DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1-14 are of insufficient quality and lack solid black lines as required in Drawing Standards (See MPEP 608.02 § V). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed limitation “a water passage device” recited in claims 1 and 8-10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a water passage device” is unclear what the applicant is referring to, since based on applicant’s disclosure it is not clear what the “water passage device” is and how it can be “between the water passage and the main valve seat” as is recited in claim 1, but also “comprise a sealing ring on the main valve core for sealing with a sidewall of the main valve seat” as is recited in claims 8 and 10, the sidewall of the main valve seat is not in between the water passage and the main valve seat, for the purpose of this examination it will be interpreted as a water outlet hole as is recited in claim 9; and the phrase “a spray gun device is connected to and located at the at least one water outlet port” is unclear which of “the at least one water outlet port” applicant is referring to since applicant introduced a plurality of water outlet ports.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “a connecting pipe” was previously introduced in independent claim 1 and it is unclear if applicant is referring to the same pipe or another.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “the water outlet” is unclear which water outlet the applicant is referring to since applicant previously introduced a plurality of water outlets.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “the water outlet port” is unclear which water outlet port the applicant is referring to since applicant previously introduced a plurality of water outlet ports; and the limitation “the water passage” is unclear which water passage the applicant is referring to since applicant previously introduced a plurality of water passages.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the water outlet” is unclear which water outlet the applicant is referring to since applicant previously introduced a plurality of water outlets; the limitation “the water outlet port” is unclear which water outlet port the applicant is referring to since applicant previously introduced a plurality of water outlet ports; and the limitation “the water passage” is unclear which water passage the applicant is referring to since applicant previously introduced a plurality of water passages.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “the water passage device comprises a sealing ring on the main valve core for sealing a sidewall of the main valve seat” is unclear what the applicant is referring to since applicant previously limited the water passage device and is unclear as it rejected above for claim 1; the limitation “the water outlet hole” has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; and the limitation “the water passage” is unclear which water passage the applicant is referring to since applicant previously introduced a plurality of water passages.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “the water passage device comprises a sealing ring on the main valve core for sealing a sidewall of the main valve seat” is unclear what the applicant is referring to since applicant previously limited the water passage device and is unclear as it rejected above for claim 1; and the limitation “the at least waster passage” is unclear what the applicant is referring to and has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 11 as far as they are considered definite is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIU (Pub. No. US 2021/0071398).
Regarding claim 1, LIU discloses a faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), comprising a faucet housing (1), a main valve seat (12) disposed on the faucet housing (1), a main valve core (2) arranged within the main valve seat (12), and a water inlet hole (paragraph 35, 121 & 122) on the main valve seat (12) matching the main valve core (2); wherein the faucet housing (1) is provided with a plurality of water outlets (oral tool outlet and spout outlet, paragraphs 52-54), each of the water outlets having a water passage (17, 18, & 19); each of the water outlets has at least one water outlet port (spout outlet Fig. 4 & hose outlet hole Fig. 1) connected to and in communication with the water passage (17, 18, & 19); a water passage device (outlet hole at seat 12) is arranged between the water passage (17, 18, & 19) and the main valve seat (12); and a spray gun device (7) is connected to and located at the at least one water outlet port (hose outlet hole, Fig. 1) via a connecting pipe (65).
Regarding claim 2, LIU discloses the faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), wherein the spray gun device (7) comprises a handle (71), a washing head (74) located on one end of the handle (71) and gradually narrowing (Fig. 11) from a connection point (Fig. 1) between the washing head (74) and the handle (71), at least one washing hole (paragraph 50) on the washing head (74); a connecting pipe (65) is located on the other end of the handle (71); and a connecting passage (712, paragraphs 50-51) is provided between the handle (71) and the washing head (74) for connecting and communicating the washing hole and the connecting pipe (65).
Regarding claim 3, LIU discloses the faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), wherein one end of the washing head (74) with the washing hole is bent (742) outward (Fig. 11) to reduce a holding angle for users during washing.
Regarding claim 4, LIU discloses the faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), wherein the water outlet is further provided with a fixed block (15); the fixed block has a placement groove (Fig. 2) matching the end (Fig. 1) of the connecting pipe (65) or the handle (71).
Regarding claim 5, LIU discloses the faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), wherein a control device (switching core assembly, Fig. 1) is provided between the water outlet port and the water passage (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, LIU discloses the faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), wherein the control device (switching core assembly, Fig. 1) comprises a control valve seat (Fig. 1) on the water outlet and located between the water outlet port (Fig. 1) and the water passage (17 and 18 or 19), and a control valve core (61) within the control valve seat (Fig. 1) for controlling open and/or close for fluid flow (paragraphs 52-54).
Regarding claim 9, LIU discloses the faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), wherein the water passage device comprises a water outlet hole (hole communicating to passage 17) located on the main valve seat (12) and in communication with the main valve core (2); the water outlet hole is connected to and in communication with each water passage (17, 18, & 19) through several water pipes (at 18 & 19, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, LIU discloses the faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), wherein the water inlet hole (paragraph 35) comprises a cold water inlet hole (121) and a hot water inlet hole (122); the main valve core (2) is a hot and cold mixing valve core (paragraph 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 as far as it is considered definite is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (Pub. No. US 2021/0071398) in view of Wagner (Pub. No. US 2022/0023019).
Regarding claim 7, LIU discloses the essential features of the claimed invention but lacks disclosure wherein the connecting pipe is a retractable spring hose.
Wagner teaches a spray gun (106) having a retractable spring hose (108, paragraph 37) connected to a fluid source (104, paragraph 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hose of LIU with a retractable hose as taught by Wagner for the advantage of biasing the hose to collapse for storage (paragraph 37).
Claim(s) 8 and 10 as far as they are considered definite is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (Pub. No. US 2021/0071398) in view of Yan (Pub. No. US 2023/0101515).
Regarding claim 8, LIU discloses the faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), wherein the water passage device comprises a sealing ring (o-ring seal illustrated around the valve core 2, Figs. 1 & 5) on the main valve core (2) for sealing with a sidewall (Fig. 1) of the main valve seat (12); the water passage (Fig. 1) runs through to the main valve seat (12) to be in communication with the main valve seat (12), and a communication point (Fig. 1) between the main valve seat (12) and the water passage (at 17) is located below (Fig. 1) the sealing ring (o-ring around valve core 2, Figs. 1 & 5), but lacks disclosure of a notch at the water outlet hole of the main valve core for preventing the water outlet hole of the main valve core from contacting the main valve seat.
Yan teaches a faucet (1) having a main valve seat (14) for a main mixing valve core (2), the valve core (2) with at least one valve core water outlet hole (22) that has a notch (Fig. 28) at the water outlet hole (22) of the valve core (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the valve core of LIU with a valve core as taught by Yan, since they are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of mixing valve cartridges, that perform the same function of controlling the mixing of hot and cold water to a respective outlet.
Regarding claim 10, LIU discloses the faucet with a spray gun (Figs. 1-11), wherein the water passage device comprises a sealing ring (o-ring seal illustrated around the valve core 2, Figs. 1 & 5) on the main valve core (2) for sealing with a sidewall (Fig. 1) of the main valve seat (12), and a water outlet hole (hole communicating with passage 17, Fig. 1) on the main valve seat (12) and in communication with the main valve core (2); the at least one water passage (at 17) is connected to and in communication with the water outlet hole through a water outlet pipe (17); the main valve core (2) is a multi-channel switching valve core (water mixing valve); the at least one water passage (at 17) runs through to the main valve seat (12) to be in in communication with the main valve seat (12); a communication point (Fig. 1) between the at least water passage (at 17) and the main valve seat (12) is located below the sealing ring (Fig. 1); but lacks disclosure wherein at least one valve core water outlet hole of the main valve core is located on the sidewall of the main valve core, or a notch is provided on the at least one valve core water outlet hole of the main valve core for preventing the valve core water outlet hole from contacting with the valve seat.
Yan teaches a faucet (1) having a main valve seat (14) for a main mixing valve core (2), the valve core (2) with at least one valve core water outlet hole (22) on a sidewall (Fig. 15) of the valve core (2), and the outlet hole (22) has a notch (Fig. 28) at the water outlet hole (22) of the valve core (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the valve core of LIU with a valve core as taught by Yan, since they are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of mixing valve cartridges, that perform the same function of controlling the mixing of hot and cold water to a respective outlet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karapetyan (U.S. Patent No. 6,991,460) disclose a faucet connected to a plurality of water outlets, wherein each outlet has a valve and is connected to a connecting pipe of a spray gun.
Zhang (U.S. Patent No. 10,064,710) disclose a faucet with a spray gun, wherein an outlet of each of the faucet and spray gun are connected to a mixing valve core.
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753