DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 5/30/24. Claims 1-13 are pending. Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected. Claims 3-8 and 11-13 are objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 10,806,247 to Chen.
Claim 1. A folding structure for one or more bed legs of a bed frame (Chen discloses a table apparatus, however Chen also discloses in column 7, lines 31-32 that the sliding leg structures may also be used in beds), comprising: a bed frame body, a frame (Chen, Fig. 1), and the one or more bed legs (Chen, Fig. 1 #120), wherein: a first end of each of the one or more bed legs is pivotally connected (Chen, Fig. 4 #123) to the frame, the frame comprises a supporting rod (Chen, Fig. 1 #121a/121b) pivotally connected to the one or more bed legs and sleeved (Chen, Fig. 4) with one or more sliding seats (Chen, Fig. 4 #160), one or more connecting rods (Chen, Fig. 2 #150) are respectively pivotally connected to the one or more sliding seats and the one or more bed legs, the supporting rod of the frame, the one or more connecting rods, and the one or more bed legs form a triangular supporting structure (see triangular supporting structure in at least Chen, Figs. 1-2), the one or more connecting rods are operatively coupled to the one or more bed legs to enable folding and unfolding of the one or more bed legs and to enable the one or more connecting rods to be operatively coupled to the one or more sliding seats to have a specified amount of displacement along a length direction of the supporting rod of the frame, the specified amount of displacement enables the one or more bed legs to be in a folded state or an unfolded state, and one or more locking devices are disposed on the supporting rod (Chen, Fig. 4) of the frame for locking (Chen, column 1, lines 15-20, and Fig. 6) the one or more sliding seats to enable the one or more bed legs to be maintained in the unfolded state (Chen, Figs. 1-2).
Claim 9. The folding structure for the one or more bed legs of the bed frame according to claim 1, wherein: the one or more bed legs comprise two bed legs (Chen, Fig. 1 discloses multiple legs), the one or more locking devices comprise two locking devices configured to correspond to the two bed legs (Chen, Figs. 2-3 disclose multiple locking devices #130), the two bed legs are respectively disposed adjacent to two ends of a short side frame of the frame (Chen, Fig. 1), the two bed legs are disposed on a long side frame of the frame, and a linking rod is disposed between the two locking devices, so as to realize a synchronized unlocking operation of the two locking devices through the linking rod (Chen discloses connecting rods between the legs, as seen unlabeled in Fig. 1; these linking rods provide the claimed functionality).
Claim 10. A bed frame comprising the folding structure for the one or more bed legs of the bed frame according to claim 1 (Chen, sliding sleeve #160 locks legs #140).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10,806,247 to Chen in view of US Patent Application Publication 2020/0337468 to Choi.
Claim 2. The folding structure for the one or more bed legs of the bed frame according to claim 1, wherein: each of the one or more locking devices comprises a U-shaped seat having an opening (Chen Fig. 4 discloses a slider that has a rectangular cross section; however Choi teaches a similar sliding structure which includes a U-shaped cross section; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Chen with a U-shaped bracket since the two shapes are art recognized equivalents and doing so would have simply been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable and obvious results, and because there appears to be no criticality to the shape of the sliding structure, and it appears that there is no criticality to the the claimed U-shape, and that the rectangular shape of Chen, or the U-shape of Choi would have provided the same functionality), a snap portion (Choi Fig. 4 #42) facing the sliding seat and disposed on the U-shaped seat, and a snap member (Choi Fig. 4 #46) disposed on a respective one of the one or more sliding seats, a locking driving member (Choi Fig. 4, spring #7) is disposed between the opening of the U-shaped seat and the supporting rod of the frame, and when the snap portion is buckled to the snap member, the locking driving member drives the snap portion to be buckled to the snap member or terminates a position inhibiting connection between the snap portion and the snap member (see Choi Fig. 4; additionally the sliding structure of Chen Fig. 4 provides the same functionality).
Discussion of allowable subject matter
Regarding Claim 3, Applicant’s claim limitations directed toward “the locking driving member is a spring, the spring and the snap portion are respectively located on two opposite ends of the U-shaped seat, a pivoting end is located on a middle of the U-shaped seat, and the U-shaped seat is configured to have a specified amount of rotation about the pivoting end through elastic deformation of the spring” are not found in the prior art. The prior art of Chen and Choi do not teach a sliding seat and a U-shaped seat which lock together (as best seen in Applicant’s Figs. 5-6), this is differentiated from what is disclosed in Chen Fig. 4 or Choi Fig. 3. The independent claim, and its dependent claims, would be in condition for allowance if claim 1 were amended to include all of the limitations of claims 2 and 3.
Conclusion
/MYLES A THROOP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673