DETAILED ACTION
In light of the amendments to the claims filed 08/03/2026 in which claims 1, 4, 6-9, and 12-13 were amended, claims 2 and 14-17 were cancelled, and claim 18 was added, claims 1, 3-13, and 18 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to CA/3232852 filed 03/25/2024.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Canada on 03/25/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1, 3-13, and 18 receive priority to the prior-filed application, filed on 03/25/2024.
Response to Arguments
Objections to the Specification
The objections to the specification have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the specification filed 08/03/2026.
Objections to the Claims
The previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 08/03/2026.
Rejections of the Claims under 35 U.S.C. 101
The previous rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 08/03/2026.
Rejections of the Claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
The previous rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 08/03/2026.
Rejections of the Claims under 35 U.S.C. 102/103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant has argued against the prior art to Evenson and Paniagua. Neither of Evenson or Paniagua have been used for matter challenged in the arguments. Evenson has been used in the rejection of claim 4, but the applicant did not challenge the use of Evenson in claim 4.
The amendments to the claims have necessitated new grounds of rejection in view of Brownlee.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 18 recite the limitation “urethra and anal areas of a baby body” in ln. 27-28 and 29, respectively. This should read “urethral and anal areas of a baby body”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 18 recites the limitation “absorbent material for being in contact with the body of the baby” in ln. 22. This limitation reads as though the body of the baby is a required structure at this point in the claim. While this limitation is also in claim 4, it is not rejected because claim 1 states that contact with a body of a baby is something that the insert is configured to do when fitted in the diaper in the closed position. The “configured to” language comes in later than the limitation at issue in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 18 recite the limitation "each of the pair of sheets" in ln. 14 and 13, respectively. This limitation is indefinite in view of the limitation that states “a pair of sheets at each of the opposite lateral sides” in ln. 6 and 5-6, respectively. This earlier limitation reads as though there is a sheet on either side of the pocket, but the later limitation reads as though there are two sheets on either side of the pocket. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner is treating this limitation as though it reads “each one of the pair of sheets”.
Claims 3-13 are rejected for depending upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Ex. Fig. 1 of Brownlee Fig. 1
Claims 1 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO/9403137 A1 to Brownlee in view of JP-H04322646 A to Samejima.
Regarding claim 1, Brownlee discloses a diaper (Fig. 1, diaper 10; Fig. 7-13, methods of making channel/pocket 8) comprising:
a main body defining outer and inner sides thereof, opposite lateral sides thereof (Ex. Fig. 1, main body 12),
a front end portion and a rear end portion thereof and a middle portion interposed between the front end and rear end portions (Ex. Fig. 1),
the middle portion comprising an inner base defining a length and a width thereof (pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108; pg. 9:5-9; Ex. Fig. 1, pocket 8 in middle portion comprising inner base 16; Fig. 7-13, methods of making pocket 8/108 comprising inner base at bottom of pocket 108; Fig. 11, method of making pocket 8/108 comprising inner base 143) and a pocket structure comprising
a pair of sheets at each of the opposite lateral sides extending from a rear part to a front part of the middle portion and defining respective and adjacent spaced apart side free longitudinal edges thereof (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108; Ex. Fig. 1, pocket 8 in middle portion comprising walls 17/18 at opposite lateral sides extending from a rear part to front part of middle portion and defining raised side free longitudinal edges 20 that are hemmed with live rubber strips under tension; Fig. 7, pocket 108 comprising walls 117/118 at opposite lateral sides defining raised side free longitudinal edges 130 that are hemmed with live rubber strips under tension; Fig. 11, method of making pocket 8/108 comprising pair of sheets 144/145 to make walls 117/118 as shown in Fig. 8), and
a skirt extending forwardly from a rear end of the middle portion and overlying a portion of the spaced apart sheets and defining a rear free longitudinal edge (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108; Ex. Fig. 1, skirt defined by stitched portion of panel 22 in middle portion and overlying walls 17/18 and defining rear free longitudinal edge 24; Fig. 7, method of making pocket 8/108 comprising stitching 136 to connect panel 22/132 to walls 117/118), the skirt defining
a rear end, lateral sides and a front free longitudinal edge, the rear end and the lateral sides of the skirt being attached to the inner base such that the skirt and the inner base together define a rear pocket opening forwardly at the front free longitudinal edge (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108, ends of pocket 108 folded over to form panel 132 and stitched to inner base 109 and walls 117/118 stitched to panel 132 at stitches 136; Ex. Fig. 1),
the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges and the rear front free longitudinal edge exposing a portion of the inner base therebetween (Ex. Fig. 1, side free longitudinal edges 20 and rear front free longitudinal edge 24 exposing portion of inner base 16 therebetween; Fig. 4-6; Fig. 7, side free longitudinal edges 130 and free longitudinal edge of panel 132 exposing a portion of inner base at bottom of pocket 108); and
a longitudinal absorptive insert for being fitted in the diaper by being positioned on the inner base beneath both the pair of sheets and the skirt, the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges and the rear front free longitudinal edge providing for an exposed insert portion therebetween with a remainder of the insert portion being covered by the pair of sheets and the skirt (pg. 5:2-10 and 5:22-23; pg. 5:7-7:5; Fig. 3, absorbent insert specific embodiment 32; Fig. 4-6, insert 80 inserted within the pocket 8 below the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges 23 and the front free longitudinal edge 24),
wherein the front end portion and the rear end portion are releasably connectable to and disconnectable from one another at the opposite lateral sides to define respective closed and open positions of the diaper, the closed position forming a pair of leg openings at each of the opposite lateral sides and a top waist opening (pg. 4:17-27; Ex. Fig. 1, front end portion comprising strips of loop 71 and rear end portion comprising patches of hook 29), and wherein when the insert is fitted in the diaper in the closed position, the exposed portion of the insert is configured to be in contact with urethral and anal areas of a baby body to receive and absorb discharge therefrom (pg. 5:7-7:5),
wherein the skirt comprises excess material to form a supple and wavy piece of material that is easily openable or movable so as to receive fecal discharge thereunder providing a barrier between the fecal matter and the body of the baby (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 5:2-10 and 5:22-23; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108, ends of pocket 108 folded over to form panel 132; Ex. Fig. 1, skirt formed from excess material of panel 22), and
wherein the pair of sheets comprise impermeable material to redirect urine discharge towards the insert and away from the body of the baby (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108).
Brownlee differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Brownlee fails to explicitly disclose the skirt being between 1/6 and 1/5 of the length of the inner base and each of the pair of sheets covering between 15-20% of the width of the inner base.
This limitation is directed to the size of the opening of the pocket which receives a longitudinal absorptive insert, as the opening of the pocket is created by the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges and the front free longitudinal edge exposing a portion of the inner base therebetween.
Brownlee discloses that the absorptive insert fits snugly within the pocket created by the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges and the front free longitudinal edge (pg. 5:2-10 and 5:22-23; Fig. 4-6, insert 80 inserted within the pocket 8 below the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges 23 and the front free longitudinal edge 24).
Samejima teaches a diaper comprising an opening of a pocket exposing a portion of an absorbent core fitted within (Fig. 1; Fig. 2, opening 5 indirectly exposing absorbent core 2). Samejima teaches that the width and length of the pocket should preferably be made smaller than the width and length of the absorbent core to ensure that not too much of the absorbent fabric is exposed causing dampness and discomfort to the skin during urination and should not be made too small such that excrement will spill out of the pocket and not be contained by it (para. 0016). Therefore, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Brownlee device to change the length and width of the components making up the pocket opening such that they are within the claimed ranges, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brownlee by making the skirt be between 1/6-1/5 the length of the inner base and each of the pair of sheets covering between 15-20% of the width of the inner base as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Brownlee further discloses wherein the lateral sides of the main body comprise respective main body inwardly curved sections (pg. 3:23-25; Ex. Fig. 1, inwardly curved sections considered lateral sections of main body 12 in the middle portion).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 5. Brownlee further discloses wherein the insert defines lateral sides thereof with respective insert inwardly curved sections corresponding to the main body inwardly curved sections (pg. 8:1-3).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 5. Brownlee further discloses wherein the main body inwardly curved sections define elasticized free edges, each free edge defining a respective inner hem when the diaper is in the closed position inwardly of a respective one of the leg openings for being snuggly fitted on a respective leg of the baby body (pg. 4:9-16; Ex. Fig. 1; Fig. 1, elasticized free edges 28 defining an inner hem of diaper 10; Fig. 5, elasticized free edges comprising elastic strips 21).
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 7. Brownlee further discloses wherein the main body inwardly curved sections are elasticized (pg. 4:9-16; Ex. Fig. 1; Fig. 1, elasticized free edges 28 defining an inner hem of diaper 10; Fig. 5, elasticized free edges comprising elastic strips 21).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Brownlee further discloses wherein the rear end portion comprises an elasticized waist band extending rearwardly from the rear part of the middle portion that is configured to fittingly engage the back of the baby body when in the closed position (pg. 4:13-30; Ex. Fig. 1, rear end portion comprising elastic strips at 75 such that the rear end portion can be considered an elasticized waist band).
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Brownlee further discloses wherein the diaper is devoid of any buttons (pg. 5:2-10 and 5:22-23; Fig. 4-6, insert 80 inserted within the pocket 8 below the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges 23 and the front free longitudinal edge 24; no disclosure of buttons throughout the specification).
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Brownlee further discloses wherein the pocket structure is devoid of any buttons (pg. 5:2-10 and 5:22-23; Fig. 4-6, insert 80 inserted within the pocket 8 below the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges 23 and the front free longitudinal edge 24; no disclosure of buttons throughout the specification).
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Brownlee further discloses wherein the rear end portion comprises laterally extending arms extending along the lateral sides when the diaper is in the closed position and defining inner sides thereof for mutually mating with outer sides of the front end portion via hook and loop attachments (pg. 4:17-27; Ex. Fig. 1, front end portion comprising strips of loop 71 and rear end portion comprising patches of hook 29 on laterally extending arms 25-27).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownlee and Samejima as applied above, and further in view of US/2014/0013490 A1 to Evenson.
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1.
The cited prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fail to explicitly disclose wherein the absorption capacity of the insert is between about 6-10 oz.
While Brownlee does not suggest an absorbent capacity as claimed, Evenson clearly teaches that absorbent capacity is a desired property in an absorbent insert (para. 0192; para. 0195). Absorbent capacity is concerned with the ability of the article to maintain discharge without spillage, and it is known in the art to modify absorbent capacity. Evenson further provides some suggestion of modifying absorbent capacity based on crotch width (para. 0195).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application in view of Evenson to modify the absorbent insert of Brownlee to have an absorption capacity between 6-10 oz.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownlee and Samejima as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent no. 5,990,377 A to Chen and US/2009/0299313 A1 to Knightingale.
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Brownlee further discloses wherein the insert comprises multiple layers superposed on one another and joined to one another by a stitched seam extending along a common peripheral edge of the insert (pg. 6:20-33; Fig. 3, absorbent insert 32), the multiple layers comprising a top first layer for being in contact with the body of the baby, a second layer positioned beneath the first layer and comprising absorbent material, a third layer, and a fourth bottom layer (pg. 6:20-33; Fig. 3, top layer of 60 brushed polyester, second layer 62 of absorbent felt, third layer 62 of absorbent felt, bottom layer of 60 brushed polyester).
The cited prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the cited prior art fails to disclose wherein the top first layer is made of a soft absorbent material.
Chen teaches a top first layer for an absorbent core made of a soft absorbent material to provide the clean feel characteristic of a hydrophobic topsheet material, while also providing for rapid z-direction transport of liquid through the topsheet and wet resiliency and absorbency properties which persist upon multiple insults of urine (Fig. 1, topsheet; col. 2 ln. 20-27; col. 27 ln. 30-53).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the material of the top first layer of the cited prior art to be made of a soft absorbent material as taught by Chen, because Chen teaches that the material of their topsheet provides the clean feel characteristic of a hydrophobic topsheet material, while also providing for rapid z-direction transport of liquid through the topsheet and wet resiliency and absorbency properties which persist upon multiple insults of urine (Fig. 1, topsheet; col. 2 ln. 20-27; col. 27 ln. 30-53).
Further, the cited prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the cited prior art fails to disclose wherein the third layer comprising sub-layers of bamboo and the fourth bottom layer is made of carbon.
Knightingale teaches an absorbent article comprising an absorbent insert comprising outer linings impregnated with bamboo charcoal material and an absorbent booster pad within the absorbent insert comprising outer linings impregnated with bamboo charcoal material to provide enhanced moisture absorption, to facilitate wicking moisture, and to breakdown odor-causing substances (para. 0033; para. 0037; para. 0040-0041; Fig. 1, diaper 20; Fig. 7-8, absorbent insert 26 comprising outer linings 74; Fig. 10-11, absorbent insert 26 comprising booster pads 72 comprising outer linings 74).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the third and fourth bottom layer of the cited prior art to comprise bamboo charcoal as taught by Knightingale, because Knightingale teaches that bamboo charcoal may be added to provide enhanced moisture absorption, to facilitate wicking moisture, and to breakdown odor-causing substances (para. 0033).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownlee and Samejima as applied above, and further in view of WO/2011/014495 A1 to Coates.
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1; however, the prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the cited prior art fails to disclose wherein the laterally extending arms are foldable and self-attachable at the inner sides thereof via the hook and loop attachments when the diaper is in the open position.
Coates teaches a diaper comprising a rear end portion comprising laterally extending arms extending along the lateral sides and wherein the laterally extending arms are foldable and self-attachable at the inner sides thereof via the hook and loop attachments when the diaper is in the open position to allow for closing of the hook fasteners during laundering, cleaning, or storage to prevent damage to the garment (para. 0039; para. 0046; Fig. 1, laterally extending arms 90/94 are foldable and hook fastener 90 is self-attachable to loop fastener 94).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the diaper of the cited prior art to further comprise lateral fasteners as taught by Coates, because Coates teaches that providing self-attachable fasteners on a diaper allows for the diaper to snugly fit wearers of different sizes and allows for closing of the hook fasteners during laundering, cleaning, or storage to prevent damage to the garment (para. 0039; para. 0046).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO/9403137 A1 to Brownlee in view of JP-H04322646 A to Samejima, U.S. Patent no. 5,990,377 A to Chen, and US/2009/0299313 A1 to Knightingale.
Regarding claim 18, Brownlee discloses a diaper (Fig. 1, diaper 10; Fig. 7-13, methods of making channel/pocket 8/108 of diaper 10) comprising:
a main body defining outer and inner sides thereof, opposite lateral sides thereof (Ex. Fig. 1, main body 12),
a front end portion and a rear end portion thereof and a middle portion interposed between the front end and rear end portions (Ex. Fig. 1),
the middle portion comprising an inner base defining a length and a width thereof (pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108; pg. 9:5-9; Ex. Fig. 1, pocket 8 in middle portion comprising inner base 16; Fig. 7-13, methods of making pocket 8/108 comprising inner base at bottom of pocket 108; Fig. 11, method of making pocket 8/108 comprising inner base 143) and a pocket structure comprising
a pair of sheets at each of the opposite lateral sides extending from a rear part to a front part of the middle portion and defining respective and adjacent spaced apart side free longitudinal edges thereof (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108; Ex. Fig. 1, pocket 8 in middle portion comprising walls 17/18 at opposite lateral sides extending from a rear part to front part of middle portion and defining raised side free longitudinal edges 20 that are hemmed with live rubber strips under tension; Fig. 7, pocket 108 comprising walls 117/118 at opposite lateral sides defining raised side free longitudinal edges 130 that are hemmed with live rubber strips under tension; Fig. 11, method of making pocket 8/108 comprising pair of sheets 144/145 to make walls 117/118 as shown in Fig. 8), and
a skirt extending forwardly from a rear end of the middle portion and overlying a portion of the spaced apart sheets and defining a rear free longitudinal edge (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108; Ex. Fig. 1, skirt defined by stitched portion of panel 22 in middle portion and overlying walls 17/18 and defining rear free longitudinal edge 24; Fig. 7, method of making pocket 8/108 comprising stitching 136 to connect panel 22/132 to walls 117/118),
the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges and the rear front free longitudinal edge exposing a portion of the inner base therebetween (Ex. Fig. 1, side free longitudinal edges 20 and rear front free longitudinal edge 24 exposing portion of inner base 16 therebetween; Fig. 4-6; Fig. 7, side free longitudinal edges 130 and free longitudinal edge of panel 132 exposing a portion of inner base at bottom of pocket 108); the skirt defining
a rear end and lateral sides, the rear end and the lateral sides of the skirt being attached to the inner base (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108, ends of pocket 108 folded over to form panel 132 and stitched to inner base 109 and walls 117/118 stitched to panel 132 at stitches 136; Ex. Fig. 1), and
a longitudinal absorptive insert for being fitted in the diaper by being positioned on the inner base beneath the pair of sheets and the skirt, the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges and the rear front free longitudinal edge providing for an exposed insert portion therebetween with a remainder of the insert portion being covered by the pair of sheets and the skirt (pg. 5:2-10 and 5:22-23; pg. 5:7-7:5; Fig. 3, absorbent insert specific embodiment 32; Fig. 4-6, insert 80 inserted within the pocket 8 below the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges 23 and the front free longitudinal edge 24),
the insert comprising multiple layers superposed on one another and joined to one another by a stitched seam extending along a common peripheral edge of the insert (pg. 6:20-33; Fig. 3, absorbent insert 32), the multiple layers comprising a top first layer for being in contact with the body of the baby, a second layer positioned beneath the first layer and comprising absorbent material, a third layer, and a fourth bottom layer (pg. 6:20-33; Fig. 3, top layer of 60 brushed polyester, second layer 62 of absorbent felt, third layer 62 of absorbent felt, bottom layer of 60 brushed polyester);
wherein the front end portion and the rear end portion are connectable at the opposite lateral sides to define a closed position of the diaper forming a pair of leg openings at each of the opposite lateral sides and a top waist opening (pg. 4:17-27; Ex. Fig. 1, front end portion comprising strips of loop 71 and rear end portion comprising patches of hook 29), and wherein when the insert is fitted in the diaper in the closed position, the exposed portion of the insert is configured to be in contact with urethral and anal areas of a baby body to receive and absorb discharge therefrom (pg. 5:7-7:5),
wherein the skirt comprises excess material to form a supple and wavy piece of material that is easily openable or movable so as to receive fecal discharge thereunder providing a barrier between the fecal matter and the body of the baby (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 5:2-10 and 5:22-23; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108, ends of pocket 108 folded over to form panel 132; Ex. Fig. 1, skirt formed from excess material of panel 22), and
wherein the pair of sheets comprise impermeable material to redirect urine discharge towards the insert and away from the body of the baby (pg. 3:20-4:16; pg. 8:4-9:22, methods of making pocket 8/108).
Brownlee differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Brownlee fails to explicitly disclose the skirt being between 1/6 and 1/5 of the length of the inner base and each of the pair of sheets covering between 15-20% of the width of the inner base.
This limitation is directed to the size of the opening of the pocket which receives a longitudinal absorptive insert, as the opening of the pocket is created by the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges and the front free longitudinal edge exposing a portion of the inner base therebetween.
Brownlee discloses that the absorptive insert fits snugly within the pocket created by the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges and the front free longitudinal edge (pg. 5:2-10 and 5:22-23; Fig. 4-6, insert 80 inserted within the pocket 8 below the spaced apart side free longitudinal edges 23 and the front free longitudinal edge 24).
Samejima teaches a diaper comprising an opening of a pocket exposing a portion of an absorbent core fitted within (Fig. 1; Fig. 2, opening 5 indirectly exposing absorbent core 2). Samejima teaches that the width and length of the pocket should preferably be made smaller than the width and length of the absorbent core to ensure that not too much of the absorbent fabric is exposed causing dampness and discomfort to the skin during urination and should not be made too small such that excrement will spill out of the pocket and not be contained by it (para. 0016). Therefore, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Brownlee device to change the length and width of the components making up the pocket opening such that they are within the claimed ranges, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brownlee by making the skirt be between 1/6-1/5 the length of the inner base and each of the pair of sheets covering between 15-20% of the width of the inner base as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05.
Further, Brownlee differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Brownlee fails to disclose wherein the top first layer is made of a soft absorbent material.
Chen teaches a top first layer for an absorbent core made of a soft absorbent material to provide the clean feel characteristic of a hydrophobic topsheet material, while also providing for rapid z-direction transport of liquid through the topsheet and wet resiliency and absorbency properties which persist upon multiple insults of urine (Fig. 1, topsheet; col. 2 ln. 20-27; col. 27 ln. 30-53).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the material of the top first layer of the cited prior art to be made of a soft absorbent material as taught by Chen, because Chen teaches that the material of their topsheet provides the clean feel characteristic of a hydrophobic topsheet material, while also providing for rapid z-direction transport of liquid through the topsheet and wet resiliency and absorbency properties which persist upon multiple insults of urine (Fig. 1, topsheet; col. 2 ln. 20-27; col. 27 ln. 30-53).
Further still, Brownlee differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Brownlee fails to disclose wherein the third layer comprising sub-layers of bamboo and the fourth bottom layer is made of carbon.
Knightingale teaches an absorbent article comprising an absorbent insert comprising outer linings impregnated with bamboo charcoal material and an absorbent booster pad within the absorbent insert comprising outer linings impregnated with bamboo charcoal material to provide enhanced moisture absorption, to facilitate wicking moisture, and to breakdown odor-causing substances (para. 0033; para. 0037; para. 0040-0041; Fig. 1, diaper 20; Fig. 7-8, absorbent insert 26 comprising outer linings 74; Fig. 10-11, absorbent insert 26 comprising booster pads 72 comprising outer linings 74).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the third and fourth bottom layer of the cited prior art to comprise bamboo charcoal as taught by Knightingale, because Knightingale teaches that bamboo charcoal may be added to provide enhanced moisture absorption, to facilitate wicking moisture, and to breakdown odor-causing substances (para. 0033).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Linnae E. Raymond/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 16 October 2026