DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the following communication: an application filed on 05/29/2024 where:
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5-8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagarajan (US 2002/0097452).
Regarding claim 1, Nagarajan teaches: An image processing apparatus (fig. 1, The digital scanner 30) comprising circuitry configured to:
set first setting information regarding an input image generation process (fig. 2a, setup and submit a scan command, [0008], first setting is default setting/mode or current setting);
acquire an input image in which a medium is imaged according to the first setting information (fig. 2a, scanner/executing unit, [0023], After an initial scan is accomplished by scanner 20 using the current settings);
determine, based on the input image, whether the first setting information matches a feature of the input image ([0023-0024], fig.2a and fig. 2b, The optimum settings are then compared to the current settings, in the scanning assist module 166, to generate recommended adjustments);
identify second setting information matching the feature of the input image when determining that the first setting information does not match the feature of the input image (fig. 2b, [0024], This information is processed to obtain a series of optimum settings for image type, auto-background suppression, tone reproduction curve, filter, and rendering. These recommended settings are further processed and compared with the current settings by the scanning assist processor 166 to present recommended settings adjustments to the user through user interface 40.);
process the input image according to the second setting information to generate a processed image when processing the input image according to the second setting information is feasible (fig. 2e, [0027], The user/operator is presented with clear options for adjusting the various settings and settings are based on a reliable analysis of the image data. Process the image using optimal setting); and
output display data for displaying the processed image on a display ([0007], The present invention addresses the need for fast, high quality digital scanners, capable of being connected to a wide array of copiers, printers, computers, networks, facsimile machines, etc., and capable of scanning and producing complex and interesting images to be stored, printed or displayed.).
Regarding claim 2, Nagarajan teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive an instruction indicating whether to change the first setting information to the second setting information (fig. 2e, [0027], The user/operator is presented with clear options for adjusting the various settings and settings are based on a reliable analysis of the image data. Process the image using optimal setting).
Regarding claim 3, Nagarajan teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when processing the input image according to the second setting information is not feasible, the circuitry is configured to output another display data for requesting generation of another input image to be processed according to the second setting information ([0025], In the event that the original document contains multiple pages (for example, while scanning for the CVT or the document feeder), the second page scan will trigger a second analysis of the image data and the analysis will continue until all of the statistics are collected. Image analyzer 165 will generate optimum settings relating to the entire document.).
Regarding claim 5, Nagarajan teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processed image generated by processing the input image according to the second setting information is referred to as a first processed image, and wherein the circuitry is configured to: process the input image according to the first setting information to generate a second processed image; and generate the display data such that the first processed image and the second processed image are displayed in place of each other (fig. 2e, [0027], The user/operator is presented with clear options for adjusting the various settings and settings are based on a reliable analysis of the image data. Process the image using optimal setting, replacing the settings to output the optimize image in place of the default setting).
Regarding claim 6, Nagarajan teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first setting information includes a setting value for each of multiple items, and wherein the circuitry is configured to: determine whether the setting value matches the feature of the input image for each of the multiple items, identify a setting value matching the feature of the input image for each item determined as having a mismatched setting value with the feature of the input image, and process the input image according to the identified setting value for each item determined as having the mismatched setting value ([0026], allow the user to pick the amount of descreening (or blurring) to be applied to the input image, see figs. 2), .
Regarding claim 7, Nagarajan teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to: receive designation of post-processing when determining that the first setting information does not match the feature of the input image; execute the post-processing that is designated; and when determining that the first setting information does not match the feature of the input image, execute post-processing that is designated in the past for a combination of the first setting information and the feature of the input image (see figs. 2, [0021], Image data analyzer 160 includes a full page video image module 161 which operates to generate a histogram representing said video data. The processed image data from each source is combined and further processed in data analyzer 165 to determine optimum settings for both mode and specific parameters. The optimum settings are then compared to the current settings, in the scanning assist module 166, to generate recommended adjustments. The adjustment data may be stored in SRAM 140 and communicated to the user through the scanner interface 40 which may include workstation 50. By operating through the scanner interface, the user has the option to select the optimum settings.).
Regarding claim 8, Nagarajan teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to: acquire multiple input images by capturing respective images of multiple media that are consecutively conveyed; and output the display data without discontinuing conveyance of the multiple media when determining that the first setting information does not match a feature of one or more of the multiple input images ([0025], In the event that the original document contains multiple pages (for example, while scanning for the CVT or the document feeder), the second page scan will trigger a second analysis of the image data and the analysis will continue until all of the statistics are collected. Image analyzer 165 will generate optimum settings relating to the entire document. The user is presented with the overall settings recommendations through the user interface. These settings may be used or further adjusted by the operator of the scanning system 30.).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected for reasons similar to claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan (US 2002/0097452) in view of Azar et al. (US 7974485, hereinafter Azar).
Regarding claim 4, Nagarajan teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Nagarajan does not explicitly teach: wherein the circuitry is configured to: process the input image according to the first setting information to generate a second processed image; and generate the display data such that the processed image and the second processed image are displayed adjacent to each other.
However, Azar teaches: wherein the circuitry is configured to: process the input image according to the first setting information to generate a second processed image; and generate the display data such that the processed image and the second processed image are displayed adjacent to each other (col. 2, lines 5-20, An image (e.g., a frame of video data) is divided into a processing region and a control region. For instance, in some embodiments, the left half of the image might be the processing region while the right half is the control region; in other embodiments, a portion of the image is replicated, with one replica being used as the processing region and the other as the control region. Post-processing operations are performed for the processing region but not for the control region. The processing and control regions are then displayed simultaneously on the same display device (e.g., side by side), making it easy for a user to compare images with and without post-processing. Such comparisons can be used, e.g., to evaluate the effectiveness of video post-processing algorithms or to optimize the post-processing settings for a particular video stream.).
Therefore, the Applicant's claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagarajan to include wherein the circuitry is configured to: process the input image according to the first setting information to generate a second processed image; and generate the display data such that the processed image and the second processed image are displayed adjacent to each other as taught by Azar. The motivation/suggestion would have been to further enhance/improve the image processing apparatus since doing so would allow for the ability to display the image with both settings for comparison making it easier for the user to make the selection.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan (US 2002/0097452) in view of Hirasawa et al. (US 2018/0129455, hereinafter Hirasawa).
Regarding claim 9, Nagarajan teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Nagarajan does not explicitly teach: wherein the circuitry is further configured to: receive designation of post-processing when determining that the first setting information does not match the feature of the input image; execute the post-processing that is designated; and set, in another image processing apparatus, the post-processing that is designated as post-processing corresponding to a combination of the first setting information and the feature of the input image.
However, Hirasawa teaches: wherein the circuitry is further configured to: receive designation of post-processing when determining that the first setting information does not match the feature of the input image; execute the post-processing that is designated; and set, in another image processing apparatus, the post-processing that is designated as post-processing corresponding to a combination of the first setting information and the feature of the input image (Abstract, methods are provide to prevent mismatches in processing and settings related to print media. A print manager device includes a media print information storage storing media print information, which is information relating image processing information used to generate print data for a specific print medium with print settings information used to print on the print medium. The image processing information and the print settings information are relationally stored to each printer configured to print based on the print data according to the print settings information. A processor that controls communication. The processor can send the image processing information stored in the media print information storage relationally to a print medium specified by media selection information to an image processing device that generates print data and can send the print settings information stored in the media print information storage to the printer.).
Therefore, the Applicant's claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nagarajan to include : wherein the circuitry is further configured to: receive designation of post-processing when determining that the first setting information does not match the feature of the input image; execute the post-processing that is designated; and set, in another image processing apparatus, the post-processing that is designated as post-processing corresponding to a combination of the first setting information and the feature of the input image as taught by Hirasawa. The motivation/suggestion would have been to further enhance/improve the image processing apparatus since doing so would allow for the ability to prevent mismatch of in processing and setting by sending the print data to the correct device therefore reducing/preventing down time and print error.
Conclusion
/ANDREW H LAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682