DETAILED ACTION
The present ap plication, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 08, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claims 30 and 36 objected to because of the following informalities: The claims must be written in one sentence form only (see MPEP 7.34.15). However, the claims include “bullet points” which can be confused as different sentences. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 1-3 and 45 , the phrase "like the LMF" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "like the LMF"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 4, 30 the phrases “e.g.” and "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 7, 21, 30 the phrase “can be" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 6, 8, 9, 11-14, 16, 31, and 35-36 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1 above.
Claim 30 is rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 16, 20, 36 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0099561, “Lee”) in view of Shimizu et al (US 2018/0267155, “Shimizu”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an apparatus (transmission device, see [0045], also referred to as second wireless device in FIG. 9) being a first apparatus and belonging to a positioning system comprising the first apparatus and a second apparatus (reception device, see [0045], also referred to as first wireless device in FIG. 9), the first apparatus comprising a transceiver and configured to communicate to the second apparatus (FIG. 10);
wherein the first apparatus is configured to transmit a first reference signal at a first point of time and at least a second reference signal at a second d point of time (first and second reference signal also referred to as double burst forward link) to the second apparatus so that the second apparatus receives the first and the second reference signal ([0054] “First, the transmission device transmits a sinusoidal signal having angular frequencies w1 and w2 as an RS.” [0151] “a first wireless device receives, from a second wireless device, a first RS including a first sinusoidal signal having a first angular frequency and a second sinusoidal signal having a second angular frequency” [0050] “It is also assumed in the examples that a plurality of angular frequency components are transmitted simultaneously, for the convenience of description. However, it is also possible to implement the present disclosure by transmitting the frequencies at predetermined different time points and considering the transmission time difference”) in order to calculate a first phase difference dφ1 (dφ1=angle(RS22RX) - angle(RS21,RX)) between the first and the second reference signal and to report the first phase difference dφ1 or an angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21RX)) to another entity of the positioning system, like the LMF, or to the first apparatus ([0063] “the reception device may quantize Delta_1 to transmit the value of Delta_1 to the transmission device” [0070] “the reception device may quantize and transmit the phase difference” [0080] “the reception device may transmit an RS (e.g., a third signal) indicating phase difference information. In this case, the transmission device is advantageous in that Delta_1 may be obtained as a continuous value rather than a quantized value” [0153] “The first wireless device obtains a phase difference between the first sinusoidal signal and the second sinusoidal signal” [0154] “The first wireless device transmits a second RS for distance measurement and a third RS indicating information about the phase difference to the second wireless device (920)”);
wherein the first apparatus is configured to receive from the second apparatus a third reference signal at a third point of time and at least a fourth reference signal at a fourth point of time (third and fourth reference signal (16a, 16b) also referred to as to double burst return link) ([0059] Like the transmission device, the reception device transmits a sinusoidal signal (referred to as a second signal) having the angular frequencies w1 and w2.” [0154] “The first wireless device transmits a second RS for distance measurement… to the second wireless device (920)” ); and to calculate a second phase difference dφ2 (dφ2=angle(RS12RX)−angle angle(RS11RX)) between the third and the fourth reference signal (16a, 16b) ([0060] “Upon receipt of the second signal, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2” [0087] The transmission device may perform FFT … to measure the phase difference between subcarriers k and k+1 and thus obtain Delta_2. For example, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2 through the second signal” ), {and to report the second phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus};
wherein the first apparatus or the another entity is configured to calculate a distance change or a relative speed (v) of the first and the second apparatus based on the first phase difference dφ1 and the second phase difference dφ2 or based on the formula dφMovement=( dφ1 + dφ2)/2 ([0062]” to measure the distance d between the transmission device and the reception device, the transmission device should acquire information about Delta_1 measured by the reception” [0155] “The second wireless device estimates the distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device using the information on the phase difference” Note: Equation 2 shows the relationship between distance d and delta_1 and delta_2 corresponding to phase differences. Also with a small adjustment, equation 2 also can be rewritten to include (1/2)( delta_1 + delta_2)).
Lee does not teach the first apparatus to and to report the second phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus.
However, the Examiner submits that the method of calculating the distance represented by Lee can be calculated by any computing device including the reception device or first device in Lee if desired. Further, Shimizu teaches [0211] “Any one of the first device and the second device transmits calculated phase information to the other. The device, which receives the phase information, calculates a distance between the first device and the second device on a basis of eight phases calculated by the first device and the second device. Consequently, the distance between the first device and the second device is accurately calculated irrespective of initial phases of the oscillators of the first device and the second device.” Thus, Shimizu teaches first apparatus to and to report the second phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature first apparatus to and to report the second phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus., as taught by Shimizu to allow the distance information to be accurately derived by any devices.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches apparatus being a first apparatus (transmission device, see [0045], also referred to as second wireless device in FIG. 9) and belonging to a positioning system comprising the first apparatus and a second apparatus (reception device, see [0045], also referred to as first wireless device in FIG. 9), the first apparatus comprising a transceiver and configured to communicate to the second apparatus (FIG. 10);
wherein the first apparatus is configured to transmit a first reference signal at a first point of time and at least a second reference signal at a second point of time (first and second reference signal also referred to as double burst forward link) to the second apparatus ([0054] “First, the transmission device transmits a sinusoidal signal having angular frequencies w1 and w2 as an RS.” [0151] “a first wireless device receives, from a second wireless device, a first RS including a first sinusoidal signal having a first angular frequency and a second sinusoidal signal having a second angular frequency” [0050] “It is also assumed in the examples that a plurality of angular frequency components are transmitted simultaneously, for the convenience of description. However, it is also possible to implement the present disclosure by transmitting the frequencies at predetermined different time points and considering the transmission time difference”);
wherein a first phase difference dφ1 (dφ1=angle(RS22RX) - angle(RS21,RX)) between the first and the second reference signal is calculable ([0063] “the reception device may quantize Delta_1 to transmit the value of Delta_1 to the transmission device” [0070] “the reception device may quantize and transmit the phase difference” [0080] “the reception device may transmit an RS (e.g., a third signal) indicating phase difference information. In this case, the transmission device is advantageous in that Delta_1 may be obtained as a continuous value rather than a quantized value” [0153] “The first wireless device obtains a phase difference between the first sinusoidal signal and the second sinusoidal signal” [0154] “The first wireless device transmits a second RS for distance measurement and a third RS indicating information about the phase difference to the second wireless device (920)”);
wherein the first apparatus is configured to receive from the second apparatus a third reference signal at a third point of time and at least a fourth reference signal at a fourth point of time (third and fourth reference signal also referred to as to double burst return link) ([0059] Like the transmission device, the reception device transmits a sinusoidal signal (referred to as a second signal) having the angular frequencies w1 and w2.” [0154] “The first wireless device transmits a second RS for distance measurement… to the second wireless device (920)” );
wherein a second phase difference dφ2 (dφ2=angle(RS12RX)−angle angle(RS11RX)) between the third and the fourth reference signal is calculable ([0060] “Upon receipt of the second signal, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2” [0087] The transmission device may perform FFT … to measure the phase difference between subcarriers k and k+1 and thus obtain Delta_2. For example, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2 through the second signal” ), {and wherein the first apparatus is configured to report the phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity of the positioning system, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus};
wherein the first apparatus or the another entity is configured to calculate a distance change or a relative speed (v) of the first and the second apparatus based the first phase difference dφ1 and on the phase difference dφ2 or based on the formula dφMovement=( dφ1 + dφ2)/2 ([0062] “to measure the distance d between the transmission device and the reception device, the transmission device should acquire information about Delta_1 measured by the reception” [0155] “The second wireless device estimates the distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device using the information on the phase difference” Note: Equation 2 shows the relationship between distance d and delta_1 and delta_2 corresponding to phase differences. Also with a small adjustment, equation 2 also can be rewritten to include (1/2)( delta_1 + delta_2)).
Lee does not teach the wherein the first apparatus is configured to report the phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity of the positioning system, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus.
However, the Examiner submits that the method of calculating the distance represented by Lee can be calculated by any computing device including the reception device or first device in Lee if desired. Further, Shimizu teaches [0211] “Any one of the first device and the second device transmits calculated phase information to the other. The device, which receives the phase information, calculates a distance between the first device and the second device on a basis of eight phases calculated by the first device and the second device. Consequently, the distance between the first device and the second device is accurately calculated irrespective of initial phases of the oscillators of the first device and the second device.” Thus, Shimizu teaches wherein the first apparatus is configured to report the phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity of the positioning system, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first apparatus is configured to report the phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity of the positioning system, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus, as taught by Shimizu to allow the distance information to be accurately derived by any devices.
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches an apparatus being a second apparatus (transmission device, see [0045], also referred to as second wireless device in FIG. 9) and belonging to a positioning system comprising the first apparatus (reception device, see [0045], also referred to as first wireless device in FIG. 9) and a second apparatus, the second apparatus comprising a transceiver and configured to communicate to the first apparatus (FIG. 10); wherein the second apparatus is configured to receive a first and the second reference signal from the first apparatus ([0059] Like the transmission device, the reception device transmits a sinusoidal signal (referred to as a second signal) having the angular frequencies w1 and w2.” [0154] “The first wireless device transmits a second RS for distance measurement… to the second wireless device (920)” ); and to calculate a first phase difference dφ1 (dφ1=angle(RS22RX) - angle(RS21,RX)) between the first and the second reference signal ([0060] “Upon receipt of the second signal, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2” [0087] The transmission device may perform FFT … to measure the phase difference between subcarriers k and k+1 and thus obtain Delta_2. For example, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2 through the second signal” ) {and to report the first phase difference dφ1 (dφ1=angle(RS22RX) - angle(RS21,RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the first apparatus}; or wherein the second apparatus is configured to receive a first and a second reference signal and to calculate a first phase difference dφ1 (dφ1=angle(RS22RX) - angle(RS21,RX)) between the first and the second reference signal ([0060] “Upon receipt of the second signal, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2” [0087] The transmission device may perform FFT … to measure the phase difference between subcarriers k and k+1 and thus obtain Delta_2. For example, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2 through the second signal” ) {and to report the first phase difference dφ1 (dφ1=angle(RS22RX) - angle(RS21,RX)) to another entity of the positioning system, like the LMF, or to the first apparatus}; wherein the second apparatus is configured to transmit a third reference signal at a first point of time and at least a second reference signal at a fourth point of time (third and fourth reference signal also referred to as to double burst return link) ([0054] “First, the transmission device transmits a sinusoidal signal having angular frequencies w1 and w2 as an RS.” [0151] “a first wireless device receives, from a second wireless device, a first RS including a first sinusoidal signal having a first angular frequency and a second sinusoidal signal having a second angular frequency” [0050] “It is also assumed in the examples that a plurality of angular frequency components are transmitted simultaneously, for the convenience of description. However, it is also possible to implement the present disclosure by transmitting the frequencies at predetermined different time points and considering the transmission time difference”) so that a second phase difference dφ2 (dφ2=angle(RS12RX)−angle angle(RS11RX)) between the third and the fourth reference signal is calculable ([0060] “Upon receipt of the second signal, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2” [0087] The transmission device may perform FFT … to measure the phase difference between subcarriers k and k+1 and thus obtain Delta_2. For example, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2 through the second signal” );
wherein the second apparatus or the another entity is configured to calculate a distance change or a relative speed of the first and the second apparatus based the first phase difference d.sub.φ1 and on the phase difference d.sub.φ1 or based on the formula dφMovement=( dφ1+ dφ2)/2 ([0062]” to measure the distance d between the transmission device and the reception device, the transmission device should acquire information about Delta_1 measured by the reception” [0155] “The second wireless device estimates the distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device using the information on the phase difference” Note: Equation 2 shows the relationship between distance d and delta_1 and delta_2 corresponding to phase differences. Also with a small adjustment, equation 2 also can be rewritten to include (1/2)( delta_1 + delta_2)).
Lee does not teach the first apparatus to report the second phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus.
However, the Examiner submits that the method of calculating the distance represented by Lee can be calculated by any computing device including the reception device or first device in Lee if desired. Further, Shimizu teaches [0021] “Any one of the first device and the second device transmits calculated phase information to the other. The device, which receives the phase information, calculates a distance between the first device and the second device on a basis of eight phases calculated by the first device and the second device. Consequently, the distance between the first device and the second device is accurately calculated irrespective of initial phases of the oscillators of the first device and the second device.” Thus, Shimizu teaches first apparatus to report the second phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature first apparatus to report the second phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus., as taught by Shimizu to allow the distance information to be accurately derived by any devices.
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of teaches Shimizu claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first and/or second apparatus is configured to be configured by a configuration information; wherein the configuration information comprises information on one or more resources to be used for the first reference signal and the second reference signal (e.g. comprising a bandwidth portion, a frequency portion and/or slot information) and/or on the first point of time and second point of time; and/or wherein the first and/or second apparatus is configured to be configured by another configuration information, wherein the another configuration information comprises information on resources to be used for the third reference signal and the fourth reference signal (e.g., comprising the bandwidth portion, frequency portion and/or slot information) and/or on the third point of time and the fourth point of time ([0122] “Each configured UE may transmit a ranging RS having a corresponding frequency spacing, and resource multiplexing between multiple UEs may be configured by the eNB.” [0143] “a resource configuration and activation/deactivation (or windowing) information need to be defined/configured. The resource configuration may include a transmission order/pattern of each node and the physical resource position of a signal carrying a ranging RS and Delta information of the node” [0144] “an eNB may allocate each node to the position of a time/frequency resource in which the node should transmit a ranging RS and Delta information, by a higher-layer signal (e.g., an RRC signal or a broadcast signal). Each node may determine its transmission time, reception time, and resource position from the information.” [0148] “resources of the RSUs and the UE may preconfigured semi-statically” [0159] “while it is assumed that the transmission device is a base station (BS) and the reception device is a terminal, the present disclosure is not limited thereto, and each of the transmission device and the reception device may be interpreted as any wireless node”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of teaches Shimizu claim 1 but Lee fails to teach wherein a distance change and/or a relative speed of the first and the second apparatus is calculable based on a timing parameter describing the time difference between the third point of time and the second point of time or between the third point of time and the first point of time or between the fourth point of time and the second point of time.
Shimizu teaches wherein a distance change and/or a relative speed of the first and the second apparatus is calculable based on a timing parameter describing the time difference between the third point of time and the second point of time or between the third point of time and the first point of time or between the fourth point of time and the second point of time ([0145]-[0153] include equations 58-61a shows relationship between distance R and phase differences which are derived via angles. [0175], equation 120 derived from equation 58 in specific case of FIG. 11a/b in which first-fourth signals being transmitted at time t, t+T, t+2T and t+3T in which, time difference between the third point of time and second point of time being T).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein a distance change and/or a relative speed of the first and the second apparatus is calculable based on a timing parameter describing the time difference between the third point of time and the second point of time or between the third point of time and the first point of time or between the fourth point of time and the second point of time, as taught by Shimizu to allow the distance information to be accurately derived by any devices.
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of teaches Shimizu claim 8 and Lee further teaches wherein the first apparatus is configured to receive the third reference signal and the at least a fourth reference signal, the third reference signal and the at least a fourth reference signal, in response to the first and second reference signal (FIG. 9 – the second wireless device receives second RS after sending first RS. Each RS includes. [0054] “the transmission device transmits a sinusoidal signal having angular frequencies w1 and w2 as an RS (e.g., ranging RS)”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of teaches Shimizu claim 1 but Lee further teaches {wherein the first phase difference dφ1 is calculated by the second apparatus based on the angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21,RX)) or wherein the first phase difference dφ1 is calculated by the first apparatus or the another entity based on reported the angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21,RX)); and/or wherein the second phase difference dφ2is calculated by the first apparatus based on the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX) or wherein the second phase difference dφ2 is calculated by the second apparatus or the another entity based on reported the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)}; and wherein the distance or the distance change or the relative speed is calculated by the first and/or second apparatus and/or another the another entity ([0062] “to measure the distance d between the transmission device and the reception device, the transmission device should acquire information about Delta_1 measured by the reception” [0155] “The second wireless device estimates the distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device using the information on the phase difference”).
Lee does not teach wherein the first phase difference dφ1 is calculated by the second apparatus based on the angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21,RX)) or wherein the first phase difference dφ1 is calculated by the first apparatus or the another entity based on reported the angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21,RX)); and/or wherein the second phase difference dφ2is calculated by the first apparatus based on the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX) or wherein the second phase difference dφ2 is calculated by the second apparatus or the another entity based on reported the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX).
Shimizu teaches wherein the first phase difference dφ1 is calculated by the second apparatus based on the angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21,RX)) or wherein the first phase difference dφ1 is calculated by the first apparatus or the another entity based on reported the angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21,RX)); and/or wherein the second phase difference dφ2is calculated by the first apparatus based on the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX) or wherein the second phase difference dφ2 is calculated by the second apparatus or the another entity based on reported the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX) ([0145]-[0153]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first phase difference dφ1 is calculated by the second apparatus based on the angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21,RX)) or wherein the first phase difference dφ1 is calculated by the first apparatus or the another entity based on reported the angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21,RX)); and/or wherein the second phase difference dφ2is calculated by the first apparatus based on the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX) or wherein the second phase difference dφ2 is calculated by the second apparatus or the another entity based on reported the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX), as taught by Shimizu to allow the distance information to be accurately derived by any devices.
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1, but Lee does not teach wherein a distance change dv is calculated based on the following formula
dd = - dφMovement /(2* π)* λ
However, Shimizu teaches wherein a distance change dv is calculated based on the following formula
dd = - dφMovement /(2* π)* λ
([0153] - Equation 6a states (½)[{Δθ12}+{Δθ21}]=(ωB1+ωB2)(R/c). It should be noted the right side of the equation (½)[{Δθ12}+{Δθ21}] teaches claimed dφMovement, according to definition in claim 1. Also R of Equation 6a corresponds to claimed dd. Further, [0152] teaches ωB1=ωB2. It is also well known in the art that angular frequency ω = (2 π c)/ λ. The claim formula is taught when substituting ω = (2 π c)/ λ in equation 61b in [0153]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein a distance change dv is calculated based on the following formula
dd = - dφMovement /(2* π)* λ,
as taught by Shimizu to allow the distance information to be accurately derived by any devices.
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1, teaches claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the relative speed is calculated based on the following formula
v=dd/dt1.
However, Shimizu teaches changes in R according to a movement ([0092]) the claimed formula claims the well-known relationship between velocity, distance and time therefore it is obvious.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature teach wherein the relative speed is calculated based on the following formula
v=dd/dt1,
as taught by Shimizu to allow the distance information to be accurately derived by any devices.
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1 but Lee does not teach wherein a phase measurement of the first, second, third, and/or forth reference signal comprises cyclic correlation; and/or wherein a phase measurement of the first, second, third, and/or forth reference signal is performed in frequency domain, or wherein a phase of the first, second, third, and/or forth reference signal is derived from a complex valued correlation function in a time/delay domain.
Shimizu teaches wherein a phase measurement of the first, second, third, and/or forth reference signal comprises cyclic correlation; and/or wherein a phase measurement of the first, second, third, and/or forth reference signal is performed in frequency domain ([0085] A phase of the received wave (hereinafter referred to as detected phase or simply referred to as phase) can be easily calculated from the I and Q signals. That is, a detected phase θH1(t) is represented by the following Equation (12). Note that, in the following Equation (12), since a term of harmonics near an angular frequency ωC1+ωc2 is removed during demodulation, the term is omitted. [0160], equation 64 shows all claimed phases), or wherein a phase of the first, second, third, and/or forth reference signal is derived from a complex valued correlation function in a time/delay domain
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein a phase measurement of the first, second, third, and/or forth reference signal comprises cyclic correlation; and/or wherein a phase measurement of the first, second, third, and/or forth reference signal is performed in frequency domain, or wherein a phase of the first, second, third, and/or forth reference signal is derived from a complex valued correlation function in a time/delay domain, as taught by Shimizu to allow the distance information to be accurately derived by any devices.
Regarding claim 20, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1 and Lee further teaches wherein a phase measurement on the first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or the second set (third and fourth reference signal) is composed of two or more OFDM symbols comprising a sequence known to the receiver or a sequence which can be reconstructed by the receiver ([0051] “when the transmission device/the reception device transmits/receives an OFDM signal, a boundary point of each OFDM symbol is a quantized time point for performing a transmission/reception operation. It is assumed that the starting time points of the transmission and reception operations of the transmission device and the reception device are tTX and tRX, respectively, and are repeated every tsymb, tsymb may be the length of an OFDM symbol”).
Regarding claim 36, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1 and Lee further teaches wherein the measurement is performed based on one of the following principles: Measurement of the phase of a single sub-carrier Averaging over the phase of several sub-carrier Calculate the correlation of the transmit and receive signal and report the phase of the correlation “lobe” related to the first arriving path.
Regarding claim 45, Lee teaches method for performing position determination (FIG. 9) performed by a first apparatus (transmission device, see [0045], also referred to as second wireless device in FIG. 9) belonging to a positioning system comprising the first apparatus and a second apparatus (reception device, see [0045], also referred to as first wireless device in FIG. 9), the first apparatus, comprising the steps:
transmitting a first reference signal at a first point of time and at least a second reference signal at a second point of time (first and second reference signal also referred to as double burst forward link) to a second apparatus ([0054] “First, the transmission device transmits a sinusoidal signal having angular frequencies w1 and w2 as an RS.” [0151] “a first wireless device receives, from a second wireless device, a first RS including a first sinusoidal signal having a first angular frequency and a second sinusoidal signal having a second angular frequency” [0050] “It is also assumed in the examples that a plurality of angular frequency components are transmitted simultaneously, for the convenience of description. However, it is also possible to implement the present disclosure by transmitting the frequencies at predetermined different time points and considering the transmission time difference”) so that the second apparatus receives the first and the second reference signal in order to calculate a first phase difference dφ1 (dφ1=angle(RS22RX) - angle(RS21,RX)) between the first and the second reference signal and to report the first phase difference dφ1 or the angle(RS22RX) and angle(RS21RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, to the first apparatus ([0063] “the reception device may quantize Delta_1 to transmit the value of Delta_1 to the transmission device” [0070] “the reception device may quantize and transmit the phase difference” [0080] “the reception device may transmit an RS (e.g., a third signal) indicating phase difference information. In this case, the transmission device is advantageous in that Delta_1 may be obtained as a continuous value rather than a quantized value” [0153] “The first wireless device obtains a phase difference between the first sinusoidal signal and the second sinusoidal signal” [0154] “The first wireless device transmits a second RS for distance measurement and a third RS indicating information about the phase difference to the second wireless device (920)”);
receiving from the second apparatus a third reference signal at a third point of time and at least a fourth reference signal at a fourth point of time (third and fourth reference signal also referred to as to double burst return link) in response to the first and second reference signal ([0059] Like the transmission device, the reception device transmits a sinusoidal signal (referred to as a second signal) having the angular frequencies w1 and w2.” [0154] “The first wireless device transmits a second RS for distance measurement… to the second wireless device (920)” ) in order to calculate a second phase difference dφ2 (dφ2=angle(RS12RX)−angle angle(RS11RX)) between the third and the fourth reference signal ([0060] “Upon receipt of the second signal, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2” [0087] The transmission device may perform FFT … to measure the phase difference between subcarriers k and k+1 and thus obtain Delta_2. For example, the transmission device may acquire Delta_2 through the second signal” ), {and to report second phase difference dφ2 the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus};
calculating a distance or distance change or a relative speed (v) of the first and the second apparatus based on dφ1 and dφ2 or based on the formula dφMovement=( dφ1 + dφ2)/2 ([0062] “to measure the distance d between the transmission device and the reception device, the transmission device should acquire information about Delta_1 measured by the reception” [0155] “The second wireless device estimates the distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device using the information on the phase difference” Note: Equation 2 shows the relationship between distance d and delta_1 and delta_2 corresponding to phase differences. Also with a small adjustment, equation 2 also can be rewritten to include (1/2)( delta_1 + delta_2)).
Lee does not teach the first apparatus to report second phase difference dφ2 the angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus.
However, the Examiner submits that the method of calculating the distance represented by Lee can be calculated by any computing device including the reception device or first device in Lee if desired. Further, Shimizu teaches [0021] “Any one of the first device and the second device transmits calculated phase information to the other. The device, which receives the phase information, calculates a distance between the first device and the second device on a basis of eight phases calculated by the first device and the second device. Consequently, the distance between the first device and the second device is accurately calculated irrespective of initial phases of the oscillators of the first device and the second device.” Thus, Shimizu teaches first apparatus to and to report second phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature first apparatus to and to report the second phase difference dφ2 or an angle(RS12RX) and angle(RS11RX)) to another entity, like the LMF, or to the second apparatus., as taught by Shimizu to allow the distance information to be accurately derived by any devices.
Claims 16, 20, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shimizu and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0351815, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein a phase measurement on a first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or on a second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on a PRS signal, where a measured phase difference is derived from phase measurements on different parts of the PRS signal; and/or where the PRS uses several OFDM symbols and different OFDM symbols which are selected for the phase measurements; wherein a phase measurement on a first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or on a second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on the PRS which can be a DL-PRS signal, UL-PRS or SL-PRS or any multi OFDM symbols reference signal in DL, UL or SL.
Kim teaches wherein a phase measurement on a first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or on a second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on a PRS signal, where a measured phase difference is derived from phase measurements on different parts of the PRS signal; and/or where the PRS uses several OFDM symbols and different OFDM symbols which are selected for the phase measurements; wherein a phase measurement on a first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or on a second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on the PRS which can be a DL-PRS signal, UL-PRS or SL-PRS or any multi OFDM symbols reference signal in DL, UL or SL ([0089] “Referring to FIG. 8, in operation 805, the UE receives a DL PRS including sinusoidal components of different angular frequencies from a BS.” [0090] “In operation 810, the UE acquires a phase difference between the sinusoidal components of the DL PRS.” [0091] “In operation 815, the UE transmits a first uplink (UL) PRS indicating the phase difference for measurement of a first distance between the UE and the BS at a first time” [0092] “In operation 820, the BS measures a first distance between the UE and the BS at a first time, based on the first UL PRS”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein a phase measurement on a first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or on a second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on a PRS signal, where a measured phase difference is derived from phase measurements on different parts of the PRS signal; and/or where the PRS uses several OFDM symbols and different OFDM symbols which are selected for the phase measurements; wherein a phase measurement on a first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or on a second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on the PRS which can be a DL-PRS signal, UL-PRS or SL-PRS or any multi OFDM symbols reference signal in DL, UL or SL, as taught by Kim in Lee for accurately and efficiently measuring a distance.
Regarding claim 20, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein a phase measurement on the first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or the second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on two reference signals with two different identifiers or different reference signals; or wherein a phase measurement on the first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or the second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on two reference signals with two different identifiers or different reference signals and wherein a time offset configuration between two reference signals is provided in units or steps of OFDM symbols.
Kim teaches wherein a phase measurement on the first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or the second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on two reference signals with two different identifiers or different reference signals; or wherein a phase measurement on the first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or the second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on two reference signals with two different identifiers or different reference signals and wherein a time offset configuration between two reference signals is provided in units or steps of OFDM symbols ([0089] “Referring to FIG. 8, in operation 805, the UE receives a DL PRS including sinusoidal components of different angular frequencies from a BS.” [0090] “In operation 810, the UE acquires a phase difference between the sinusoidal components of the DL PRS.” [0091] “In operation 815, the UE transmits a first uplink (UL) PRS indicating the phase difference for measurement of a first distance between the UE and the BS at a first time” [0092] “In operation 820, the BS measures a first distance between the UE and the BS at a first time, based on the first UL PRS”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein a phase measurement on the first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or the second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on two reference signals with two different identifiers or different reference signals; or wherein a phase measurement on the first set (e.g. first, second reference signal) and/or the second set (third and fourth reference signal) is performed on two reference signals with two different identifiers or different reference signals and wherein a time offset configuration between two reference signals is provided in units or steps of OFDM symbols, as taught by Kim in Lee for accurately and efficiently measuring a distance.
Regarding claim 30, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1 but does not teach
wherein the first and/or second apparatus is configured to receive an RS configuration; and/or wherein the RS configuration comprises at least one of the following settings: Measurement update rate (measurement period) Number of RS-RR transmissions related to one measurement (2 or more RS signal transmission per direction). For one set of measurements a “RS-RR set” can be defined “RS-RR set” defined by Time difference between the RSs belonging to one set (dt1 and dt2) Bandwidth of the RSs (complete carrier bandwidth or part of it) Other parameter of the RSs (sequence ID, COMB-factor, COMB offset, cyclic shift, . . . ) Number of OFDM symbols per RS (one or more) Maximum time difference between the start of the RS for forward link and return link (difference between t3 and t1) dt1 and dt2 is selected according the frequency offset range and the speed range difference between t3 and t1 is not critical and is selected according to the frequency stability The return link may transmit after receiving the forward link signal: t3 >t1 and t3 >t2 Interlaced: t3 >t1 and t3<t2 The return link may transmit before the forward link: t3<t1 Several UEs may respond to one UE, e.g. One UE or TRP transmits a RS-RR The RS-RR is received by several devices Several devices (e.g. roadside units (RSU) or other UEs) may respond If several devices respond to a first device, the devices may use orthogonal sequences (different COMB offset, different cyclic shifts) or sequences selected according cross correlation properties (different sequence ID, for example) Periodic or semi-persistent measurements may be configured (e.g. defined by the measurement update rate) or a single set of measurement (aperiodic) is configured A aperiodic measurement set may comprise several RS-RR sets to increase the accuracy by averaging, for example.
Kim teaches wherein the first and/or second apparatus is configured to receive an RS configuration; and/or wherein the RS configuration comprises at least one of the following settings: Measurement update rate (measurement period) Number of RS-RR transmissions related to one measurement (2 or more RS signal transmission per direction). For one set of measurements a “RS-RR set” can be defined “RS-RR set” defined by Time difference between the RSs belonging to one set (dt1 and dt2) Bandwidth of the RSs (complete carrier bandwidth or part of it) Other parameter of the RSs (sequence ID, COMB-factor, COMB offset, cyclic shift, . . . ) Number of OFDM symbols per RS (one or more) Maximum time difference between the start of the RS for forward link and return link (difference between t3 and t1) dt1 and dt2 is selected according the frequency offset range and the speed range difference between t3 and t1 is not critical and is selected according to the frequency stability The return link may transmit after receiving the forward link signal: t3 >t1 and t3 >t2 Interlaced: t3 >t1 and t3<t2 The return link may transmit before the forward link: t3<t1 Several UEs may respond to one UE, e.g. One UE or TRP transmits a RS-RR The RS-RR is received by several devices Several devices (e.g. roadside units (RSU) or other UEs) may respond If several devices respond to a first device, the devices may use orthogonal sequences (different COMB offset, different cyclic shifts) or sequences selected according cross correlation properties (different sequence ID, for example) Periodic or semi-persistent measurements may be configured (e.g. defined by the measurement update rate) or a single set of measurement (aperiodic) is configured A aperiodic measurement set may comprise several RS-RR sets to increase the accuracy by averaging, for example ([0013] The UL PRS configuration may include UL PRS periodicity information, UL PRS subframe information, and UL PRS resource information. [0070] “The BS may determine a DL/UL PRS periodicity for distance estimation with a required accuracy, based on the location information and the speed information received from the UE.” [0074] “A BS may configure the periodicity (TUE, PRS), the number of PRS subframes (NUE, PRS), and the PRS resource position/code of DL/UL PRSs transmitted during a first positioning occasion, for the UE that enters the coverage of the BS (e.g., through DCI)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first and/or second apparatus is configured to receive an RS configuration; and/or wherein the RS configuration comprises at least one of the following settings: Measurement update rate (measurement period) Number of RS-RR transmissions related to one measurement (2 or more RS signal transmission per direction). For one set of measurements a “RS-RR set” can be defined “RS-RR set” defined by Time difference between the RSs belonging to one set (dt1 and dt2) Bandwidth of the RSs (complete carrier bandwidth or part of it) Other parameter of the RSs (sequence ID, COMB-factor, COMB offset, cyclic shift, . . . ) Number of OFDM symbols per RS (one or more) Maximum time difference between the start of the RS for forward link and return link (difference between t3 and t1) dt1 and dt2 is selected according the frequency offset range and the speed range difference between t3 and t1 is not critical and is selected according to the frequency stability The return link may transmit after receiving the forward link signal: t3 >t1 and t3 >t2 Interlaced: t3 >t1 and t3<t2 The return link may transmit before the forward link: t3<t1 Several UEs may respond to one UE, e.g. One UE or TRP transmits a RS-RR The RS-RR is received by several devices Several devices (e.g. roadside units (RSU) or other UEs) may respond If several devices respond to a first device, the devices may use orthogonal sequences (different COMB offset, different cyclic shifts) or sequences selected according cross correlation properties (different sequence ID, for example) Periodic or semi-persistent measurements may be configured (e.g. defined by the measurement update rate) or a single set of measurement (aperiodic) is configured A aperiodic measurement set may comprise several RS-RR sets to increase the accuracy by averaging, for example, as taught by Kim in Lee for accurately and efficiently measuring a distance.
Regarding claim 31, Lee in view of Shimizu and Kim teaches claim 30 but does not teach wherein the RS configuration is determined by the network (if UE is in coverage) or another apparatus (if the sidelink is used for the measurements) and/or wherein the RS configuration is transmitted by the network, the base station, the gNB based on request of the first and/or second apparatus.
Kim teaches wherein the RS configuration is determined by the network (if UE is in coverage) or another apparatus (if the sidelink is used for the measurements) and/or wherein the RS configuration is transmitted by the network, the base station, the gNB based on request of the first and/or second apparatus ([0074] “A BS may configure the periodicity (TUE, PRS), the number of PRS subframes (NUE, PRS), and the PRS resource position/code of DL/UL PRSs transmitted during a first positioning occasion, for the UE that enters the coverage of the BS (e.g., through DCI)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the RS configuration is determined by the network (if UE is in coverage) or another apparatus (if the sidelink is used for the measurements) and/or wherein the RS configuration is transmitted by the network, the base station, the gNB based on request of the first and/or second apparatus, as taught by Kim in Lee for accurately and efficiently measuring a distance.
Claims 13 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shimizu and further in view of Ranjbar et al. (US 11,621,738).
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1, but does not teach wherein a frequency offset df is calculated using the difference of dφ1 and dφ2 and/or based on the following formula: df = df1 = - df2 =( dφ1- dφ2)/(4*π*dt1)
Ranjbar teaches wherein a frequency offset df is calculated using the difference of dφ1 and dφ2 and/or based on the following formula: df = df1 = - df2 =( dφ1- dφ2)/(4*π*dt1) (col 12, ln 36-39 “transceiver circuit may find a phase difference between two points of a signal with known time difference, and determine a frequency based on the phase difference, where the frequency=(phase difference)/(2*pi*time difference)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein a frequency offset df is calculated using the difference of dφ1 and dφ2 and/or based on the following formula: df = df1 = - df2 =( dφ1- dφ2)/(4*π*dt1), as taught by Ranjbar in Lee for accurately calculating distances between transceivers in the presence of crystal offset.
Regarding claim 35, Lee in view of Shimizu teaches claim 1, but does not teach wherein the phase measurements are translated to frequency measurements; and/or where the phase/angle is represented as a change in frequency given by
dfx = (1/(2*pi))*(dφx/dtx).
Ranjbar teaches wherein the phase measurements are translated to frequency measurements; and/or where the phase/angle is represented as a change in frequency given by dfx = (1/(2*pi))*(dφx/dtx) (col 12, ln 36-39 “transceiver circuit may find a phase difference between two points of a signal with known time difference, and determine a frequency based on the phase difference, where the frequency=(phase difference)/(2*pi*time difference)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the phase measurements are translated to frequency measurements; and/or where the phase/angle is represented as a change in frequency given by dfx = (1/(2*pi))*(dφx/dtx), as taught by Ranjbar in Lee for accurately calculating distances between transceivers in the presence of crystal offset.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aldana et al. (US20170251332) teaches ranging and direction finding in a local area network.
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642