DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-11, & 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TOKUDA (Translation of JP 2000209649.).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Tokuda teaches:
An electronic apparatus (Paragraph 0019.) comprising:
a communication unit (Fig. 1 Elements 1 & 2, the modem and its control unit.) configured to communicate with a battery (Fig. 1 Element 1, the modem. Paragraph 0019.);
an obtaining unit configured to obtain (Fig. 1 Element 9, the storage unit. Paragraph 0019.), from the battery, information related to a remaining capacity of the battery via the communication unit (Fig. Elements 1 & 2, the modem and its control unit. Paragraphs 0019 & 0023.);
an identification unit configured to identify a communication standard for obtaining the information related to the remaining capacity of the battery (Fig. 1 Element 8, the battery level detection unit. Paragraphs 0006-0010, 0015, 0019 & 0023. The reference explicitly discloses communication standards.); and
an output unit configured to output a remaining level of the battery obtained based on the information related to the remaining capacity of the battery (Fig. 1 Element 11, the display unit. Paragraphs 0002-0004, 0008, 0012-0013, 0019 & 0023.),
wherein the output unit obtains the remaining level of the battery by adjusting the remaining capacity of the battery in accordance with the communication standard being identified (Paragraphs 0019, 0023-0024.).
Regarding claim 2, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the output unit adjusts the remaining capacity of the battery by applying a correction amount, in accordance with the communication standard being identified, to the remaining capacity of the battery (Paragraphs 0023-0024.).
Regarding claim 3, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the output unit applies a first correction amount to the remaining capacity of the battery, in a case where the communication standard being identified is a first communication standard (Paragraphs 0023-0024.), and the output unit applies a second correction amount that is larger than the first correction amount to the remaining capacity of the battery, in a case where the communication standard being identified is a second communication standard earlier than the first communication standard (Paragraphs 0023-0024.).
Regarding claim 4, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the output unit adjusts the remaining capacity of the battery in a case where the communication standard being identified is a second communication standard earlier than a first communication standard (Paragraphs 0023-0024.), such that the remaining capacity of the battery varies more largely than a case where the first communication standard is identified (Paragraphs 0023-0024.).
Regarding claim 5, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the output unit adjusts the remaining capacity of the battery (Paragraphs 0023-0024.), in a case where the communication standard being identified is a second communication standard earlier than a first communication standard (Paragraphs 0023-0024.), by using a calculation formula that causes the remaining capacity of the battery to vary more largely than a case where the first communication standard is identified (Paragraphs 0023-0024.).
Regarding claim 6, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the output unit adjusts the remaining capacity of the battery in a case where the communication standard being identified is a second communication standard earlier than a first communication standard, or does not adjust the remaining capacity of the battery in a case where the communication standard being identified is a communication standard equal to or later than the first communication standard (Paragraphs 0023-0024. See Fig. 4 & 5 Step S28.).
Regarding claim 7, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the identification unit obtains information for identifying the communication standard from the battery via the communication unit (See Fig. 1 wherein there is a path between all of the elements for communication. That is why there are communication lines.).
Regarding claim 10, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the identifying of the communication standard by the identifying unit includes identifying a version or a revision of the communication standard (Paragraphs 0023-0024.).
Regarding claim 11, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the information related to the remaining capacity of the battery corresponds to the remaining capacity of the battery, and the correction amount is a correction amount for the remaining capacity of the battery (Paragraphs 0023-0024.).
Regarding Independent claim 14, Tokuda teaches:
A method of controlling an electronic apparatus that includes a communication unit configured to communicate with a battery (Paragraph 0019.), the method comprising:
obtaining, from the battery, information related to a remaining capacity of the battery via the communication unit (Fig. 1 Elements 1 & 2, the modem and its control unit. Paragraphs 0019 & 0023. See Fig. 4 & 5.);
identifying a communication standard for obtaining the information related to the remaining capacity of the battery (Fig. 1 Element 8, the battery level detection unit. Paragraphs 0006-0010, 0015, 0019 & 0023. The reference explicitly discloses communication standards. See Fig. 4 & 5.); and
outputting a remaining level of the battery obtained based on the information related to the remaining capacity of the battery (Fig. 1 Element 11, the display unit. Paragraphs 0002-0004, 0008, 0012-0013, 0019 & 0023. See Fig. 4 & 5.),
wherein, in the outputting, the remaining level of the battery is obtained by adjusting the remaining capacity of the battery in accordance with the communication standard being identified (Paragraphs 0023-0024. See Fig. 4 & 5.).
Regarding Independent claim 15, Tokuda teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions for performing a method of controlling an electronic apparatus that includes a communication unit configured to communicate with a battery (Paragraph 0019.), the method comprising:
obtaining, from the battery, information related to a remaining capacity of the battery via the communication unit (Fig. 1 Elements 1 & 2, the modem and its control unit. Paragraphs 0019 & 0023. See Fig. 4 & 5.);
identifying a communication standard for obtaining the information related to the remaining capacity of the battery (Fig. 1 Element 8, the battery level detection unit. Paragraphs 0006-0010, 0015, 0019 & 0023. The reference explicitly discloses communication standards. See Fig. 4 & 5.); and
outputting a remaining level of the battery obtained based on the information related to the remaining capacity of the battery (Fig. 1 Element 11, the display unit. Paragraphs 0002-0004, 0008, 0012-0013, 0019 & 0023. See Fig. 4 & 5.),
wherein, in the outputting, the remaining level of the battery is obtained by adjusting the remaining capacity of the battery in accordance with the communication standard being identified (Paragraphs 0023-0024. See Fig. 4 & 5.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOKUDA (Translation of JP 2000209649.).
Regarding claim 9, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 3, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda does not explicitly teach the first communication standard is a communication standard that specifies the transmission of information related to the remaining capacity of the battery to be mandatory, and the second communication standard is a communication standard that specifies the transmission of information related to the remaining capacity of the battery to be optional.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the first communication standard be a communication standard that specifies the transmission of information related to the remaining capacity of the battery to be mandatory, and the second communication standard be a communication standard that specifies the transmission of information related to the remaining capacity of the battery to be optional because Tokuda discloses techniques for computing power consumption and remaining battery charge and displaying the communicable time for a plurality of communication specifications. The distinguishing features merely refer to communication standards rather than specifying implementations of aspects of said standard and are considered as non-technical features. The skilled person would be aware of the standard and thus the subject-matter of dependent claim 9 would result from the common general knowledge of the skilled person.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOKUDA (Translation of JP 2000209649.) in view of Jamison (U.S. PGPub # 2014/0132220).
Regarding claim 13, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda does not explicitly teach the communication unit performs CC communication based on a USB Type-C standard.
Jamison teaches the communication unit performs CC communication based on a USB Type-C standard (Paragraph 0041.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Jamison to the teachings of Tokuda such that the communication unit performs CC communication based on a USB Type-C standard because this is a well-known, ubiquitously used, standard form of communication port that is dependable, reliable, and cheap.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 & 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 8, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the identification unit identifies the communication standard, based on a format of storing the information related to the remaining capacity of the battery.
Regarding claim 12, Tokuda teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Tokuda teaches the electronic apparatus can obtain information related to the remaining capacity of the dedicated battery, via a connection unit configured to connect a dedicated battery exclusively used for the electronic apparatus, wherein the output unit adjusts the remaining capacity of the battery in accordance with the communication standard being identified, but does not adjust the remaining capacity of the dedicated battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858