DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) and species i. (Fig. 1) and vi. (wireless) in the reply filed on 10/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 7, and 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected species and inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, claims 1-5 and 8 are currently under consideration.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: ¶ 0006 describes cutting when the vascular probe is retracted, which is contradictory to ¶¶s 00102 and 00158 (cutting when the cannula is retracted).
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, the recitation of “the vascular probe insertion assembly further comprising” is duplicative with the preamble.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “monitoring system” in claims 1 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, there is no support for cutting when the vascular probe is retracted. ¶¶s 00102 and 00158 of the specification as filed describe this function as related to cannula retraction. ¶ 0006 contradicts these and thus appears to be in error.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear what the recitation of “and is received within the needle safety shield slides when the slotted cannula is removed” means. Does the term “slides” belong there?
Claim 4 is rejected because it depends on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2020/0315656 (“Bierman”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0001161 (“Burkholz”).
Regarding claim 1, Bierman teaches [a] vascular probe insertion assembly, comprising: a slotted cannula (Figs. 1A-2D, needle 22, ¶¶s 0057, 0058) comprising: a sharpened tip configured to be inserted into a patient's vascular anatomy (Figs. 2C, 7C, tip 54); and a sidewall extending proximally from the sharpened tip, the sidewall defining a slot (Fig. 2D, fenestration or opening 56, ¶ 0060); a splitable sheath shaped to encircle at least part of the sidewall (Figs. 1A, 4A, sheath 26, ¶ 0063); a digital probe (¶ 0055, sensors) … .
Bierman does not appear to explicitly teach the probe comprising: a sensor tip configured to generate sensor data indicative of operation of the vascular anatomy; and a shaft extending proximally of the sensor tip; and a data hub operatively coupled to the digital probe, wherein the data hub is configured to receive the sensor data and convey the sensor data to a monitoring system (although it does teach in ¶ 0055 that the vascular probe is used to place various devices, including sensing devices and/or external devices).
Burkholz teaches a digital probe (Fig. 2A, probe 30, ¶ 0044) comprising a sensor tip configured to generate sensor data indicative of operation of the vascular anatomy (Fig. 2A, sensors 32, ¶ 0044), and a shaft extending proximally of the sensor tip (Figs. 2A, 2B, etc., as shown with respect to probe 30, ¶ 0044). Burkholz also suggests use of a data hub operatively coupled to the digital probe, wherein the data hub is configured to receive the sensor data and convey the sensor data to a monitoring system (¶¶s 0042 and 0063, the instrument being useful for diagnostics, blood sampling, monitoring, etc., and connected to a monitoring interface and monitoring equipment).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a digital probe with the introducer of Bierman, as in Burkholz, connected to an interface and monitoring equipment, for the purpose of performing diagnosis/monitoring using various measurements, and/or blood sampling (Burkholz: ¶¶s 0042, 0044).
Regarding claim 8, Bierman-Burkholz teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Bierman-Burkholz further teaches a stabilization platform operatively coupled to the data hub to secure the data hub to an exterior surface of the patient's vascular anatomy as the digital probe is maintained within the patient's vascular anatomy (Burkholz: as shown in Figs. 1A, 1B, 1C, etc. - wings, which would have been obvious to incorporate for the purpose of stabilizing the device).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bierman-Burkholz in view of International Application Publication WO 2011/146764 (“Harris”).
Regarding claim 2, Bierman-Burkholz teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Bierman-Burkholz further teaches a needle hub operatively coupled to a proximal end of the slotted cannula (Bierman: Fig. 2A, needle hub 34, ¶ 0058), but is not explicit about the needle hub including a fluid reservoir for a healthcare professional to determine when the slotted cannula has been inserted into the patient's vascular anatomy.
Harris teaches a needle hub having a reservoir for visualizing the blood “flash” (¶¶s 0061, 0072, 0073, 00104, etc. - Fig. 24, flash chamber 192).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reservoir with the needle hub of the combination, as in Harris, for the purpose of being able to visually confirm, at a proximal location, needle placement (Harris: ¶¶s 0061, 0072, 0073, 00104, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Bierman-Burkholz teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Bierman-Burkholz does not appear to explicitly teach a needle safety shield comprising a via through which the slotted cannula may pass, wherein the needle safety shield is operatively coupled with the data hub such that the sharpened tip slides into and is received within the needle safety shield slides when the slotted cannula is removed from the patient's vascular anatomy (although Burkholz: ¶ 0041 does mention a needle safety mechanism arranged with respect to needle hub 27).
Harris teaches using a needle shield engaged within a septum/cavity/slit of a hub, through which a cannula may pass (¶¶s 0060, 0061, Figs. 22A-24, etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the needle safety shield of Harris into the combination, for the purpose of protecting the user from the distal end of the needle after it is withdrawn (Harris: ¶ 0060).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bierman-Burkholz-Harris in view of US Patent 4,631,059 (“Wolvek”).
Regarding claim 4, Bierman-Burkholz-Harris teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, as outlined above. Bierman-Burkholz-Harris does not appear to explicitly teach a needle safety shield cutting blade formed within the via and positioned to cut the splitable sheath when the vascular probe is retracted from within the patient's vascular anatomy (although Bierman does contemplate sheath splitting).
Wolvek teaches mounting a cutting blade 18 in an apparatus 10, adapted to split sheath 12 to enable removal of the sheath from a catheter 14 (col. 3, lines 50-56).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a cutting blade into the needle safety shield of the combination, as in Wolvek, for the purpose of enabling easy removal of the sheath once it is no longer being used (Wolvek: col. 3, lines 50-56; Bierman: ¶ 0063).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bierman-Burkholz in view of US Patent Application Publication 2016/0128615 (“Curry”).
Regarding claim 5, Bierman-Burkholz teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Bierman-Burkholz does not appear to explicitly teach a wireless transmitter formed within the data hub to wirelessly transmit the sensor data to the monitoring system.
Curry teaches wirelessly communicating sensor data from an on-body electronic device or analyte monitor to a display or processing device (¶¶s 0075, 0086, Fig. 1, etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wireless communication with a remote monitoring/processing/display device in the combination as in Curry, for the purpose of enabling easy remote display of sensed data and/or conservation of processing resources at the sensor device itself (Curry: ¶¶s 0075, 0086).
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791