1DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 & 14-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, the ‘575 reference from Gagliano has been applied herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "additional oyster shells positioned over the floor of the pen" which is a limitation that was previously recited within claim 1, from which claim 6 depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, & 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagliano et al., U.S. Patent No. 5,269,254 A, herein ‘254 in view of Gagliano et al., U.S. Patent No. 12,471,575 B2; herein ‘575.
Re claim 1, ‘254 discloses an apparatus for use in forming oyster reefs, the apparatus comprising:
a series of wire cages (fig. 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, & 15 and col 5-6; 6-13, 15, & 49-2, the panels; 10/10a each form a cage for containing cultch, formed of wire mesh), each wire cage having an interior area (fig. 8, for containing the cultch), the interior area of each wire cage being filled with oyster shells (fig. 8 and col 5-6; 68-2, the cultch material), the series of wire cages being secured together to form a closed pen (fig. 5 & 9 and col 6; 3-6, wherein the horizontal members secure the vertical support members that form the cage together to form a closed triangular pen);
a mesh netting beneath the series of wire cages to form a floor of the pen (fig. 10 & 15, the net is placed to prevent sinking in a body of water with a soft bottom surface).
‘254 fails to explicitly disclose mesh netting secured to the series of wire cages. However, ‘254 further discloses securing a plurality of wire cages (10; the panels, fig. 3 & 14) to a support surface (58; the posts, fig. 14).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to explicitly disclose mesh netting secured to the series of wire cages and additional oyster shells positioned over the floor of the pen however, the prior art does disclose securing a plurality of wire cages to a support surface. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known technique of securing the cages to the support surface to improve the similar device disclosed by the prior art in the same way by securing the net to the reef blocks to prevent drifting and prevent loss of the net. See MPEP 2143 I. (C).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to secure the net to the cages/panels, since it has been held that forming a single part of a structure which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together generally only involves routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 V. B.
‘254 fails to disclose additional oyster shells being explicitly positioned over the floor of the pen. However, ‘575 discloses additional oyster shells positioned over a floor (32; the base, fig. 3A-4B and col 12; 18-25) of a pen (col 11; 22-34, wherein the cultch is crushed oyster shell and the material is placed within the central cultch containment space, see fig. 1A-2D).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose additional oyster shells positioned over the floor of the pen however, ‘575 discloses such a method. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art elements of the cultch in the central space of the assembly as taught by ‘575 to the assembly of the prior art to yield the predictable result of a larger yield with the same size assembly. See MPEP 2143 I. (A).
Re claim 2, the modification of ‘254 and ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 1, ‘254 further discloses wherein a series of four wire cages are utilized to form a rectangular pen (col 7; 43-46, wherein the panels form a “columnar” rectangle; an extra panel is required, see fig. 15 by way of example).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the shape of a rectangle/four panels within each reef block; 40, since it has been held that the selection of any aesthetics for ornamental purposes is a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.04 I.
Re claim 3, the modification of ‘254 and ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 1, ‘254 further discloses wherein a series of three wire cages (col 5; 49-51, three panels, which each additionally form a cage, are used to form the triangular reef block) are utilized to form a triangular pen (fig. 10 & 15).
Re claim 4, the modification of ‘254 and ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 1, ‘254 further discloses a generic mesh netting made primarily from a biodegradable material (col 5; line 14 & col 6; 31-32, when the suitable net is if the known material cotton).
‘254 fails to disclose the mesh netting (54) explicitly made of a biodegradable material or cotton. However, ‘254 further discloses the mesh netting being a net known in the art (col 6; 31-32, a suitable net is known in the art).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose the mesh netting (54) explicitly made of a biodegradable material or cotton however, ‘254 discloses cotton a suitable material for nets. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the net by utilizing a simple substitution of the generic net taught by the prior art for the cotton in order to obtain the predictable result of an environmentally friendly netting. See MPEP 2143 I. (B).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a cotton net since they are a well-known environmentally friendly option, since it has been held that selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 6, as best understood, the modification of ‘254 and ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 1, ‘575 as applied to ‘254 further discloses wherein each of the wire cages has a height (fig. 15) and further comprising the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor of the pen (see the rejection of claim 1) with the height of the shells on the floor of the pen being less than the height of the wire cages (fig. 15).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the height of shells be at whatever height is expedient, which includes overfilling to prevent loss of the harvest, since it has been held that that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable supports a case of obviousness when the general conditions of the claim are met by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 II. A.
Re claim 14, the modification of ‘254 and ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 1, the modification discloses the claimed invention except for wherein each of the wire cages is filled with 5 gallons of non-living oysters. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the wire cages hold whatever volume of cultch is expedient for a given harvesting arrangement, since it has been held that such a modification would only involve a mere change in size which is generally recognized as an obvious modification or involve discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable which also supports a case of obviousness when the general conditions of the claim are met by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.
Re claim 15, the modification of ‘254 and ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 1, the modification discloses the claimed invention except for wherein 10 gallons of non-living oysters are positioned over the floor however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the reef block hold whatever volume of cultch is expedient for a given harvesting arrangement to prevent loss of the harvest, since it has been held that such a modification would only involve a mere change in size which is generally recognized as an obvious modification or involve discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable which also supports a case of obviousness when the general conditions of the claim are met by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.
Claim 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘254 in view of Muench, Jr., U.S. Patent No. 5,007,377 A, herein Mue and ‘575.
Re claim 7, ‘254 discloses an apparatus for use in attracting and protecting oyster larvae and for forming oyster reefs, the apparatus adapted to be submerged in water with marine life and ocean tides, the device comprising in combination:
four of wire cages (fig. 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, & 15 and col 5-6; 6-13, 15, & 49-2, the panels; 10/10a each form a cage for containing cultch, formed of wire mesh), each cage having a wire cage length (fig. 3, 6, & 8, the length of the panel), a wire cage height (fig. 3, 6, & 8, the height of the panel), an interior area (fig. 3, 6, & 8, for containing the cultch), and opposing ends (fig. 1-2 & 5, between the vertical supports), the interior area of each wire cage being filled with non-living oyster shells (fig. 8 and col 5-6; 68-2, the cultch material), the wire cages being secured in an end-to-end fashion to form a rectangular pen (col 7; 43-46, wherein the panels form a “columnar” rectangle; an extra panel is required, see fig. 15 by way of example), the pen having a lower end (20a; the bottom support member, fig. 8);
a mesh netting (54; the net; fig. 10 & 15) on the lower end of the pen and forming a floor (fig. 10 & 15, the net is placed to prevent sinking in a body of water with a soft bottom surface);
whereby when the device is submerged oyster larvae attach to the oyster shells filled in the interior area of each wire cage (fig. 3, 6, & 8, the area the contains the cultch), with the oyster larvae attached to the oyster shells filled in the interior area of each wire cage being protected from the marine life and the ocean tides by the wire cages (col 7; 13-28, oyster larvae attach themselves to the cultch material within the panels and are protected from larger marine life and disruptions from the panels breaking a portion of the current).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the shape of a rectangle/four panels within each reef block; 40, since it has been held that the selection of any aesthetics for ornamental purposes is a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.04 I.
‘254 further discloses a generic mesh netting made primarily from a biodegradable material (col 5; line 14 & col 6; 31-32, when the suitable net is if the known material cotton).
‘254 fails to explicitly disclose the mesh netting (54) made of a biodegradable material or cotton. However, ‘254 further discloses the mesh netting being a net known in the art (col 6; 31-32, a suitable net is known in the art).
The only distinction is that the ‘254 fails to disclose the mesh netting (54) explicitly made of a biodegradable material or cotton however, ‘254 discloses cotton a suitable material for nets. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the net by utilizing a simple substitution of the generic net taught by the prior art for cotton in order to obtain the predictable result of an environmentally friendly netting. See MPEP 2143 I. (B).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a cotton net since they are a well-known environmentally friendly option, since it has been held that selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07.
‘254 fails to explicitly disclose mesh netting secured to the series of wire cages. However, ‘254 further discloses securing a plurality of wire cages (10; the panels, fig. 3 & 14) to a support surface (58; the posts, fig. 14).
The only distinction is that the prior art fails to explicitly disclose mesh netting secured to the series of wire cages however, the prior art does disclose securing a plurality of wire cages to a support surface. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known technique of securing the cages to the support surface to improve the similar device disclosed by the prior art in the same way by securing the net to the reef blocks to prevent drifting and prevent loss of the net. See MPEP 2143 I. (C).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to secure the net to the cages/panels, since it has been held that forming a single part of a structure which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together generally only involves routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 V. B.
The modification of ‘254 fails to disclose each cage having a cylindrical shape, closed opposing ends, additional oyster shells positioned over the floor and extending to an additional oyster shell height that is not greater than the wire cage height, whereby when the device is submerged oyster larvae attach to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor, and the oyster larvae attached to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor being protected from the marine life and ocean tides by the wire cage height. However, Mue discloses wire cages having a cylindrical shape (20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, & 80; the substantially cylindrical retaining members, fig. 1-5, 10, & 12) and closed opposing ends (fig. 1 and col 5; 35-10 the first and second end of each cylindrical retaining member is closed).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose each cage having a cylindrical shape, closed opposing ends, additional oyster shells positioned over the floor and extending to an additional oyster shell height that is not greater than the wire cage height, whereby when the device is submerged oyster larvae attach to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor, and the oyster larvae attached to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor being protected from the marine life and ocean tides by the wire cage height however, Mue discloses such wire cages. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known technique of shaping the cages to retain mollusks therein taught by Mue to improve the similar device disclosed by the prior art in the same way by closing the wire cages to prevent5 losses of a given harvest. See MPEP 2143 I. (C).
The modification of ‘254 and Mue fails to disclose additional oyster shells positioned over the floor and extending to an additional oyster shell height that is not greater than the wire cage height; and whereby when the device is submerged oyster larvae attach to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor, and the oyster larvae attached to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor being protected from the marine life and ocean tides by the wire cage height. However, ‘575 discloses additional oyster shells positioned over a floor (32; the base, fig. 3A-4B and col 12; 18-25) of a pen (col 11; 22-34, wherein the cultch is crushed oyster shell and the material is placed within the central cultch containment space, see fig. 1A-2D) and whereby when the device is submerged oyster larvae attach to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor (col 13-14; the larvae will attach to the loose cultch material within the hatchery tank), and the oyster larvae attached to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor being protected from the marine life and ocean tides by the wire cage height (col 10; 43-64, wherein the side walls height protects the contents of unwanted mitigation within the space to maintain optimal growth; 18).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose additional oyster shells positioned over the floor and extending to an additional oyster shell height that is not greater than the wire cage height; and whereby when the device is submerged oyster larvae attach to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor, and the oyster larvae attached to the additional oyster shells positioned over the floor being protected from the marine life and ocean tides by the wire cage height however, ‘575 discloses such a similar method. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art elements of the cultch in the central space of the assembly as taught by ‘575 to the assembly of the prior art to yield the predictable result of a larger yield with the same size assembly. See MPEP 2143 I. (A).
The modification of ‘254, Mue, and ‘575 discloses the claimed invention except for having an explicit additional oyster shell height that is not greater than the wire cage height however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the height of shells be at whatever height is expedient, which includes overfilling to prevent loss of the harvest, since it has been held that that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable supports a case of obviousness when the general conditions of the claim are met by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 II. A.
Re claim 8, the modification of ‘254, Mue, and ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 7, the modification discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the wire cage length of each of the wire cages is 4.5 feet and the wire cage height of each of the wire cages is 6 inches however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention as the long and narrow shape will make the cages easier to store in the off season, since it has been held that that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable supports a case of obviousness when the general conditions of the claim are met by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 II. A.
Re claim 9, the modification of ‘254, Mue, and ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 7, the combination discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the mesh netting has a mesh netting length of 4.5 feet and a mesh netting width of 5.5 feet however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention as in order to fully cover the surface of the interior area and be manageable for a single person, since it has been held that that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable supports a case of obviousness when the general conditions of the claim are met by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 II. A.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘254 in view of ‘575 as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Gagliano et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0055502 A1, herein ‘502.
Re claim 16, the modification of ‘254 and ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 1, ‘254 further discloses wherein a number of separate apparatuses are interconnected via ties (fig. 10 and col 6; 17-19 & 21-22, wherein adjacent reef blocks are attached via ties).
The modification of ‘254 and ‘575 fails to disclose the ties being zip ties. However, ‘504 discloses zip ties as a fastener (para 61).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose the ties being zip ties however, ‘504 discloses zip ties as a viable fastener. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ties by utilizing a simple substitution of the known generic ties taught by the prior art for the zip ties from ‘504 in order to obtain the predictable result of fastening the cages together. See MPEP 2143 I. (B).
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘254 in view of Mue and ‘575 as applied to claim 7 above, in view of ‘502.
Re claim 17, the modification of ‘254, Mue, ‘575 discloses the invention of claim 7, ‘254 further discloses wherein a number of separate apparatuses are interconnected via ties (fig. 10 and col 6; 17-19 & 21-22, wherein adjacent reef blocks are attached via ties).
The modification of ‘254, Mue, ‘575 fails to disclose the ties being zip ties. However, ‘504 discloses zip ties as a fastener (para 61).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose the ties being zip ties however, ‘504 discloses zip ties as a viable fastener. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ties by utilizing a simple substitution of the known generic ties taught by the prior art for the zip ties from ‘504 in order to obtain the predictable result of fastening the cages together. See MPEP 2143 I. (B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Patent No. 4,896,626 which discloses a net and frames for culturing shellfish.
/NICOLE PAIGE MACCRATE/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642