Status of Claims
This is the second Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 9, 15, and 19-20 are currently amended. This action is FINAL.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/19/2026 have been entered
In view of the Claim objections, Applicant’s amendments have been acknowledged and the objections have been withdrawn.
In view of the Claims, Applicant’s amendments have been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended claims remain directed to abstract ideas relating to managing, organizing, assigning, filtering, and displaying location-based task information. The recited processor, memory, graphical map interface, communication, display, and location-aware vehicle components are recited at a high level of generality that does not seem to impose any meaningful limits on the recited abstract ideas. Further, the claims do not recite any specific vehicle control action, actuation, or other technological improvement; therefore, the 35 USC 101 rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-15, filed 02/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 102 and 103, respectively, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Alzahrani (US20150356856A1) in view of Nelissen (US8219115B1), and further in view of Forbes et al. (US20160092952A1), hereinafter Alzahrani, Nelissen, and Forbes, respectively.
In regards to the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections, Applicant argues that the prior arts of record do not teach, suggest, or render obvious, alone or in-combination, the amended limitations. Examiner found argument persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Alzahrani in view of Nelissen, and further in view of Forbes. Each of the dependent claims, depend directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 15, and 19, and by dependency of the independent claims are rejected under 35 USC 103, as discussed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 7, “(1) required materials,” should read “(i) required materials”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1. A method for managing location-based tasks for a location-aware vehicle, comprising:
receiving, by a task-service processor, a first request from a first device having a first user interface to create a first location-based task;
creating, by a task-service processor, the first location-based task based on the input received from the first device, the first location-based task comprising structured task content including at least one of (1) required materials, (ii) a work group identifier, or (iii) an assigned vehicle operator;
storing the first location-based task in a task-service memory;
associating the first location-based task with a first location by receiving user input identifying the first location via a graphical map interface;
defining a set of location-based tasks including the first location-based task and one or more additional location-based tasks;
generating, by the task-service processor, a work list comprising one or more of the set of location-based tasks based on filter criteria including at least one of (a) proximity to the task location, (b) assignment status, or (c) overdue status; and
transmitting at least one location-based task from the work list to the location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representing a location of the at least one location-based task.
Claim 15. A method of creating a location-based task for a location-aware vehicle, comprising:
receiving a request from a device having a user interface to create a location-based task;
identifying the task location of the location-based task for the location-aware vehicle by receiving user input identifying the first location via a graphical map interface;
determining task content of the location-based task, the task content comprising structured operational task data including the task location and one or more of a task name, task category, task materials required to perform the task, task work group, an assigned vehicle operator, and vehicle identification; and
assigning the location-based task to the location-aware vehicle for execution of the task, at least in part via operation of the location-aware vehicle.
Claim 19. A method of managing a plurality of location-based tasks for a plurality of location-aware vehicles, comprising:
defining the plurality of location-based tasks, including a first task having first task content and a second task having second task content, each of the first task content and the second task content including structured operational task data including at least one of required task materials, a task work group, or an assigned vehicle operator;
associating each of the plurality of location-based tasks with a task location, including associating the first location-based task with a first task location, and associating a second location-based task with a second task location, wherein each associated task location includes receiving user input identifying the task location via a graphical map interface;
identifying the plurality of location-aware vehicles, including identifying a first location-aware vehicle and a second location-aware vehicle, the first location-aware vehicle configured to determine a vehicle location of the first location-aware vehicle and the second location-aware vehicle configured to determine a vehicle location of the second location-aware vehicle;
assigning the first location-based task to the first location-aware vehicle and assigning the second location-based task to the second location-aware vehicle;
communicating a first location-based task to the first location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representation of the first task location; and
communicating a second location-based task to the second location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representation of the second task location.
101 Analysis – Step 1: Statutory category – Yes
Claims 1, 15, and 19 recite a method (i.e. process). This claim falls within one of the four statutory categories. MPEP 2106.03
101 Analysis – Step 2A Prong one evaluation: Judicial Exception – Yes – Mental processes
In Step 2A, Prong one of the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance (PEG), a claim is to be analyzed to determine whether it recites subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) mental processes, and/or c) certain methods of organizing human activity.
The Office submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitutes judicial exceptions in terms of “mental processes” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation can be “performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
Claim 1 recites the limitations of creating the first location-based task based on the input received from the first device, the first location-based task comprising structured task content including at least one of (1) required materials, (ii) a work group identifier, or (iii) an assigned vehicle operator; associating the first location-based task with a first location by receiving user input identifying the first location via a graphical map interface; defining a set of location-based tasks including the first location-based task and one or more additional location-based tasks; and generating a work list comprising one or more of the set of location-based tasks based on filter criteria including at least one of (a) proximity to the task location, (b) assignment status, or (c) overdue status. These limitations, as drafted, are simple process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of a pen and paper but for the recitation of “by a task-service processor.” That is, other than reciting “by a task-service processor” nothing in the claim elements preclude the step from practically being perform by using a pen and paper. For example, but for the “by a task-service processor” language, the claim could implicate a person creating a task based off given data, including required materials, a work group, or an operator; associate the task with a location; define a set of tasks, and generate a work list by selecting tasks based on proximity, assignment status, or overdue status. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Additionally, the claim 15 recites the limitations identifying the task location of the location-based task for the location-aware vehicle by receiving user input identifying the first location via a graphical map interface; determining task content of the location-based task, the task content comprising structured operational task data including the task location and one or more of a task name, task category, task materials required to perform the task, task work group, an assigned vehicle operator, and vehicle identification; and assigning the location-based task to the location-aware vehicle for execution of the task, at least in part via operation of the location-aware vehicle. These limitations, as drafted, are a simple process that, that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, the claim encompasses a person identifying a task location, determining task content, and assigning the task to a vehicle. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Furthermore, claim 19 recites the limitations of defining the plurality of location-based tasks, including a first task having first task content and a second task having second task content, each of the first task content and the second task content including structured operational task data including at least one of required task materials, a task work group, or an assigned vehicle operator; associating each of the plurality of location-based tasks with a task location, including associating the first location-based task with a first task location, and associating a second location-based task with a second task location, wherein each associated task location includes receiving user input identifying the task location via a graphical map interface; identifying the plurality of location-aware vehicles, including identifying a first location-aware vehicle and a second location-aware vehicle, the first location-aware vehicle configured to determine a vehicle location of the first location-aware vehicle and the second location-aware vehicle configured to determine a vehicle location of the second location-aware vehicle; and assigning the first location-based task to the first location-aware vehicle and assigning the second location-based task to the second location-aware vehicle. These limitations, as drafted, are simple process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of a pen and paper. That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the step from practically being perform by using a pen and paper. For example, the claim could implicate a person defining tasks, associating tasks with locations, and assigning different tasks to different vehicles. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
101 Analysis – Step 2A Prong two evaluation: Practical Application – No
In Step 2A, Prong two of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated whether, as a whole, it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in MPEP 2106.04(d), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrates the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as: merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical
application.”
The Office submits that the foregoing underlined limitation(s) recite additional elements that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 1 recites additional elements or steps of receiving, by a task-service processor, a first request from a first device having a first user interface to create a first location-based task; storing the first location-based task in a task-service memory; and transmitting at least one location-based task from the work list to the location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representing a location of the at least one location-based task. The receiving a request from a device, task-service processor, storing tasks, and transmitting task for display are recited at a high level of generality and/or amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Additionally, claim 15 recites additional element or step of receiving a request from a device having a user interface to create a location-based task. The receiving a request from a device is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Furthermore, claim 19 recites additional elements or steps of communicating a first location-based task to the first location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representation of the first task location; and communicating a second location-based task to the second location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representation of the second task location. The communication between the respective vehicle is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving or transmitting data over a network for display).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B evaluation: Inventive concept – No
In Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated as to whether the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of receiving, by a task-service processor, a first request from a first device having a first user interface to create a first location-based task; transmitting at least one location-based task from the work list to the location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representing a location of the at least one location-based task; receiving a request from a device having a user interface to create a location-based task; communicating a first location-based task to the first location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representation of the first task location; and communicating a second location-based task to the second location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representation of the second task location are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Additionally, the additional limitation of storing the first location-based task in a task-service memory is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity as stated in the MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, indicate that storing and retrieving information in memory is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-14, 16-18, and 20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-14, 16-18, and 20 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of the claims 1, 15, and 19.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alzahrani in view of Nelissen, and further in view of Forbes.
Regarding claim 1, Alzahrani teaches of a method for managing location-based tasks for a location-aware vehicle ("A vehicle task reminder device include…a GPS used indicate location", [0005]), comprising: receiving, by a task-service processor, a first request from a first device having a first user interface to create a first location-based task ("The to do list may be set via manual input from the vehicle 402, or remotely via an external connection such as a server 404, a personal computer 406…or via a personal smart phone 410", [0026], "The vehicle task reminder device includes a CPU 104 which performs the processes described above", [0036]); creating, by a task-service processor, the first location-based task based on the input received from the first device ("Once a to do list has been set the process proceeds to step S204 where the system synchronizes the to do list with the vehicle's GPS and time", [0016], "The vehicle task reminder device includes a CPU 104 which performs the processes described above", [0036]), the first location-based task comprising structured task content ("In this embodiment, the user has set a to do list containing 6 different task with 6 different corresponding times and locations", [0028]); storing the first location-based task in a task-service memory ("The to do list can be saved in the memory", [0016]); associating the first location-based task with a first location ("…a current time and location corresponding to any task of the at least one to do list", [0005]) by receiving user input identifying the first location ("The vehicle task reminder will determine the best money exchange location based on the current location…If the GPS finds multiple money exchange locations that are within the same distance from the current location, the choice is left for the user. Once the user chooses a suitable location, the device will provide the user with all possible route options", [0033], "The vehicle task reminder device further includes a display controller 608…for interfacing with display 610…a touch screen panel 616", [0040]); defining a set of location-based tasks including the first location-based task and one or more additional location-based tasks ("In this embodiment, the user has set a to do list containing 6 different tasks with 6 different corresponding times and locations", [0028], "The system will manipulate the added task according to its as well as other tasks priorities, times, and locations", [0033]); generating, by the task-service processor, a work list comprising one or more of the set of location-based tasks based on filter criteria including at least one of (a) proximity to the task location, (b) assignment status, or (c) overdue status ("The device will automatically determine the best location and route according to what fits the current to do list best and provides the shortest total travel distance", [0033], "The system will manipulate the added task according to its as well as other tasks priorities, times, and locations providing the user with the shortest total travel distance and the most convenient and efficient task performance", [0033], "The system continues to show it as 'waiting' in the to do list", [0032]).
However, Alzahrani does not teach of structured task content including at least one of (1) required materials, (ii) a work group identifier, or (iii) an assigned vehicle operator; receiving user input via a graphical map interface; and transmitting at least one location-based task from the work list to the location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representing a location of the at least one location-based task.
Nelissen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of receiving user input via a graphical map interface ("Certain elements from the map 104, in particular implementations, could be displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) of a user's mobile device", Col. 4 line 1, "The alert may simply involve a map being generated on a graphical user interface on the device, with the user's current location, the location of the relevant task or other information, and a description of the task being displayed", Col. 10 line 47); and transmitting at least one location-based task from the work list to the location-aware vehicle for display in association with a map representing a location of the at least one location-based task ("The alert may simply involve a map being generated on a graphical user interface on the device, with the user's current location, the location of the relevant task or other information, and a description of the task being displayed", Col. 10 line 47).
However, Nelissen does not teach of structured task content including at least one of (1) required materials, (ii) a work group identifier, or (iii) an assigned vehicle operator.
Forbes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of structured task content including at least one of (1) required materials, (ii) a work group identifier, or (iii) an assigned vehicle operator ("Blueprinter 62 processes the approved construction design and logically splits, locates, sequences and values the labour and materials required by jobs 102 to deploy design 80", [0144], "an allocator configured to compare the jobs with a database of approved parties and characteristics of the respective parties, to identify for each of the jobs at least one of the approved parties that is fit to implement the respective jobs, and to allocate one or more of the jobs to one or more of the parties so identified", [0009]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Alzahrani with the teaching of Nelissen to provide a graphical map interface to visualize and interact with task locations, and the teaching of Forbes to defined structured task content comprising at least one of required task materials, a task work group, or an assigned vehicle operator with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the usability of the system by enabling the user to view their current location in relation to the task location visually (Nelissen, [0063]), and to improve the accuracy of the system by ensuring that each task carries information necessary to identify which resources have the materials, skill set, and capacity required to execute it (Forbes, [0144]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein receiving a request from a first device having a user interface to create a first location-based task includes receiving a request from a user interface device integrated into the location-aware vehicle ("The to do list may be set via manual input from the vehicle 402, or remotely via an external connection such as a server 404, a personal computer 406…or via a personal smart phone 410", Col. 5 line 7; "…a current time and location corresponding to any task of the at least one to do list", [0005]).
Regarding claim 3 modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein creating a first location-based task based on the input received from the first device ("The to do list may be set via manual input from the vehicle 402, or remotely via an external connection such as a server 404, a personal computer 406…or via a personal smart phone 410", [0026]) includes associating task content with the first location-based task (Fig. 5, REMINDER and TASK column).
Regarding claim 4, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 3 as stated above, additionally, wherein the task content includes one or more of a task location, task name, task category, task date, task assignment, materials associated with the first task, user notes and photos (See at least Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein associating the first location-based task with a first location ("…a current time and location corresponding to any task of the at least one to do list", [0005]).
However, modified Alzahrani does not teach of includes receiving an input at the first user interface indicating a location on a graphical map displayed on the first user interface.
Nelissen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of includes receiving an input at the first user interface indicating a location on a graphical map displayed on the first user interface ("For example, the term "dinner" may be associated with terms such as "restaurant", and a search may be conducted for restaurants in a user's vicinity. Such restaurants may be highlighted on a map that is shown on the user's mobile device 202 as the user drives from work to their home, Col. 5 line 54, implicit that the suggestions from the map can be used as input).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the location-based task of modified Alzahrani with the teaching of Nelissen to utilize a graphical map of the user interface as an input with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to simplify the process of creating a task and improve the user experience of utilizing the system (Nelissen, col. 1 line 65).
Regarding claim 6, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein associating the first location-based task with a first location includes identifying a current location of the location-aware vehicle and associating the current location of the location-aware vehicle with the first location ("A vehicle task reminder device includes…a GPS used to indicate location and direction…the processor…causes the emitter to activate the alarm signal when a current time and location correspond to any task of the at least one to do list", [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein associating the first location-based task with a first location includes receiving an input at the first user interface selecting a predetermined location saved in a memory device in communication with the first device ("A vehicle task reminder device includes a clock, a GPS used to indicate location and direction, and memory used to store predetermined information", [0005], implicit that the location falls under "predetermined information", "…the system checks the location of the vehicle and compares it to a predetermined home address saved in memory 602", [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 7 as stated above, additionally, wherein the predetermined location includes a saved track, route, or geographical area ("...the system checks the location of the vehicle and compares it to a predetermined home address saved in memory 602", [0022], shows that an address (geographical area) as the predetermined location).
Regarding claim 9, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, further comprising: receiving a second request from a second device having a second user interface to create a second location-based task ("The to do list may be set via manual input from the vehicle 402, or remotely via an external connection such as a server 404, a personal computer 406…or via a personal smart phone 410", [0026]); creating a location-based second task based on the input received from the second device ("Once a to do list has been set the process proceeds to step S204 where the system synchronizes the to do list with the vehicle's GPS and time", [0016]); storing the second location-based task in the task-service memory ("The to do list can be saved in the memory", [0016]); and creating a set of location-based tasks that includes the first location-based task and the second location-based task ("Once a to do list has been set the process proceeds to step S204 where the system synchronizes the to do list with the vehicle's GPS and time", [0016], see at least Fig. 5, shows multiple tasks each with their own location).
Regarding claim 11, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 9 as stated above, further comprising displaying the set of location-based tasks as a task list ("FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary to do list displaying different scenarios according to one example", [0012]) on a display screen of the first user interface of the first device or on a display screen of the second user interface of the second device ("The vehicle task reminder device further includes a display controller…with display 610…as well as a touch screen panel 616 on or separate from display 610", [0040]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
However, modified Alzahrani does not teach of further comprising displaying the first location associated with the first location-based task on a graphical map displayed on the first user interface.
Nelissen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising displaying the first location associated with the first location-based task on a graphical map displayed on the first user interface ("In addition, notifying the user can comprise generating a display of a map around the user's current location and the determined location, and providing a visual or audio indication of the task content", Col. 2 line 41).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Alzahrani with the teachings of Nelissen to display the location of the task on the user interface with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the user experience by providing a visual representation of the tasks (Nelissen, Col. 2 line 41).
Regarding claim 15, Alzahrani discloses a method of creating a location-based task for a location-aware vehicle ("The to do list may be set via manual input from the vehicle 402, or remotely via an external connection such as a server 404, a personal computer 406…or via a personal smart phone 410", [0026], "A vehicle task reminder device include…a GPS used indicate location", [0005]), comprising: receiving a request from a device having a user interface to create a location-based task ("The to do list may be set via manual input from the vehicle 402, or remotely via an external connection such as a server 404, a personal computer 406…or via a personal smart phone 410", [0026]); identifying the task location of the location-based task for the location-aware vehicle ("…a current time and location corresponding to any task of the at least one to do list", [0005], "A vehicle task reminder device include…a GPS used indicate location", [0005]) by receiving user input identifying the first location ("The vehicle task reminder will determine the best money exchange location based on the current location…If the GPS finds multiple money exchange locations that are within the same distance from the current location, the choice is left for the user. Once the user chooses a suitable location, the device will provide the user with all possible route options", [0033], "The vehicle task reminder device further includes a display controller 608…for interfacing with display 610…a touch screen panel 616", [0040]); determining task content of the location-based task, the task content comprising structured operational task data including the task location ("In this embodiment, the user has set a to do list containing 6 different tasks with 6 different corresponding times and locations", [0028]); and assigning the location-based task to the location-aware vehicle ("Once a to do list has been set the process proceeds to step S204 where the system synchronizes the to do list with the vehicle's GPS and time", [0016]) for execution of the task, at least in part via operation of the location-aware vehicle ("cause the emitter to activate an alarm signal when a current time and location correspond to any task of the at least one to do list", [0005], "the device will automatically determine the best location and route according to what fits the current to do list best and provides the shortest total travel distance", [0033]).
However, Alzahrani does not teach of receiving user input via a graphical map interface; and structured operational task data including one or more of a task name, task category, task materials required to perform the task, a task work group, an assigned vehicle operator, and vehicle identification.
Nelissen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of receiving user input via a graphical map interface ("Certain elements from the map 104, in particular implementations, could be displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) of a user's mobile device", Col. 4 line 1, "The alert may simply involve a map being generated on a graphical user interface on the device, with the user's current location, the location of the relevant task or other information, and a description of the task being displayed", Col. 10 line 47).
However, Nelissen does not teach of structured operational task data including one or more of a task name, task category, task materials required to perform the task, a task work group, an assigned vehicle operator, and vehicle identification.
Forbes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of structured operational task data including one or more of a task name, task category, task materials required to perform the task, a task work group, an assigned vehicle operator, and vehicle identification ("Blueprinter 62 processes the approved construction design and logically splits, locates, sequences and values the labour and materials required by jobs 102 to deploy design 80", [0144], "an allocator configured to compare the jobs with a database of approved parties and characteristics of the respective parties, to identify for each of the jobs at least one of the approved parties that is fit to implement the respective jobs, and to allocate one or more of the jobs to one or more of the parties so identified", [0009]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Alzahrani with the teaching of Nelissen to provide a graphical map interface to visualize and interact with task locations, and the teaching of Forbes to defined structured task content comprising one or more of a task name, task category, task materials required to perform the task, a task work group, an assigned vehicle operator, and vehicle identification with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the usability of the system by enabling the user to view their current location in relation to the task location visually (Nelissen, [0063]), and to improve the accuracy of the system by ensuring that each task carries information necessary to identify which resources have the materials, skill set, and capacity required to execute it (Forbes, [0144]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 15 as stated above, additionally, wherein identifying the task location of the location-based task for the location-aware vehicle includes identifying the task location using a geolocation system of the location-aware vehicle ("Once a to do list has been set the process proceeds to step S204 where the system synchronizes the to do list with the vehicle's GPS and time", [0016]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 15 as stated above, additionally, wherein identifying the task location of the location-based task for the location-aware vehicle ("…a current time and location corresponding to any task of the at least one to do list", [0005], "A vehicle task reminder device include…a GPS used indicate location", [0005]) includes receiving an output signal from the device ("The device also includes an emitter used to active an alarm signal", [0005]), the device including a touch-screen display user-interface ("The vehicle task reminder device further includes a display controller…with display 610…as well as a touch screen panel 616 on or separate from display 610", [0040]), and the output signal including an indication of a location ("based on GPS location tracking, an alarm may be sent", [0017]) based on an input received from a user touching the touch-screen display ("The vehicle task reminder device further includes a display controller…with display 610…as well as a touch screen panel 616 on or separate from display 610", [0040]).
However, modified Alzahrani does not teach of displaying a graphical map and indication of a location defined on the graphical map.
Nelissen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of displaying a graphical map ("In addition, notifying the user can comprise generating a display of a map around the user's current location and the determined location, and providing a visual or audio indication of the task content", Col. 2 line 41) and indication of a location defined on the graphical map (“In addition, notifying the user can comprise generating a display of a map around the user’s current location and determined location, and providing a visual or audio indication of the task content”, Col. 2 line 41).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Alzahrani to identify the task locations and output them on the user interface with the teachings of Nelissen to utilize the graphical map for the user interface with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the user experience by providing a visual representation of the tasks (Nelissen, Col. 2 line 41).
Regarding claim 18, modified Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 15 as stated above, further comprising communicating the location-based task and task content to the location-aware vehicle ("Once a to do list has been set the process proceeds to step S204 where the system synchronizes the to do list with the vehicle's GPS and time", [0016], the synchronization between the list to the vehicle implies communication).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alzahrani, Nelissen, and Forbes in view of Hamzehi et al. (EP3806007A1), hereinafter Hamzehi.
Regarding claim 10, Alzahrani teaches of all limitation of claim 9 as stated above.
However, Alzahrani does not teach of further comprising associating the second location-based task with a second location-aware vehicle.
Hamzehi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising associating the second location-based task with a second location-aware vehicle ("…a method for assigning a plurality of vehicles to a plurality of vehicular tasks", [0003], "the information on the plurality of vehicles may comprise for each vehicle at least one of information on a current position of the vehicle…", [0009]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Alzahrani with the teaching of Hamzehi to include a second task associated with a second vehicle with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the overall performance of the system by enabling the completion of multiple tasks simultaneously (Hamzehi, [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Alzahrani teaches of limitations of claim 9 as stated above.
However, Alzahrani does not teach of further comprising filtering the set of location-based tasks to create a work list includes less than all of the location-based tasks of the set of location-based tasks.
Hamzehi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising filtering the set of location-based tasks to create a work list includes less than all of the location-based tasks of the set of location-based tasks ("This plurality of potential assignments may be reduced, e.g., based on one or more filter criteria", [0039]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Alzahrani with the teaching of Hamzehi to enable filtering on the list of tasks with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of the system by grouping and organizing tasks, which help with fleet routing and maintenance (Hamzehi, [0002]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alzahrani, Nelissen, and Forbes in view of Ricci (US9142072B2), hereinafter Ricci.
Regarding claim 14, Alzahrani teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, specifically, of the first location-based task ("A vehicle task reminder device include…a GPS used indicate location", [0005]).
However, Alzahrani does not teach of further comprising identifying materials required for the first location-based task and associating the identified materials with the first location-based task.
Ricci, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising identifying materials required for the first location-based task and associating the identified materials with the first location-based task (FIG. 40, 4030 "Include a list of items associated with the action with the notification").
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the location-based task of Alzahrani with the list of items of Ricci to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements in order to improve the performance of the system by providing the user with additional details to complete the task.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamzehi in view of Alzahrani in view of Nelissen, and further in view of Forbes.
Regarding claim 19, Hamzehi teaches of a method of managing a plurality of location-based tasks for a plurality of location-aware vehicles ("…a method for assigning a plurality of vehicles to a plurality of vehicular tasks", [0003], "…the information of the plurality of vehicles may comprise for each vehicle at least one of information on a current position of the vehicle…", [0009], information regarding current position of the vehicle implies location-awareness), comprising: identifying the plurality of location-aware vehicles, including identifying a first location-aware vehicle and a second location-aware vehicle ("…a method for assigning a plurality of vehicles to a plurality of vehicular tasks", [0003]), the first location-aware vehicle configured to determine a vehicle location of the first location-aware vehicle and the second location-aware vehicle configured to determine a vehicle location of the second location-aware vehicle ("…the information of the plurality of vehicles may comprise for each vehicle at least one of information on a current position of the vehicle…", [0009], information regarding current position of the vehicle implies location-awareness); assigning the first location-based task to the first location-aware vehicle and assigning the second location-based task to the second location-aware vehicle ("The method comprises assigning the plurality of vehicular tasks based on an output of the machine-learning model", [0003], "Assigning 140 the plurality of vehicles to the plurality of vehicular tasks comprises selecting 145 at least a subset of the plurality of assignments based on a selection criterion", [0042]); communicating a first location-based task to the first location-aware vehicle ("…a method for assigning a plurality of vehicles to a plurality of vehicular tasks", [0003], implicit that the assignment is the communication between the task and the vehicle, "…the information of the plurality of vehicles may comprise for each vehicle at least one of information on a current position of the vehicle…", [0009], information regarding current position of the vehicle implies location-awareness); and communicating a second location-based task to the second location-aware vehicle ("…a method for assigning a plurality of vehicles to a plurality of vehicular tasks", [0003], implicit that the assignment is the communication between the task and the vehicle, "…the information of the plurality of vehicles may comprise for each vehicle at least one of information on a current position of the vehicle…", [0009], information regarding current position of the vehicle implies location-awareness).
However, Hamzehi does not teach of defining the plurality of location-based tasks, including a first task having first task content and a second task having second task content; and associating each of the plurality of location-based tasks with a task location, including associating the first location-based task with a first task location, and associating a second location-based task with a second task location.
Alzahrani, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of defining the plurality of location-based tasks, including a first task having first task content and a second task having second task content (See at least Fig. 5), each of the first task content and the second task content including structured operational task data ("In this embodiment, the user has set a to do list containing 6 different task with 6 different corresponding times and locations", [0028]); and associating each of the plurality of location-based tasks with a task location, including associating the first location-based task with a first task location, and associating a second location-based task with a second task location (See at least Fig. 5), wherein each associated task location includes receiving user input identifying the task location ("The vehicle task reminder will determine the best money exchange location based on the current location…If the GPS finds multiple money exchange locations that are within the same distance from the current location, the choice is left for the user. Once the user chooses a suitable location, the device will provide the user with all possible route options", [0033], "The vehicle task reminder device further includes a display controller 608…for interfacing with display 610…a touch screen panel 616", [0040]).
However, Alzahrani does not teach of structured operational task data including at least one of required task materials, a task work group, or an assigned vehicle operator; receiving user input via a graphical map interface; for display in association with a map representation of the first task location; and for display in association with a map representation of the second task location.
Nelissen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of receiving user input via a graphical map interface ("Certain elements from the map 104, in particular implementations, could be displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) of a user's mobile device", Col. 4 line 1, "The alert may simply involve a map being generated on a graphical user interface on the device, with the user's current location, the location of the relevant task or other information, and a description of the task being displayed", Col. 10 line 47); for display in association with a map representation of the first task location ("Certain elements from the map 104, in particular implementations, could be displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) of a user's mobile device", Col. 4 line 1, "The alert may simply involve a map being generated on a graphical user interface on the device, with the user's current location, the location of the relevant task or other information, and a description of the task being displayed", Col. 10 line 47); and for display in association with a map representation of the second task location ("Certain elements from the map 104, in particular implementations, could be displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) of a user's mobile device", Col. 4 line 1, "The alert may simply involve a map being generated on a graphical user interface on the device, with the user's current location, the location of the relevant task or other information, and a description of the task being displayed", Col. 10 line 47).
However, Nelissen does not teach of structured operational task data including at least one of required task materials, a task work group, or an assigned vehicle operator.
Forbes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of structured operational task data including at least one of required task materials, a task work group, or an assigned vehicle operator ("Blueprinter 62 processes the approved construction design and logically splits, locates, sequences and values the labour and materials required by jobs 102 to deploy design 80", [0144], "an allocator configured to compare the jobs with a database of approved parties and characteristics of the respective parties, to identify for each of the jobs at least one of the approved parties that is fit to implement the respective jobs, and to allocate one or more of the jobs to one or more of the parties so identified", [0009]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the method of Hamzehi with the teachings of Alzahrani of defining a plurality of tasks having their respective task content and location, the teaching of Nelissen to provide a graphical map interface to visualize and interact with task locations, and the teaching of Forbes to defined structured task content comprising at least one of required task materials, a task work group, or an assigned vehicle operator with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the overall performance of the system by enabling the completion of multiple tasks simultaneously (Hamzehi, [0005]), and to improve the efficiency of the system by organizing each task (along with their respective content and location) to their respective vehicle. Additionally, to improve the usability of the system by enabling the user to view their current location in relation to the task location visually (Nelissen, [0063]), and to improve the accuracy of the system by ensuring that each task carries information necessary to identify which resources have the materials, skill set, and capacity required to execute it (Forbes, [0144]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Hamzehi teaches of all limitations of claim 19 as stated above.
However, modified Hamzehi does not teach of wherein the first task location is different from the second task location and the first location-based task is different from the second location-based task.
Alzahrani, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the first task location is different from the second task location and the first location-based task is different from the second location-based task (See at least Fig. 5).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Hamzehi with the teaching of Alzahrani of different task locations and location-based task with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the overall performance of the system by enabling the completion of multiple tasks simultaneously (Hamzehi, [0005]), and to improve the efficiency of the system by organizing each task (along with their respective content and location) to their respective vehicle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ABIGAIL LEE ESPINOZA
Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657