DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application filed on June 25, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed May 29, 2024 and June 26, 2025 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to share prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 2, the limitation “a plurality of the first board-side connectors attached to the plurality of flexible boards, and the electric wire module includes a plurality of the electric wire-side connectors connected to the plurality of first board-side connectors, respectively.” is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
There are many issues with this limitation wherein no clear relationship established between a plurality of flexible boards in claim 4 and a flexible board in claim 1 such as a plurality of flexible boards in claim 4 include a flexible board in claim 1 or a plurality of flexible boards in claim 4 separate from a flexible board in claim 1. Similar problem exist for a plurality of the first board-side connectors and a plurality of the electric wire-side connectors.
Furthermore, in claim 1 claims that a plurality of wires electrically connected to each of the plurality of electric wires via the electric wire-side connector and the first board-side connector. That means, ends of plurality of wires of the flexible board and ends of the plurality of electric wires connected occupied by and connected single electric wire-side connector and single. first board-side connector. It is not clear how ends of the plurality of electric wires that are already occupied by the electric wire-side connector and the first board-side connector, and the flexible board. In short, it is not possible to connect the plurality of electric wires to a plurality of flexible boards as mentioned in claim 6, all of wires are occupied by or connected to a flexible board in claim 1.
Therefore, claim 2 is indefinite. Proper clarification is required.
Rejection of claim 4, the limitation “wherein the electric wire module is provided along a reinforcement of a vehicle, and is routed toward the electronic device arranged in a direction intersecting an extension direction of the reinforcement, and the board module is provided between the electric wire module and the electronic device” is indefinite and unclear.
A main issue with this limitation is that the claimed invention in the claims is about a wire harness, not a vehicle; however, in claim 5, part of a vehicle structurally claimed as a part of a wire harness which is impossible and incorrect; see further explanation in MPEP. The wire harness can be part of the vehicle; but the vehicle can not be part of the wire harness.
Therefore, claim 4 is indefinite. Proper clarification is required.
Rejection of claim 5, a term “a thickness direction” lacks antecedent basis. It is not clear that a thickness direction refers to a thickness direction of what such as a wires, a flexible board, an electronic device, or else.
Therefore, claim 5 is indefinite. Proper clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated over Huppenthal et al. (US5509827, herein referred to as Huppenthal), Segimoto et al. (US5255155, herein referred to as Segimoto), and Saka et al. (US5598627, herein referred to as Saka).
Rejection of claim 1, Huppenthal discloses a wire harness (see figures 1-5 and 15) comprising:
an electric wire module including a plurality of electric wires (wires 22) and an electric wire-side connector (connector portion 52) provided at an end portion of the plurality of electric wires (wires 22); and
a board module including a flexible board (flex circuit 32), a first board-side connector (connector portion 42, see figure 7) provided at one end portion of the flexible board and connected to the electric wire-side connector (52), and
wherein the flexible board includes a wiring unit having a plurality of wires electrically connected to each of the plurality of electric wires via the electric wire-side connector and the first board-side connector,
Huppenthal fails to disclose a second board-side connector provided at other end portion of the flexible board and connected to a connector of an electronic device, and the wiring unit includes a joint unit that connects at least two of the plurality of wires to each other.
Segimoto discloses a second board-side connector provided at other end portion of the flexible board and connected to a connector of an electronic device (see figure 7 wherein connector 16 connecting flexible board 5 to component 7A ).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Huppenthal to have structural arrangement as taught by Segimoto so that flexible board detachable attached to the electronic device as well as electrically connect to the electronic device for electrical communication.
Saka discloses the wiring unit includes a joint unit that connects at least two of the plurality of wires to each other (see joint in figures 6A-6D) .
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Huppenthal in view of Segimoto to have structural arrangement as taught by Saka so that joint conductor wires or tracks are to ensure reliability and safety allowing backup paths in case of failures or damage of primary conductor wire or track.
Rejection of claim 3, Huppenthal in view of Segimoto and Saka disclose the wire harness according to claim 1, but fail to disclose wherein the wiring unit includes a through hole that connects at least two of the plurality of wires to each other.
Examiner makes official notice that circuit board having transmission or lead wires or lines on two different levels or layers of the board and connected by conductive via in order to have electrical communication between each other.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Huppenthal in view of Segimoto and Saka to have structural arrangement so that electrical communication could be possible between each other.
Rejection of claim 4, Huppenthal in view of Segimoto and Saka disclose the wire harness according to claim 1, wherein the electric wire module is configured to provide along a reinforcement of a vehicle, and is configured to route toward the electronic device arranged in a direction intersecting an extension direction of the reinforcement, and the board module is provided between the electric wire module and the electronic device (By having claimed structure as mentioned in claim 1, Huppenthal in view of Segimoto and Saka intended to use to provide along a reinforcement of a vehicle, and is configured to route toward the electronic device arranged in a direction intersecting an extension direction of the reinforcement, and the board module is provided between the electric wire module and the electronic device. Note that term “configure to” defines intended to use or having capacity. This rejection is given to advance prosecution; however, proper amendment is required under rejection of USC 112 as mentioned above to consider this rejection.).
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various wire harnesses.
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847