019 it shows that gaming experience using time and user behavior are included in what constitutes a psychological profile. Therefore at the very least, a total length of time a user played a game is a psychological characterization of the user.
Secondly, similar to Lau above, Aghdaie is a viable art under 35 USC 103. Aghdaie obtains user information over time, and uses this information to curate content, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine because of the expected benefit of improving user engagement with the content in para.0120 of Aghdaie, similar to Lau that wants to increase user engagement in para.0023 and para.0141.
[d] “B. The Office Action Improperly Dissects The Claim Language… MPEP 2103…
In articulating a rejection of the independent claims, the Office Action improperly dissects the claim language into discrete elements. For example, the Office Action expressly separates the term “given psychological profile” from how the profile is actually recited. [Office Action, p. 7]. That is, the manner in which the Office Action alleges Lau discloses “a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user,” but then alleges Blanco discloses “the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence” is an improper dissection. [Office Action, pp. 34 and 38, respectively]. The Office Action has erroneously isolated the term “given psychological profile” from how this feature is actually recited.
Nowhere does the Office Action enunciate the claim features as a whole as they are recited. This is contrary to the essentia/ requirement in setting forth a prima facie case of obviousness, e.g., evaluating the claimed invention as a whole. Accordingly, the Office Action’s dissection of the claim language illustrates a critical error in supporting the legal conclusion of obviousness: that the “claimed invention” (e.g., the features recited and arranged in the claim) would have been obvious.” Pg. 11-12 of Remarks.
In response to [d], examiner explained in the citation for Blanco how it teaches the entirety of the limitation and only included the description of the psychological profile for clarity reasons to explain the combination.
Blanco discloses the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing (Applicant specification para.0024 “Wellbeing may include … psychological wellbeing” Blanco: Fig. 3 any of the emotions/responses represent a state of psychological wellbeing for the user.), personality (Blanco: para.0025 “Personality may include anger” Blanco: Fig. 3 anger), social identity (Blanco: Fig. 3 education BA, JD etc represent a social identity of the user), mindfulness (Applicants spec para.0029 “Mindfulness may include… non-reactivity” Blanco: Fig. 3 boredom), or emotional intelligence (Applicants specification para.0030 “Emotional intelligence may include…emotion expression” Blanco: Fig. 3 happiness anger etc.) (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.).
However, in view of applicants argument, examiner updates the mapping of Blanco to show how the entire limitation is met, rather than only starting from the description of the psychological profile such that the rejection no longer appears to be dissected.
[e] “C. The Office Action Fails To Provide An Objective Reason To Combine The References.
In articulating a proposed combination of Lau, Aghdaie, and Blanco to reject the independent claims, the Office Action alleges: Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lau-Aghdaie with Blanco in order to incorporate the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time (Blanco: para.0012). [Office Action, pp. 38-39].
This reasoning, however, is insufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. The Office Action does meet the burden of establishing a prima facie case because there is no “clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious” nor “some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning.” [MPEP § 2142]. Further, “rejections on obviousness cannot be sustained with mere conclusory statement....” [/d.].
Here, the sole “motivation” statement is “the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time.” [Office Action, p. 39]. This statement, however, falls short of a clear articulation of reasons why a person having ordinary skill in the art would combine Lau, Aghdaie, and Blanco, /et alone that the combination would (or even could) result in claim language. For example, “the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time” is a characterization of a result of the proposed combination; it is not an objective reason to combine the references.” Pg 12-13 of Remarks.
In response to [e], examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the motivation cited to incorporate the teachings of the Blanco reference are a characterization of the result of the proposed combination and not an objective reason to combine the references and is merely a conclusory statement. However in this case, para.0012 explicitly describes that by using this type of information, content curation is improved.
Blanco para.0012 “Presented is a method, system, and computer program product to analyze digital content as it is generated in real-time based on emotional and physiological responses of consumers of digital content, and present predictive feedback and various options to an author of the digital content in real-time, in order to automatically improve or facilitate improvement of the digital content, also in real-time.”
The motivation provided in the rejection is not a mere characterization of the result of the proposed combination but an actual description by Blanco of what benefits would occur by incorporating emotional and psychological responses of viewers to content within the specification, in this case improvement of content. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of this expected benefit that would occur by incorporating the techniques of Blanco, i.e. improvement of the digital content based on emotional and psychological responses from consumers.
[f] “Even if, for argument’s sake and without concession, the references could be combined and the combination cou/d produce “the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time,” this still would not be enough to support a rejection under Section 103 without evidence and reasoning establishing that Lau’s content item preference profiles could be modified to include psychology-specific information as allegedly described by Blanco. [Office Action, p. 39]. The Office Action does not even attempt to make this showing, or even affirmatively state such extensions of the plain disclosures of Lau and/or Blanco would have been obvious. Conclusory statements cannot sustain a prima facie case of obviousness. [MPEP § 2142].” Pg. 13 of Remarks.
In response to [f], examiner respectfully disagrees. Both inventions are directed towards content curation based on user responses and are clearly in the same field of invention. The only difference would be the consideration of additional types of user responses, i.e. “the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence”, when curating its content.
The rejection shows the proposed modification of the applied references necessary to arrive at the claimed subject matter, i.e. the incorporation of the features of Blanco, and further explained why this combination would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. However, as argued by applicant, this type of explanation will be incorporated in the updated rejection below.
Blanco discloses the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing (Applicant specification para.0024 “Wellbeing may include … psychological wellbeing” Blanco: Fig. 3 any of the emotions/responses represent a state of psychological wellbeing for the user.), personality (Blanco: para.0025 “Personality may include anger” Blanco: Fig. 3 anger), social identity (Blanco: Fig. 3 education BA, JD etc represent a social identity of the user), mindfulness (Applicants spec para.0029 “Mindfulness may include… non-reactivity” Blanco: Fig. 3 boredom), or emotional intelligence (Applicants specification para.0030 “Emotional intelligence may include…emotion expression” Blanco: Fig. 3 happiness anger etc.) (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lau-Aghdaie with Blanco in order to incorporate the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time (Blanco: para.0012).
[g] “D. The Office Action Does Not Provide Any Particular Rationale To Support Its Conclusion Of Obviousness. The Office Action is not relying on any particular rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness. [See, e.g., MPEP 2143 | “EXAMPLES OF RATIONALES]. The statements made in the Office Action fall short of a clear articulation of any of the example rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness, /et alone a “link between the factual findings and the legal conclusion of obviousness.” [/d.]. Indeed, the sole “motivation” statement of “the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time” does not refer to any of the features acknowledged to be missing from a reference but taught by another, /ef alone convey a link between the factual findings and the alleged combination, /ef alone that such a combination actually arrives at the claimed invention. [Office Action, p. 39]. Conclusory statements cannot sustain a prima facie case of obviousness. [MPEP 2142].
For at least the reasons presented above, independent claims 1 and 11 are not anticipated or rendered obvious by Lau, Aghdaie, and/or Blanco. Further, claims 2-10 and 12-20 are also not anticipated or rendered obvious at least due to their dependency from one of independent claims 1 and 11, in addition to the features they individually recite. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1-20 under § 103 should be withdrawn.” Pg. 13-14 of Remarks.
In response to [g], examiner respectfully disagrees. The motivation used to combine Blanco is cited from para.0012 of Blanco.
Blanco para.0012 “Presented is a method, system, and computer program product to analyze digital content as it is generated in real-time based on emotional and physiological responses of consumers of digital content, and present predictive feedback and various options to an author of the digital content in real-time, in order to automatically improve or facilitate improvement of the digital content, also in real-time.”
The motivation provided in the rejection is not a mere characterization of the result of the proposed combination but an actual description by Blanco of what benefits would occur by incorporating emotional and psychological responses of viewers to content within the specification, in this case improvement of content. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of this expected benefit that would occur by incorporating the techniques of Blanco, i.e. improvement of the digital content based on emotional and psychological responses from consumers.
Double Patenting
18677614
17157712 (11,206, 263)
1. A system configured to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: obtain, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence, wherein the given psychological profile characterizes the given user without personal identification information; update, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; and effectuate presentation of further content via the online platforms to the given user based on the given psychological profile that characterizes the given user by the interaction information and does not identify the personal identification information, wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user.
1. A system configured to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the system comprising: electronic storage configured to store psychological profiles, wherein the psychological profiles characterize a user type and content that suits the user type; and one or more processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: obtain, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from the online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms, such that first interaction information of a first user is obtained; determine psychological profiles of the users based on the interaction information for the individual users, wherein the psychological profiles identify the individual users without personal identification information such that a first psychological profile is determined for the first user based on the first interaction information; update, in an ongoing manner, the determined psychological profiles based on the interaction information as the interaction information is ongoingly obtained such that the first psychological profile is ongoingly updated as the first interaction information is ongoingly obtained; and provide the individual users with content based on the psychological profiles that identify the users by their interaction information and not by the personal identification information, wherein the content provided facilitates further updating of the determined psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the individual users, such that first content is provided to the first user based on the first psychological profile that identifies the first user by at least the first interaction information and does not personally identify the first user with the personal identification information for the first user.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that present the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that provide the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, and/or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the engagement by the individual users defines behavior patterns of the individual users with or based on the content, wherein the engagement includes user selection of the content, time spent by the individual users engaging with the content, purchases based on the content, or gameplay based on the content
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the engagement by the individual users defines behavior patterns of the individual users with or based on the content, wherein the engagement includes user selection of the content, time spent by the individual users engaging with the content, purchases based on the content, and/or gameplay based on the content.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the further content is presented without assigning a static user identifier to the given user.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the content is provided without assigning a static user identifier to the individual users.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the given psychological profile determined and ongoingly updated is an identifier for the given user.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the psychological profiles determined and ongoingly updated are identifiers for the individual users.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the interactions by given user with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of a same given psychological profile.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein updating the given psychological profile includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein updating the psychological profiles includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein adaptations to the online platforms elicit an intended response, wherein the intended response includes an individual or discrete set of actions by the given user.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the adaptations to online platforms elicit an intended response, wherein the intended response includes an individual or discrete set of actions by the users.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein adaptations include one or more of providing a recommendation, providing a suggestion, adjusting a difficulty setting, providing availability to a piece of game content, omitting of game content, providing means of communication, providing a communication, providing an offer to sell one or more virtual items, adjusting an offer to sell one or more virtual items, or matching users for particular circumstances.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the adaptations include one or more of providing a recommendation, providing a suggestion, adjusting a difficulty setting, providing availability to a piece of game content, omitting of game content, providing means of communication, providing a communication, providing an offer to sell one or more virtual items, adjusting an offer to sell one or more virtual items, and/or matching users for particular circumstances.
10. A method to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the method comprising: obtaining, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determining a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence, wherein the given psychological profile characterizes the given user without personal identification information; updating, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; and effectuating presentation of further content via the online platforms to the given user based on the given psychological profile that characterizes the given user by the interaction information and does not identify the personal identification information, wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user.
11. A method to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the method comprising: storing, in electronic storage, psychological profiles, wherein the psychological profiles characterize a user type and content that suits the user type; obtaining, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from the online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms, such that first interaction information of a first user is obtained; determining psychological profiles of the users based on the interaction information for the individual users, wherein the psychological profiles identify the individual users without personal identification information such that a first psychological profile is determined for the first user based on the first interaction information; updating, in an ongoing manner, the determined psychological profiles based on the interaction information as the interaction information is ongoingly obtained such that the first psychological profile is ongoingly updated as the first interaction information is ongoingly obtained; and providing the individual users with content based on the psychological profiles that identify the users by their interaction information and not by the personal identification information, wherein the content provided facilitates further updating of the determined psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the individual users, such that first content is provided to the first user based on the first psychological profile that identifies the first user by atleast the first interaction information and does not personally identify the first user with the personal identification information for the first user.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that present the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that provide the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, and/or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
12. The method of claim 10, wherein the engagement by the individual users defines behavior patterns of the individual users with or based on the content, wherein the engagement includes user selection of the content, time spent by the individual users engaging with the content, purchases based on the content, or gameplay based on the content.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the engagement by the individual users defines behavior patterns of the individual users with or based on the content, wherein the engagement includes user selection of the content, time spent by the individual users engaging with the content, purchases based on the content, and/or gameplay based on the content.
13. The method of claim 10, wherein the further content is presented without assigning a static user identifier to the given user.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the content is provided without assigning a static user identifier to the individual users.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the given psychological profile determined and ongoingly updated is an identifier for the given user.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the psychological profiles determined and ongoingly updated are identifiers for the individual users.
15. The method of claim 10, wherein interactions by the given user with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of a same given psychological profile.
16. The method of claim 10, wherein the updating the given psychological profile includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
18. The method of claim 11, wherein updating the psychological profiles includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
17. The method of claim 10, wherein adaptations to the online platforms elicit an intended response, wherein the intended response includes an individual or discrete set of actions by the given user.
19. The method of claim 11, wherein the adaptations to online platforms elicit an intended response, wherein the intended response includes an individual or discrete set of actions by the users.
18. The method of claim 10, wherein adaptations include one or more of providing a recommendation, providing a suggestion, adjusting a difficulty setting, providing availability to a piece of game content, omitting of game content, providing means of communication, providing a communication, providing an offer to sell one or more virtual items, adjusting an offer to sell one or more virtual items, or matching users for particular circumstances.
20. The method of claim 11, wherein the adaptations include one or more of providing a recommendation, providing a suggestion, adjusting a difficulty setting, providing availability to a piece of game content, omitting of game content, providing means of communication, providing a communication, providing an offer to sell one or more virtual items, adjusting an offer to sell one or more virtual items, and/or matching users for particular circumstances.
19. The system of claim 1, wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity.
20. The method of claim 10, wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity.
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 8-15, 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 in view of Blanco et al. (hereinafter Blanco, US 2018/0260727 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 teaches A system configured to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: obtain, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, wherein the given psychological profile characterizes the given user without personal identification information; update, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; and effectuate presentation of further content via the online platforms to the given user based on the given psychological profile that characterizes the given user by the interaction information and does not identify the personal identification information, wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user, as set forth above.
However claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 does not explicitly disclose the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence.
Blanco discloses determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.),
the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing (Applicant specification para.0024 “Wellbeing may include … psychological wellbeing” Blanco: Fig. 3 any of the emotions/responses represent a state of wellbeing for the user.), personality (Blanco: para.0025 “Personality may include anger” Blanco: Fig. 3 anger), social identity (Blanco: Fig. 3 education BA, JD etc represent a social identity of the user), mindfulness (Applicants spec para.0029 “Mindfulness may include… non-reactivity” Blanco: Fig. 3 boredom), or emotional intelligence (Applicants specification para.0030 “Emotional intelligence may include…emotion expression” Blanco: Fig. 3 happiness anger etc.) (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 with Blanco in order to incorporate determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence and apply this concept to the content curation such that other types of psychological profile information are also used to modify future content.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time (Blanco para.0012 “Presented is a method, system, and computer program product to analyze digital content as it is generated in real-time based on emotional and physiological responses of consumers of digital content, and present predictive feedback and various options to an author of the digital content in real-time, in order to automatically improve or facilitate improvement of the digital content, also in real-time.” The incorporation of emotional and psychological responses would improve digital content in real time.).
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 11 discloses A method to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the method comprising: obtaining, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determining a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, wherein the given psychological profile characterizes the given user without personal identification information; updating, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; and effectuating presentation of further content via the online platforms to the given user based on the given psychological profile that characterizes the given user by the interaction information and does not identify the personal identification information, wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user, as set forth above.
However claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 does not explicitly disclose the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence.
Blanco discloses determining a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.),
the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing (Applicant specification para.0024 “Wellbeing may include … psychological wellbeing” Blanco: Fig. 3 any of the emotions/responses represent a state of psychological wellbeing for the user.), personality (Blanco: para.0025 “Personality may include anger” Blanco: Fig. 3 anger), social identity (Blanco: Fig. 3 education BA, JD etc represent a social identity of the user), mindfulness (Applicants spec para.0029 “Mindfulness may include… non-reactivity” Blanco: Fig. 3 boredom), or emotional intelligence (Applicants specification para.0030 “Emotional intelligence may include…emotion expression” Blanco: Fig. 3 happiness anger etc.) (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.)..
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 with Blanco in order to incorporate determining a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence and apply this concept to the content curation such that other types of psychological profile information are also used to modify future content.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time (Blanco para.0012 “Presented is a method, system, and computer program product to analyze digital content as it is generated in real-time based on emotional and physiological responses of consumers of digital content, and present predictive feedback and various options to an author of the digital content in real-time, in order to automatically improve or facilitate improvement of the digital content, also in real-time.” The incorporation of emotional and psychological responses would improve digital content in real time.).
Regarding Claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-14, 16-18, they are taught by claims 2-5, 8-10, 12-15, 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 as set forth above.
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263-Blanco discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 does not explicitly disclose wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity.
Blanco further discloses wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity (Blanco: para.0037 “After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content. The newly generated viewer profiles are stored in viewer profile storage 146 in the viewer profile database 140 for later use. Demographic data is also maintained for each viewer profile for later use (not shown here), such uses including calculation of similarity scores between the intended audience specification and each viewer profile.” Each profile contains information regarding the users affinity to certain topics of content.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 with Blanco in order to incorporate wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time (Blanco: para.0012).
Regarding Claim 20, it does not teach nor further define over the limitations of claim 19, therefore the supporting rationale for the rejection to claim 19 applies equally as well to that of claim 20.
Claims 6, 15, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 in view of Blanco et al. (hereinafter Blanco, US 2018/0260727 A1) in view of Lau et al. (hereinafter Lau, 2022/0019689 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263-Blanco teaches Claim 1 as set forth above.
However claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263-Blanco does not explicitly disclose wherein the given user interacting with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of the same given psychological profile.
Lau further discloses wherein the given user interacting with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of the same given psychological profile (Lau: para.0025 “The content can be textual content, such as news articles, opinion pieces, scientific white papers, etc. However, to simplify the descriptions that follow, the content presented by content application 112 and provided by the content service 122 will be described as news articles provided by various content publishers (e.g., content publishers 130, 132, 134), aggregated and served by content service 122, and presented by application 112 or other application (e.g., messaging application 116) on user device 110.” The content that is sent to the user devices by content server 122 is from a plurality of platforms. Therefore the users interactions with the various content from a different platforms are all instances of the same profile, as the same profile is used to recommend this content to the user, such as in step 1218 in para.0238 Fig. 12.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263-Blanco with Lau in order to incorporate wherein the given user interacting with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of the same given psychological profile.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of recommending content the user is likely to consume (Lau: para.0025, para.0005).
Regarding Claim 15, it does not teach nor further define over the limitations of claim 6, therefore the supporting rationale for the rejection of claim 6 applies equally as well to that of claim 15.
18677614
17528968 (12,015,611)
1. A system configured to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: obtain, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence, wherein the given psychological profile characterizes the given user without personal identification information; update, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; and effectuate presentation of further content via the online platforms to the given user based on the given psychological profile that characterizes the given user by the interaction information and does not identify the personal identification information, wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user.
1. A system configured to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the system comprising:electronic storage configured to store psychological profiles for users; and one or more processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: obtain, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determine psychological profiles of the users based on the interaction information for the individual users, wherein the psychological profiles characterize the individual users without personal identification information; update, in an ongoing manner, the determined psychological profiles based on the interaction information as the interaction information is ongoingly obtained; and transmit, to the online platforms, content for presentation to the individual users based on the psychological profiles that characterize the users by their interaction information and do not identify the personal identification information, wherein the content provided facilitates further updating of the determined psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the individual users.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that present the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that provide the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, and/or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the engagement by the individual users defines behavior patterns of the individual users with or based on the content, wherein the engagement includes user selection of the content, time spent by the individual users engaging with the content, purchases based on the content, or gameplay based on the content
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the engagement by the individual users defines behavior patterns of the individual users with or based on the content, wherein the engagement includes user selection of the content, time spent by the individual users engaging with the content, purchases based on the content, and/or gameplay based on the content.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the further content is presented without assigning a static user identifier to the given user.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the content is provided without assigning a static user identifier to the individual users.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the given psychological profile determined and ongoingly updated is an identifier for the given user.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the psychological profiles determined and ongoingly updated are identifiers for the individual users.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the interactions by given user with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of a same given psychological profile.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein updating the given psychological profile includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein updating the psychological profiles includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein adaptations to the online platforms elicit an intended response, wherein the intended response includes an individual or discrete set of actions by the given user.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the adaptations to online platforms elicit an intended response, wherein the intended response includes an individual or discrete set of actions by the users.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein adaptations include one or more of providing a recommendation, providing a suggestion, adjusting a difficulty setting, providing availability to a piece of game content, omitting of game content, providing means of communication, providing a communication, providing an offer to sell one or more virtual items, adjusting an offer to sell one or more virtual items, or matching users for particular circumstances.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the adaptations include one or more of providing a recommendation, providing a suggestion, adjusting a difficulty setting, providing availability to a piece of game content, omitting of game content, providing means of communication, providing a communication, providing an offer to sell one or more virtual items, adjusting an offer to sell one or more virtual items, and/or matching users for particular circumstances.
10. A method to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the method comprising: obtaining, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determining a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence, wherein the given psychological profile characterizes the given user without personal identification information; updating, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; and effectuating presentation of further content via the online platforms to the given user based on the given psychological profile that characterizes the given user by the interaction information and does not identify the personal identification information, wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user.
10. A method to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the method comprising: storing, in electronic storage, psychological profiles for users; obtaining, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from the online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determining psychological profiles of the users based on the interaction information for the individual users, wherein the psychological profiles characterize the individual users without personal identification information; updating, in an ongoing manner, the determined psychological profiles based on the interaction information as the interaction information is ongoingly obtained; and transmitting, to the online platforms, content for presentation to the individual users based on the psychological profiles that characterize the users by their interaction information and do not identify the personal identification information, wherein the content provided facilitates further updating of the determined psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the individual users.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that present the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that provide the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, and/or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
12. The method of claim 10, wherein the engagement by the individual users defines behavior patterns of the individual users with or based on the content, wherein the engagement includes user selection of the content, time spent by the individual users engaging with the content, purchases based on the content, or gameplay based on the content.
12. The method of claim 10, wherein the engagement by the individual users defines behavior patterns of the individual users with or based on the content, wherein the engagement includes user selection of the content, time spent by the individual users engaging with the content, purchases based on the content, and/or gameplay based on the content.
13. The method of claim 10, wherein the further content is presented without assigning a static user identifier to the given user.
13. The method of claim 10, wherein the content is provided without assigning a static user identifier to the individual users.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the given psychological profile determined and ongoingly updated is an identifier for the given user.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the psychological profiles determined and ongoingly updated are identifiers for the individual users.
15. The method of claim 10, wherein interactions by the given user with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of a same given psychological profile.
16. The method of claim 10, wherein the updating the given psychological profile includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
16. The method of claim 10, wherein updating the psychological profiles includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
17. The method of claim 10, wherein adaptations to the online platforms elicit an intended response, wherein the intended response includes an individual or discrete set of actions by the given user.
17. The method of claim 10, wherein the adaptations to online platforms elicit an intended response, wherein the intended response includes an individual or discrete set of actions by the users.
18. The method of claim 10, wherein adaptations include one or more of providing a recommendation, providing a suggestion, adjusting a difficulty setting, providing availability to a piece of game content, omitting of game content, providing means of communication, providing a communication, providing an offer to sell one or more virtual items, adjusting an offer to sell one or more virtual items, or matching users for particular circumstances.
18. The method of claim 10, wherein the adaptations include one or more of providing a recommendation, providing a suggestion, adjusting a difficulty setting, providing availability to a piece of game content, omitting of game content, providing means of communication, providing a communication, providing an offer to sell one or more virtual items, adjusting an offer to sell one or more virtual items, and/or matching users for particular circumstances.
19. The system of claim 1, wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity.
20. The method of claim 10, wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity.
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 7-14, 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 in view of Blanco et al. (hereinafter Blanco, US 2018/0260727 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 teaches A system configured to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: obtain, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, wherein the given psychological profile characterizes the given user without personal identification information; update, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; and effectuate presentation of further content via the online platforms to the given user based on the given psychological profile that characterizes the given user by the interaction information and does not identify the personal identification information, wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user, as set forth above.
However claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 does not explicitly disclose the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence.
Blanco discloses determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.),
the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing (Applicant specification para.0024 “Wellbeing may include … psychological wellbeing” Blanco: Fig. 3 any of the emotions/responses represent a state of wellbeing for the user.), personality (Blanco: para.0025 “Personality may include anger” Blanco: Fig. 3 anger), social identity (Blanco: Fig. 3 education BA, JD etc represent a social identity of the user), mindfulness (Applicants spec para.0029 “Mindfulness may include… non-reactivity” Blanco: Fig. 3 boredom), or emotional intelligence (Applicants specification para.0030 “Emotional intelligence may include…emotion expression” Blanco: Fig. 3 happiness anger etc.) (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 with Blanco in order to incorporate determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence and apply this concept to the content curation such that other types of psychological profile information are also used to modify future content.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time (Blanco para.0012 “Presented is a method, system, and computer program product to analyze digital content as it is generated in real-time based on emotional and physiological responses of consumers of digital content, and present predictive feedback and various options to an author of the digital content in real-time, in order to automatically improve or facilitate improvement of the digital content, also in real-time.” The incorporation of emotional and psychological responses would improve digital content in real time.).
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 discloses A method to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the method comprising: obtaining, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms; determining a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, wherein the given psychological profile characterizes the given user without personal identification information; updating, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; and effectuating presentation of further content via the online platforms to the given user based on the given psychological profile that characterizes the given user by the interaction information and does not identify the personal identification information, wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user, as set forth above.
However claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 does not explicitly disclose the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence.
Blanco discloses determining a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.),
the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing (Applicant specification para.0024 “Wellbeing may include … psychological wellbeing” Blanco: Fig. 3 any of the emotions/responses represent a state of wellbeing for the user.), personality (Blanco: para.0025 “Personality may include anger” Blanco: Fig. 3 anger), social identity (Blanco: Fig. 3 education BA, JD etc represent a social identity of the user), mindfulness (Applicants spec para.0029 “Mindfulness may include… non-reactivity” Blanco: Fig. 3 boredom), or emotional intelligence (Applicants specification para.0030 “Emotional intelligence may include…emotion expression” Blanco: Fig. 3 happiness anger etc.) (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 with Blanco in order to incorporate the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence apply this concept to the content curation such that other types of psychological profile information are also used to modify future content.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time (Blanco para.0012 “Presented is a method, system, and computer program product to analyze digital content as it is generated in real-time based on emotional and physiological responses of consumers of digital content, and present predictive feedback and various options to an author of the digital content in real-time, in order to automatically improve or facilitate improvement of the digital content, also in real-time.” The incorporation of emotional and psychological responses would improve digital content in real time.).
Regarding Claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-14, 16-18, they are taught by claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-14, 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,206, 263 as set forth above.
Regarding Claim 19, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611-Blanco discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 does not explicitly disclose wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity.
Blanco further discloses wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity (Blanco: para.0037 “After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content. The newly generated viewer profiles are stored in viewer profile storage 146 in the viewer profile database 140 for later use. Demographic data is also maintained for each viewer profile for later use (not shown here), such uses including calculation of similarity scores between the intended audience specification and each viewer profile.” Each profile contains information regarding the users affinity to certain topics of content.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 with Blanco in order to incorporate wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time (Blanco: para.0012).
Regarding Claim 20, it does not teach nor further define over the limitations of claim 19, therefore the supporting rationale for the rejection to claim 19 applies equally as well to that of claim 20.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611 in view of Blanco et al. (hereinafter Blanco, US 2018/0260727 A1) in view of Lau et al. (hereinafter Lau, 2022/0019689 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611-Blanco teaches Claim 1 as set forth above.
However claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611-Blanco does not explicitly disclose wherein the given user interacting with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of the same given psychological profile.
Lau further discloses wherein the given user interacting with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of the same given psychological profile (Lau: para.0025 “The content can be textual content, such as news articles, opinion pieces, scientific white papers, etc. However, to simplify the descriptions that follow, the content presented by content application 112 and provided by the content service 122 will be described as news articles provided by various content publishers (e.g., content publishers 130, 132, 134), aggregated and served by content service 122, and presented by application 112 or other application (e.g., messaging application 116) on user device 110.” The content that is sent to the user devices by content server 122 is from a plurality of platforms. Therefore the users interactions with the various content from a different platforms are all instances of the same profile, as the same profile is used to recommend this content to the user, such as in step 1218 in para.0238 Fig. 12.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,611-Blanco with Lau in order to incorporate wherein the given user interacting with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of the same given psychological profile.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of recommending content the user is likely to consume (Lau: para.0025, para.0005).
Regarding Claim 15, it does not teach nor further define over the limitations of claim 6, therefore the supporting rationale for the rejection of claim 6 applies equally as well to that of claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau et al. (hereinafter Lau, 2022/0019689 A1) in view of Aghdaie et al. (hereinafter Aghdaie, US 2018/0243656 A1) in view of Blanco et al. (hereinafter Blanco, US 2018/0260727 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lau discloses A system configured to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user (Lau: Fig. 1, para.0021, system 100), the system comprising:
one or more processors configured by machine-readable instructions to (Lau: para.0147-0160):
obtain, in an ongoing manner, interaction information of users from online platforms, wherein the interaction information characterizes content engaged with by individual users and engagement by the individual users with the content and/or the online platforms (Lau: para.0085 “At step 702, server device 120 can obtain anonymous user profile data. For example, the anonymous user profile data (e.g., detailed user profile) can be received from a large number of client devices (e.g., user device 110) and represent the content consumption behavior of a large number of users. The anonymous user profile data can be received as anonymous user activity data from client devices and can include a detailed user profile having hundreds or thousands of dimensions (e.g., detailed user profile attributes, topic tags, tag relevance scores, etc.) describing the content item preferences associated with a user of the particular client device.” Para.0144 “At step 1004, user device 110 can monitor user activity related to the presented content items. For example, content application 112 can record data identifying which content items were presented, which content items were read or viewed, and which content items the user passed over (e.g., did not view).” Anonymous user profile data is obtained regarding the users interaction/engagement information from online platforms. This information is then obtained by a server in the form of anonymous user profile data.);
determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user (Lau: para.0061 “As the user of user device 110 interacts with content application 112…store in the detailed user profile information identifying the content items that were selected and/or not selected by the user.” Interaction information for the user with the contents presented.), wherein the given psychological profile characterizes the given user without personal identification information (Lau: Para.0093 “At step 718, server device 120 can generate class profiles based on the reduced user profile clusters. For example, server device 120 can generate class profiles that conform to a k-anonymity method of privacy protection.” The anonymous user profile data from step 702 from the user devices is then used to generate class profiles in step 718. para.0125 “At step 1108, user device 110 can compare the reduced user profile to the class profiles. For example, content application 122 can compare the reduced user profile to each of the various class profiles to identify a class profile that most closely resembles (e.g., approximates, is most similar to) the reduced user profile for the user of user device 110.” Para.0127 “At step 1112, user device 110 can send the selected class profile to server 120. For example, the selected class profile can be sent with an identifier (e.g., email address, account identifier, device identifier, etc.) associated with user device 110 and/or a user of user device 110. However, by sending the class profile (e.g. representing 5000, 6000, 10,000 users) instead of the reduced user profile (e.g., representing one user), content application 112 can introduce a level of anonymity (e.g., k-anonymity) to the user profile (e.g., class profile) sent to server device 120 that may provide an additional level of privacy for the user even though the class profile is associated with a specific user or device identifier.” The psychological profile, the class profile is determined based on the reduced user profile that is determined, and provided to the server. This process allows an anonymized profiled to be sent with a device identifier as to not identity the user him/herself.);
effectuate presentation of further content via the online platforms to the given user based on the given psychological profile that characterizes the given user by the interaction information (Lau: para.0128 “At step 1112, user device 110 can receive personalized content item selections from server device 120. For example, server device 120 can use the class profile to perform personalized selection of content items and send the personalized selection of content items to the user, or user device, using the identifier associated with the class profile.” Using the class profile that is most similar to the user profile based on user interaction, step 1108 Fig. 11, para.0125, step 1006 Fig. 10, para.0115, personalized content is selected and provided to client device using device identifier.)
and does not identify the personal identification information (Lau: para.0127 “At step 1112, user device 110 can send the selected class profile to server 120. For example, the selected class profile can be sent with an identifier (e.g., email address, account identifier, device identifier, etc.) associated with user device 110 and/or a user of user device 110. However, by sending the class profile (e.g. representing 5000, 6000, 10,000 users) instead of the reduced user profile (e.g., representing one user), content application 112 can introduce a level of anonymity (e.g., k-anonymity) to the user profile (e.g., class profile) sent to server device 120 that may provide an additional level of privacy for the user even though the class profile is associated with a specific user or device identifier.” The users personal information is kept completely anonymous, and device identifiers are used to send the content to the correct device as seen above in para.0128.).
wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user (Lau: para.0135-0137 “At step 1212, server device 120 can generate a score for the selected content item based on the reduced user profile, the reduced content item profile and the ML model….At step 1216, server device 120 can select a number of candidate content items having the highest scores. For example, content service 122 can rank, or sort, the candidate content items by content item score and select a number (e.g., 6, 10, 15, etc.) of the highest scored content items. For example, the number of candidate content items selected can be based on the number of content items configured to be presented in the suggested content items message (e.g., email, newsletter, etc.).” the content is used for getting user interaction data that is used to generate the profiles. The user profiles are then used to select content to provide to the user, thereby adapting the online platform for the given user by catering the content.).
While Lau discloses the idea of updating the user profile in step 1006, and this information being sent as anonymous user activity data in step 1008, where it is used to generate the anonymous class profiles in step 702-718 in Fig. 7, Lau does not explicitly disclose update, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence.
Aghdaie discloses update, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained (Aghdaie: para.0051 “The machine learning algorithms can be configured to adaptively develop and update the models over time based on new input received by the model generation system 146. For example, the models can be regenerated on a periodic basis as new user information is available to help keep the predictions in the model more accurate as the user information evolves over time. The model generation system 146 is described in more detail herein. After a model is generated, it can be provided to the engagement analysis system 140.” Para.0025 “In some embodiments, historical user information utilized by a machine learning system to generate a prediction model that predicts an expected duration of game play, such as for example, an expected churn rate, a retention rate, the length of time a user is expected to play the game, or an indication of the user's expected game play time relative to a historical set of users who have previously played the game.” Para.0119 “As user data is acquired for the user and used to update the user profile and the attributes of the user, the user may be associated with a particular difficulty trajectory (for example, trajectories 414A, 4148, 414C).” As new user interaction information is obtained, the profile is updated.); and
wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user (Aghdaie: Para.0119 “At a point after the tutorial period 412, the difficulty of the game may begin to increase, in order to provide the user with more of a challenge. As user data is acquired for the user and used to update the user profile and the attributes of the user, the user may be associated with a particular difficulty trajectory (for example, trajectories 414A, 4148, 414C). In some embodiments, the attributes of the user may be compared with those of other users who have played the game, in order to identify a difficulty trajectory that is expected to provide a predicted level of challenge to the user. In some embodiments, the predicted level of challenge may correspond to an optimal win rate calculated for the user to maximize an engagement level of the user throughout the course of the game.” as more user interaction data with the content is obtained, as in para.0025, the profile is updated as well as the online gaming platform.).
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine Lau with Aghdaie in order to incorporate update, in an ongoing manner, the given psychological profile of the given user based on the interaction information for the given user as the interaction information for the given user is ongoingly obtained; and wherein the further content facilitates further updating of the given psychological profile and/or adapts the online platforms to the given user.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of profile and content recommendations over time based on current user engagement (Aghdaie: para.0120.).
However Lau-Aghdaie does not explicitly disclose determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence.
Blanco discloses determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325. After presenting sample digital content regarding various sample topic 1 344, sample topic 2 346, and sample topic 3 348, individual interest level and individual emotional response are tracked for each individual. If audio content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, electronic music, sample topic 2 346 may be hip hop music, and sample topic 3 348 may be rap. If video content is to be assessed, sample topic 1 344 may be, for example, horror content, sample topic 2 346 may be thriller content, and sample topic 3 348 may be action content.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses from interactions to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.),
the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing (Applicant specification para.0024 “Wellbeing may include … psychological wellbeing” Blanco: Fig. 3 any of the emotions/responses represent a state of psychological wellbeing for the user.), personality (Blanco: para.0025 “Personality may include anger” Blanco: Fig. 3 anger), social identity (Blanco: Fig. 3 education BA, JD etc represent a social identity of the user), mindfulness (Applicants spec para.0029 “Mindfulness may include… non-reactivity” Blanco: Fig. 3 boredom), or emotional intelligence (Applicants specification para.0030 “Emotional intelligence may include…emotion expression” Blanco: Fig. 3 happiness anger etc.) (Blanco: para.0037 “The viewer profile generator 121 of the server 120 is then used to generate viewer profiles, again displayed in table format 325. Anonymous user identifiers 342 are again used, as displayed in table 325.” Fig. 3, anonymous user profiles are generated with a plurality of psychological responses to each content type thereby characterizing the psychology of the given user.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lau-Aghdaie with Blanco in order to incorporate determine a given psychological profile of a given user characterizing psychology of the given user, the given psychological profile being determined based on the interaction information for the given user, the given psychological profile characterizing the psychology of the given user based on one or more of wellbeing, personality, social identity, mindfulness, or emotional intelligence, and apply this concept to the content curation of Lau-Aghdaie such that other types of psychological profile information are also used to modify future content.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved content facilitation based on user profile in real time (Blanco para.0012 “Presented is a method, system, and computer program product to analyze digital content as it is generated in real-time based on emotional and physiological responses of consumers of digital content, and present predictive feedback and various options to an author of the digital content in real-time, in order to automatically improve or facilitate improvement of the digital content, also in real-time.” The incorporation of emotional and psychological responses would improve digital content in real time.).
Regarding Claim 2, Lau-Aghdaie-Blanco discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However Lau does not further disclose wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that present the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
Aghdaie discloses wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that present the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character (Aghdaie: para.0173 “the game application 1010 can store game state information 916, which can include character states, environment states, scene object storage, and/or other information associated with a state of execution of the game application 1010.” character), a game (Aghdaie: para.0173 “the game application 1010 can store game state information 916, which can include character states, environment states, scene object storage, and/or other information associated with a state of execution of the game application 1010.” Game), a game asset (Aghdaie: para.0173 “the game application 1010 can store game state information 916, which can include character states, environment states, scene object storage, and/or other information associated with a state of execution of the game application 1010.” Character or any other portion of the game), a recommendation, a promotion, or an engagement level of individual ones of the content (examiner notes that this limitation would require that the content the user is engaged with is the engagement level itself with the content, therefore while both Lau and Adhdaie disclose an engagement level in para.0144 and para.0026 respectively, the user is not engaging with engagement data.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lau with Aghdaie in order to incorporate wherein the content engaged with by the individual users is related to the online platforms that present the content, wherein the content includes one or more of a character, a game, a game asset, a recommendation, a promotion, or an engagement level of individual ones of the content.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of profile and content recommendations over time based on current user engagement (Aghdaie: para.0120.).
Regarding Claim 3, Lau-Aghdaie-Blanco discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Lau further discloses wherein the engagement by the individual users defines behavior patterns of the individual users with or based on the content, wherein the engagement includes user selection of the content (Lau: para.0035 “ML module 128 can train the ML model based on user activity data received from a large number of user devices related to content consumption behavior of the users of those user devices. The user activity data can include a representation of the user profile for a user (e.g., a reduced user profile, an anonymized user profile, etc.) and an indication of content items read and not read by the user of the user device. ML module 128 can then train the neural network to accurately determine the likelihood that a user with a particular user profile will read or not read a particular content item.” System collects a plurality of engagement data of different users representing behavior patterns for content selected to be consumed.)
, time spent by the individual users engaging with the content, purchases based on the content, or gameplay based on the content.
Regarding Claim 4, Lau-Aghdaie-Blanco discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Lau further discloses wherein the further content is presented without assigning a static user identifier to the given user (Lau: au: Para.0093 “At step 718, server device 120 can generate class profiles based on the reduced user profile clusters. For example, server device 120 can generate class profiles that conform to a k-anonymity method of privacy protection.” The anonymous user profile data from step 702 from the user devices is then used to generate class profiles in step 718. para.0125 “At step 1108, user device 110 can compare the reduced user profile to the class profiles. For example, content application 122 can compare the reduced user profile to each of the various class profiles to identify a class profile that most closely resembles (e.g., approximates, is most similar to) the reduced user profile for the user of user device 110.” Para.0127 “At step 1112, user device 110 can send the selected class profile to server 120. For example, the selected class profile can be sent with an identifier (e.g., email address, account identifier, device identifier, etc.) associated with user device 110 and/or a user of user device 110. However, by sending the class profile (e.g. representing 5000, 6000, 10,000 users) instead of the reduced user profile (e.g., representing one user), content application 112 can introduce a level of anonymity (e.g., k-anonymity) to the user profile (e.g., class profile) sent to server device 120 that may provide an additional level of privacy for the user even though the class profile is associated with a specific user or device identifier.” para.0128 “At step 1112, user device 110 can receive personalized content item selections from server device 120. For example, server device 120 can use the class profile to perform personalized selection of content items and send the personalized selection of content items to the user, or user device, using the identifier associated with the class profile.” Using the class profile that is most similar to the user profile based on user interaction, step 1108 Fig. 11, para.0125, step 1006 Fig. 10, para.0115, personalized content is selected and provided to client device using device identifier and not any static user identifier that would identify the user. No static user identifier is given to the user.).
Regarding Claim 5, Lau-Aghdaie-Blanco discloses claim 4 as set forth above.
Lau further discloses wherein the given psychological profile determined and ongoingly updated is an identifier for the given user (Lau: Para.0127 “At step 1112, user device 110 can send the selected class profile to server 120. For example, the selected class profile can be sent with an identifier (e.g., email address, account identifier, device identifier, etc.) associated with user device 110 and/or a user of user device 110. However, by sending the class profile (e.g. representing 5000, 6000, 10,000 users) instead of the reduced user profile (e.g., representing one user), content application 112 can introduce a level of anonymity (e.g., k-anonymity) to the user profile (e.g., class profile) sent to server device 120 that may provide an additional level of privacy for the user even though the class profile is associated with a specific user or device identifier.” para.0128 “At step 1112, user device 110 can receive personalized content item selections from server device 120. For example, server device 120 can use the class profile to perform personalized selection of content items and send the personalized selection of content items to the user, or user device, using the identifier associated with the class profile.” The class profile is used for recommending content for a user, therefore it is an identifier for that user.).
Regarding Claim 6, Lau-Aghdaie-Blanco discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Lau further discloses wherein the interactions by given user with different ones of the online platforms are considered instances of a same given psychological profile (Lau: para.0025 “The content can be textual content, such as news articles, opinion pieces, scientific white papers, etc. However, to simplify the descriptions that follow, the content presented by content application 112 and provided by the content service 122 will be described as news articles provided by various content publishers (e.g., content publishers 130, 132, 134), aggregated and served by content service 122, and presented by application 112 or other application (e.g., messaging application 116) on user device 110.” The content that is sent to the user devices by content server 122 is from a plurality of platforms. Therefore the users interactions with the various content from a different platforms are all instances of the same profile, as the same profile is used to recommend this content to the user, such as in step 1218 in para.0238 Fig. 12.).
Regarding Claim 7, Lau-Aghdaie discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
However Lau does not explicitly disclose wherein updating the given psychological profile includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
Aghdaie discloses wherein updating the given psychological profile includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values (Aghdaie: Aghdaie: Para.0119 “At a point after the tutorial period 412, the difficulty of the game may begin to increase, in order to provide the user with more of a challenge. As user data is acquired for the user and used to update the user profile and the attributes of the user, the user may be associated with a particular difficulty trajectory (for example, trajectories 414A, 4148, 414C). In some embodiments, the attributes of the user may be compared with those of other users who have played the game, in order to identify a difficulty trajectory that is expected to provide a predicted level of challenge to the user. In some embodiments, the predicted level of challenge may correspond to an optimal win rate calculated for the user to maximize an engagement level of the user throughout the course of the game.” para.0110 “As discussed above, a user's engagement may be measured using a variety of different metrics, such as amount of time played, length, and frequency of game sessions, and/or the like. In some embodiments, user engagement may be measured by a number of rounds played by the user, wherein each round may refer to an attempt by the user (successful or unsuccessful) to complete a level. The higher the number of rounds a user may be expected to play over the course of the entire game, the higher their engagement level and the less likely they are to churn.” Para.0058 “The model generation system 146 may generally include a model generation rule set 170 for generation of the prediction model 160. The rule set 170 may include one or more parameters 162. Each set of parameters 162 may be combined using one or more mathematical functions to obtain a parameter function. Further, one or more specific parameters may be weighted by the weights 164. In some cases, the parameter function may be obtained by combining a set of parameters with a respective set of weights 164.” User data is constantly acquired and evaluated. Each parameter value having an associated weight, i.e. intensity.).
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine Lau with Aghdaie in order to incorporate wherein updating the given psychological profile includes determining one or more psychological parameter values and intensity of the one or more psychological parameter values.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because of the expected benefit of improved accuracy of profile and content recommendations over time based on current user engagement (Aghdaie: para.0120.).
Regarding Claim 8, Lau-Aghdaie discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Lau further discloses wherein adaptations to the online platforms elicit an intended response, wherein the intended response includes an individual or discrete set of actions by the given user (Lau: para.0135-0137 “At step 1212, server device 120 can generate a score for the selected content item based on the reduced user profile, the reduced content item profile and the ML model….At step 1216, server device 120 can select a number of candidate content items having the highest scores. For example, content service 122 can rank, or sort, the candidate content items by content item score and select a number (e.g., 6, 10, 15, etc.) of the highest scored content items. For example, the number of candidate content items selected can be based on the number of content items configured to be presented in the suggested content items message (e.g., email, newsletter, etc.).” para.0005 “The computing system can be made more efficient and the user experience improved by only selecting and/or presenting content items that the user is likely to read or consume.” the adaptations elicit an intended response of the user which is reading or consuming the content that is provided.).
Regarding Claim 9, Lau-Aghdaie discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Lau further discloses wherein adaptations include one or more of providing a recommendation, providing a suggestion (Lau: para.0135-0137 “At step 1212, server device 120 can generate a score for the selected content item based on the reduced user profile, the reduced content item profile and the ML model….At step 1216, server device 120 can select a number of candidate content items having the highest scores. For example, content service 122 can rank, or sort, the candidate content items by content item score and select a number (e.g., 6, 10, 15, etc.) of the highest scored content items. For example, the number of candidate content items selected can be based on the number of content items configured to be presented in the suggested content items message (e.g., email, newsletter, etc.).” the user is recommended or suggested content to consume via the platform.),
adjusting a difficulty setting, providing availability to a piece of game content, omitting of game content, providing means of communication, providing a communication, providing an offer to sell one or more virtual items, adjusting an offer to sell one or more virtual items, or matching users for particular circumstances.
Regarding Claim 19, Lau-Aghdaie-Blanco discloses claim 1 as set forth above.
Lau further disclose wherein the given psychological profile further characterizes the psychology of the given user based on content affinity (Lau: para.0085 “At step 702, server device 120 can obtain anonymous user profile data. For example, the anonymous user profile data (e.g., detailed user profile) can be received from a large number of client devices (e.g., user device 110) and represent the content consumption behavior of a large number of users. The anonymous user profile data can be received as anonymous user activity data from client devices and can include a detailed user profile having hundreds or thousands of dimensions (e.g., detailed user profile attributes, topic tags, tag relevance scores, etc.) describing the content item preferences associated with a user of the particular client device.” Para.0144 “At step 1004, user device 110 can monitor user activity related to the presented content items. For example, content application 112 can record data identifying which content items were presented, which content items were read or viewed, and which content items the user passed over (e.g., did not view).” The profile represents content affinity by representing content consumption behavior, such as that contents are viewed and skipped.).
Regarding Claims 10-18 and 20, they teach all of the same steps as claims 1-9 and 19 but in A method to determine content to present based on interaction information of a given user, the method comprising: (Lau: para.0147-0160). Therefore, the supporting rationale for the rejection of claims 1-9 and 19 applies equally as well to that of claims 10-18 and 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weerasinghe US 2013/0124628 A1 see para.0063 anonymous user profile. See Fig. 1 for the way its used for targeted ads.
/EUI H KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453