DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 05/30/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). None of certified copies of the priority documents have been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 05/30/2024 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7,
The recitation “a remote antenna” in lines 1-2 is considered vague because it’s confused with “a remote antenna” in line 2 of claim 1. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 8,
The recitation “the end” in line 6 is considered indefinite because it does not have and antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 13,
The recitation “a plastic latch feature facilitating attachment to a water meter communications module” in lines 2-3 is considered vague because it’s unclear regarding what is attached to a water meter communications module. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 14,
The recitation “the RF signal” in line 4 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattox (US 20220328963), hereinafter Mattox.
Regarding claim 1,
Mattox discloses an antenna apparatus (a pit lid/antenna 115, Fig 2), comprising:
a coaxial cable (an antenna cable 150, Fig 2) with one end of the coaxial cable forming a remote antenna (an antenna 160, Fig 2) and the other end of the coaxial cable comprising a local coupler (a sensor transmission unit 105, Fig 2), wherein the coaxial cable is in a water meter installation comprising a water meter (a valve chamber 120, Fig 1).
Mattox does not explicitly teach the antenna cable 150 is a coaxial cable, and both ends of the antenna cable 150 are over-molded protection.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna cable is a coaxial cable, and an end of a coaxial cable is over-molded for the purpose of protection (Mui, US 20200185817, over-molding 120 at an end of coaxial cable 113, Fig 10; paragraph [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna cable being a coaxial cable, wherein both ends of the coaxial cable being over-molded protection in a water meter installation comprising a water meter in Mattox, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
[AltContent: textbox (Mattox (US 20220328963))]
[AltContent: textbox (Mattox (US 20220328963))]
Regarding claim 2,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the local coupler is configured to snap-on to a communications module of the water meter.
However, Mattox teaches the sensor transmission unit 105 (the local coupler) connects to the acoustic sensor 100 (the water meter) via a data cable 140 (Fig 2). It’s well known in the art that an electronic unit such as a transmission unit comprises a mounting clip to snap on to another electronic unit such as an acoustic sensor (Schaeffer, US 6731952, mounting clip 27, Fig 2). Also, it’s well known in the art that an acoustic sensor comprises a communications module (Patel, US 20110282596, an acoustic sensor 130, a communications module 125, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a local coupler being configured to snap-on to a communications module of a water meter in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
[AltContent: textbox (Patel (US 20110282596))]
Regarding claim 3,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the local coupler comprises an RF coupler operable for wideband RF frequencies ranging from 790 MHz to 1900 MHz.
However, it’s well known in the art that a transmission unit comprises an RF coupler (Yamanouchi, US 20190187266, coupler 1075, Fig 9), and an RF coupler operable for wideband frequencies with low insertion loss is well known in the art (Tsironis, US 12181514, Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a local coupler comprising an RF coupler operable for wideband RF frequencies ranging from 790 MHz to 1900 MHz in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
[AltContent: textbox (Yamanouchi (US 20190187266))]
[AltContent: textbox (Tsironis (US 12181514))]
Regarding claim 4,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Mattox does not explicitly teach an RF coupler operates with low losses of less than 10 dB for wideband RF frequencies ranging from 790 Mhz to 1900 Mhz.
However, it’s well known in the art that an RF coupler is operable for wideband frequencies with low insertion loss (Tsironis, US 12181514, Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an RF coupler operating with low losses of less than 10 dB for wideband RF frequencies ranging from 790 Mhz to 1900 Mhz in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 5,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the local coupler comprises a clip-shaped coupler that engages as a clip with a radio associated with the water meter.
However, Mattox teaches the sensor transmission unit 105 (the local coupler) connects to the acoustic sensor 100 (the water meter) via a data cable 140 (Fig 2). It’s well known in the art that an electronic unit such as a transmission unit comprises a mounting clip to snap on to another electronic unit such as an acoustic sensor (Schaeffer, US 6731952, mounting clip 27, Fig 2). Also, it’s well known in the art that an acoustic sensor comprises a radio (Patel, US 20110282596, acoustic sensor 130, a radio transmitter 116, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a local coupler comprising a clip-shaped coupler engaging as a clip with a radio associated with a water meter in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 6,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Mattox teaches the remote antenna is installable on a water pit lid (a pit lid 115, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 7,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Mattox teaches the coaxial cable acts as a remote antenna (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 8,
Mattox discloses an antenna apparatus (a pit lid/antenna 115, Fig 2), comprising:
a coaxial cable (an antenna cable 150, Fig 2) and a remote antenna (an antenna 160, Fig 2);
a local coupler (a sensor transmission unit 105, Fig 2);
a plastic housing (a pipe 310, Fig 3; paragraph [0040]), wherein the local coupler is secured by the plastic housing (paragraph [0040]), wherein the coaxial cable connects to the local coupler at one end (Fig 2) and the remote antenna on the end.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the antenna cable 150 is a coaxial cable, and the sensor transmission unit 105 formed by two metal planes.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna cable is a coaxial cable, and a transmission unit formed by two metal plates (Hsu, US 20250106987, transmission unit 100, circuit patterns 126, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna cable being a coaxial cable, a local coupler being formed by two metal planes in Mattox, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
[AltContent: textbox (Mattox (US 20220328963))]
[AltContent: textbox (Hsu (US 20250106987))]
Regarding claim 9,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 8.
Mattox teaches the pipe 310 (the plastic housing) is a PVC material (paragraph [0040]).
Mattox does not explicitly teach the plastic housing comprises an IP68 compliant plastic housing.
However, it’s well known in the art that a PVC material may be an IP68 compliant material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plastic housing comprising an IP68 compliant plastic housing in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 10,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 8.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the coupler comprises an RF coupler.
However, it’s well known in the art that a transmission unit comprises an RF coupler (Yamanouchi, US 20190187266, coupler 1075, Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a coupler comprising an RF coupler in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 11,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 10.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the RF coupler operates with low losses of less than 10 dB.
However, it’s well known in the art that an RF coupler is operable for wideband frequencies with low insertion loss (Tsironis, US 12181514, Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an RF coupler operating with low losses of less than 10 dB in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 12,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 10.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the RF coupler operates with low losses of less than 10 dB for wideband RF frequencies ranging from 790 Mhz to 1900 Mhz.
However, it’s well known in the art that an RF coupler is operable for wideband frequencies with low insertion loss (Tsironis, US 12181514, Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an RF coupler operating with low losses of less than 10 dB for wideband RF frequencies ranging from 790 Mhz to 1900 Mhz in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 13,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 8.
Mattox teaches an internal antenna (an acoustic sensor, Fig 2); and the coaxial cable extending upward from the local coupler for connection to the remote antenna (Fig 2).
Mattox does not explicitly teach a plastic latch feature facilitating attachment to a water meter communications module.
However, it’s well known in the art that an electronic unit comprises a mounting clip facilitating attachment to another electronic unit (Schaeffer, US 6731952, mounting clip 27, Fig 2). Also, it’s well known in the art that an acoustic sensor comprises a communication module (Patel, US 20110282596, acoustic sensor 130, communications module 125, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plastic latch feature facilitating attachment to a water meter communications module in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 14,
Mattox discloses a metering system (a communication assembly 101, Fig 2), comprising:
a remote antenna (an antenna 160, Fig 2)
a coupler (a sensor transmission unit 105, Fig 2);
a coaxial cable (an antenna cable 150, Fig 2) picking up the RF signal from an internal antenna (an acoustic sensor 100, Fig 2) and which acts as the remote antenna (the antenna cable 150 connects to the remote antenna, Fig 2). Therefore, the antenna cable 150 acts as the remote antenna) to facilitate efficient transfer of RF signals, thereby enhancing signal strength and minimizing signal attenuation within the metering system.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the antenna cable 150 is a coaxial cable and a water meter communications module.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna cable is a coaxial cable, and an acoustic sensor comprises a communications module (Patel, US 20110282596, an acoustic sensor 130, a communications module 125, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a coupler attached to a water meter communications module, a coaxial cable picking up an RF signal from an internal antenna of the water meter communications module and which acting as a remote antenna to facilitate efficient transfer of RF signals between the remote antenna and the water meter communications module in Mattox, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 16,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 14.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the coupler comprises a clip-shaped coupler that engages as a clip with the water meter communications module.
However, Mattox teaches the sensor transmission unit 105 (the coupler) connects to the acoustic sensor 100 (the water meter) via a data cable 140 (Fig 2). It’s well known in the art that an electronic unit such as a transmission unit comprises a mounting clip to snap on to another electronic unit such as an acoustic sensor (Schaeffer, US 6731952, mounting clip 27, Fig 2). Also, it’s well known in the art that an acoustic sensor comprises a radio (Patel, US 20110282596, acoustic sensor 130, a radio transmitter 116, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a coupler comprising a clip-shaped coupler that engaging as a clip with a water meter communications module in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 17,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 14.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the water meter communications module comprises a radio.
However, it’s well known in the art that communications module comprises a radio (Patel, US 20110282596, a radio transmitter 116, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 18,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 14.
Mattox does not explicitly teach the coupler comprises an RF coupler operable for wideband RF frequencies ranging from 790 MHz to 1900 MHz.
However, it’s well known in the art that a transmission unit comprises an RF coupler (Yamanouchi, US 20190187266, coupler 1075, Fig 9), and an RF coupler operable for wideband frequencies with low insertion loss is well known in the art (Tsironis, US 12181514, Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a coupler comprising an RF coupler operable for wideband RF frequencies ranging from 790 MHz to 1900 MHz in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Regarding claim 19,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 14.
Mattox teaches the coaxial cable forms the remote antenna at one end (Fig 2) and the other end of the coaxial cable comprises a local coupler (the sensor transmission unit 105 is a local coupler, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 20,
Mattox as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 14.
Mattox does not explicitly teach both ends of the coaxial cable are over-molded for protection in a water meter installation comprising a water meter.
However, Mattox teaches both ends of the coaxial cable are in a water meter installation comprising a water meter (a valve chamber 120, Fig 1), and it’s well known in the art that an end of a coaxial cable is over-molded for the purpose of protection (Mui, US 20200185817, over-molding 120 at an end of coaxial cable 113, Fig 10; paragraph [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use both ends of a coaxial cable being over-molded for protection in Mattox as modified, in order to provide a novel antenna arrangement for remotely transmitting readings to a remote receiver.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the coupler comprises an RF coupler that enhances a battery life of a battery associated with the metering system by 60% for ECL2 coverage locations”.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845