DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant’s filing on 05/30/2024.
Claims 1-21 are pending and examined below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The table as stated in claim 6;
The drive as stated in claim 7;
The control as stated in claim 8;
The orientation station as stated in claim 13;
The plunger as stated in claim 15;
The feed device as stated in claim 17;
The packaging machine as stated in claim 18; and
The control unit as stated in claim 19.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-8 and 16-21 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 3-4, the phrase “the jettison belt or belts” should be written as “the one or more jettison belts” in order to keep consistency of character names.
Regarding claims 5-8, 16-17, and 21, the phrase “the jettison belt” should be written as “the one or more jettison belts” in order to keep consistency of character names.
Regarding claim 18-20, the phrase “the jettison belts” should be written as “the one or more jettison belts” in order to keep consistency of character names.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8, 10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “or the table” renders claim 6 vague and indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Claim 6 is dependent of claim 1, and claim 1 does not disclose a table. For examining purposes, the phrase is interpreted as “or a table”.
Claim 8 is dependent of claim 6 and include all the same limitations.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “respect to its horizontal position and movable with respect to its vertical position” renders claim 10 vague and indefinite because it is unclear what features is being refereed to. Claim 10 is dependent of claim 9 which is dependent of claim 1. Claims 1 and 9 disclose several features. It is unclear which features the term “its” is referring to. For examining purposes, the phrase is interpreted as “respect to the abutment horizontal position and movable with respect to the abutment vertical position”.
Regarding claim 21, when disclosing a method, said method must comprise steps that enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is mostly nearly connected, to conduct the method. “Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness”. [MPEP 2173.055 (q)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by reference Sleegers (11,059,677).
Regarding claim 1, Sleegers disclose a device comprising one or more jettison belts (4). (Figure 1A and Column 6 lines 57-61)
Regarding claim 2, Sleegers disclose the one or more jettison belts (4) are arranged either at least substantially parallel to or in a section at least substantially parallel to the transport direction of a packaging troughs (103). (Figure 1A and Column 8 lines 57-60)
Regarding claim 3, Sleegers disclose the one or more jettison belts (4) are arranged above the packaging troughs (103). (Figure 1A and Column 8 lines 57-60)
Regarding claim 4, Sleegers disclose the one or more jettison belts (4) are of multi-part configuration (4a, 4b) and lie one behind the other. (Figure 1A and Column 7 lines 35-43)
Regarding claim 5, Sleegers disclose the one or more jettison belts (4) extends at least substantially parallel to the packaging troughs (103), wherein the one or more jettison belts (4) are configured to be retractable. (Figure 2A and Column 8 lines 24-30)
Regarding claim 6, Sleegers disclose the one or more jettison belts (4) or a table thereof has such a configuration that, when retraction takes place, the horizontal position of the goods (P) above the packaging trough (103) remains substantially unchanged. (Figures 1A, 2A and Column 8 lines 60-66)
Regarding claim 7, Sleegers disclose a drive (3, 15) for control of the one or more jettison belts (4) which is realized directly or indirectly. (Column 6 lines 57-61, Column 7 lines 3-8)
Regarding claim 8, Sleegers disclose the one or more jettison belts (4) either comprises a control (30) of the drive (3, 15), which ensures standstill of the goods (P), or a drive belt runs over equal-size belt pulleys for drive and transport belt and thus standstill is ensured. (Column 7 lines 17-20)
Regarding claim 16, Sleegers disclose the one or more jettison belts (4) is configured to be bent or angled with several sections. (Figure 1A and Column 7 lines 35-46)
Regarding claim 17, Sleegers disclose a feed device (4a) for goods (P) is provided on the respective one or more jettison belts (4). (Figure 1A and Column 8 lines 47-50)
Regarding claim 18, Sleegers disclose a packaging machine (102) for provision of packaging trough (103) and further processing thereof is provided below the one or more jettison belts (4). (Figure 1A and Column 8 lines 57-60)
Regarding claim 19, Sleegers disclose a control unit (30) for control of the one or more jettison belts (4). (Column 7 lines 17-20)
Regarding claim 20, Sleegers disclose the one or more jettison belts (4) are configured to be driven in cyclic manner, synchronously or asynchronously with respect to the packaging troughs (103), and/or the packaging troughs (103) are configured to be transported cyclically or continuously. (Column 8 lines 57-66)
Regarding claim 21, Sleegers disclose a method of operating the device according to claim 1, wherein goods (P) or goods stacks are vertically deposited by the one or more jettison belts (4) in a packaging trough (103). (Column 8 lines 47-66)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Sleegers (11,059,677) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of reference Pruett (6,131,372).
Regarding claim 9, Sleegers disclose the claimed invention as stated above but do not disclose at least one abutment.
Pruett disclose a device (5) comprising: a conveyor belt (12) configured to transport a product (A); and an abutment member (54) configured to abut against the product (A) on the conveyor belt (12). (Figure 8A-8D and Column 9 lines 16-31)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the device of Sleegers by incorporating the abutment member as taught by Pruett, since column 10 lines 18-24 of Pruett states such a modification would ensure the relative position of the products while preventing damaging the product.
Regarding claim 10, Sleegers modified by Pruett disclose the abutment (Pruett – 54) is configure to be adjustable and/or movable with respect the abutment horizontal position and movable with respect to the abutment vertical position. (Pruett – Figure 8A-8D and Column 9 lines 52-63)
Regarding claim 11, Sleegers modified by Pruett disclose the abutment (Pruett – 54) has the configuration of a rake (Pruett – 56). (Pruett – Column 9 lines 16-20)
Regarding claim 12, Sleegers modified by Pruett disclose the abutment (Pruett – 54) is arranged in front of or behind the goods (Sleegers – P). (Pruett – Figures 8A-8D)
Regarding claim 14, Sleegers disclose the claimed invention as stated above but do not disclose a lateral guide.
Pruett disclose a device (5) comprising: a conveyor belt (12) configured to transport a product (A); and a lateral guide (76) configured to provide guidance of the product (A). (Figure 5 and Column 11 lines 19-23)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the device of Sleegers by incorporating the lateral guide as taught by Pruett, since column 11 lines 23-28 of Pruett states such a modification would help ensure parallel lanes of products at they move.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Sleegers (11,059,677) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of reference Nielsen (6,536,599).
Regarding claim 13, Sleegers disclose the claimed invention as stated above but do not disclose an orientation station.
Nielsen disclose conveyor system (2, 8) comprising an orientation station (5) for orientation of a product (14). (Figure 10 and Column 6 liens 21-33)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the device of Sleeggers by incorporating the orientation station as taught by Nielsen, since column 2 lines 23-30 of Nielsen states such a modification would ensure the desired orientation of the products on the conveyor system.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Sleegers (11,059,677) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of reference Mahaffy et al. (4,709,535).
Regarding claim 15, Sleegers disclose the claimed invention as stated above but do not disclose a plunger.
Mahaffy et al. disclose a conveyor system comprising a plunger (60) capable of pressing a product (15) into a packaging trough (22). (Figure 8 and Column 6 lines 17-20)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the devise of Sleegers by incorporating the plunger as taught by Mahaffy et al., since column 8 lines 65-68 of Mahaffy et al. states such a modification would prevent disarray of the stack while dropping into the trough.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B FRY/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 May 1, 2025
/THANH K TRUONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731