DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, 12-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0258547, hereinafter referred to as Lee)
As per claims 1 and 12
Lee discloses receiving at a device a data structure comprising spatially-dependent texture information (0020 “According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may include haptic information for outputting haptic feedback in the memory 130. For example, the haptic information may include information for controlling the heat-generating element 170 and/or the haptic actuator 180 included in an external electronic device 103 and/or the electronic device 101”, 0055 “Referring to FIG. 5, according to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may receive haptic data for controlling a haptic actuator (e.g., the haptic actuator 180 of FIG. 1A and/or FIG. 1B)”, 0060 “As described above, according to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may output haptic data for representing texture. The electronic device 101 may receive information associated with a visual object transmitted from an external electronic device. The electronic device 101 may output haptic data for representing a texture corresponding to the visual object, based on receiving information associated with the visual object. The electronic device 101 may enhance a user experience of the electronic device 101 by outputting haptic data for representing a texture corresponding to a visual object”)
Lee disclose changing a texture of a first surface of the device according to the spatially-dependent texture information such that the first surface has a first texture and a second surface of the device has a second texture at a first time (0032 “According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may include a plurality of heating elements and a plurality of haptic actuators arranged on a surface of a housing. For example, the plurality of heating elements and the plurality of haptic actuators may be disposed on areas 190-1, 190-2, 290-3, 190-4, 190-5, 190-6, 190-7, 190-8, 190-9 and 190-10 (which may be referred to as areas 190-1 to 190-10) illustrated in FIG. 1. The areas are an example, and areas in which the plurality of heating elements and the plurality of haptic actuators are arranged are not limited”, 0039 “According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may obtain haptic information for representing a texture. The electronic device 101 may obtain haptic information for controlling haptic feedback of the haptic actuator 180. The haptic information for representing the texture may be related to a frequency for controlling the haptic actuator 180. For example, the haptic information for representing the texture may be related to an amplitude and/or a period of the frequency for controlling the haptic actuator 180”, 0057 “For example, haptic data including the frequency waveform of the first form 510 may include haptic data for representing a smooth texture such as an ice cube”, 0058 “For example, haptic data including the frequency waveform of the second form 520 may include haptic data for representing a regular and rough texture such as a surface of wood”, 0059 “For example, haptic data including frequency waveforms of the third form 530 may include haptic data for representing an irregular and rough texture such as a rough sponge”)
With regard to the additional limitation of claim 12 Lee discloses at least one computer memory that is not a transitory signal and that includes instructions executable by at least one processor system (0021 “The processor 120 may have a structure of a single-core processor, or may have a structure of a multi-core processor such as a dual core, a quad core, a hexa core, and an octa core”, 0022 “The memory 130 of the electronic device 101 may include a hardware component for storing data and/or instruction inputted and/or outputted to the processor 120 of the electronic device 101. For example, the memory 130 may include volatile memory such as a random-access memory (RAM) and/or non-volatile memory such as a read-only memory (ROM). For example, the volatile memory may include at least one of a dynamic RAM (DRAM), a static RAM (SRAM), Cache RAM, and a pseudo SRAM (PSRAM). For example, the non-volatile memory may include at least one of a programmable ROM (PROM), an erasable PROM (EPROM), an electrically erasable PROM (EEPROM), a flash memory, a hard disk, a compact disk, a solid state drive (SSD), and an embedded multi-media card (eMMC)”)
As per claim 2
Lee discloses wherein the data structure comprises spatially-dependent temperature information, and the method comprises: changing a temperature of the first surface of the device according to the spatially-dependent temperature information such that the first surface has a first temperature and a second surface of the device has a second temperature at the first time (0031 “For example, the haptic data may include information for controlling the heating element 170 or the haptic actuator 180. For example, the haptic data may include information associated with a position (or range) where the plurality of heating elements and the plurality of haptic actuators are controlled. For example, the haptic data may include information associated with an orientation for indicating the plurality of heating elements and the plurality of haptic actuators. For example, the haptic data may include information for changing a temperature of the heating element 170 to a preset temperature. For example, the haptic data may include information for changing the temperature of the heating element 170 within a preset time. An operation for changing the temperature of the heating element 170 to the preset temperature may be related to a current transmitted to the heating element 170 or a voltage applied to the heating element 170”, 0048 “The electronic device 101 may control a plurality of haptic actuators based on a timing of controlling the plurality of heating elements. The electronic device 101 may control the plurality of haptic actuators at substantially the same timing as the plurality of heating elements. For example, the electronic device 101 may control the plurality of haptic actuators corresponding to the plurality of heating elements, based on the timing”)
As per claims 9 and 13
Lee discloses providing time-varying texture information to the device in combination with the data structure comprising spatially-dependent texture information (0032 “According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may include a plurality of heating elements and a plurality of haptic actuators arranged on a surface of a housing. For example, the plurality of heating elements and the plurality of haptic actuators may be disposed on areas 190-1, 190-2, 290-3, 190-4, 190-5, 190-6, 190-7, 190-8, 190-9 and 190-10 (which may be referred to as areas 190-1 to 190-10) illustrated in FIG. 1. The areas are an example, and areas in which the plurality of heating elements and the plurality of haptic actuators are arranged are not limited”, 0039 “According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may obtain haptic information for representing a texture. The electronic device 101 may obtain haptic information for controlling haptic feedback of the haptic actuator 180. The haptic information for representing the texture may be related to a frequency for controlling the haptic actuator 180. For example, the haptic information for representing the texture may be related to an amplitude and/or a period of the frequency for controlling the haptic actuator 180”, 0057 “For example, haptic data including the frequency waveform of the first form 510 may include haptic data for representing a smooth texture such as an ice cube”, 0058 “For example, haptic data including the frequency waveform of the second form 520 may include haptic data for representing a regular and rough texture such as a surface of wood”, 0059 “For example, haptic data including frequency waveforms of the third form 530 may include haptic data for representing an irregular and rough texture such as a rough sponge”)
As per claim 20
Lee discloses the at least one processor system (0021 “The processor 120 may have a structure of a single-core processor, or may have a structure of a multi-core processor such as a dual core, a quad core, a hexa core, and an octa core”, 0022 “The memory 130 of the electronic device 101 may include a hardware component for storing data and/or instruction inputted and/or outputted to the processor 120 of the electronic device 101. For example, the memory 130 may include volatile memory such as a random-access memory (RAM) and/or non-volatile memory such as a read-only memory (ROM). For example, the volatile memory may include at least one of a dynamic RAM (DRAM), a static RAM (SRAM), Cache RAM, and a pseudo SRAM (PSRAM). For example, the non-volatile memory may include at least one of a programmable ROM (PROM), an erasable PROM (EPROM), an electrically erasable PROM (EEPROM), a flash memory, a hard disk, a compact disk, a solid state drive (SSD), and an embedded multi-media card (eMMC)”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Strese et al. (U.S. Patent 10,481,693, hereinafter referred to as Strese).
As per claim 3
Lee, while disclosing the limitations of claim 1, does not explicitly disclose wherein the data structure comprises spatially-dependent hardness information, and the method comprises: changing a hardness of the first surface of the device according to the spatially-dependent hardness information such that the first surface has a first hardness and a second surface of the device has a second hardness at the first time. Strese teaches wherein the data structure comprises spatially-dependent hardness information, and the method comprises: changing a hardness of the first surface of the device according to the spatially-dependent hardness information such that the first surface has a first hardness and a second surface of the device has a second hardness at the first time (2:1-10 “The terms “tactile perception dimension”, “tactile perception” and variations thereof are intended to describe any of the aspects or dimensions of microscopic roughness, macroscopic roughness, friction, hardness, and thermal conductivity that are necessary to broadly describe the tactile perceptibility of material surfaces according to Okamoto et al. This is described in detail, for example, in the publication “Psychophysical dimensions of tactile perception of textures” by Okamoto, Nagano and Yamada, IEEE Transactions on Haptics, Volume 6, pages 81 to 93, of March 2013”, 17:6-39 “Hardness Different approaches can be chosen for the simulation of the hardness of a surface. In the following, three possible implementations of different hardness simulation concepts will be explained with reference to FIGS. 12 to 14 in the following. (1) In the implementation 1 according to FIG. 12, the fact is utilized that the servomotor S1, which is also used to represent the feeling of macroscopic roughness, is not infinitely stiff. In this case, different positions of the servo S1 can be used to convey a different perception of the hardness, since the user can press this not perfectly stiff servomotor S1 to different extent. In addition, the supply voltage of the servomotor S1 can be reduced to represent even softer spring constants. In other words, during use of the servomotor S1 to represent the surface contour structure during movement, different positions or placements of the servo S1 are simultaneously used to convey a different perception of the hardness. As already mentioned, softer impressions can be conveyed and represented by reducing the supply voltage of servomotor S1. In contrast, an additional servomotor S3 can be used to convey and represent hard surfaces, such as metals or stones. This is arranged to block the pressing of the upper mouse body 11 due to the finite rigidity of the servomotor S1 for the simulation of macroscopic roughness. As long as no motion is detected, the servo S1 which is used for macroscopic roughness can be brought to a rest position just above the blocking range of servo S3, thus representing hard objects”, 18:6-16 “The maximum representable hardness that can be achieved by the system according to FIG. 14 when the bolt 55 is moved under the upper part 11 of the body or housing 10′ of the tactile computer mouse as an embodiment of the input/output unit 1 and thus hard materials such as wood or stones can be represented. FIG. 14 shows this further implementation utilizing a plurality of springs 52 that can be moved into and out of the tactile computer mouse 1′ to achieve a controllable hardness property”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the electronic device for outputting haptic feedback of Lee with the method for exploration of real or virtual object surfaces of Strese for the purpose of providing a manually operable tactile input/output device in which highly flexible tactile feedback can be provided to a user and which in particular can provide a tactile simulation of surface structures (1:32-37).
As per claim 4
Lee, while disclosing the limitations of claim 1, does not explicitly disclose wherein the device comprises a computer game controller. Strese teaches wherein the device comprises a computer game controller (11:12-13 “(61) (1) Advanced Gaming, User Interface Enhancement and Use in Virtual Environments”, 11:20-53 “Furthermore, a tactile computer mouse 1′ may inform the user about the condition of an avatar in an artificial environment or VE. The upper body parts of the tactile computer mouse 1′ can be moved in order to indicate different physical inclinations, such as those of a spaceship. A modifiable friction coefficient between the mouse lower side and a mouse pad 20 may indicate that an avatar is loaded with too many virtual objects and therefore can move only slowly or more slowly. With regard to the computer game or gaming industry, the present disclosure proposes, among other things, to expand the tactile computer mouse with additional input sensors. Thus, it is conceivable to use an inertial measurement unit, which can also be referred to as IMU, to determine a current state of rotation of the computer mouse 1′ and to detect whether the user has lifted the tactile computer mouse 1′ from the mouse pad 20, for example, to represent a hopping motion in a virtual reality or environment, for example in a computer game. An inertial measurement unit, for example, has a combination of inertial or inertial sensors such as acceleration sensors and gyroscopes or the like to detect the position and/or inclination of an object, here in the XYZ directions, or accelerating motions, e.g., a “hopping”. Furthermore, force sensitive resistance (FSR) can, for example, be attached to the sides of the computer mouse 1′ to allow different pressures to act on the computer mouse 1′ and accordingly in a virtual environment, for example, in a computer game, to perform actions. According to the disclosure, such input modalities can be realized without problems and extend the spectrum of feedback and the initiation and execution of actions in a virtual environment”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the electronic device for outputting haptic feedback of Lee with the method for exploration of real or virtual object surfaces of Strese for the purpose of providing a manually operable tactile input/output device in which highly flexible tactile feedback can be provided to a user and which in particular can provide a tactile simulation of surface structures (1:32-37).
As per claim 14
Lee discloses receive spatially-dependent temperature information in the texture information (0031 “For example, the haptic data may include information for controlling the heating element 170 or the haptic actuator 180. For example, the haptic data may include information associated with a position (or range) where the plurality of heating elements and the plurality of haptic actuators are controlled. For example, the haptic data may include information associated with an orientation for indicating the plurality of heating elements and the plurality of haptic actuators. For example, the haptic data may include information for changing a temperature of the heating element 170 to a preset temperature. For example, the haptic data may include information for changing the temperature of the heating element 170 within a preset time. An operation for changing the temperature of the heating element 170 to the preset temperature may be related to a current transmitted to the heating element 170 or a voltage applied to the heating element 170”, 0048 “The electronic device 101 may control a plurality of haptic actuators based on a timing of controlling the plurality of heating elements. The electronic device 101 may control the plurality of haptic actuators at substantially the same timing as the plurality of heating elements. For example, the electronic device 101 may control the plurality of haptic actuators corresponding to the plurality of heating elements, based on the timing”)
Lee does not explicitly disclose implement the spatially-dependent temperature information on the computer simulation controller during play of the computer simulation using the computer simulation controller. Strese teaches implement the spatially-dependent temperature information on the computer simulation controller during play of the computer simulation using the computer simulation controller (11:12-13 “(1) Advanced Gaming, User Interface Enhancement and Use in Virtual Environments”, 11:20-53 “Furthermore, a tactile computer mouse 1′ may inform the user about the condition of an avatar in an artificial environment or VE. The upper body parts of the tactile computer mouse 1′ can be moved in order to indicate different physical inclinations, such as those of a spaceship. A modifiable friction coefficient between the mouse lower side and a mouse pad 20 may indicate that an avatar is loaded with too many virtual objects and therefore can move only slowly or more slowly. With regard to the computer game or gaming industry, the present disclosure proposes, among other things, to expand the tactile computer mouse with additional input sensors. Thus, it is conceivable to use an inertial measurement unit, which can also be referred to as IMU, to determine a current state of rotation of the computer mouse 1′ and to detect whether the user has lifted the tactile computer mouse 1′ from the mouse pad 20, for example, to represent a hopping motion in a virtual reality or environment, for example in a computer game. An inertial measurement unit, for example, has a combination of inertial or inertial sensors such as acceleration sensors and gyroscopes or the like to detect the position and/or inclination of an object, here in the XYZ directions, or accelerating motions, e.g., a “hopping”. Furthermore, force sensitive resistance (FSR) can, for example, be attached to the sides of the computer mouse 1′ to allow different pressures to act on the computer mouse 1′ and accordingly in a virtual environment, for example, in a computer game, to perform actions. According to the disclosure, such input modalities can be realized without problems and extend the spectrum of feedback and the initiation and execution of actions in a virtual environment”, 4:40-43 “ The fifth actuator is configured for this purpose to controllably form as a tactile perceptible heat flow on or in the body of the input/output device, and in particular on or in the housing or its first part or upper part.”, 4:44-51 “The fifth actuator for generating a heat flow may have a means by which a quantity of heat can be supplied to or discharged from the body and in particular the housing. The means may preferably be or have a Peltier arrangement, and namely with at least one controllable Peltier element, wherein the respective temperature and/or heat quantity to be set is controllable by configuring the polarity and/or the strength of the control voltage of the Peltier element”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the electronic device for outputting haptic feedback of Lee with the method for exploration of real or virtual object surfaces of Strese for the purpose of providing a manually operable tactile input/output device in which highly flexible tactile feedback can be provided to a user and which in particular can provide a tactile simulation of surface structures (1:32-37).
As per claim 15
Lee, while disclosing the limitations of claim 12, does not explicitly disclose receive spatially-dependent hardness information in the texture information. Strese teaches receive spatially-dependent hardness information in the texture information (2:1-10 “The terms “tactile perception dimension”, “tactile perception” and variations thereof are intended to describe any of the aspects or dimensions of microscopic roughness, macroscopic roughness, friction, hardness, and thermal conductivity that are necessary to broadly describe the tactile perceptibility of material surfaces according to Okamoto et al. This is described in detail, for example, in the publication “Psychophysical dimensions of tactile perception of textures” by Okamoto, Nagano and Yamada, IEEE Transactions on Haptics, Volume 6, pages 81 to 93, of March 2013”, 17:6-39 “Hardness Different approaches can be chosen for the simulation of the hardness of a surface. In the following, three possible implementations of different hardness simulation concepts will be explained with reference to FIGS. 12 to 14 in the following. (1) In the implementation 1 according to FIG. 12, the fact is utilized that the servomotor S1, which is also used to represent the feeling of macroscopic roughness, is not infinitely stiff. In this case, different positions of the servo S1 can be used to convey a different perception of the hardness, since the user can press this not perfectly stiff servomotor S1 to different extent. In addition, the supply voltage of the servomotor S1 can be reduced to represent even softer spring constants. In other words, during use of the servomotor S1 to represent the surface contour structure during movement, different positions or placements of the servo S1 are simultaneously used to convey a different perception of the hardness. As already mentioned, softer impressions can be conveyed and represented by reducing the supply voltage of servomotor S1. In contrast, an additional servomotor S3 can be used to convey and represent hard surfaces, such as metals or stones. This is arranged to block the pressing of the upper mouse body 11 due to the finite rigidity of the servomotor S1 for the simulation of macroscopic roughness. As long as no motion is detected, the servo S1 which is used for macroscopic roughness can be brought to a rest position just above the blocking range of servo S3, thus representing hard objects”, 18:6-16 “The maximum representable hardness that can be achieved by the system according to FIG. 14 when the bolt 55 is moved under the upper part 11 of the body or housing 10′ of the tactile computer mouse as an embodiment of the input/output unit 1 and thus hard materials such as wood or stones can be represented. FIG. 14 shows this further implementation utilizing a plurality of springs 52 that can be moved into and out of the tactile computer mouse 1′ to achieve a controllable hardness property”)
Strese teaches implement the spatially-dependent hardness information on the computer simulation controller during play of the computer simulation using the computer simulation controller 11:12-13 “(1) Advanced Gaming, User Interface Enhancement and Use in Virtual Environments”, 11:20-53 “Furthermore, a tactile computer mouse 1′ may inform the user about the condition of an avatar in an artificial environment or VE. The upper body parts of the tactile computer mouse 1′ can be moved in order to indicate different physical inclinations, such as those of a spaceship. A modifiable friction coefficient between the mouse lower side and a mouse pad 20 may indicate that an avatar is loaded with too many virtual objects and therefore can move only slowly or more slowly. With regard to the computer game or gaming industry, the present disclosure proposes, among other things, to expand the tactile computer mouse with additional input sensors. Thus, it is conceivable to use an inertial measurement unit, which can also be referred to as IMU, to determine a current state of rotation of the computer mouse 1′ and to detect whether the user has lifted the tactile computer mouse 1′ from the mouse pad 20, for example, to represent a hopping motion in a virtual reality or environment, for example in a computer game. An inertial measurement unit, for example, has a combination of inertial or inertial sensors such as acceleration sensors and gyroscopes or the like to detect the position and/or inclination of an object, here in the XYZ directions, or accelerating motions, e.g., a “hopping”. Furthermore, force sensitive resistance (FSR) can, for example, be attached to the sides of the computer mouse 1′ to allow different pressures to act on the computer mouse 1′ and accordingly in a virtual environment, for example, in a computer game, to perform actions. According to the disclosure, such input modalities can be realized without problems and extend the spectrum of feedback and the initiation and execution of actions in a virtual environment”, 9:3-16 “In the embodiment according to FIG. 13, a variable hardness can be simulated for tactile perception via the interaction of a spring 52 with a spring constant k.sub.spring, a support element or bearing 51 and a pivot point 15 adjustable via a fourth servomotor S4 with gear wheel 54 in interaction with a toothed rack or cograil 53 with corresponding levers l1 and l2. Depending on the position of the pivot point 15, adjusted and positioned along the toothed rack 53, different counter-torques with the manually tilting of the upper part 11 and lower part 12 of the housing 10′ by the user are overcome via the levers l1 and l2 and via the spring constant k.sub.spring of the spring 52, whereby the impression of a different hardness of an associated material surface is represented”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-8 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Neither Lee nor Strese explicitly teach or suggest the use of a 3D displacement map (which is sometimes also referred to as a voxel displacement map as a voxel represents a 3D cube that can contain attributes in the XYZ axes as opposed to a displacement map tied to a pixel where attributes can be used to simulate a third dimension tied to the pixel that can provide shading or texture look and feel by using a gray scale map or other type of map). The closest non-patent literature Examiner was able to find in the search was Mueller et al. “Neural correlates of top-down modulation of haptic shape versus roughness perception”, retrieved from wileyonlinelibrary.com/journal/hbm, August 1, 2019, pp. 5172-5184 which teaches an experiment that was used to determine brain function of human subjects when touching various objects where field maps were generated from magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the brain and subsequently voxel displacement maps were generated from the field maps and brain responses and contrast was added to demonstrate which voxels showed significant brain activity when the human being touched various surfaces when compared to a baseline measurement. While Mueller demonstrates that the use of a voxel displacement map is known in the prior art there also appears to be no motivation to combine a teaching of usage in a medical image of brain response with a device that is generating haptic sensations via the device as Mueller provides no teaching that would envision a combination with Lee or Strese either alone or taken together. Therefore Examiner deems that no prior art either alone or in combination fairly teaches or suggests the subject matter of claims 5-8 and 16-19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deering (U.S. Patent 7,379,067) discloses the use of a voxel map in conjunction with texture and “texels” at 18:10-37 as part of 3D arrays that are displayed as graphics.
Akshat “How games like Unrecord and Subliminal create realistic graphics”, June 21, 2023, 26 pages discloses the use of voxels as part of dynamic lighting in graphics on pages 8 and 9 to a rendered image and also discloses the use of displacement maps for creating advanced textures in a rendered image.
/JAMES D NIGH/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 3699