DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 27, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It appears that applicant’s main argument sounds whether one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize Chiang’s disclosure of a mode-dependent transform type. The examiner argues that one of ordinary of ordinary skill would recognize Chiang’s disclosure. First, Chiang’s disclosure is in the same field of endeavor as the current invention which is video coding. Further, the mode-dependent transform process disclosed in Chiang takes into consideration the same considerations as the claimed invention with regards to optimizing the video decoder based the residuals generated in the encoded bitstream. The examiner argues that a final rejection is appropriate at this stage because applicant fails to overcome Chiang’s disclosure.
Nonfunctional Descriptive Material
For reference, claim(s) 8 recites “A computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by the image encoding/decoding method [steps of encoding method].
This claim is directed to mere data storage that results from an upstream/downstream process (encoding/decoding method) that has no definitive relationship with and is wholly separate from the storage medium (non-transitory computer-readable medium) being claimed.
Significantly, the claimed storage medium is NOT implementing the encoding method in claim(s) 8; no instructions/steps are being executed by a processor to perform the encoding/decoding method. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data stream output from the encoding method. In other words, claim(s) 8 is directed to a mere computer-readable medium storing data content (a data stream generated by an encoding method).
To be clear, Applicant has not used the standard CRM (computer readable media) claim formats of a) “a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that, when implemented by a processor, perform an encoding method [steps of encoding method]” or a b) non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause it to perform a specified method that was held to recite patent-eligible product under 35 USC 101 by In re Beauregard, 53 F.3d 1583 (Fed. Cir. 1995) and endorsed by the USPTO in 77 Fed. Reg. 74618 (Dec. 16, 2014), 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, Examples: Abstract Ideas at 1-3, 8-10.
Such standard CRM claim formats that recite execution/implementation of a method are also not subject to a nonfunctional descriptive material claim interpretation because such a claimed media does not merely store output data but instead stores functional, method steps that have a functional relationship with the media.
Applicant has deviated substantially from such standard-format CRM claims by positively reciting only the storing of a data stream while the generation thereof by an “encoding method” is ancillary, occurs before the claimed storing by the medium, and does not require anything functional to occur in or to the medium besides mere storing.
Under MPEP 2111.05(III), claim 8’s storage medium storing a data stream is merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner finds that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between a) the stored data (data stream) and medium or b) the stored data (data stream) and the encoding method. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
As such, claim(s) 8 is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application such as, for example, a compact disc storing Abbey Road by the Beatles. For the sake of compact prosecution, however, claim 8 has been rejected based on prior art that actually discloses the method of generating the stored data (data stream).
Further in regards to In re Lowry, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994) note that the presently claimed invention differs significantly from Lowry’s claims. Lowry’s claim 1 recites “A memory for storing data for access by an application program being executed on a data processing system, comprising [data structures including ADO (attribute data objects)].
In Lowry, the Federal Circuit stated:
Nor are the data structures analogous to printed matter. Lowry's ADOs do not represent merely underlying data in a database. ADOs contain both information used by application programs and information regarding their physical interrelationships within a memory. Lowry's claims dictate how application programs manage information. Thus, Lowry's claims define functional characteristics of the memory.
Lowry’s ADOs (Attribute Data Objects) contain information regarding their physical interrelationships with the carrier (a memory) and Lowry’s claims dictate how the application programs manage information. According to Lowry “ADOs have both hierarchical and non-hierarchical interrelationships” with rules that govern these relationships which are recited in the claims and which form functional relationships with the medium.
But unlike Lowry, the claimed invention has no functional relationship between the product (computer readable medium) and the printed matter (the stored data stream) and no functional relationship could exist possibly between the product and a processor because no processor is recited in the claim. Instead, a data stream is merely stored; the data stream itself is not defined within the claim and the computer readable medium solely acts as a carrier or substrate for storing the data stream.
As further evidence that the medium is a mere carrier of information note that that the data stream being stored is an end product or output of the encoding/decoding method such that the only functional role played by the medium solely consists of storing information.
In further contrast to Lowry, instant claim(s) 8 merely stores a raw data stream having no claimed organization or relationship to the carrier (readable medium). In other words, claim 8 merely recites storage of the information content (bitstream).
In Lowry, the Federal Circuit goes on to point out that:
Indeed, Lowry does not seek to patent the Attributive data model in the abstract. Nor does he seek to patent the content of information resident in a database. Rather, Lowry's data structures impose a physical organization on the data.
In sharp contrast to Lowry, Applicant seeks to patent the storage of a data stream in the abstract. In other words, the claims seek to patent the content of the information (data stream with encoded video content). Moreover, this stored data stream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the data stream and the storage medium.
Furthermore, instant claim 8 is analogous to the memory stick storing tables of batting averages in which the computer readable medium is merely a support for the information (data stream) consistent with the example in MPEP 2111.05(III) which states.
However, where the claim as a whole is directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, and/or the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. For example, a claim to a memory stick containing tables of batting averages, or tracks of recorded music, utilizes the intended computer system merely as a support for the information. Such claims are directed toward conveying meaning to the human reader rather than towards establishing a functional relationship between recorded data and the computer” MPEP 2111.05(III) Machine-readable media
In conclusion, claim 8 is directed to mere data content (data stream generated by the recited encoding method) stored as a data stream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner found and continues to find that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiang et al (US 2019/0320203, hereafter Chiang).
As per claim 1, Chiang discloses a method for decoding video data from an encoded bitstream, the method comprising:
obtaining reconstructed block data for a current block from a current frame by decoding encoded block data from the encoded bitstream, wherein decoding the encoded block data includes: accessing, from the encoded bitstream, a prediction mode value for the current block;
accessing, from the encoded bitstream in accordance with the prediction mode value, a syntax element indicating whether a transform type for the current block is a mode-dependent transform type associated with a prediction mode corresponding to the prediction mode value (¶ 84; a mode-dependent transform candidate selection process is used to account for different residual statistics of different intra prediction modes. );
accessing, from the encoded bitstream in accordance with the syntax element, a transform type identifier for the current block (¶ 84; The video coder then uses a transform index to select one transform mode from the set of candidate transforms. The transform index may be explicitly coded in a bitstream as a syntax element.); and
generating the reconstructed block data using a transform corresponding to the transform type identifier; including the reconstructed block data in the encoded bitstream; and outputting the encoded bitstream (¶ 131; The reconstructed residual signal 1119 is added with predicted pixel data 1113 from the intra-prediction module 1125 or the motion compensation module 1130 to produce decoded pixel data 1117.).
As per claim 2, Chiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
in response to determining that the prediction mode value indicates an intra-prediction mode, accessing the syntax element includes accessing an intra-prediction specific syntax element (¶ 83 and 84; ¶ 83: FIG. 5 illustrates the 67 intra prediction modes for coding a block of pixels. According to the figure, intra prediction mode 0 corresponds to planar mode, intra prediction mode 1 corresponds to DC mode, and intra prediction modes 2-66 correspond to angular intra prediction modes, or directional modes); and
in response to determining that the prediction mode value indicates an inter-prediction mode, accessing the syntax element includes accessing an inter-prediction specific syntax element (¶ 91 and 93).
As per claim 3, Chiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: decoding the encoded block data includes: determining that the prediction mode value indicates an intra-prediction mode; determining that the syntax element indicates that the transform type for the current block is a mode-dependent transform type; and accessing the transform type identifier includes accessing, as the transform type identifier, an intra-prediction mode specific mode-dependent transform type identifier (¶ 84; a mode-dependent transform candidate selection process is used to account for different residual statistics of different intra prediction modes. Table 2 lists 67 intra prediction modes and their assigned sets of candidate transforms, including vertical and horizontal transform sets. The video coder then uses a transform index to select one transform mode from the set of candidate transforms. The transform index may be explicitly coded in a bitstream as a syntax element.).
As per claim 4, Chiang discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the intra-prediction mode specific mode-dependent transform type identifier is a two-dimensional intra-prediction mode specific mode-dependent transform type identifier indicating one of:
vertical transformation using a mode-dependent transform and horizontal transformation using the mode-dependent transform (¶ 84; Table 2 lists 67 intra prediction modes and their assigned sets of candidate transforms, including vertical and horizontal transform sets.); vertical transformation using the mode-dependent transform and horizontal transformation using a discrete cosine transform; or vertical transformation using the discrete cosine transform and horizontal transformation using the mode-dependent transform.
As per claim 5, Chiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: decoding the encoded block data includes: determining that the syntax element indicates that the transform type for the current block is other than a mode-dependent transform type; and accessing the transform type identifier includes accessing, as the transform type identifier, a mode-agnostic transform type identifier (¶ 84; Table 1 lists three pre-defined sets of candidate transforms, each set of candidate transforms may serve as a vertical transform set or a horizontal transform set.).
As per claim 6, Chiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: decoding the encoded block data includes: determining that the prediction mode value indicates an inter-prediction mode; determining that the syntax element indicates that the transform type for the current block is a mode-dependent transform type; and accessing the transform type identifier includes accessing, as the transform type identifier, an inter-prediction mode specific mode-dependent transform type identifier (¶ 91 and 93; ¶ 91: To decide the Merge index for the Skip and Merge modes and ¶ 93: When a CU is coded by using Merge mode, LIC flag (whether to enable LIC or not) and GBi index (to control the weight for GBi) can be inherited (copied) from neighboring blocks and OBMC is applied by default.).
As per claim 7, Chiang discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the inter-prediction mode specific mode-dependent transform type identifier is a two-dimensional inter-prediction mode specific mode-dependent transform type identifier indicating one of: vertical transformation using a mode-dependent transform and horizontal transformation using the mode-dependent transform (¶ 34, 36, 64, and; ¶ 99: In some embodiments, for a block coded by an Inter mode such as AMVP mode or Merge mode); vertical transformation using the mode-dependent transform and horizontal transformation using a discrete cosine transform; vertical transformation using the discrete cosine transform and horizontal transformation using the mode-dependent transform; vertical transformation using a flipped mode-dependent transform and horizontal transformation using the flipped mode-dependent transform; vertical transformation using the flipped mode-dependent transform and horizontal transformation using the discrete cosine transform; vertical transformation using the discrete cosine transform and horizontal transformation using the flipped mode-dependent transform; vertical transformation using the flipped mode-dependent transform and horizontal transformation using the mode-dependent transform; or vertical transformation using the mode-dependent transform and horizontal transformation using the flipped mode-dependent transform.
Regarding claim 8, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 7 are applicable for claim 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487