DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/29/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites that the fixing portion includes a first receiving portion and a second receiving portion. Yet, a first receiving portion and a second receiving portion are already recited in claim 1. Claim 7 is to be amended to be in accord with claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takada et al (US 7,0173,825).
As to claim 1, Takada et al discloses a joint assembly comprising: a joint that includes a flow path penetrating through the joint (Fig. 4); and a fixing portion (27) to which the joint is attached; wherein the joint includes: at least two mounting portions (6/20; 19) to which a tube (23; 11) is mounted; and an intermediate portion (21) that is located between the at least two mounting portions (see Figs. 3 and 4); and the fixing portion extends in a first intersecting direction (longitudinal axis of the plates 27a, 27b) intersecting the flow path and abuts on the intermediate portion (Fig. 4); wherein the fixing portion includes a first metal plate (27a) and a second metal plate (27b) that extend in the first intersecting direction; the first metal plate includes a first receiving portion (32a, Fig. 3) contacting and receiving the intermediate portion from one side in a second intersecting direction intersecting the flow path (Figs. 3 and 4); and the second metal plate includes a second receiving portion (32a) contacting and receiving the intermediate portion from another side in the second intersecting direction (Figs. 3 and 4).
Note that given the broadest reasonable interpretation, one of the manifold blocks 11, 12, 13 has been considered a tube, especially given the following definition of “tube”, from Oxford Languages Dictionary:
tube /to͞ob/ noun
1. a long, hollow cylinder of metal, plastic, glass, etc. for holding or transporting something, chiefly liquids or gases.
"a plastic tube is connected to the tap and the beer is ready to be pulled"
2. a thing in the form of or resembling a tube.
As to claim 2, Takada et al discloses the joint assembly according to claim 1, wherein the joint further includes a protruding portion that protrudes in the first intersecting direction from between the intermediate portion and one of the at least two mounting portions.
As to claim 3, Takada et al discloses the joint assembly according to claim 1, wherein the joint further includes at least two protruding portions that protrudes in the first intersecting direction from between the intermediate portion and the at least two mounting portions; and the fixing portion is located between the two protruding portions and abuts on the intermediate portion located between the two protruding portions. Refer to the foregoing annotated figure.
As to claim 5, Takada et al discloses a joint assembly comprising: a joint that includes a flow path penetrating through the joint (Fig. 4); and a fixing portion (27) to which the joint is attached; wherein the joint includes: at least two mounting portions (6/20; 19) to which a tube (23; 11) is mounted; and an intermediate portion (21) that is located between the at least two mounting portions (Figs. 3 and 4); and the fixing portion extends in a first intersecting direction (longitudinal axis of the plates 27a, 27b) intersecting the flow path and abuts on the intermediate portion (Fig. 4); wherein the intermediate portion includes: a large diameter portion that has a predetermined diameter; and a small diameter portion that is located adjacent to the large diameter portion in an extending direction along the flow path and has a smaller diameter than the large diameter portion; and the fixing portion includes: a first receiving portion (32a, Fig. 3) contacting and receiving the intermediate portion from one side in a second intersecting direction intersecting the flow path (Figs. 3 and 4); and the second metal plate includes a second receiving portion (32a) contacting and receiving the intermediate portion from another side in the second intersecting direction (Figs. 3 and 4).
Note that given the broadest reasonable interpretation, one of the manifold blocks 11, 12, 13 has been considered a tube, especially given the following definition of “tube”, from Oxford Languages Dictionary:
tube /to͞ob/ noun
1. a long, hollow cylinder of metal, plastic, glass, etc. for holding or transporting something, chiefly liquids or gases.
"a plastic tube is connected to the tap and the beer is ready to be pulled"
2. a thing in the form of or resembling a tube.
As to claim 6, Takada et al discloses the joint assembly according to claim 5, wherein the fixing portion further includes a metal plate that includes a through-hole through which the mounting portion is inserted, and an edge of the through-hole abutting on the joint. Refer to Figs. 3 and 4.
As to claim 7, Takada et al discloses the joint assembly according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate portion includes: a large diameter portion that has a predetermined diameter; and a small diameter portion that is located adjacent to the large diameter portion in an extending direction along the flow path and has a smaller diameter than the large diameter portion; and the fixing portion includes: (the) first receiving portion contacting and receiving the intermediate portion from one side in a second intersecting direction intersecting the flow path; and the second metal plate includes (the) second receiving portion contacting and receiving the intermediate portion from another side in the second intersecting direction.
As to claim 8, Tanaka et al discloses the joint assembly according to claim 7, wherein the fixing portion further includes a metal plate that includes a through-hole through which the mounting portion is inserted, and an edge of the through-hole abutting on the joint. Refer to Figs. 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al in view of Franz et al (US 2016/0356558).
As to claim 9, Takada et al is silent as to whether his assembly and system can be used in refrigeration, cooling, heat exchange, or the like which employ coolant and coolant distribution.
Nevertheless, Franz et al teaches a fluid manifold similar to that of Takada et al, and used in a cooling system.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ Takada et al’s assembly in a cooling system, as taught by Franz et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide easy connection of a plurality of ports by one operation (see col. 1, ll. 6-8).
As to claim 10, Takada et al is silent as to whether his assembly and system can be used in refrigeration, heat exchange, or the like which employ coolant and coolant distribution.
Nevertheless, Franz et al teaches a fluid manifold similar to that of Takada et al, and used in a cooling system.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ Takada et al’s assembly in a cooling system, as taught by Franz et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide easy connection of a plurality of ports by one operation (see col. 1, ll. 6-8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679