DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, “comprise” should be “comprises”.
In claim 22, please insert “or” between planetary-gear extruder” and “ring extruder”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24, 25, 27-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 24, 25, 27-31 and 33, the phrases "preferably", “very particularly”, “especially”, “for instance” and “more preferably” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
It is noted that since claim 32 ultimately or directly depends from claim 28, it is rejected along with claim 28 because it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 28, including those that are indefinite.
Claims 21 and 30 recites the limitations “organic phosphorus stabilizer” and “hindered phenolic antioxidant". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013136285 in view of Butz (US 2011/0257310).
WO ‘285 exemplifies preparing a composition by melt compounding the following components in a co-rotating twin-screw extruder: 84 wt% polypropylene and 1 wt% FR-1, shown below, and 15 wt% pentaerythritol-di-methylphosphonate, which meets the claimed phosphonate when R1 and R2 are methyl. (pp. 22-23, Example 4, Inv. 1, Table 9).
WO ‘285 teaches that the composition can include additional flame retardants, specifically listed to include melamine cyanurate (pp. 10-11), as well as 0.01-10 wt% of additives which include tetraalkylpiperidine derivatives, specifically listed to include 1-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropoxy)-4-octadecanoyloxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine, which meets applicants’ formula (7) when E1 is a hydroxyl-substituted C4 alkoxy, and the “C15-C17alkyl” group is a C17 alkyl.
Butz teaches that dimethylspirophosphonate and melamine cyanurate provide a flame retardant synergistic mixture in polyolefins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added melamine cyanurate and 1-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropoxy)-4-octadecanoyloxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine to the composition of WO ‘285, as these modification are clearly within the teachings of WO ‘285, and Butz teaches that the combination of dimethylspirophosphonate, which is the same as pentaerythritol-di-methylphosphonate, and melamine cyanurate provide a synergistic flame retardant mixture.
WO ‘285 in view of Butz is prima facie obvious over instant claims 20 and 26-27.
As to claims 22-25, WO ‘285 teaches the twin-screw extruder as contra-rotating and co-rotating, which is provided with at least one gas removal compartment to which a vacuum can be applied (p. 16, ll. 5-10). WO ‘285 teaches the screw length as 1-60 screw diameters and the rotational speed as 10-600 rotations per minute (rpm).
As to claims 28-33, WO ‘285 teaches that the additive components and optional further additives can also be added to the polymer in the form of a masterbatch or concentrate, which contains the components in a concentration of 1-80 wt% or 2-60 wt% incorporated into a polymer. Butz exemplifies the weight ratio of dimethylspirophosphonate to melamine cyanurate as 1:1 (Example 22).
The addition of 15 parts melamine cyanurate and 1-10 parts 1-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropoxy)-4-octadecanoyloxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine to Example 4 is prima facie obvious and suggests a composition comprising about 59 parts polyolefin, 1 part FR-1, 15 parts phosphonate, 15 parts melamine cyanurate, and 10 parts 1-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropoxy)-4-octadecanoyloxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine OR 68 parts polyolefin, 1 part FR-1, 15 parts phosphonate, 15 parts melamine cyanurate, and 1 part 1-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropoxy)-4-octadecanoyloxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine.
A masterbatch/concentrate comprising 60 wt% additive components suggests that comprising 40 wt% polyethylene. While maintaining the weight ratios described above, the masterbatch/concentrate would be required to comprise 40 wt% polyethylene, 22-28 wt% phosphonate, 22-28 wt% melamine cyanurate and 1-2 wt% FR-1 and 2-14 wt% of the claimed N-alkoxy hindered amine, 1-(2-hydroxy-2-methylpropoxy)-4-octadecanoyloxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine.
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766