Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-23, filed 6/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hardemark et al (US 10,814,143 B2).
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 6/15/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claims 4-6 are amended. Claims 2-3 are cancelled. New claims 21-22 are added. Thus, claims 1, 4-22 are examined.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. No further examination of claims 18-19.
Claim limitation “determining a target irradiation field angle set based on the alternative angle set through iterative calculations” and “determining a preset objective function value” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claim is substantially functional in scope with respect to any computer-implemented operations. Specifically, the limitations 'determining a target irradiation field angle set based on the alternative angle set through iterative calculations' and 'determining a preset objective function value' recite purely functional results without reciting the specific concrete algorithm, computational steps, or structural transformation required to achieve these results. Read in light of the specification, the claim fails to provide the necessary algorithmic boundaries or specific computational rules, leaving the bounds of the claim unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “preset objective function value ” and “determining the target irradiation field angle set based on the preset objective function value” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claim fails to recite what parameters, criteria, or physical/logical constraints constitute the "objective function" or how the iterations modify the values to converge on the target set. The claim leaves the metes and bounds of the iterative optimization undefined, as a person of ordinary skill in the art would not know whether any optimization algorithm or any objective function (e.g., minimizing dose, maximizing target coverage) fulfills the limitation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “determination module”, “evaluation module”, “machine learning model” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The Specification fails to disclose the specific corresponding structure, material, or acts (such as a specific computer algorithm, flowchart, or specialized hardware block) corresponding to the "determination module" for performing each of the recited functions (obtaining the alternative angle set, obtaining the dose restriction condition, and optimizing/determining the target set). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hardemark et al (US 10,814,143 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Hardemark et al discloses a system for determining an irradiation field angle, comprising: at least one storage medium, the at least one storage medium (col. 7, lines 43-61) including a set of instructions; and at least one processor in communication with the at least one storage medium, wherein when executing the set of instructions, the at least one processor (120) (See Fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 24-30) is configured to cause the system to perform operations including: obtaining an alternative angle set, the alternative angle set including multiple selectable beam angles (col. 4, lines 31-53); determining a target irradiation field angle set based on the alternative angle set through iterative calculations, wherein each iteration of the iterative calculations includes: determining a preset objective function value related to the alternative angle set, and determining the target irradiation field angle set based on the preset objective function value (pre-calculate or iteratively select beam angles) (col. 4, lines 31-53).
Regarding claim 4, Hardemark et al disclose wherein the selectable beam angle is generated based on a preset angle range and a preset step size, and the at least one processor is further configured to: determining the preset angle range and/or the preset step size based on at least one of object image data, object delineation data, or radiotherapy prescription data (pre-calculated solutions in a particular group all represent radiation therapy treatment plans with the same number of radiation beams, where a set of mutual angles between the radiation sources used are equal, and where the type of particles emitted from the radiation sources are the same) (col. 4, lines 43-53).
Regarding claim 5, Hardemark et al disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine the preset angle range and/or the preset step size based on at least one of a shape of a lesion, a size of the lesion, a malignancy level of the lesion, an amount of target tissue and/or target organ, or danger level of the lesion (tumor to be treated and healthy tissues) (col. 4, lines 31-37).
Regarding claim 20, Hardemark et al discloses a method for determining an irradiation field angle, comprising: obtaining an alternative angle set, the alternative angle set including multiple selectable beam angles (col. 4, lines 31-53); determining a target irradiation field angle set based on the alternative angle set through iterative calculations (See Fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 24-30), wherein each iteration of the iterative calculations includes: determining a preset objective function value related to the alternative angle set, and determining the target irradiation field angle set based on the preset objective function value (pre-calculate or iteratively select beam angles) (col. 4, lines 31-53).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-17, 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection as stated supra.
Regarding claims 6-17, the prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the preset objective function value is determined based at least on a penalty term of an irradiation field execution time and a fluence map loss; the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to perform operations including: obtaining at least one candidate angle set based on the alternative angle set, the candidate angle set including one or more selectable beam angles the penalty term of the irradiation field execution time being determined based on at least one movement cost between beams corresponding to a candidate angle set of the at least one candidate angle set, and the fluence map loss being determined based on an actual dose distribution corresponding to the candidate angle set and a target dose distribution.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the system to perform operations including: determining at least one candidate angle set based on the alternative angle set; and determining the target irradiation field angle set based on the at least one candidate angle set through the iterative calculations, wherein the preset objective function value is determined at least based on a penalty term of an irradiation field execution time, and the penalty term of the irradiation field execution time is determined based on at least one movement cost between beams corresponding to a candidate angle set of the at least one candidate angle set.
Regarding claim 22, the prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest wherein the at least one movement cost between beams includes at least one beam-to-beam movement time, the at least one beam-to- beam movement time is determined based on trajectory planning information, and the trajectory planning information includes velocity planning information for the at least one beam-to-beam movement and acceleration planning information for the at least one beam-to-beam movement.
Conclusion
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884