This is the Final Office action from the examiner in charge of this application in response to the Amendment filed on 1/2/2026, in which claims 3, 4, 17 and 20 have been canceled. Claims 1, 2, 5-16, 18, and 19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-14, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 107917571 to Xu et al (hereinafter Xu).
Xu discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 100 comprising: an outer case (inherent in a refrigerator) forming an exterior thereof; an inner case 10 forming a storage compartment 13, and including a guide receiving space and a surface forming a guide mounting groove 41,1211,1213 formed integrally with the inner case 10, the surface including (see below attached marked-up copy) a first surface, a second surface disposed to face the first surface, a plurality of third surfaces connecting the first surface and the second surface, and an insertion surface; an insulation foamed (Xu discloses a foaming step therein) between the outer case and the inner case; a first door (not shown) rotatably coupled to the outer case to open or close at least a portion of the storage compartment 13; a second door (not shown) disposed on a right side of the first door and rotatably coupled to the outer case to open or close at least another portion of the storage compartment 13; a rotating bar (not shown: “turning beam assembly) configured to be rotatable with respect to one of the first door and the second door and cover a gap between the first door and the second door when the first door and the second door are closed; and a rotation guide 21 disposed on an upper portion of the storage compartment to guide the rotating bar to allow rotation of the rotating bar in response to opening or closing of the first door or the second door, and including a guide body at least partially accommodated in the guide receiving space and an insertion protrusion (see below attached marked-up copy) inserted into the guide mounting groove in a direction from a lower portion toward an upper portion of the inner case 10 to prevent movement of the rotation guide 21, wherein the insertion surface of the inner case 10 is disposed in a direction in which the insertion protrusion is inserted into the guide mounting groove, and wherein an outer surface of the insertion protrusion is formed to contact at least a portion of the first surface, at least a portion of the second surface, and at least a portion of each of the plurality of third surfaces; (Claim 2). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the insertion protrusion is disposed on a rear side of the guide body; (Claim 5). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein: the insertion protrusion includes (see below attached marked-up copy) a connection portion connected to the guide body and an insertion portion inserted into the guide mounting groove, and the insertion portion extends from the connection portion in a direction in which the insertion portion is inserted into the guide mounting groove; (Claim 6). The refrigerator of claim 5, wherein: the connection portion extends rearwardly from the guide body, and the insertion portion extends upwardly from the connection portion; (Claim 7). The refrigerator of claim 5, wherein the insertion portion extends from a first end opposite to a second end on a side of the connection portion adjacent to the guide body; (Claim 8). The refrigerator of claim 5, wherein: the insertion portion includes a first wall, a second wall disposed to face the first wall, and a third wall connecting the first wall and the second wall, the first wall, the second wall, and the third wall form at least a portion of an outer surface of the insertion portion, and are formed to extend in the direction in which the insertion portion is inserted into the guide mounting groove; (Claim 9). The refrigerator of claim 8, wherein: the insertion portion includes (see below attached marked-up copy) an interference protrusion formed to protrude toward an inner surface of the guide mounting groove from at least a portion of the first wall, the second wall, and the third wall, and the interference protrusion interferes with the inner surface of the guide mounting groove when the insertion portion is inserted into the guide mounting groove; (Claim 10). The refrigerator of claim 9, wherein the interference protrusion protrudes in a direction (front to back) different from the direction in which the insertion portion is inserted into the guide mounting groove; (Claim 11). The refrigerator of claim 5, wherein the insertion protrusion includes a rib configured to support an inner surface of the insertion protrusion therein; (Claim 12). The refrigerator of claim 11, wherein: at least a portion of the rib extends inside the connection portion along a direction in which the connection portion extends from the guide body, and at least another portion of the rib extends inside the insertion portion along a direction in which the insertion portion extends from the connection portion; (Claim 13). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the guide body includes a guide fastening hole (to receive bolt 44) formed to fasten the rotation guide 21 to the inner case 10; (Claim 14). The refrigerator of claim 13, wherein the guide fastening hole is configured to fasten the rotation guide 21 to the inner case 10 in a direction in which the insertion protrusion is inserted into the guide mounting groove; (Claim 16). A refrigerator 100 comprising (see claim 1): an outer case (inherent in a refrigerator) forming an exterior thereof; an inner case 10 forming a storage compartment 13 and including a guide mounting groove formed integrally with the inner case 10, a guide receiving space, and an inner case fastening hole 1211; an insulation foamed (Xu discloses a foaming step therein) between the outer case and the inner case 10; a door (not shown) to open or close the storage compartment and including a first door and a second door adjacent to the first door; a rotating bar (not shown: “turning beam assembly) rotatably coupled to one of the first door and the second door and formed to cover a gap between the first door and the second door when the first door and the second door are closed; and a rotation guide 21 to guide the rotating bar to allow rotation of the rotating bar in response to opening or closing of the one of the first door or the second door to which the rotating bar is coupled, the rotation guide including a guide body having at least a portion thereof accommodated in the guide receiving space, a guide fastening hole (to receive bolt 44) formed to be screwed into the inner case fastening hole 1211, and an insertion protrusion inserted into the guide mounting groove in a vertical direction to constrain the rotating guide from movement, wherein the guide fastening hole and the inner case fastening hole 1211 are aligned with the vertical direction in which the insertion protrusion is inserted into the guide mounting groove; (Claim 18). The refrigerator of claim 16, wherein the insertion protrusion includes a connection portion connected to the guide body and an insertion portion inserted into the guide mounting groove and extending from a first end opposite to a second end of a side of the connection portion with the guide body toward the guide mounting groove; (Claim 19). The refrigerator of claim 18, wherein the insertion portion includes an interference protrusion (see claims 9 and 10) formed to protrude toward an inner surface of the guide mounting groove and interfering with the inner surface of the guide mounting groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of USP 10808982 to Hanson.
Xu discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in claim 15 of wherein: the guide body further includes a guide groove (not numbered) guiding the rotation of the rotating bar. The difference being that Xu fails to clearly disclose the limitation in claim 15 of the rotating bar includes a guide protrusion moving along the guide groove so as to guide the rotation of the rotating bar.
However, Hanson discloses a refrigerator comprising: an outer case forming an exterior thereof; an inner case forming a storage compartment, and including a guide receiving space and a surface forming a guide mounting groove formed integrally with the inner case; a first door rotatably coupled to the outer case to open or close at least a portion of the storage compartment; a second door disposed on a right side of the first door and rotatably coupled to the outer case to open or close at least another portion of the storage compartment; a rotating bar configured to be rotatable with respect to one of the first door and the second door and cover a gap between the first door and the second door when the first door and the second door are closed; and a rotation guide disposed on an upper portion of the storage compartment to guide the rotating bar to allow rotation of the rotating bar in response to opening or closing of the first door or the second door, wherein: the guide body further includes a guide groove guiding the rotation of the rotating bar, and the rotating bar includes a guide protrusion 28 moving along the guide groove so as to guide the rotation of the rotating bar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Hanson, to modify Xu to include the limitations in Claim 15 of the rotating bar includes a guide protrusion moving along the guide groove so as to guide the rotation of the rotating bar with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HVT
March 2, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637
