DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim11 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 11, line 14, change “high current module” to --high current--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blakborn (US 20210320454 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Blakborn discloses a high current connector 20 comprising:
a housing 22, a screw 1 and a screw head cover 4;
wherein the screw 1 extends along a screw axis L and has a screw head 2;
wherein the housing 22 has a first receptacle (see annotated drawing below) which extends along the screw axis L and has a receptacle opening 31;
wherein the screw head 2 and the screw head cover 4 are arranged in the first receptacle;
wherein the screw head cover 4 on a side that faces the receptacle opening 31 covers the screw head 2 and electrically isolates the screw 1 at least in portions;
wherein the screw head cover 4 has a cover portion (see annotated drawing below), which extends outwards in the radial direction, and a support portion (see annotated drawing below) which is arranged radially outside on the cover portion and extends about the screw axis L;
wherein the first receptacle has a receptacle internal wall (see annotated drawing below) that faces the support portion, and the support portion has an outer circumferential side; and
wherein the support portion by way of the outer circumferential side rests against the receptacle internal wall and supports the screw 1 in the radial direction.
In regard to claim 2, Blakborn discloses the screw 1 is movable along the screw axis L between a contact position (fig. 9) and a transport position (fig. 8); wherein, for guiding the screw 1 between the contact position and the transport position in the radial direction relative to the screw axis L, the outer circumferential side of the support portion and the receptacle internal wall rest against one another at least in portions.
In regard to claim 3, Blakborn discloses the support portion extends away from the cover portion in the direction of the receptacle opening 31.
In regard to claim 4, Blakborn discloses the cover portion has a convexity 11 and a disc region (see annotated drawing below) that adjoins the convexity 11 in the radially outwards direction;
wherein the disc region is radially on the inside connected to the convexity 11 and radially on the outside connected to the support portion;
wherein the convexity 11 extends in a direction of the receptacle opening 31; wherein a first radial gap (see annotated drawing below) is arranged between the convexity 11 and the support portion.
In regard to claim 5, Blakborn discloses the support portion is formed to be hollow-cylindrical;
wherein the receptacle internal wall is moulded on a circular path so as to run about the screw axis L.
In regard to claim 6, Blakborn discloses the high current connector has a first high current contact 23 which is arranged so as to be spaced apart from the receptacle opening 31;
wherein the housing 22 has a collar (see annotated drawing below);
wherein the collar is arranged on a side of the housing 22 that faces away from the first high current contact 23;
wherein the receptacle opening 31 adjoins the collar radially on the inside;
wherein the collar has a first detent face (see annotated drawing below) on the side that faces the first high current contact 23;
wherein the support portion on the end side has a second detent face (see annotated drawing below) that faces away from the first high current contact 23.
In regard to claim 7, Blakborn discloses the high current connector has a touch protection housing portion (see annotated drawing below) which is arranged so as to be axially offset from the first receptacle;
wherein the first high current contact 23 is arranged in the touch protection housing portion;
wherein the touch protection housing portion protrudes beyond the first high current contact 23 in the axial direction;
wherein the screw 1 has a screw shank 3 which on a first axial side is connected to the screw head 2;
wherein the screw shank penetrates a second passage opening (see annotated drawing below) of the first high current contact 23 in the axial direction;
wherein a finger protection cap 32 with an electrically non-conductive material is arranged on a second axial side of the screw shank 3 that faces away from the screw head 2.
In regard to claim 8, Blakborn discloses the touch protection housing portion on a side that faces away from the screw head 2 protrudes beyond the finger protection cap when the first detent face rests on the second detent face.
In regard to claim 10, Blakborn discloses the cover portion and the support portion are made in a materially integral manner in a single piece from an electrically non-conductive material (insulating body 4).
In regard to claim 11, Blakborn discloses a module connector system comprising:
a high current connector 20 including a housing 22, a screw 1 and a screw head cover 4, wherein the screw 1 extends along a screw axis L and has a screw head 2, wherein the housing 22 has a first receptacle (see annotated drawing below) which extends along the screw axis L and has a receptacle opening 31, wherein the screw head 2 and the screw head cover 4 are arranged in the first receptacle, wherein the screw head cover 4 on a side that faces the receptacle opening 31 covers the screw head 2 and electrically isolates the screw 1 at least in portions, wherein the screw head cover 4 has a cover portion (see annotated drawing below), which extends outwards in the radial direction, and a support portion (see annotated drawing below) which is arranged radially outside on the cover portion and extends about the screw axis L, wherein the first receptacle has a receptacle internal wall (see annotated drawing below) that faces the support portion, and the support portion has an outer circumferential side, and wherein the support portion by way of the outer circumferential side rests against the receptacle internal wall and supports the screw in the radial direction; and
a further high current connector 21, wherein the further high current module connector 21 includes a second high current contact 24 and a threaded bushing 30, wherein the screw 1 is screwed into the threaded bushing 30 and, for electrical contacting, presses the first high current contact 23 of the high current connector 20 onto the second high current contact 24 of the further high current connector 21.
In regard to claim 12, Blakborn discloses the screw 1 is movable along the screw axis L between a contact position (fig. 9) and a transport position (fig. 8); wherein, for guiding the screw 1 between the contact position and the transport position in the radial direction relative to the screw axis L, the outer circumferential side of the support portion and the receptacle internal wall rest against one another at least in portions.
In regard to claim 13, Blakborn discloses the support portion extends away from the cover portion in the direction of the receptacle opening 31.
In regard to claim 14, Blakborn discloses the cover portion has a convexity 11 and a disc region (see annotated drawing below) that adjoins the convexity 11 in the radially outwards direction;
wherein the disc region is radially on the inside connected to the convexity 11 and radially on the outside connected to the support portion;
wherein the convexity 11 extends in a direction of the receptacle opening 31; wherein a first radial gap (see annotated drawing below) is arranged between the convexity 11 and the support portion.
In regard to claim 15, Blakborn discloses the support portion is formed to be hollow-cylindrical;
wherein the receptacle internal wall is moulded on a circular path so as to run about the screw axis L.
In regard to claim 16, Blakborn discloses the high current connector has a first high current contact 23 which is arranged so as to be spaced apart from the receptacle opening 31;
wherein the housing 22 has a collar (see annotated drawing below);
wherein the collar is arranged on a side of the housing 22 that faces away from the first high current contact 23;
wherein the receptacle opening 31 adjoins the collar radially on the inside;
wherein the collar has a first detent face (see annotated drawing below) on the side that faces the first high current contact 23;
wherein the support portion on the end side has a second detent face (see annotated drawing below) that faces away from the first high current contact 23.
In regard to claim 17, Blakborn discloses the high current connector has a touch protection housing portion (see annotated drawing below) which is arranged so as to be axially offset from the first receptacle;
wherein the first high current contact 23 is arranged in the touch protection housing portion;
wherein the touch protection housing portion protrudes beyond the first high current contact 23 in the axial direction;
wherein the screw 1 has a screw shank 3 which on a first axial side is connected to the screw head 2;
wherein the screw shank penetrates a second passage opening (see annotated drawing below) of the first high current contact 23 in the axial direction;
wherein a finger protection cap 32 with an electrically non-conductive material is arranged on a second axial side of the screw shank 3 that faces away from the screw head 2.
In regard to claim 18, Blakborn discloses the touch protection housing portion on a side that faces away from the screw head 2 protrudes beyond the finger protection cap when the first detent face rests on the second detent face.
In regard to claim 20, Blakborn discloses the cover portion and the support portion are made in a materially integral manner in a single piece from an electrically non-conductive material (insulating body 4).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (1st detent face)][AltContent: textbox (second passage opening)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (touch protection housing portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (collar)][AltContent: textbox (collar)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2nd detent face)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (cover portion)][AltContent: textbox (disc region)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (1st radial gap)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (first receptacle)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (receptacle internal wall)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (support portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
8/13/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834