DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia et al.,(US Patent Publication No. 2024/0121692 A1, “non-terrestrial network connection management”, and Jin hereinafter).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claims 1 and 19-20, Jia teaches a recording (i.e., the UE can retrieve network transition data, e.g., data associated with non-terrestrial network coverage provided by the satellite. The UE can store the network transition data. The UE can use the network transition data to establish a connection to the satellite either before or after the UE disconnects from the network node) Para [0040], by a processing system including at least one processor, (Figure 10, whole figure, supra)
and (i.e., UEs 102 comprise target devices, device to device (D2D) UEs, machine type UEs or UEs capable of machine to machine (M2M) communications, personal digital assistants (PDAs), tablets, mobile terminals, smart phones, laptop mounted equipment (LME), universal serial bus (USB) dongles enabled for mobile communications, computers having mobile capabilities, mobile devices such as cellular phones, laptops having laptop embedded equipment (LEE, such as a mobile broadband adapter), tablet computers having mobile broadband adapters, wearable devices, virtual reality (VR) devices, heads-up display (HUD) devices, smart cars, machine-type communication (MTC) devices, augmented reality head mounted displays, and the like. UEs can also comprise IOT devices that communicate wirelessly.) Para [0026] a first bitrate of a data transfer session between a user endpoint device and a network element of a terrestrial mobile network (i.e., terrestrial and non-terrestrial network functions can provide prediction data and network transition data to mobile devices.) Abstract) and (i.e., non-terrestrial network connection management. Mobile device transitions between terrestrial and non-terrestrial network connections can be streamlined by predicting transitions in advance and by advance mobile device acquisition of network transition data. Terrestrial and non-terrestrial network functions can provide prediction data and network transition data to mobile devices ) Para [0017], wherein the user endpoint device (i.e., a mobility management service at the UE can detect that the UE is nearing the edge of the service area. In response to detecting that the UE is nearing the edge of the service area, the UE retrieve terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coverage information. Terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coverage information can define geographical areas corresponding to nearby service areas) Para [0039] is locked (i.e., initiate a terrestrial network sleep mode, in which the UE uses an extended time interval between terrestrial network communication service availability checks. The extended time interval can be any interval that is longer than a time interval used between the terrestrial network communication service availability checks while the UE is not in the terrestrial sleep mode) Para [0041] and (i.e., manage a terrestrial network sleep mode by placing terrestrial radios in sleep mode and periodically waking up cellular/Wi-Fi radios to search for terrestrial cell sites and/or other access points. During its periodic wake ups from sleep mode, the UE can scan terrestrial network bands, e.g., cellular/Wi-Fi bands, without necessarily decoding terrestrial network waveforms) Para [0055] a radio frequency band of the terrestrial mobile network (i.e., communicate wireless signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers (e.g., OFDM, CP-OFDM, DFT-spread OFMD, UFMC, FMBC, etc.). The embodiments are applicable to single carrier as well as to multicarrier (MC) or carrier aggregation (CA) operation of the UE. The term carrier aggregation (CA) is also called (e.g. interchangeably called) “multi-carrier system”, “multi-cell operation”, “multi-carrier operation”, “multi-carrier” transmission and/or reception. Note that some embodiments are also applicable for Multi RAB (radio bearers) on some carriers (that is data plus speech is simultaneously scheduled) Para [0032]; recording a second bitrate of the data transfer session, by the processing system (i.e., Figure 1, whole figure inferred, infra),
during a test interval in which a satellite of a non-terrestrial network that shares the radio frequency band with the terrestrial mobile network is executing a function that generates a data transmission to generate full-bandwidth noise signals (i.e., detectable tags) Para [0119]; calculating (i.e., configured to calculate extended time intervals for application at the UE based on UE location and trajectory, and distance to surrounding terrestrial network nodes) Para [0071], by the processing system, (i.e., networks can allow for: data rates of several tens of megabits per second should be supported for tens of thousands of users, 1 gigabit per second to be offered simultaneously to tens of workers on the same office floor, for example; several hundreds of thousands of simultaneous connections to be supported for massive sensor deployments; improved coverage, enhanced signaling efficiency; reduced latency compared) Para [0034] a difference between the first bitrate that is recorded and the second bitrate that is recorded (i.e. stored in memory storage) [Figure 10, whole figure ] and (i.e. all of the elements described relative to the computer , although, for purposes of brevity, only a memory/storage device ) Para [0115] and (i.e. waveforms that split the bandwidth into several sub-bands, different types of services can be accommodated in different sub-bands with the most suitable waveform and numerology, leading to an improved spectrum utilization) Para [0033]; and initiating, by the processing system in response to the difference exceeding a threshold (i.e., connected to non-terrestrial network nodes such as , the terrestrial sleep manager can manage a terrestrial sleep mode of the UE in which the UE employs extended time intervals between terrestrial network availability checks,) Para [0051] and (i.e., UE can evaluate its terrestrial connection (signal strength and KPIs) and if the connection satisfies threshold values, then the UE can disconnect the non-terrestrial connection to the satellite) Para [0075], an action to modify a parameter of at least one of: the terrestrial mobile network or the non-terrestrial network to reduce an effect of channel interference resulting from the sharing of the radio frequency band (i.e., mode can also apply non-decoding availability checks to check availability of the terrestrial network. Non-decoding availability checks can reduce UE power consumption and processing resources by checking for an existence of a waveform without decoding the waveform. For example, the UE can check for existence of waveforms used by the terrestrial network nodes, without attempting to decode detected waveforms) Para [0042].
In regards to the newly added limitations in the amendment of July 29, 2026, , “sending”; “command” and “network element”, Jia clearly teaches the limitations, see infra:
Jia teaches “sending” (i.e., transmit and/or receive data, control) Para [0026] and (i.e., The UEs 102 can send transmission type recommendation data to the network node 104. The transmission type recommendation data can comprise a recommendation to transmit data via a closed loop multiple input multiple output (MIMO) mode and/or a rank-1 precoder mode) Para [0027]; “command” (i.e., blocks can represent actions performed in a method, functional components of a computing device, or instructions implemented ) Para [0076] and (i.e., receiving, by the device 202, an exit instruction such as notification 215 via the non-terrestrial network communication service, and exiting, by the device 202, the terrestrial sleep mode in response to the exit instruction) Para [0084] and Para [0095] see also (i.e., enter commands) Para [0113] and “network element” (Examiner asserts that a network element is a manageable logical or physical entity in a computer or telecommunications network, such as a router, switch, or server, for the purpose of helping to transmit, route, or manage data. Therefore, Jia teaches network element (i.e., networked environment using logical connections via wired and/or wireless communications to one or more remote computers, such as a remote computer(s) 1050. The remote computer(s) 1050 can be a workstation, a server computer, a router, a personal computer, portable computer, microprocessor-based entertainment appliance, a peer device or other common network node, and typically includes many or all of the elements described relative to the computer) Para [0115]; see also Figure 9, whole figure, infra:
Regarding Claim 2, Jia teaches wherein the processing system is part of a system that is physically located within the terrestrial mobile network (i.e., based on search results resulting from the performing of the search at identifying, by the device, non-terrestrial network information applicable to obtain non-terrestrial network coverage information, e.g., information regarding satellite and its service area) Para [0077].
Regarding Claim 3, Jia teaches wherein the system collects data about the data transfer session directly from the user endpoint device (i.e., a mobility management service at the UE can detect that the UE is nearing the edge of the service area . In response to detecting that the UE is nearing the edge of the service area , the UE can retrieve terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coverage information. Terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coverage information can define geographical areas corresponding to nearby service areas) Para [0039].
Regarding Claim 4, Jia teaches wherein the system collects data about the data transfer session directly from a network probe located within the terrestrial mobile network (i.e., data storage) Para [0102].
Regarding Claim 5, Jia teaches wherein the user endpoint device is physically located within a predefined distance of an edge of a cell that is served by the terrestrial mobile network i.e., a mobility management service at the UE can detect that the UE is nearing the edge of the service area. In response to detecting that the UE is nearing the edge of the service area, the UE can retrieve terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coverage information. Terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coverage information can define geographical areas corresponding to nearby service areas) Para [0039].
Regarding Claim 6, Jia teaches wherein the user endpoint device is physically located to test a desired signal level within the terrestrial mobile network (i.e., performing various transmission operations (e.g., MIMO operations) and for directing/steering signal beams.) Para [0028]; Para [0032].
Regarding Claim 7, Jia teaches wherein the data transfer session comprises at least one of: a voice session or a data session (i.e., UE can evaluate its terrestrial connection (signal strength and KPIs) and if the connection satisfies threshold values, then the UE can disconnect the non-terrestrial connection to the satellite) Para [0075]
Regarding Claim 8, Jia teaches wherein a duration of the data transfer session is dynamically controlled to be of a length that is sufficient to maintain at least a threshold data rate over a connection between the user endpoint device and the network element over the duration of the data transfer session (i.e., reads on network prediction can use map information generated by the terrestrial network map builder and the non-terrestrial network map builder, along with UE location and trajectory information, to make predictions regarding which terrestrial or non-terrestrial network nodes/satellites the UE may connect to in the future, and optionally delay times that predict when the UE will connect to a next node. Network prediction can supply network node/satellite ID to the terrestrial/non-terrestrial transition preparation). Para [0061]
Regarding Claim 9, Jia teaches wherein a complexity of the data transfer session is controlled to ensure that a data rate of the data transfer session at least meets a threshold data rate over a connection between the user endpoint device and the network element over a duration of the data transfer session (i.e., networks are expected to fulfill the demand of exponentially increasing data traffic and to allow people and machines to enjoy gigabit data rates with virtually zero (e.g., single digit millisecond) latency) Para [0033] and (i.e., increased peak bit rate (e.g., 20 Gbps), larger data volume per unit area (e.g., high system spectral efficiency—for example about 3.5 times that of spectral efficiency) Para [0034]; see also Paras [0043] and [0051].
Regarding Claim 10, Jia teaches wherein the processing system sends a command to the satellite at a start of the test interval to cause the satellite to activate the function and sends another command to the satellite at an end of the test interval to cause the satellite to deactivate the function (i.e., UE can employ an artificial intelligence (AI) model to assist with transitions between terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks. AI predictions can be made by applying the AI model to signal characters and/or UE motion/trajectories. The AI model can be configured to predict a future access point or cell site for the UE , based on a UE 300 estimated trajectory. The AI model can furthermore be configured to speed up connections to a non-terrestrial network after leaving terrestrial network coverage, and vice versa) Para [0057].
Regarding Claim 11, Jia teaches wherein the processing system detects the start of the test interval in response to determining when the user endpoint device will be physically located within a terrestrial coverage area of the satellite and detects the end of the test interval in response to determining when the user endpoint device will no longer be physically located within the terrestrial coverage area of the satellite (i.e., interval adjuster can be configured to apply interval adjustment information received by the terrestrial sleep manager. The interval adjustment information can comprise, e.g., information received via satellite. The satellite can be configured to calculate extended time intervals for application at the UE based on UE location and trajectory, and distance to surrounding terrestrial network nodes. In some embodiments, the sleep interval adjuster can be configured to implement different sleep levels, e.g., a second sleep level which has a longer extended time interval than a first extended time interval) Para [0071-0075] and Para [0057].
Regarding Claim 12, Jia teaches wherein the processing system detects the start of the test interval and the end of the test interval based on a predefined schedule Para [0032] (i.e., UE can employ an artificial intelligence (AI) model to assist with transitions between terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks. AI predictions can be made by applying the AI model to signal characters and/or UE motion/trajectories. The AI model can be configured to predict a future access point or cell site for the UE , based on a UE 300 estimated trajectory. The AI model can furthermore be configured to speed up connections to a non-terrestrial network after leaving terrestrial network coverage, and vice versa) Para [0057].
Regarding Claim 13, Jia teaches wherein the function is an orthogonal channel noise simulator (i.e., orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM)) Para [0024] that causes all physical resource blocks of a signal emitted by the satellite to be utilized Para [0028] and (i.e., signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers) Para [0032].
Regarding Claim 14, Jia teaches wherein the first bitrate is recorded as a first time series and the second bitrate is recorded as a second time series (i.e., increased peak bit rate (e.g., 20 Gbps), larger data volume per unit area (e.g., high system spectral efficiency—for example about 3.5 times that of spectral efficiency of long term evolution (LTE) systems), high capacity that allows more device connectivity both concurrently and instantaneously, lower battery/power consumption (which reduces energy and consumption costs), better connectivity regardless of the geographic region in which a user is located, a larger numbers of devices, lower infrastructural development costs, and higher reliability of the communications. Thus, 5G networks can allow for: data rates of several tens of megabits per second should be supported for tens of thousands of users, 1 gigabit per second to be offered simultaneously) Para [0034].
Regarding Claim 15, Jia teaches wherein the calculating comprises correlating the second time series with a passing of the satellite (i.e., the prediction, the UE can retrieve network transition data e.g., data associated with non-terrestrial network coverage provided by the satellite. The UE can store the network transition data. The UE can use the network transition data to establish a connection to the satellite either before or after the UE disconnects from the network node) Para [0040].
Regarding Claim 16, Jia teaches wherein the initiating comprises sending a command to the satellite to cause the satellite to adjust a transmit power allocation of the satellite (i.e., the prediction, the UE can retrieve network transition data e.g., data associated with non-terrestrial network coverage provided by the satellite. The UE can store the network transition data. The UE can use the network transition data to establish a connection to the satellite either before or after the UE disconnects from the network node) Para [0040].
In regards to the newly added limitations in the amendment of July 29, 2026, “sending command”, Jia clearly teaches the limitations, see infra:
Jia teaches “sending” (i.e., transmit and/or receive data, control) Para [0026] and (i.e., The UEs 102 can send transmission type recommendation data to the network node 104. The transmission type recommendation data can comprise a recommendation to transmit data via a closed loop multiple input multiple output (MIMO) mode and/or a rank-1 precoder mode) Para [0027]; “command” (i.e., blocks can represent actions performed in a method, functional components of a computing device, or instructions implemented ) Para [0076] and (i.e., receiving, by the device 202, an exit instruction such as notification 215 via the non-terrestrial network communication service, and exiting, by the device 202, the terrestrial sleep mode in response to the exit instruction) Para [0084] and Para [0095] see also (i.e., enter commands) Para [0113].
Regarding Claim 17, Jia teaches wherein the initiating comprises sending a command to a network element to cause the network element to adjust an antenna configuration of the network element to change a gain factor of the antenna configuration (i.e., multiple antennas for performing various transmission operations (e.g., MIMO operations) and for directing/steering signal beams. Network node 104 can comprise one or more base station devices which implement features of the network node 104. Network nodes can serve several cells, depending on the configuration and type of antenna) Para [0028] and (i.e., millimeter waves have shorter wavelengths that range from 10 millimeters to 1 millimeter, and these mmWave signals experience severe path loss, penetration loss, and fading. However, the shorter wavelength at mmWave frequencies also allows more antennas to be packed in the same physical dimension, which allows for large-scale spatial multiplexing and highly directional beamforming) Para [0035].
In regards to the newly added limitations in the amendment of July 29, 2026, “sending command”, Jia clearly teaches the limitations, see infra:
Jia teaches “sending” (i.e., transmit and/or receive data, control) Para [0026] and (i.e., The UEs 102 can send transmission type recommendation data to the network node 104. The transmission type recommendation data can comprise a recommendation to transmit data via a closed loop multiple input multiple output (MIMO) mode and/or a rank-1 precoder mode) Para [0027]; “command” (i.e., blocks can represent actions performed in a method, functional components of a computing device, or instructions implemented ) Para [0076] and (i.e., receiving, by the device 202, an exit instruction such as notification 215 via the non-terrestrial network communication service, and exiting, by the device 202, the terrestrial sleep mode in response to the exit instruction) Para [0084] and Para [0095] see also (i.e., enter commands) Para [0113].
.
Regarding Claim 18, Jia teaches wherein the initiating comprises sending a command to another user endpoint device that is connected to the terrestrial mobile network to cause another user endpoint device to adjust a power usage of the another user endpoint device (i.e. power consumption) Para [0034] and (i.e., availability checks can reduce UE 202 power consumption and processing resources by checking for an existence of a waveform without decoding the waveform. For example, the UE 202 can check for existence of waveforms used by the terrestrial network nodes 201A, 201B, 201C, without attempting to decode detected waveforms) Para [0042].
In regards to the newly added limitations in the amendment of July 29, 2026, “sending command”, Jia clearly teaches the limitations, see infra:
Jia teaches “sending” (i.e., transmit and/or receive data, control) Para [0026] and (i.e., The UEs 102 can send transmission type recommendation data to the network node 104. The transmission type recommendation data can comprise a recommendation to transmit data via a closed loop multiple input multiple output (MIMO) mode and/or a rank-1 precoder mode) Para [0027]; “command” (i.e., blocks can represent actions performed in a method, functional components of a computing device, or instructions implemented ) Para [0076] and (i.e., receiving, by the device 202, an exit instruction such as notification 215 via the non-terrestrial network communication service, and exiting, by the device 202, the terrestrial sleep mode in response to the exit instruction) Para [0084] and Para [0095] see also (i.e., enter commands) Para [0113]
Examiner’s Remarks
Applicant argues that Jia does not disclose the claimed, “sending ... a command to modify a parameter to at least one of the network element of the terrestrial mobile network or satellite of the non- terrestrial network, wherein the command causes at least one of the network element or the satellite to reduce an effect of channel interference resulting from the sharing of the radio frequency band”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Jia teaches “sending ... a command to modify a parameter to at least one of the network element of the terrestrial mobile network or satellite of the non- terrestrial network, wherein the command causes at least one of the network element or the satellite to reduce an effect of channel interference resulting from the sharing of the radio frequency band”. Jia teaches the claimed, “sending” (i.e., transmit and/or receive data, control) Para [0026] and (i.e., The UEs 102 can send transmission type recommendation data to the network node 104. The transmission type recommendation data can comprise a recommendation to transmit data via a closed loop multiple input multiple output (MIMO) mode and/or a rank-1 precoder mode) Para [0027]; “command” (i.e., blocks can represent actions performed in a method, functional components of a computing device, or instructions implemented ) Para [0076] and (i.e., receiving, by the device 202, an exit instruction such as notification 215 via the non-terrestrial network communication service, and exiting, by the device 202, the terrestrial sleep mode in response to the exit instruction) Para [0084] and Para [0095] see also (i.e., enter commands) Para [0113] and “network element” (Examiner asserts that a network element is a manageable logical or physical entity in a computer or telecommunications network, such as a router, switch, or server, for the purpose of helping to transmit, route, or manage data. Therefore, Jia teaches network element (i.e., networked environment using logical connections via wired and/or wireless communications to one or more remote computers, such as a remote computer(s) 1050. The remote computer(s) 1050 can be a workstation, a server computer, a router, a personal computer, portable computer, microprocessor-based entertainment appliance, a peer device or other common network node, and typically includes many or all of the elements described relative to the computer) Para [0115]; see also Figure 9, whole figure, infra:
Applicant argues that Jia fails to disclose the limitations as amended in Claims 19 and 20.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Jia teaches a recording (i.e., the UE can retrieve network transition data, e.g., data associated with non-terrestrial network coverage provided by the satellite. The UE can store the network transition data. The UE can use the network transition data to establish a connection to the satellite either before or after the UE disconnects from the network node) Para [0040], by a processing system including at least one processor, (Figure 10, whole figure, supra)
and (i.e., UEs 102 comprise target devices, device to device (D2D) UEs, machine type UEs or UEs capable of machine to machine (M2M) communications, personal digital assistants (PDAs), tablets, mobile terminals, smart phones, laptop mounted equipment (LME), universal serial bus (USB) dongles enabled for mobile communications, computers having mobile capabilities, mobile devices such as cellular phones, laptops having laptop embedded equipment (LEE, such as a mobile broadband adapter), tablet computers having mobile broadband adapters, wearable devices, virtual reality (VR) devices, heads-up display (HUD) devices, smart cars, machine-type communication (MTC) devices, augmented reality head mounted displays, and the like. UEs can also comprise IOT devices that communicate wirelessly.) Para [0026] a first bitrate of a data transfer session between a user endpoint device and a network element of a terrestrial mobile network (i.e., terrestrial and non-terrestrial network functions can provide prediction data and network transition data to mobile devices.) Abstract) and (i.e., non-terrestrial network connection management. Mobile device transitions between terrestrial and non-terrestrial network connections can be streamlined by predicting transitions in advance and by advance mobile device acquisition of network transition data. Terrestrial and non-terrestrial network functions can provide prediction data and network transition data to mobile devices ) Para [0017], wherein the user endpoint device (i.e., a mobility management service at the UE can detect that the UE is nearing the edge of the service area. In response to detecting that the UE is nearing the edge of the service area, the UE retrieve terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coverage information. Terrestrial and non-terrestrial network coverage information can define geographical areas corresponding to nearby service areas) Para [0039] is locked (i.e., initiate a terrestrial network sleep mode, in which the UE uses an extended time interval between terrestrial network communication service availability checks. The extended time interval can be any interval that is longer than a time interval used between the terrestrial network communication service availability checks while the UE is not in the terrestrial sleep mode) Para [0041] and (i.e., manage a terrestrial network sleep mode by placing terrestrial radios in sleep mode and periodically waking up cellular/Wi-Fi radios to search for terrestrial cell sites and/or other access points. During its periodic wake ups from sleep mode, the UE can scan terrestrial network bands, e.g., cellular/Wi-Fi bands, without necessarily decoding terrestrial network waveforms) Para [0055] a radio frequency band of the terrestrial mobile network (i.e., communicate wireless signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers (e.g., OFDM, CP-OFDM, DFT-spread OFMD, UFMC, FMBC, etc.). The embodiments are applicable to single carrier as well as to multicarrier (MC) or carrier aggregation (CA) operation of the UE. The term carrier aggregation (CA) is also called (e.g. interchangeably called) “multi-carrier system”, “multi-cell operation”, “multi-carrier operation”, “multi-carrier” transmission and/or reception. Note that some embodiments are also applicable for Multi RAB (radio bearers) on some carriers (that is data plus speech is simultaneously scheduled) Para [0032]; recording a second bitrate of the data transfer session, by the processing system (i.e., Figure 1, whole figure inferred, infra),
during a test interval in which a satellite of a non-terrestrial network that shares the radio frequency band with the terrestrial mobile network is executing a function that generates a data transmission to generate full-bandwidth noise signals (i.e., detectable tags) Para [0119]; calculating (i.e., configured to calculate extended time intervals for application at the UE based on UE location and trajectory, and distance to surrounding terrestrial network nodes) Para [0071], by the processing system, (i.e., networks can allow for: data rates of several tens of megabits per second should be supported for tens of thousands of users, 1 gigabit per second to be offered simultaneously to tens of workers on the same office floor, for example; several hundreds of thousands of simultaneous connections to be supported for massive sensor deployments; improved coverage, enhanced signaling efficiency; reduced latency compared) Para [0034] a difference between the first bitrate that is recorded and the second bitrate that is recorded (i.e. stored in memory storage) [Figure 10, whole figure ] and (i.e. all of the elements described relative to the computer , although, for purposes of brevity, only a memory/storage device ) Para [0115] and (i.e. waveforms that split the bandwidth into several sub-bands, different types of services can be accommodated in different sub-bands with the most suitable waveform and numerology, leading to an improved spectrum utilization) Para [0033]; and initiating, by the processing system in response to the difference exceeding a threshold (i.e., connected to non-terrestrial network nodes such as , the terrestrial sleep manager can manage a terrestrial sleep mode of the UE in which the UE employs extended time intervals between terrestrial network availability checks,) Para [0051] and (i.e., UE can evaluate its terrestrial connection (signal strength and KPIs) and if the connection satisfies threshold values, then the UE can disconnect the non-terrestrial connection to the satellite) Para [0075], an action to modify a parameter of at least one of: the terrestrial mobile network or the non-terrestrial network to reduce an effect of channel interference resulting from the sharing of the radio frequency band (i.e., mode can also apply non-decoding availability checks to check availability of the terrestrial network. Non-decoding availability checks can reduce UE power consumption and processing resources by checking for an existence of a waveform without decoding the waveform. For example, the UE can check for existence of waveforms used by the terrestrial network nodes, without attempting to decode detected waveforms) Para [0042].
In regards to the newly added limitations in the amendment of July 29, 2026, “sending”; “command” and “network element”, Jia clearly teaches the limitations, see infra:
Jia teaches “sending” (i.e., transmit and/or receive data, control) Para [0026] and (i.e., The UEs 102 can send transmission type recommendation data to the network node 104. The transmission type recommendation data can comprise a recommendation to transmit data via a closed loop multiple input multiple output (MIMO) mode and/or a rank-1 precoder mode) Para [0027]; “command” (i.e., blocks can represent actions performed in a method, functional components of a computing device, or instructions implemented ) Para [0076] and (i.e., receiving, by the device 202, an exit instruction such as notification 215 via the non-terrestrial network communication service, and exiting, by the device 202, the terrestrial sleep mode in response to the exit instruction) Para [0084] and Para [0095] see also (i.e., enter commands) Para [0113] and “network element” (Examiner asserts that a network element is a manageable logical or physical entity in a computer or telecommunications network, such as a router, switch, or server, for the purpose of helping to transmit, route, or manage data. Therefore, Jia teaches network element (i.e., networked environment using logical connections via wired and/or wireless communications to one or more remote computers, such as a remote computer(s) 1050. The remote computer(s) 1050 can be a workstation, a server computer, a router, a personal computer, portable computer, microprocessor-based entertainment appliance, a peer device or other common network node, and typically includes many or all of the elements described relative to the computer) Para [0115]; see also Figure 9, whole figure, infra:
Examiner respectfully asserts that Jia does not fail to disclose Applicant’s claimed invention for the reasons as stated in this final office action. Jia clearly teaches Applicant’s claimed invention as discussed, supra. Examiner maintains the rejection for claims 1-20 under Section 102. This application is not in condition for allowance and is made final at this time.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jia et al., (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0121692 A1), “Non-terrestrial network connection management” (April 11, 2024) discloses non-terrestrial network connection management. Mobile device transitions between terrestrial and non-terrestrial network connections can be streamlined by predicting transitions in advance and by advance mobile device acquisition of network transition data. Terrestrial and non-terrestrial network functions can provide prediction data and network transition data to mobile devices.
Ravishankar et al., (US Publication No. 20250080214 A1), “Dynamic Cu-Du association in on-terrestrial networks with non-transparent satellites” (June 3, 2025) discloses protocol architectures to achieve efficient high speed data services in an integrated terrestrial-non-terrestrial network (iTNTN). The iTNTN can includes non-geostationary orbit (NGSO) satellite system and terrestrial radio access and core network infrastructures based on cellular standards (e.g., 5G). configured packet-based routing and dynamic cell-CU-DU (cell to centralized unit to distributed unit) association to accommodate dynamically changing LEO satellite locations and other iTNTN characteristics. These are used to enable features, including end-to-end IP data and Layer 2 data services, integrated LEO-GEO (low-Earth orbit and geosynchronous Earth orbit) and LEO-MEO (low-Earth orbit and medium-Earth orbit) services, direct UT-UT (user terminal to user terminal) services, and resource efficient multicast services.
Sayed et al., (US Publication No. 20250063454 A1), “Interference mitigation in terrestrial network non-terrestrial network” (February 20, 2025) discloses techniques for obtaining constellation information and trajectory information of non-terrestrial network (NTN) entities in a NTN, including a position of a user equipment (UE) in communication with the apparatus; a signal projection cone based on the position of the user equipment, a position of the apparatus, and a beam width of a beam used for the communication between the user equipment and the apparatus; NTN entities are located within the signal projection cone; a first signal to the user equipment based on the determination that the one or more NTN entities are located within the signal projection cone.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov