DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to an application filed 5/30/2024 wherein claims 1-20 are pending and being examined. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 5/30/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (JP2011/195051A) in view of Imaizumi et al. (US 2018/0370432) (hereinafter Imaizumi) in view of Kreiling et al. (US 2021/0043085) (hereinafter Kreiling).
In regard to claim 1, this claim is drawn to a system corresponding to the mining truck of claim 15, wherein claim 1 contains the same limitations as claim 15 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis. See the rejection below.
In regard to claim 2, this claim is drawn to a system corresponding to the mining truck of claim 16, wherein claim 2 contains the same limitations as claim 16 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 3, Ueda in view of Imaizumi in view of Kreiling discloses the reversing assist system of claim 1. Ueda in view of Imaizumi in view of Kreiling further discloses,
wherein the second static indicator includes laterally separated first static portions, each corresponding to the rear end of the dump body or a predetermined reference distance behind the mining truck, and laterally separated second static portions corresponding to a width of the mining truck [Ueda Fig.5 through Fig.8, ¶0037, ¶0047. Kreiling Fig.4, ¶0029, ¶0088-¶0090], wherein the first static indicator is indicative of a location defined at a predefined distance behind the mining truck to indicate positions of rear edges of the at least two rear tires [Imaizumi Fig.17, ¶0087-¶0088, ¶0108].
See claim 15 for motivation to combine.
In regard to claim 5, this claim is drawn to a system corresponding to the mining truck of claim 18, wherein claim 5 contains the same limitations as claim 18 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 6, this claim is drawn to a system corresponding to the mining truck of claim 19, wherein claim 6 contains the same limitations as claim 19 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 7, this claim is drawn to a system corresponding to the mining truck of claim 20, wherein claim 7 contains the same limitations as claim 20 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 8, this claim is drawn to a method corresponding to the mining truck of claim 15, wherein claim 8 contains the same limitations as claim 15 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 9, this claim is drawn to a method corresponding to the mining truck of claim 16, wherein claim 9 contains the same limitations as claim 16 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 10, this claim is drawn to a method corresponding to the system of claim 3, wherein claim 10 contains the same limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 12, this claim is drawn to a method corresponding to the mining truck of claim 18, wherein claim 12 contains the same limitations as claim 18 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 13, this claim is drawn to a method corresponding to the mining truck of claim 19, wherein claim 13 contains the same limitations as claim 19 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 14, this claim is drawn to a method corresponding to the mining truck of claim 20, wherein claim 14 contains the same limitations as claim 20 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis
In regard to claim 15, Ueda discloses a mining truck [¶0015; earth unloading… vehicle] comprising:
at least two rear tires [Fig.1(a); rear tires (104L, 104R)];
a dump body supported on the at least two rear tires [¶0019; dump truck 100 is a transport vehicle having a driver's cab 120 and a vessel (body) 110 on which cargo can be loaded], the dump body defining a rear end [Fig.1; dump body at the rear end of vehicle]; and
a reversing assist system [¶0077; When the shift lever 109 is placed in the R (reverse) range, the image captured by the camera 10 is displayed] including:
an image capturing device to capture a wide angled view of a rearward field of the mining truck [¶0019; mounting position of a rear view camera 10 (hereinafter referred to as the camera) on the vehicle body] including portions of the at least two rear tires of the mining truck and portions of the rear end [Fig.1(a); field of view of camera including rear/tires of the vehicle]; and
a controller operatively coupled to the image capturing device [¶0044; CPU 23 generates a display signal based on the setting contents and the image of the camera 10], the controller configured to:
obtain a video feed of the wide angled view of the rearward field captured by the image capturing device [¶0025; video signal showing an image of the field of view behind the vehicle body captured by the camera 10];
overlay a first static indicator and a second static indicator on the video feed [Fig.5 through Fig.8; multiple indicator lines overlaid on the displayed image]… the second static indicator represents portions of an outer periphery of the mining truck [¶0056-¶0060; right vehicle width guide lines 11L and 11R are displayed overlapping the left and right rear wheel tires 104L and 104R… set positions of points 3 and 4 are adjusted so that they are located at the rear end boundaries of the right rear tire 104R and the left rear tire 104L. Fig.5 through Fig.8].
Ueda does not explicitly disclose wherein the first static indicator spans, at least partially, an inner distance between the at least two rear tires of the mining truck. However Imaizumi discloses,
overlay a first static indicator and a second static indicator on the video feed, wherein the first static indicator spans, at least partially, an inner distance between the at least two rear tires of the mining truck [¶0095; second projection position PL2 is a position obtained by projecting the second sites SL2 of the front tires 6F on the plane FL. Fig.14, Fig.17; indicator spanning distance between tires. ¶0114] and the second static indicator represents portions of an outer periphery of the mining truck [¶0089; first projection position PL1 is defined based on a position of the first site SL1 when the working implement 10 is maintained at a predetermined attitude. Fig.15, Fig.17].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mining truck disclosed by Ueda with the indicator between the tires as disclosed by Imaizumi in order to let an operator of a work vehicle accurately recognize relative positions of various components of the work machine [Imaizumi Abstract, ¶0004-¶0008, ¶0114-¶0120].
Neither Ueda or Imaizumi explicitly disclose overlay a dynamic indicator on the video feed that dynamically changes to predict a rearward path of the mining truck on the video feed based on an angular movement of the mining truck in a rearward direction. However Kreiling discloses,
overlay a dynamic indicator on the video feed that dynamically changes to predict a rearward path of the mining truck on the video feed based on an angular movement of the mining truck in a rearward direction [Fig.3. Fig.4; dynamic overlay indicating the path of the work vehicle. ¶0029; guidelines displayed should change as the angle of the rotation, pivot or articulation of the work vehicle is changed. ¶0039; rear-looking display (herein, “a rear implement guidance display”) presenting implement guidance symbology corresponding to a work implement mounted to a rear end of the work vehicle. ¶0060-¶0061; graphic 106 representative of the projected trajectory or path of the tractor chassis 24 (herein, the “projected vehicle path graphic 106”) can further be generated on the HUD 96 in addition to the projected implement path graphic 110 and/or the leading spear tip marker 112. ¶0012-¶0013].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mining truck disclosed by Ueda in view of Imaizumi with the dynamic indicator disclosed by Kreiling in order to allow an operator to visualize the projected path of a work implement in real-time [Kreiling Abstract, ¶0009-¶0013, ¶0032-¶0034]. As disclosed by Kreiling, dynamically updating path indicators allows an operator to readily understand the predicted path of the work machine.
Ueda discloses a rear view display system for a work vehicle, such as a dump truck provided with a vessel and implement for removing earth/soil. A camera is mounted on the rear of the vehicle and captures images of the rearward environment. The captured images are processed, overlaid with graphics, and displayed on a display screen to an operator of the vehicle. As shown in Fig.5 through Fig.8, the graphics including indicators of the rear tires and various distance lines.
Imaizumi discloses a display system for a vehicle, wherein various graphics are overlaid on camera images and displayed to an operator. As shown in Fig.14 and Fig.17, the displayed indicators may be static lines spanning two tires of the vehicle. Although Imaizumi discloses showing the tires of the front portion of the vehicle and the front camera image, a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily appreciate the concept disclosed by Imaizumi may be readily applied to rear camera views and rear tires of work machines, especially given the combination with Ueda (and Kreiling) which explicitly discloses rearward display systems.
Kreiling discloses a work machine including various image capture devices, wherein images from cameras are processed to have various graphics overlaid thereon and subsequently displayed to a user. As shown in Fig.3 and Fig.4, a graphical indicator indicating the path of the work machine is dynamically adapted based on the steering parameters of the vehicle. In addition to the path of the vehicle, ¶0089-¶0091 describe how various static dimensions can be displayed in addition to dynamic vehicle dimensions allowing multiple components of the vehicle to be readily understood.
In regard to claim 16, Ueda in view of Imaizumi in view of Kreiling discloses the mining truck of claim 15. Ueda in view of Imaizumi in view of Kreiling further discloses, wherein the reversing assist system further includes:
a display screen configured to display the first static indicator, the second static indicator, and the dynamic indicator on the video feed [Ueda ¶0060. Imaizumi ¶0080, Kreiling ¶0033], wherein the first static indicator and the second static indicator are static with respect to the display screen [Ueda Fig.5 through Fig.8. Imaizumi Fig.17, Kreiling ¶0088-¶0089], and the dynamic indicator is dynamic with respect to the display screen [Kreiling Fig.4, Fig.5, ¶0029, ¶0089] .
See claim 15 for motivation to combine.
In regard to claim 18, Ueda in view of Imaizumi in view of Kreiling discloses the mining truck of claim 15. Ueda in view of Imaizumi in view of Kreiling further discloses,
wherein the controller is configured to change a position of the dynamic indicator on the video feed based on one or more of: a change in an angular positioning of a steering input device of the mining truck, positioning of front tires, or positioning of a component operably applied between the steering input device and the front tires [Kreiling ¶0068, ¶0080-¶0081].
See claim 15 for motivation to combine.
In regard to claim 19, Ueda in view of Imaizumi in view of Kreiling discloses the mining truck of claim 15. Ueda further discloses,
wherein the image capturing device is positioned under the dump body of the mining truck [Fig.1(a), Fig.1(b)].
In regard to claim 20, Ueda in view of Imaizumi in view of Kreiling discloses the mining truck of claim 15. Ueda further discloses,
wherein the image capturing device is mounted between the at least two rear tires of the mining truck [Fig.1(a), Fig.1(b)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/REBECCA A VOLENTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483 January 23, 2026