Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnhart (US 2019/0224748 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Barnhart teaches an additive manufacturing apparatus (200), comprising: a build unit (208) comprising
a powder delivery mechanism (214),
a powder recoating mechanism (216), and
an irradiation beam directing mechanism [0042];
a build platform having a surface to receive a powder bed (208, 204, [0043]) the build platform having an inner diameter (224) and an outer diameter (222);
and a fluid flow mechanism (380), comprising:
an inlet body (382) forming an inlet plenum (384), and
a collector body extended from the inlet body, wherein the collector body comprises:
a collector plenum in fluid communication with the inlet plenum (see figure 5 below);
an outlet plenum in fluid communication with the collector plenum (see figure 5);
(an another exemplary embodiment discloses a plurality of inner distribution fairings (398 and 338) in paragraph [0061]) extended from the inlet body, wherein the collector body forms a collector plenum (distribution plenum 384 [0061]) in fluid communication with the outlet plenum (384), therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the exemplary embodiments since KSR states "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007))
and wherein an outlet opening is in fluid communication with the outlet plenum (354) [0042] (see figure 5).
Annotated Figure 5
Barnhart teaches collector body comprises a second plenum wall ( see figure 7), wherein the first plenum wall and the second plenum wall together form a toroidal profile (see figures 3 and 5 that show the donut like shape). As for the claim language to direct a flow of fluid within an outlet plenum from the inner diameter of the build platform toward the outer diameter of the build platform, Examiner has considered it but the language is directed to intended used. The language does not add further structure to the claim and further limit it.
Regarding claim 2, Barnhart teaches the outlet opening is a slot (perforations) extended along the collector body [0054].
Regarding claim 3, Barnhart teaches the collector body (398) forms a collector passage (362) extended between the collector plenum (384) and an outlet plenum (62) .
Regarding claim 5, annotated figure 5 depicts the collector passage (362) is a plurality of discrete collector passages (362) in adjacent (figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Barnhart depicts the collector passage is a slot (perforation 362) (see slots (outlets) in figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, annotated figure 7 depicts the collector body comprises a first plenum wall diverging from a collector passage outlet to the outlet opening.
Annotated Figure 7
Regarding claim 8, Barnhart does not explicitly disclose wherein the first plenum wall provides an increasing cross-sectional are of the outlet plenum, wherein the increasing cross-sectional area is from the collector passage outlet to the outlet opening. However, MPEP 2144.04 states In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) Mere scaling up or down of a prior art process capable of being scaled up or down would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled and It has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47; Eskimo Pie Corp. v, Levous et aI., 3 USPQ 23. In this case, increasing the cross section area would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that a mere change in shape/size of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change ins shape/size is not significant to the function of the combination.
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the material worked upon (e.g., inert gas), as per MPEP §2115.
Regarding claim 10, annotated figure 7 depicts the fluid flow mechanism comprising: an outlet body (354 in figure 7) forming an outlet cavity configured to receive the flow of fluid from the outlet opening of the collector body.
Regarding claim 12, Barnhart teaches the collector body (398) forms a collector passage (362) extended between the collector plenum (384) and an outlet plenum (62), wherein the collector passage forms a converging cross-sectional area (362) from the collector plenum toward the outlet plenum.
Regarding claim 13, Barnhart teaches the collector passage forms a collector passage outlet distal to the inner diameter of the build platform (since the collector passages can be anywhere on the build plate, some instances of the collector passage would be found in the outer diameter which is distal to the inner diameter [0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the collector passage forms a collector passage outlet distal to the inner diameter of the build platform since (1) Barnhart suggests it [0054] and (2) KSR states "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 14, Barnhart teaches a build unit (208) comprising:
a powder delivery mechanism (214);
and an irradiation beam directing mechanism [0042];
a build platform [0043], wherein a powder bed is between the build platform and the build unit and wherein the powder bed includes a bottom surface proximate the build platform and a top surface opposite the bottom surface where the top surface defines an upper extent of the powder bed (in figure 1, the powder bed is depicted between the build platform and the build unit where 240 is the bottom of the powder bed and 220 is the top surface of the powder bed);
and a fluid flow mechanism (380), comprising a collector body between the build unit and the powder bed, the collector body comprising an outlet opening above the top surface of the powder bed, the outlet opening and extending co-directional to the top surface (figure 7 depicts the opening above the powder bed), the outlet opening configured to direct a fluid in an inward direction with respect to the build platform (see annotated figures 5 and 7 above, and turntable 304). As for the limitation, configured to direct a fluid in an inward direction with respect to the build platform being directing the fluid in an outward direction with respect to the build platform to create a fluid momentum above the powder bed to push undesired particulate matter away in the outward direction. However, this is intended use and does not further limit the claim. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (MPEP 2144 II). Furthermore, the outward is depicted in figure 5 through 352 and the fact that Barnhart teaches the gas flow in multiple paths [0062]. Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to direct a fluid in an inward direction with respect to the build platform being directing the fluid in an outward direction with respect to the build platform to create a fluid momentum above the powder bed to push undesired particulate matter away in the outward direction since ) KSR states "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, Barnhart teaches the outlet opening is a slot (perforations) extended along the collector body [0054].
Regarding claim 17, annotated figure 5 depicts the collector passage (362) is a plurality of discrete collector passages (362) in adjacent arrangement along an arc corresponding to the build platform (build platform is an arc as depicted in figure 4).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnhart (US 2019/0224748 A1) in view of Neill (US 2022/0219402 A1).
Barnhart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly discloses the collector passage is extended along a z-axis, and wherein the outlet plenum is positioned between the build platform and the collector plenum along the z-axis. However, it is conventionally known for build plates to be positioned along the z-axis. Analogous rotatable build plate additive manufacturing art, Neill, discloses a rotatable build plate that can move along the Z-axis [0248]. Both Barnhart and Neil are directed towards additive manufacturing and are analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the collector passage is extended along a z-axis, and wherein the outlet plenum is positioned between the build platform and the collector plenum along the z-axis since (1) it is conventionally known and (2) increase the degree of freedom of the build platform [0248].
Claim(s) 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnhart (US 2019/0224748 A1), as applied to claim 10/14, in view of Morris et al (US 2021/0069967 A1).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Barnhart teaches the apparatus comprising: a positive displacement pump (circulation pump [0058]) configured to provide a positive pressure flow of fluid to the inlet plenum but does not explicitly teach a vacuum pump configured to scavenge the flow of fluid from the outlet cavity. Analogous additive manufacturing art, Morris et al, discloses “the vacuum pump 152 includes a nozzle 162 configured to extend into the build chamber 114. The vacuum pump 152 may be used to remove excess powder after the applicator 142 has leveled powder and before fusing takes place” [0057]. Both Barnhart and Morris et al are directed towards additive manufacturing and are analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to have modified the additive manufacturing apparatus taught by Barnhart to include a vacuum pump, as taught by Morris et al, in order to remove any excess powder.
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754