DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In claims 2 and 12, “means for limiting an amount that the actuator lever can move” is an abutment (which the actuator leave may contact and not pass).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, “the pair of pins” lacks antecedent basis. The claim is treated as if it depends on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10-12, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garribotto et al (US 2004/0153032).
Regarding claim 1, Garribotto discloses an ambulatory infusion pump, comprising: a reservoir 30 configured to contain a medicament (¶40); a syringe assembly including a plunger (fig 40 configured to dispense medicament from the reservoir (¶40); a ratchet wheel 610 configured to rotate the syringe assembly (¶95); a pawl 602 configured to engage with the ratchet wheel (fig 26); an actuator lever 606 mechanically linked to the pawl (fig 26, ¶98); and a shape memory wire 646 mechanically linked with the actuator lever (fig 27), wherein actuation of the shape memory wire shortens the shape memory wire (¶98) to cause the shape memory wire to move the actuator lever such that the actuator lever moves the pawl to rotate the ratchet wheel and syringe assembly to cause the plunger to dispense a predetermined amount of medicament from the reservoir (¶s 94-98).
Regarding claim 2, further comprising means 648 for limiting an amount that the actuator lever can move (fig 27, either the resiliency of the spring or if the spring is fully compressed, it becomes a mechanical stop).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the amount that the actuator lever can move corresponds to how much the ratchet wheel is rotated (¶98).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the shape memory wire is configured as a spring (contracts and expands depending on if electricity is being applied).
Regarding claim 11, Garriboto discloses an ambulatory infusion pump, comprising: a reservoir 30 configured to contain a medicament (¶40); a syringe assembly including a plunger (fig 4) configured to dispense medicament from the reservoir (¶40); a ratchet wheel 610 and pawl mechanism 602 mechanically linked to the syringe assembly (¶95); and a shape memory wire 646 mechanically linked with the ratchet and pawl mechanism (via lever 606, fig 26; ¶98), wherein actuation of the shape memory wire shortens the shape memory wire (¶98) to cause the shape memory wire to move the pawl to rotate the ratchet wheel and syringe assembly to cause the plunger to dispense a predetermined amount of medicament from the reservoir (¶s 94-98).
Regarding claim 12, further comprising means 648 for limiting an amount that the pawl can move (fig 27, either the resiliency of the spring or if the spring is fully compressed, it becomes a mechanical stop).
Regarding claim 15, further comprising an actuator lever 606 mechanically linked to the pawl (fig 26, ¶98).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the shape memory wire is configured as a spring (contracts and expands depending on if electricity is being applied).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-8, 13, 14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garribotto et al (US 2004/0153032) in view of Mernoe (US 2007/0276329).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, while Garribotto substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose wherein the means for limiting the amount that the actuator lever can move comprises a pair of pins.
Mernoe discloses a shape memory actuator (¶91) which can drive a ratchet wheel and pawl system (figs 5a-5c). The actuator level 78a is limited by pints 85a and 85b (figs 5a-5c; ¶102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Garriboto such that the means for limiting the amount that the actuator lever can move comprises a pair of pins as taught by Mernoe to more precisely and clearly delineate the range of motion of the actuator lever.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, wherein the pair of pins are located on opposing sides of an end of the actuator lever (see combination in claim 3; modifying Garriboto as taught by Mernoe will result in the pins being arranged as in claim 5a of Mernoe and thus as claimed by Applicant).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 16-18, while Garribotto substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose a pin about which the actuator lever rotates, a mounting pin connecting the actuator level to the pawl, nor the actuator lever moves the pawl by pulling on the pawl away from the ratchet wheel with the mounting pin.
In Garribotto it is unclear how actuator lever 606 is linked with pawl 602.
Mernoe discloses use of pins (fig 3) as means of affixing structures together. Thus Mernoe suggests using a pin as a means to link the actuator level and pawl of Garribotto.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Garribotto such that it includes a mounting pin connecting the actuator level to the pawl and about which the actuator level rotates, and the actuator lever moves the pawl by pulling on the pawl away from the ratchet wheel with the mounting pin as suggested by Mernoe as it is a known means by which to connect structures in a shape memory wire and pawl and ratchet operated pump.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-18 and 20-22 of copending Application No. 18/090,788 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of each other and any differences are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and/or in view of the references used in the art rejections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented (although Applicant has paid the issue fee for the copending application).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY J OSINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783