METHOD FOR BONDING THERMOPLASTIC COMPONENTS IN A BATTERY MODULE
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s response to restriction requirement filed 7/20/2026 has been determined to be persuasive by the Examiner. Therefore, the restriction requirement sent on 6/3/2026 has been withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are hereby examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/30/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 10 disclose an “energy absorbing layer”. There is no disclosure of this layer in the specification. The specification does disclose an “absorbing layer” but there is no indication that it is “energy absorbing”.
Claims 2-8 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(a) for their dependence on claim 1.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the energy absorbing layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-8 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tyler et al. (US 2016/0064702 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tyler et al. teach a method for bonding components (Fig. 12) of a lithium-ion battery module (Fig. 5, element 20) comprising:
positioning an energy absorbing insert (Fig. 5, element 86 discloses a shelf. Further, paragraph 0058 discloses it can comprise an energy absorbing material.) adjacent to a first thermoplastic layer (Fig. 4, element 52 discloses an electronics compartment cover.) of the lithium-ion battery module (Fig. 4, element 20), with the first thermoplastic layer being a thermoplastic cover (Paragraph 0046 discloses it as an electronics compartment cover.) and being a transmissive or semi-transmissive layer that allows applied energy to pass through the first thermoplastic layer (Paragraph 0046; see also Fig. 12, steps 102 and 104.);
positioning a second thermoplastic layer of the lithium-ion battery module adjacent to the energy absorbing insert (Figs. 4 and 5, element 50 discloses a housing.), with the energy absorbing layer separating the first thermoplastic layer and the second thermoplastic layer (Fig. 5 discloses the shelf, element 86, outlining the opening of the housing, element 50 but further separates element 52, the electronics compartment cover.), with the second thermoplastic layer comprising a lid housing attached to a battery module housing (Fig. 3 discloses elements 54 and 50 comprising a cell receptacle cover and housing, respectively.) ; and
applying energy through the first thermoplastic layer to the energy absorbing insert which absorbs the applied energy and melts the energy absorbing insert, thereby fusing the first thermoplastic layer and the second thermoplastic layer (See Fig. 12, steps 106 and 108; paragraphs 0055, 0057-0058, 0067-0074).
Regarding claim 2, Tyler et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the energy is laser energy (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 3, Tyler et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the energy is infrared laser energy (Paragraph 0069 discloses the energy from the laser such as light.).
Regarding claim 4, Tyler et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the second thermoplastic layer comprising a transmissive or semi-transmissive layer (Paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 5, Tyler et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the lid housing defines at least a portion of an electronics compartment housing of the lithium-ion battery module (Figs. 3-5, element 50 disclose a housing which can comprise a lid, element 54.) and the first thermoplastic layer is a cover for the electronics compartment housing (Fig. 4, element 52 discloses an electronics compartment cover.).
Regarding claim 6, Tyler et al. teach the method of claim 1, further comprising applying the energy to the battery module housing to fuse the battery module housing to the lid housing (Paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 7, Tyler et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the energy absorbing insert is semi-rigid in an absence of applying the energy to the energy absorbing insert (Paragraph 0030 discloses the absorbed energy may cause a temperature of the absorptive material to increase, and thus, at least a portion of the absorptive material (e.g., a protruding shelf) may melt when the absorptive material reaches a certain temperature (e.g., a melting point of the absorptive material.)(When a portion of the absorptive material melts, it may fill a gap or void between the housing and the cover, thus creating an air-tight and/or water tight seal when molten absorptive material cools and re-hardens (e.g. re-solidifies). Thus, prior to reaching melting point, the insert is semi-rigid.).
Regarding claim 8, Tyler et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first thermoplastic layer is one of a first clear or translucent polypropylene, and the housing lid is one of a second clear or translucent polypropylene (Paragraphs 0046 and 0051).
Regarding claim 9, Tyler et al. teach a lithium-ion battery module housing (Fig. 3, element 50 discloses a housing.) comprising:
a thermoplastic cover composed of a first transmissive or semi-transmissive layer configured to allow a transmission of an energy of a particular wavelength through the thermoplastic cover (Fig. 3, element 54 discloses a cell receptacle cover, Paragraph 0050 discloses it comprises a transmissive material.);
a second transmissive or semi- transmissive layer comprising a lid housing attached to a battery module housing, with the lid housing being separate from and adjacent to the battery module housing (Fig. 3 discloses a housing, element 50 anticipates a lid. Further, paragraphs 0053-0055 disclose the housing can be comprised of an energy absorptive material such as PPS, which would inherently have a modicum of transmissivity though, as the cited passage states, is less transmissive than the covers, element 52 and 54.); and
an energy absorbing insert (Fig. 5, element 86 discloses a shelf.) positioned between the thermoplastic cover and the second transmissive or semi- transmissive layer, the energy absorbing insert composed of a material which absorbs the energy of the particular wavelength transferred through the thermoplastic cover and melts in response to the absorption (Paragraphs 0046, 0055, 0057-0058, and 0067-0074 and Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 10, Tyler et al. teach the lithium-ion battery module housing of claim 9, wherein the battery module housing is an energy absorbing layer, the energy absorbing layer absorbs energy of a particular wavelength and melts (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 11, Tyler et al. teach the lithium-ion battery module housing of claim 9, wherein the energy absorbing insert forms at least a part of a plastic weld joint between the thermoplastic cover and the second transmissive or semi- transmissive layer (Paragraph 0057 discloses a weld spot of a laser may be directed toward the first protruding shelf 82 and/or the second protruding shelf 86 during the laser welding process. Accordingly, the first protruding shelf 82 and/or the second protruding shelf 86 may melt to form a molten material that may fill a gap or void between the housing 50 and the electronics compartment cover 52 and/or the housing 50 and the cell receptacle region cover 54.).
Regarding claim 12, Tyler et al. teach the lithium-ion battery module housing of claim 9, wherein the energy of the particular wavelength is laser energy (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 13, Tyler et al. teach the lithium-ion battery module housing of claim 9, wherein the laser energy is infrared laser energy (Paragraph 0069 discloses the energy from the laser such as light.).
Regarding claim 14, Tyler et al. teach the lithium-ion battery module housing of claim 9, wherein the lid housing is an electronics compartment housing configured to interface with electronics (Fig. 4, element 52 discloses an electronics compartment cover.).
Regarding claim 15, Tyler et al. teach the lithium ion battery module housing of claim 9, further comprising the battery module housing is a thermoplastic battery module housing (Fig. 4, element 50) positioned adjacent and coupled to a first side of the housing lid, the first side being opposite a second side of the housing lid that is adjacent the energy absorbing insert (Fig. 3, element 56).
Regarding claim 16, Tyler et al. teach the lithium-ion battery module housing of claim 9, wherein the thermoplastic cover (Fig. 4, element 54) and the second transmissive or semi- transmissive layer (Fig. 4, element 50) are coupled via a laser weld (Paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 17, Tyler et al. teach the lithium ion battery module housing of claim 9, wherein the energy absorbing insert is semi-rigid in an absence of an application of the energy to the energy absorbing insert (Paragraph 0030 discloses the absorbed energy may cause a temperature of the absorptive material to increase, and thus, at least a portion of the absorptive material (e.g., a protruding shelf) may melt when the absorptive material reaches a certain temperature (e.g., a melting point of the absorptive material.)(When a portion of the absorptive material melts, it may fill a gap or void between the housing and the cover, thus creating an air-tight and/or water tight seal when molten absorptive material cools and re-hardens (e.g. re-solidifies). Thus, prior to reaching melting point, the insert is semi-rigid.).
Regarding claim 18, Tyler et al. teach the lithium-ion battery module housing of claim 9, wherein the thermoplastic cover is one of a first clear or translucent polypropylene, and the housing lid is one of a second clear or translucent polypropylene (Paragraphs 0046 and 0051).
Regarding claim 19, Tyler et al. teach a lithium-ion battery module (Fig. 3, element 20) comprising:
a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells (Paragraph 0039) held within an enclosure;
a battery module housing (Fig. 3, element 50) coupled to a lid housing (Fig. 3, element 54), the battery module housing and the lid forming a first layer and defining the enclosure (fig. 4); and
a second layer, the second layer being a cover (Fig. 3, element 52), joined to the first layer (Fig. 3, elements 50/54) by a weld (Paragraph 0045), with the weld being formed between the first layer and the second layer via an energy absorbing insert (Fig. 5, element 86) in a laminar relationship with the first layer and the second layer and having an increased absorbance in an infrared portion of an electromagnetic spectrum relative to the first layer and the second layer (Paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 20, Tyler et al. teach the lithium-ion battery module of claim 19, wherein a plurality of electronics components being held within an electronics compartment (Fig. 5, element 60) formed by the lid housing and the cover of the lithium ion battery module (Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of electronics components are operatively coupled to the plurality of lithium ion battery cells (Paragraph 0044).
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 July 30th, 2026