DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no rejections repeated.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (US 2016/0087250, cited by applicant) in view of Zakikhani et al. (US 5,980,776).
Claim 4 recites an extrusion step which is a method limitation in a product claim and has been given little to no patentable weight since the method by which a product is made is not germane to the patentability of a product in a product claim (MPEP 2113).
Gu discloses a container comprising: a container wall having an interior surface and an exterior surface, the container wall defining an interstitial space, wherein the container is sealable, wherein the container material that forms the container wall comprises a polymeric resin functionalized with phosphonic acid or 1-hydroxyethylidene-1,1,-diphosphonic acid associated with the interior surface of the container (paragraphs [0009], [0017-0018], [0028], [0031-0034]).
Gu does not disclose wherein the polymeric resin functionalized with the phosphonic acid is a vinylidene diphosphonic acid or a copolymer of vinylidene diphosphonic acid, wherein the polymeric resin functionalized with the phosphonic acid is crosslinked.
Zakikhani discloses wherein the polymeric resin functionalized with the phosphonic acid is a vinylidene diphosphonic acid or a copolymer of vinylidene diphosphonic acid, wherein the polymeric resin functionalized with the phosphonic acid is crosslinked (column 2, lines 1-17) in order to provide improved adhesion (column 1, lines 8-15).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein the polymeric resin functionalized with the phosphonic acid is a vinylidene diphosphonic acid or a copolymer of vinylidene diphosphonic acid, wherein the polymeric resin functionalized with the phosphonic acid is crosslinked in Gu in order to provide improved adhesion as taught or suggested by Zakikhani.
Gu also discloses wherein the polymeric resin functionalized with the phosphonic acid is coated onto the interior surface of the container, wherein the polymeric resin functionalized with the phosphonic acid is embedded into the interior surface of the container, herein the container material is a polypropylene, a polyethylene, a polypropylene and polyethylene copolymer or a polyethylene and polypropylene blend, further comprising an outer coating or layer applied to the exterior portion of the container (paragraphs [0009], [0017-0018], [0028], [0031-0034]).
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments of 7/22/26 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection set forth above. With regards to Gu, applicant has argued that the phosphate containing of Gu does not form the container wall itself. However, Gu discloses the copolymer layer (4 from Fig. 2) which forms at least part of the container wall and the copolymer layer containers vinyl phosphonic acid copolymer (paragraphs [0032-0033]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
August 23, 2026