DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5 line 3, “diode,” should be “diode.”
In claim 6 line 8, “each other,” should be “each other.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 11690205 B1, hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Sun et al. (US 20200019002, hereinafter “Sun”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a display device (Fig. 1; Column 2 lines 60-65) comprising:
an substrate (12; column 2 line 64 “a display module 12”), including a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to the first main surface (see vertical inner and outer surfaces on 12 in Fig. 1), and having a display unit (column 4 lines 12-13 “The display module 12 may include a display panel 12a”);
a transparent substrate (13; column 4 lines 12-15 “the transparent lid 13”) including a third main surface and a fourth main surface opposite to the third main surface (see vertical inner and outer surfaces on 13 in Fig. 1);
a plurality of sealing materials (13r2, 14, 11, 11r1, 13r1; column 3 lines 26-28, lines 33-35 and lines 39-41, column 6 lines 14-17) connecting the second main surface and the third main surface to each other in a direction perpendicular to the first main surface (Fig. 1);
a first opening (10 i; column 2 line 6 – column 3 line 7) serving as an inlet of a cooling medium;
a second opening (10 o; column 2 lines 6 – column 3 line 7) serving as an outlet of the cooling medium; and
a flow path (see the arrows in Fig. 1) surrounded by the substrate, the transparent substrate, and the plurality of sealing members,
wherein the cooling medium has translucency (see column 3 lines 4-7 teaching airflow; the examiner considers the specification, Page 8 lines 5-7 regarding air has translucency), and
whether the flow path connects the first opening and the second opening (Fig. 1).
Wang does not explicitly disclose the display device is a transparent display device, a substrate is an array substrate having translucency; the transparent substrate having the translucency.
However, Sun teaches a display device includes a transparent display device comprising: an array substrate having translucency and a transparent substrate having the translucency (Para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device as disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Sun, to have the array substrate having translucency; the transparent substrate having the translucency, for the purpose of using a display panel as an indoor window, or a window of a vehicle (Sun: Para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang as modified by Sun discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Wang further discloses wherein the cooling medium flows in contact with the second main surface of the array substrate (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Wang as modified by Sun discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the display unit of the array substrate is configured by a support substrate and a plurality of light emitting elements formed on the support substrate and arranged along the first main surface of the array substrate.
However, Sun teaches a display unit of the array substrate is configured by a support substrate and a plurality of light emitting elements formed on the support substrate and arranged along a main surface of the array substrate (Paras. [0070]-[0071] teaching a substrate includes an array substrate and see Para. [0079] teaching providing LEDs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the array substrate as disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Sun, wherein the display unit of the array substrate is configured by a support substrate and a plurality of light emitting elements formed on the support substrate and arranged along the first main surface of the array substrate, for the purpose of controlling the display unit to emit light (Sun: Para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified by Sun discloses the limitations of claim 4 above.
Wang does not explicitly disclose each of the plurality of light emitting elements is a light emitting diode or an organic light emitting diode.
However, Sun teaches providing a light emitting diode or an organic light emitting diode (Paras. [0072], [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the array substrate as disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Sun, wherein t each of the plurality of light emitting elements is a light emitting diode or an organic light emitting diode, for the purpose of emitting light (Sun: Para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang as modified by Sun discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Wang further discloses a circulation flow path (see the circulation flow path in heat exchange loops i1 and e1) circulating the cooling medium from the second opening through an outside of the transparent display device to the first opening (Fig. 1); and
a cooling unit (14; column 4 lines 58-59) provided in the circulation flow path.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Sun, and in further view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20030034497, hereafter “Yamazaki”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang as modified by Sun discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Wang further discloses a connection portion (13r2, 14, 11, 11r1 and/or 13r1) connecting the second main surface and the third main surface to each other, wherein the connection portion defines the flow path (see Fig. 1).
Wang does not explicitly disclose the connection portion having translucency.
However, Yamazaki teaches using a translucent sealing member for a display where the interior of the sealing member in the display is filled with a gas (Para. [0260]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection portion as disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Yamazaki, to have the connection portion having translucency, for the purpose of improving reliability of a display (Yamazaki: Paras. [0260]-[0261]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang as modified by Sun and Yamazaki discloses the limitations of claim 3 above.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the array substrate includes a support substrate, a plurality of wirings formed on the support substrate, and a plurality of light emitting elements arranged along the first main surface of the array substrate, and
wherein in a plan view, some of the plurality of wirings and the connection portion extend in the same direction in a region where they overlap with each other.
However, Sun teaches an array substrate includes a support substrate (20; Para. [0070]), and a plurality of light emitting elements arranged along a main surface of the array substrate (Para. [0079] teaching providing LEDs), and Yamazaki further teaches an array substrate includes a plurality of wirings (815, 816 in Fig. 16A; Para. [0306]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the array substrate as disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Sun and Yamazaki, wherein the array substrate includes a support substrate, a plurality of wirings formed on the support substrate, and a plurality of light emitting elements arranged along the first main surface of the array substrate, and wherein in a plan view, some of the plurality of wirings and the connection portion extend in the same direction in a region where they overlap with each other, for the purpose of operating TFTs, while some of the plurality of wirings and the connection portion extending in the same direction would be obvious as a matter of design choice in order to achieve the predictable result of providing the plurality of wirings to operate a display device (Sun: Para. [0071], Yamazaki: [0306]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Cappaert et al. (US 20070081344) disclose a display assembly comprising: an active cooling device arranged to actively transfer heat away from said liquid crystal display panel.
Kim (US 20060245214) disclose a liquid crystal display device having a heat dissipation member.
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871