DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 07/08/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 2, 8 and 14 have been amended. Claim 1 has already been cancelled. No Claim has been added. Claims 2-19 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2, 8, and 14, and the dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments directed to amended limitation have been addressed in the detail rejection below with new reference by Wang (US 20190114486 A1).
The arguments regarding dependent claims for the virtue of their dependency are moot because the independent claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blattner et al. (US 20180054466 A1), and in view of Wang (US 20190114486 A1), and further in view of Wilhite et al. (US 20170246545 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Blattner discloses A system (¶23 reciting “a system”) comprising:
input/output circuitry configured to: (¶87 and Fig. 6 disclosing client devices 602a and 602b. Claim 18 reciting “A system for enabling perception of multiple online personas in an instant messaging communications session, the system comprising a processor connected to a storage device and one or more input/output devices”)
receive media content for display in a group activity session; (¶89 reciting “The message then is received by the second client 602b (step 614). Upon receipt of the message, the second client 602b displays the message in a user interface in which messages from the user of the first client 602a are displayed.”)
generate for display a display screen including the media content and at least one image, wherein the at least one image corresponds to a respective user in the group watch session; (Fig. 2 showing an image/avatar for each user; and ¶71 reciting “The processor displays a user interface for the instant messaging session including the avatar associated with the sender and wallpaper applied to the user interface over which the avatar is displayed (step 307).” ¶89 disclosing displaying the received message(i.e. the media content), and reciting “Upon receipt of the message, the second client 602b displays the message in a user interface in which messages from the user of the first client 602a are displayed.”)
control circuitry configured to: (Fig. 6, host system 604)
identify a first frame of the media content; (¶72 reciting “The processor receives text of a Message entered by the sender to be sent to the instant message recipient (step 310) and sends a message corresponding to the entered text to the recipient (step 315).”)
access text data for the first frame of the media content;
extract at least one keyword from the text data for the first frame of the media content;
(¶51 disclosing a keyword “LOL”, and reciting “the text of a message may include a character string “LOL,” which is an acronym that stands for “laughing out loud. The processor compares the text of the message to multiple animation triggers that are associated with the avatar projected by the sender (step 320). A trigger may include any letter, number, or symbol that may be typed or otherwise entered using a keyboard or keypad.” Further, ¶75 disclosing extracting a trigger character string (i.e. a keyword) in the received message (i.e. a frame of the media content), and reciting “Referring again to FIG. 3, the processor determines whether a trigger is included within the message (step 325).”)
identify a second frame of the media content, based at least in part on the at least one keyword from the text data of the media content; (¶73 reciting “Referring also to FIG. 4, examples 400 of triggers associated with animations 405a-405q of a particular avatar model are shown. . . As illustrated, a trigger may be an English word, such as 415a . . . Other examples of a trigger include a particular abbreviation, such as “lol” 411n, and an English phrase, such as “Oh no” 415e.”, where the animations correspond to a second frame of the media content)
select a second portion from the second frame of the media content; and
modify a background of the at least one image to include the selected second portion from the second frame of the media content.
(¶69 reciting “the text of a message sent to an instant message recipient is searched for an animation trigger and, when a trigger is found, the avatar that represents the instant message sender is animated in a particular manner based on the particular trigger that is found. The wallpaper displayed for the avatar includes an animated object or animated objects. The object or objects may be animated based on the content of the instant message sent”. The wallpaper animation corresponds to a modified background including the second frame.)
However, Blattner does not explicitly disclose the text data as closed caption data.
Wang teaches a subtitle extraction method (ABST). Further, ¶150 and ¶172 teaches identifying video contents matching the key words of the subtitles. Subtitle data reads on closed caption data.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system (taught by Blattner) to replace the text data with subtitle data (i.e. closed caption data) (taught by Wang). The suggestions/motivations would have been to overcome the defects that the related technology can search only based on the type and name of the video (¶150, ¶172), and to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
However, Blattner in view of Wang does not explicitly disclose the group activity session being a group watch session.
Wilhite teaches “a game chat app” (ABST). ¶23 teaches a user can join a chatroom for a group chat session on a live sports event including two teams, and recites “In this example, the chatroom corresponds with the Golden State Warriors basketball team. . . an update is being automatically pushed into the Dub Nation chatroom regarding a live game involving the followed team. The update includes a short synopsis of the current state of the game (e.g., that the game is in the third quarter, what the score is, and game statistics of the leading player for each team)”. As shown in Fig. 6, a live sports event is displayed with chat.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system (taught by Blattner in view of Wang) to enable a user to join a group watch/chat session with a live sports event (taught by Wilhite). The suggestions/motivations would have been to solve the problem that “it may be difficult for multiple parties to socialize with each other about a recreational event, while simultaneously accessing event information normally supplied by recreational apps. In other words, it may be difficult for separate parties located remote from each other to simultaneously utilize multiple apps and experience the same recreational information. This may be especially true when the recreational event is live.“ (¶4-6), and to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 9, Blattner in view of Wang and Wilhite discloses The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to modify the background of the at least one image by replacing the background of the at least one image with the selected second portion from the second frame of the media content. (Blattner, ¶69 reciting “the text of a message sent to an instant message recipient is searched for an animation trigger and, when a trigger is found, the avatar that represents the instant message sender is animated in a particular manner based on the particular trigger that is found. The wallpaper displayed for the avatar includes an animated object or animated objects. The object or objects may be animated based on the content of the instant message sent”.)
Regarding Claim 10, Blattner in view of Wang and Wilhite discloses The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
retrieve user preference data from at least one user profile associated with a respective user in the group watch session; (Blattner, ¶141 disclosing retrieving user preference data (e.g. personality) based on user profile, and reciting “the features and functionality associated with the personality would be transparent to the instant message sender, and may be based upon one or more pre-selected profiles types when setting up the personality. For example, the instant message sender may be asked to choose from a group of personality types such as professional, management, informal, vacation, offbeat, etc.”) and
modify the background of the at least one image of the respective user based on the retrieved user preference data. (¶143 reciting “an instant message sender may assign a global avatar to all personalities, but assign different buddy sounds on a per-group basis to other personalities (e.g. work, family, friends), and assign buddy wallpaper and smileys on an individual basis to individual personalities corresponding to particular instant message recipients within a group.” In addition, ¶79 reciting “The triggers for the animation of wallpaper objects also may be user-configurable such that a user selects whether a particular type of animation is to be included, any animations are to be played, and triggers for one or more of the wallpaper objects.”)
Regarding Claim 11, Blattner in view of Wang and Wilhite discloses The system of claim 10, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to modify the background of the at least one image by:
selecting a visual effect based on the retrieved user preference data; (Blattner, ¶101 disclosing selecting animation (i.e. a visual effect) based on personality, and reciting “In one example of an avatar personality, an avatar named SoccerBuddy (not shown) is associated with an energetic personality. In fact, the personality of the SoccerBuddy avatar may be described as energetic, bouncy, confidently enthusiastic, and youthful. The SoccerBuddy avatar's behaviors reflect events in soccer matches. For example, the avatar's yell animation is an “ole, ole, ole” chant, his big-smile animation is “gooooooaaaaaallllll,” and, during a frown animation or a tongue-out animation, the avatar shows a yellow card.” In addition, Fig. 6, 616b reciting the Client 2 602 b “Search text of message for animation triggers to identify a type of animation to play”. Therefore, Plattner discloses to identify an animation, i.e. a visual effect, based on user profile).and
generating for display the at least one image with the visual effect applied hereto. (Blattner, ¶101)
Regarding Claim 12, Blattner in view of Wang and Wilhite discloses The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to modify the background of the at least one image by:
selecting a visual effect based on audio data or text data provided by a user profile during the group watch session; (Blattner, ¶141 disclosing selecting the personality based on user profile, and reciting “the features and functionality associated with the personality would be transparent to the instant message sender, and may be based upon one or more pre-selected profiles types when setting up the personality. For example, the instant message sender may be asked to choose from a group of personality types such as professional, management, informal, vacation, offbeat, etc.” In addition, Fig. 6, 616b reciting the Client 2 602 b “Search text of message for animation triggers to identify a type of animation to play”. Therefore, Plattner discloses to identify an animation, i.e. a visual effect, based on user profile.) and
generating for display the at least one image with the visual effect applied thereto. (Blattner, Fig. 6, 620b: “Play the identified animation for the first avatar that is associated with the user of Client 1”)
Regarding Claim 13, Blattner in view of Wang and Wilhite discloses The system of claim 8, wherein the at least one image comprises an avatar corresponding to a respective user in the group watch session. (Blattner, ¶59 reciting “The sender avatar 135 or the recipient avatar 115 may be animated to reflect the weather at the geographic locations of the sender and the recipient, respectively. For example, if rain is falling at the geographic location of the sender, then the sender avatar 135 may be animated to put on a rain coat or open an umbrella. The wallpaper corresponding to the sender avatar 135 also may include rain drops animated to appear to be failing on the sender avatar 135.”)
Claim 2, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 8, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 8.
Claim 3, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 9, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 9.
Claim 4, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 10, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 10.
Claim 5, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 11, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 11.
Claim 6, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 12, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 12.
Claim 7, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 13, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 13.
Claim 14, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 8, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 8.
Claim 15, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 9, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 9.
Claim 16, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 10, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 10.
Claim 17, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 11, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 11.
Claim 18, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 12, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 12.
Claim 19, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 13, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 13.
Conclusion
/YI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619