Claims 1,4-5, 14 are amended. Claims 21-22 are newly added. Claims 3 and 6 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Coupe (US 20130017093) in view of Le Costaouec (US 20140150920).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 , 2-5, 7-22 is/are rejected under rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Coupe (US20130017093 ) in view of Le Costaouec (US 20140150920).
Regarding Claim 1 Coupe discloses method of manufacturing a woven fabric for a composite component for a turbine engine ([0008]), the woven fabric including a plurality of reinforcing fiber tows woven together in a three-dimensional pattern such that the woven fabric has a warp direction, a weft direction, and a thickness direction (Figure 4a-4b, [0052], the plurality of reinforcing fiber tows including a plurality of warp fiber tows and a plurality of weft fiber tows, the method comprising: arranging the plurality of warp fiber tows to extend in the warp direction, the plurality of warp fiber tows being arranged in the thickness direction to form a plurality of warp fiber layers (Figure4a-4b, [0051], [0058], warp yarn-101, weft yarn- 102) and being arranged in the weft direction to form a plurality of warp fiber columns (Figure 4a-4b); and weaving the plurality of weft fiber tows with the plurality of warp fiber tows ([0051]), the plurality of weft fiber tows including a multi-layer weft fiber tow, the multi-layer weft fiber tow being woven with …that extends two or more warp fiber layers of the plurality of warp fiber layers (Figure 4a-4b, warp yarn-101, weft yarn- 102 ). Coupe didn’t disclose the multi-layer weft fiber tow being woven with at least one multi-layer turnaround that extends two or more warp fiber layers of the plurality of warp fiber layers. In the related field of art, Le Costaouec discloses the multi-layer weft fiber tow being woven with at least one multi-layer turnaround that extends two or more warp fiber layers of the plurality of warp fiber layers (Figure 2c, [0028], weft fiber-44 being woven with at least one multi-layer turnaround that extends two or more warp fiber layers of the plurality of warp fiber layers- 56a-56g). Further, Le Costaouec showing that the multi-layer weft fiber tow is directed in a first direction in the weft direction before the at least one multi-layer turnaround, and is directed in a second direction in the weft direction after the multi-layer turnaround, the second direction being opposite to the first direction (Figure 2c).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to Coupe’s teaching of the composite component with that of the Le Costaouec’s teaching of the weaving method for making a spiral shaped composite material (abstract).
Regarding Claim 2 Coupe discloses all limitations of claim 1 but didn’t disclose that wherein weaving the plurality of weft fiber tows includes weaving the multi-layer weft fiber tow in a spiral pattern. Further, Le Costaouec discloses spiral motion of the weft yarn-66 [0033].
Regarding Claim 4, Coupe/ Le Costaouec disclose wherein the at least one multi layer turnaround extends two or more warp fiber columns of the plurality of warp fiber columns (Figure 2c , Le Costaouec).
Regarding Claim 5, Coupe/ Le Costaouec disclose at least one multi layer turnaround is a first multi-layer turnaround , and the multi-layer weft fiber tow includes a plurality of multi-layer turnaround, the first multi-layer turnaround being one turnaround portion of the plurality of multi-layer portions ( Figure 2c, [0028], Le Costaouec).
Regarding Claim 7 Coupe discloses the plurality of reinforcing fiber tows further includes a plurality of interlocking fiber tows ([0057]).
Regarding Claim 8 Coupe discloses, wherein the plurality of interlocking fiber tows extends in the warp direction (Figure 4a-4b).
Regarding Claim 9 Coupe discloses all limitations of claim 1 but didn’t disclose that the multi-layer weft fiber tow is woven with a single-layer turnaround. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art Le Costaouec, discloses wherein the multi-layer weft fiber tow is woven with a single-layer turnaround (Figure 2c, [0034], weft yarn-44 has a single layer turnaround ).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Coupe’s teaching of manufacturing a woven fabric for a composite component with that of Le Costaouec’s teaching of weaving for the purpose of creating a consistent thickness, smooth transitions, or a specific edge profile in the final composite material.
Regarding Claim 10 Coupe discloses wherein one warp fiber layer of the plurality of warp fiber layers includes a first end warp fiber located at one end of the woven fabric in the weft direction (Figure 4a-b showing a first end warp fibre-101 located at one end of the woven fabric in the weft direction ), a second end warp fiber located at the other end of the woven fabric in the weft direction (Figure 4a-b a second end warp fiber-101 located at the other end of the woven fabric in the weft direction). Further, Le Costaouec discloses and inner warp fibers located between the first end warp fiber and the second end warp fiber, the single-layer turnaround being located adjacent to at least one of the inner warp fibers (Figure 2c, [0025], [0031]-[0033]]).
Regarding Claim 11 Coupe discloses , wherein the multi-layer weft fiber tow is one multi-layer weft fiber tow of a plurality of multi-layer weft fiber tows (Figures 4a-b).
Regarding Claim 12 Coupe discloses wherein the plurality of multi-layer weft fiber tows are arranged in weft fiber columns arranged in the warp direction (Figures 4a-b).
Regarding Claim 13 Coupe discloses , wherein at least one weft fiber column includes the multi-layer weft fiber tow and another weft fiber tow of the plurality of weft fiber tows (Figures 4a-b).
Regarding Claim 14 Coupe/ Le Costaouec disclose, wherein the other weft fiber tow is another multi-layer weft fiber tow with a multi-layer turnaround that extends two or more warp fiber layers of the plurality of warp fiber layers (Figure 2c, Le Costaouec ).
Regarding Claim 15 Coupe discloses all limitations of claim 1 but didn’t disclose that, wherein arranging the plurality of warp fiber tows includes forming an outer perimeter layer of warp fiber tows, and wherein weaving the plurality of weft fiber tows includes weaving the multi-layer weft fiber tow to circumscribe the outer perimeter layer of warp fiber tows. However , In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Le Costaouec discloses spiral motion of the weft yarn-66 which meets the claim limitation(Figure2c , [0031], [0033]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to modify Coupe’s teaching of manufacturing a woven fabric for a composite component with that of Le Costaouec’s teaching of weaving for the purpose of creating a strong layered structure with consistent thickness for building complex shapes,
Regarding Claim 16 Coupe discloses all limitations of claim 15 but didn’t disclose that wherein arranging the plurality of warp fiber tows includes forming an inner perimeter layer of warp fiber tows, the inner perimeter layer of warp fiber tows being located inward of the outer perimeter layer of warp fiber tows, and weaving the plurality of weft fiber tows includes weaving the multi-layer weft fiber tow to circumscribe the inner perimeter layer of warp fiber tows. However , In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Le Costaouec discloses spiral motion of the weft yarn-66 which meets the claim limitation (Figure 2c, [0025], [0031]-[0033]]).
Regarding Claim 17, Le Costaouec discloses wherein the multi-layer weft fiber tow is woven with a single-layer turnaround within the outer perimeter layer of warp fiber tows (Figure 2C, [0025], weft yarn-44).
Regarding Claim 18 Le Costaouec discloses wherein the single-layer turnaround is one single-layer turnaround of a plurality of single-layer turnarounds located within the outer perimeter layer of warp fiber tows (Figure 2c).
Regarding Claim 19 Coupe discloses, method of forming a composite component, the method comprising: preparing a woven fabric using the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of reinforcing fiber tows includes prepreg fiber tows to introduce a matrix material ([0067]); preparing a preform using the woven fabric ([0006]-[0050]); and curing the preform including the matrix material to generate the composite component ([0067]-[0068]).
Regarding Claim 20, Coupe discloses method of forming a composite component, the method comprising: preparing a woven fabric using the method of claim 1 (as discussed above); preparing a preform using the woven fabric ([0006], [0050); injecting a matrix material into the preform to generate an infiltrated preform; and curing the infiltrated preform to generate the composite component ([0067],[0068]).
Regarding Claim 21, Coupe/Le Costaouec disclose , wherein the multi-layer weft fiber tow includes a multi-layer jog, wherein the multi-layer weft fiber tow continues to be woven in the same direction of travel after the multi-layer jog as the multi-layer weft fiber tow was being woven before the multi-layer jog.
Regarding Claim 22, Coupe/ Le Costaouec disclose , wherein arranging the plurality of warp fiber tows includes forming an outer perimeter layer of warp fiber tows (Figure 2C, warp fiber-56a-56g, Le Costaouec), and wherein weaving the plurality of weft fiber tows includes weaving the multi-layer weft fiber tow in a spiral pattern to circumscribe the outer perimeter layer of warp fiber tows (Figure 2C, weft fiber-44, Le Costaouec).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741