CTNF 18/677,683 CTNF 80950 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The action is responsive to the following communication: an application filed on 05/29/2024 where: Claims 1-15 are currently pending. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 5-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirao (US 2015/0358503) in view of Ishihara (US 2004/0161257) . Regarding claim 1, Hirao teaches: A control apparatus (fig. 1, MFP 1001) for controlling a scanner (fig. 1, scanning unit 111) comprising: a display unit (fig. 1, display unit 160, [0038]); and a control unit (fig. 1, CPU 101) configured to execute display control to display a reading parameter (see fig. 6A and 6B, display of reading resolution (parameter)) used for reading a document image by the scanner on the display unit in a case where a file of the document image is to be generated on a first condition (fig. 6A, first condition is (scan and send)). Hirao does not explicitly teach: and to display both a generation parameter used for generating the file and the reading parameter on the display unit in a case where the file is to be generated on a second condition being different from the first condition. However, Ishihara teaches: and to display both a generation parameter used for generating the file and the reading parameter on the display unit in a case where the file is to be generated on a second condition being different from the first condition (fig. 4, pro mode (second condition), and [0038-0039, 0041], The professional initial screen display 700 may comprise a pre-registered menu (reading parameter). The professional initial screen display 900 may have a custom button 970 (generation parameter)). Therefore, the Applicant's claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirao to include and to display both a generation parameter used for generating the file and the reading parameter on the display unit in a case where the file is to be generated on a second condition being different from the first condition as taught by Ishihara. The motivation/suggestion would have been to further enhance/improve the control apparatus since doing so would allow for the ability to display generation parameter in order to let the user make custom changes to the file as needed/desire. Regarding claim 5, Hirao and Ishihara teach: The control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reading parameter is a parameter selected from a plurality of parameters (Hirao, fig. 6A, select resolution), and wherein the control unit executes the display control on a particular parameter included in the plurality of parameters (Hirao, fig. 6A, user selects 300dpix300dii (particular parameter)). Regarding claim 6, Hirao and Ishihara teach: The control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the particular parameter is a parameter by which a part of an area of the document image is compressed in a case where a compression setting is enabled (Hirao, [0050], The compression/decompression unit 108 includes an image processing block for performing compression/decompression processing on the image data stored in the RAM 104 and the HDD 150 based on various compression methods such as Joint Bi-level Image Experts Group (JBIG) and Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG), and then for storing again the processed data in the RAM 104.). Regarding claim 7, Hirao and Ishihara teach: The control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reading parameter is a parameter selected from a plurality of parameters, and wherein the control unit executes the display control on all parameters of the plurality of parameters ((Hirao, fig. 6A, user selects 300dpix300dpi (plurality parameter)). Regarding claim 8, Hirao and Ishihara teach: The control apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the particular parameter is a parameter by which a part of an area of the document image is compressed in a case where a compression setting is enabled (Hirao, [0050], The compression/decompression unit 108 includes an image processing block for performing compression/decompression processing on the image data stored in the RAM 104 and the HDD 150 based on various compression methods such as Joint Bi-level Image Experts Group (JBIG) and Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG), and then for storing again the processed data in the RAM 104.).. Regarding claim 9, Hirao and Ishihara teach: The control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reading parameter and the generation parameter are resolutions (Hirao, see fig. 6A user selects 300dpix300dpi). Regarding claim 10, Hirao and Ishihara teach: The control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit executes the display control based on an acceptance of an instruction of transitioning to a screen displaying a resolution currently set or a screen in which a resolution is selected (Hirao, see fig. 6A, select OK to accept change/selection of reolution). Claim 15 is rejected for reasons similar to claim 1 above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirao (US 2015/0358503) in view of Ishihara (US 2004/0161257) and further in view of Sekuguchi (US 2002/0054335) . Regarding claim 2, Hirao and Ishihara teach: The control apparatus according to claim 1, and wherein the second condition includes the compression setting being enabled (Hirao, [0121], Then, the processing proceeds to step S910. In addition, performing the 1/2 thinning processing in the sub scanning direction with the reading resolution (600 dpi×600 dpi) determined in step S910 enables changing the reading resolution to 600 dpi×300 dpi). Hirao and Ishihara do not explicitly teach: wherein the first condition includes a compression setting which is a setting in a case where image data of the document image is compressed being disabled. However, Sekuguchi teaches: wherein the first condition includes a compression setting which is a setting in a case where image data of the document image is compressed being disabled ([0106-0108], when a DSN (Delivery Status Notification) mail indicating that an electronic mail cannot be transmitted due to its excessive data length is returned from an MTA (Mail Transfer Agent) of the electronic mail exchange system after the transmission of the electronic mail, the image compression/expansion/pixe- l density conversion circuit 2043 converts the attached image data into image data in a smaller size than the reading size (a set resolution).). Therefore, the Applicant's claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirao and Ishihara to include wherein the first condition includes a compression setting which is a setting in a case where image data of the document image is compressed being disabled as taught by Sekuguchi. The motivation/suggestion would have been to further enhance/improve the control apparatus since doing so would allow for the ability to converts the image data into a smaller size than the reading size in order to be able to transmit the image data. Regarding claim 3, Hirao, Ishihara and Sekuguchi teach: The control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the control unit displays the generation parameter (Ishihara, The professional initial screen display 900 may have a custom button 970 (generation parameter)), the reading parameter (Hirao, fig. 6A), and a basis for the generation parameter on the display unit in a case where the file is to be generated on the second condition (Ishihara, fig. 4, pro mode (second condition),). Regarding claim 4, Hirao, Ishihara and Sekuguchi teach: The control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the control apparatus can set an adjustment parameter adjusting a compression ratio in a case where the compression setting is enabled, and wherein the control unit displays information on the adjustment parameter as the basis for the generation parameter on the display unit (Hirao, fig. 6A, and [0081], When the setting key 501 is pressed, a setting screen 610 illustrated in FIG. 6A is displayed on the operation unit 160. Then, the user is able to select any desired transmission resolution (for example, 300 dpi×300 dpi, 600×600 dpi, etc.) from the setting screen 610.) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirao (US 2015/0358503) in view of Tonegawa (US 2016/0191724) . Regarding claim 11, Hirao teaches: A control apparatus (fig. 1, MFP 1001) for controlling a scanner (fig. 1, scanning unit 111) comprising: a display unit (fig. 1, display unit 160, [0038]); and to display, on the display unit, information indicating that reduction of the resolution caused by the compression process occurs in a case where the file is to be generated on a second condition (fig. 9, step S909, [0122], n step S909, the CPU 101 determines the reading resolution, for example, as 300 dpi×300 dpi. Then, the processing proceeds to step S910. In addition, performing the 1/2 thinning processing in the main scanning direction and the 1/2 thinning processing in the sub scanning direction with the reading resolution (600 dpi×600 dpi) determined in step S903 enables changing the reading resolution to 300 dpi×300 dpi. When reading an image of the document sheet 203 with 300 dpi×300 dpi, the number of pixels of the image data input to the controller unit 107 is one fourth of that in a case of reading with 600 dpi×600 dpi, resulting in reduced image transfer time.) being different from the first condition. Hirao does not explicitly teach: a control unit configured to execute display control to display, on the display unit, information indicating that a resolution is not reduced by a compression process in which image data of a document image is compressed in a case where a file of the document image read by the scanner is to be generated on a first condition. However, Tonegawa teaches: a control unit configured to execute display control to display, on the display unit, information indicating that a resolution is not reduced by a compression process in which image data of a document image is compressed in a case where a file of the document image read by the scanner is to be generated on a first condition (fig. 8, normal PDF, [0129], In a case where “PDF” is designated during the scan and an OFF button 601 has been selected, the CPU 130 transmits data in normal PDF.). Therefore, the Applicant's claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirao to include a control unit configured to execute display control to display, on the display unit, information indicating that a resolution is not reduced by a compression process in which image data of a document image is compressed in a case where a file of the document image read by the scanner is to be generated on a first condition as taught by Tonegawa. The motivation/suggestion would have been to further enhance/improve the control apparatus since doing so would allow for the ability to display to the user to select where or not to compress a file (PDF) during transmission as desired/needed by the user. Regarding claim 12, Hirao and Tonegawa teach: The control apparatus according to claim 11, wherein, in a case where the file is to be generated on the first condition, the same resolution is displayed as a reading parameter used for reading the document image by the scanner and a generation parameter used for generating the file (Hirao, see fig. 6A.), and wherein different resolutions are displayed as the reading parameter and the generation parameter in a case where the file is to be generated on the second condition (Tonegawa, fig. 8, PDF “on” or “off” selection high-compression). Regarding claim 13, Hirao and Tonegawa teach: The control apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first condition includes a compression setting being disabled (Tonegawa, fig. 8, PDF, compression off), and wherein the second condition includes the compression setting being enabled (Tonegawa, fig. 8, PDF, compression on). Regarding claim 14, Hirao and Tonegawa teach: The control apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the control unit displays the generation parameter, the reading parameter, and a basis for the generation parameter in a case where the file is to be generated on the second condition (Hirao, see fig. 6A, and 6B, “scan and send”, 300x300dpi and PDF file). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW H LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7969 and fax number is 571-270-8969. The examiner can normally be reached on 9AM-5PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benny Tieu can be reached on 571-272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW H LAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,683 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,683 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,683 Page 4 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,683 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,683 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,683 Page 7 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,683 Page 8 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,683 Page 9 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/677,683 Page 10 Art Unit: 2682