DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I and the below compound in the reply filed on 08/04/2026 is acknowledged.
The above compound was searched by Examiner. The search scope was expanded to further read on compounds wherein the ring comprising Q1-Q5 is pyridinyl substituted with one X and R1 is t-butyl optionally substituted by G. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 20, 22, and 30-31 read on the elected species and invention, as well as the expanded search.
Claims 4, 25, 27-29, and 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and/or invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/04/2026.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that, according to the Filing receipt received 08/27/2024, that the instant application 18/678,103 filed 05/30/2024 is a continuation of 17/575,175 filed 01/13/2022, which is a divisional of 16/645,286 filed 03/06/2020, which is a 371 of PCT/GB2018/052595 filed 09/13/2018, which claims priority of United Kingdom application 1714745.5 filed 09/13/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 10/30/2024 (4 IDS documents), 01/14/2025 (1 IDS document), and 02/13/2026 (2 IDS documents) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full, except where lined through. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
References that are lined through in the aforementioned IDS documents were not considered because copies were not provided in the file wrapper. See 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2).
Examiner additionally notes that the following references contained errors in their citations.
IDS filed 02/13/2026 (14 pages): non-patent literature citation 23, publication date should read “April 3, 2024” rather than “April 3, 2026”;
IDS filed 02/13/2026 (14 pages): non-patent literature citation 24, author should read “CHIU et al.” rather than “CHUI et al.”;
IDS filed 01/14/2025: non-patent literature citation 2, title should read “Adrenergic agents” rather than “Adrenerigic agents”
IDS filed 10/30/2024 (13 pages): author name should read “CYPESS et al.” rather than “CYPRESS et al.”.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: "saturated C. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 20, 22, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 depicts the structure of formula (IA), which contains a ring comprising variables Q1-Q5. However, while the claim recites “the ring comprising Q1 to Q5 represents a 6- membered heteroaryl”, no particular definitions are set forth for variables Q1-Q5 themselves. The scope of the claim is therefore unclear. Claims 2, 22, and 30-31 do not clarify the limitation at issue and are also rejected.
Claim 1 recites “wherein a stereoisomer is present at a purity of at least 80% relative to an opposite stereoisomer”. It is unclear whether “a stereoisomer” with 80% purity refers to a compound with the stereochemistry of formula (IA) or if other stereoisomers can be present at a purity of 80%. Additionally, it is unclear whether “purity” refers to the compound being free of other side products, excess reagents, etc. or optical purity (enantiomeric excess). For purposes of examination “purity” has been interpreted as optical purity, however, clarification is requested. Claims 2, 6, 7, 10, 20, 22, and 30-31 do not clarify the limitation at issue and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jen et al. (US 3952101 A; 1976; IDS filed 10/30/2024, 18 pgs.).
Jen et al. discloses β-adrenergic agonists (Abstract), including the embodiment α-(t-butylaminomethyl)-5-hydroxy-2-pyridinemethanol (col. 6, Example 2; claim 3) which has the structure below as drawn by STN.
Jen et al. additionally discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising the disclosed compounds a pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (col. 3, third and fourth paragraphs).
The compound differs from claimed compound (S)-6-(2-(tert-butylamino)-1-hydroxyethyl)pyridin-3-ol in that Jen et al. does not disclose the optical purity of the above compound. However, regardless of the degree of optical purity, a pure optical isomer is not patentable over the racemic mixture unless it possesses properties not possessed by the racemic mixture. In re Anthony, 414 F.2d 1383, 162 U.S.Q.P. 594 (C.C.P.A. 1969). As such, absent unexpected results, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to resolve the compound of Jen et al. to arrive at the enantiomers of the disclosed compound, and to further optimize the optical purity of the compound via routine optimization.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al. (EP 0318092 A2; 1989) in view of Patani et al. (Chem Rev; 1996).
Fisher et al. discloses optically pure β-adrenergic agonists of the following core structure (Abstract; p. 3) which is substantially free of the opposite enantiomer (p. 4, first paragraph).
Fisher et al. additionally discloses the embodiment as below (p. 9).
Fisher et al. teaches compositions with the disclosed compounds as an active ingredient (p. 2, second paragraph).
The compound of Fisher et al. differs from that of the instant invention wherein X is amino rather than halo, -ORd, etc. This limitation is obvious in view of Patani et al.
Patani et al. teaches that amino (NH2) and hydroxyl (OH) are interchangeable bioisosteres known in the art for development of pharmacological agents (p. 3150, col. 1, par. 3). Patani et al. additionally teaches that amino and hydroxyl can be successfully interchanged due to their similar steric size, spatial arrangement, and ability to act as hydrogen bond acceptors or donors (p. 3150, col. 1, par. 3).
It would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the amino group on the compound of Fisher et al. with a hydroxyl. One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, as amino and hydroxyl groups are known bioisosteric replacements used in developing pharmaceutical compounds. In an effort to produce new β-adrenergic agonists, one would therefore be apprised that substitution of one functional group for the other would yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 20, 22, and 30-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11357757 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the ‘757 patent is directed toward the following compound or a salt thereof.
Claim 2 is directed toward the compound being present in an enantiomeric excess of at least 90%. Claims 3-4 are directed toward a composition with the compound being present in an enantiomeric excess of at least 90%. Claims 5-6 are directed toward a combination product comprising the compound being present in an enantiomeric excess of at least 90% and another therapeutic agent useful for treating hyperglycemia. Claims 7-8 are directed toward a kit-of-parts comprising a pharmaceutical composition of the compound being present in an enantiomeric excess of at least 90% and another therapeutic agent useful for treating hyperglycemia.
The claims of the ‘757 patent are narrower in scope than, and therefore anticipate, the instantly claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 5, 9, and 12 of copending Application No. 18/693,571 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims of the ‘571 application are directed toward a compound of formula I as below.
Wherein the ring comprising Q1-Q5 can be pyridyl (claim 5) and X1 and X2 can both be hydrogen (claim 9). Claim 12 is directed toward a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula I. The compound of formula I substantially overlaps in scope with the instant claims wherein R1 represents C4-12 alkyl and alkyl can be cyclic or partially cyclic. The specification of the ‘571 application additionally discloses that the desired stereoisomer can be present at a purity of at least 80% (see p. 21). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be apprised that compounds of particular purity are within the scope of the invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 20, 22, and 30-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7-8, and 15-16 of copending Application No. 18/717,134 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the ‘134 is directed toward a hemi-tartrate salt of the following compound.
Claim 4 is directed toward the salt having a purity of at least 90%. Claims 7-8 are directed toward a composition with the salt having a purity of at least 90%. Claim 15 is directed toward a combination product comprising the salt and another therapeutic agent useful for treating hyperglycemia. Claim 16 is directed toward a kit-of-parts comprising a pharmaceutical composition of the salt and another therapeutic agent useful for treating hyperglycemia.
Claims 1, 4, and 7-8 of the ‘134 application are narrower in scope than, and therefore anticipate, the instantly claimed invention. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be apprised that the combination product and kit-of-parts as claimed would include embodiments wherein the salt has a purity of at least 90%.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MADELINE E BRAUN/Examiner, Art Unit 1624 08/26/2026