DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220159426 A1 to Du et al. (hereinafter “Du”).
As per claim 1, Du discloses a sensing method (Du Figs. 2 and 3), comprising: sending, by an access point device, a first trigger frame to at least one sensing response device, wherein the first trigger frame includes sensing reporting setup information, the sensing reporting setup information is used to determine a target sensing response device for sensing measurement reporting in the at least one sensing response device (Du Figs. 2, 3, 13, and [0196] FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of another sensing method according to this application. As shown in FIG. 13, the method 400 may include S402 and S403. Optionally, the method 400 may further include one or more steps of S401, S404, and S405. The steps shown in FIG. 7 are described below. [0197] S401: A second device sends a sensing request message to a first device. Correspondingly, the first device receives the sensing request message. [0198] For this step, refer to S301. Details are not described herein again. In addition, S401 is the same as S301, and both are optional steps. [0199] S402: The first device sends a PPDU to at least one second device. Correspondingly, the second device receives the PPDU sent by the first device. [0200] Similar to that in S302, the PPDU in S402 may be sent based on S401, or not based on S401. [0201] First, the PPDU is used to indicate the at least one second device to perform a sensing task by using a sensing signal. After receiving the PPDU, the second device may determine that the second device needs to perform the sensing task by using the sensing signal. Optionally, the PPDU may further indicate a type of the sensing signal. To be specific, the PPDU may indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using a sensing signal. For example, the sensing signal may be a midamble, a pilot, or a preamble. It should be noted that the PPDU may not indicate the type of the sensing signal. In this case, the type of the sensing signal may be specified in a protocol, or may be negotiated by the first device and the at least one second device in advance. [0202] Secondly, the PPDU is further used to indicate a sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. A manner in which the PPDU indicates the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task is similar to a manner in which the announcement frame indicates the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task in S302. For details, refer to the foregoing description. Details are not described herein again. [0203] Optionally, a physical layer header (PHY Header) of the PPDU may indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the midamble, and to indicate the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. [0204] For example, an existing SIG A may be reused. For example, some bits such as B14 in an HE-SIG A indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the midamble. For example, B14 is 1, indicating the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the midamble. [0152] For example, in this application, the second device may report the sensing result to the first device in the following manners: [0153] 1. The second device sends a feedback trigger (feedback trigger) frame, where the feedback indication information is the feedback trigger frame, and the second device reports the sensing result after receiving the feedback trigger frame. [0154] One feedback trigger frame can trigger only one second device to report the sensing result. In this case, the first device may send the feedback trigger frame to each second device in a specific order, and any second device reports the sensing result after receiving the feedback trigger frame corresponding to the second device. In other words, the at least one second device may report the sensing result by time. For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the second device sequentially sends a trigger frame to a second device #1 to a second device #N, to trigger the second device #1 to the second device #N to sequentially feed back a sensing result. [0155] One feedback trigger frame can alternatively trigger a plurality of second devices to report sensing results. In this case, after receiving the feedback trigger frame, the at least one second device may report the sensing results in a multiple-input multiple-output (multiple-input multiple-out, MIMO) or orthogonal frequency division multiple access (orthogonal frequency division multiple access, OFDMA) manner, in an order specified by the feedback trigger frame, or in another possible manner. For example, as shown in FIG. 8, the first device may send one feedback trigger frame, and a second device #1 to a second device #N may feed back the sensing results in the OFDMA manner. [0156] 2. The first device sends a poll (poll) frame, where the feedback indication information is the poll frame, and the second device performs a report based on the received poll frame. [0173] Optionally, a to distributed system (To DS) field and a from distributed system (From DS) field in the existing frame structure (for example, high efficiency (high efficiency, HE)/very high throughput (very high throughput, VHT) NDP Announcement) may be reused, to indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. When values of the two fields both are “0”, the announcement frame may indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. Further, the value of the category field may indicate the first device configures the same sensing parameter for the at least one second device, or the first device configures a same part of the sensing parameter for the at least one second device, and the second device needs to set autonomously the remaining part of the sensing parameter.).
As per claim 2, Du discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first trigger frame comprises an extremely high throughput (EHT) variant common information field and an EHT variant user information field, and the sensing reporting setup information is carried in the EHT variant common information field and/or the EHT variant user information field (Du Figs. 10, 11, and 12).
As per claim 3, Du discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the EHT variant common information field comprises a field of a sensing trigger frame subtype, and the sensing trigger frame subtype is used to indicate a subtype of a sensing trigger frame being a sensing feedback poll trigger frame (Du Figs. 10, 11, and 12 and [0182-0193]).
As per claim 4, Du discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first trigger frame comprises a high efficiency (HE) variant common information field and a HE variant user information field, and the sensing reporting setup information is carried in the HE variant common information field and/or the HE variant user information field (Du Figs. 10, 11, and 12 and [0182-0193]).
As per claim 5, Du discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the HE variant common information field comprises a field of a sensing trigger frame subtype, and the sensing trigger frame subtype is used to indicate a subtype of a sensing trigger frame being a sensing feedback poll trigger frame (Du Figs. 9, 10, 11, and 12 and [0182-0193]).
As per claim 6, Du discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the access point device, a first feedback frame sent by the at least one sensing response device, wherein the first feedback frame comprises sensing reporting information (Du Figs. 3 and 7).
As per claim 8, Du discloses a sensing method (Du Figs. 2 and 3), comprising: receiving, by a sensing response device, a first trigger frame sent by an access point device, wherein the first trigger frame comprises sensing reporting setup information, and the sensing reporting setup information is used to determine the sensing response device to perform sensing measurement reporting (Du Figs. 2, 3, 13, and [0196] FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of another sensing method according to this application. As shown in FIG. 13, the method 400 may include S402 and S403. Optionally, the method 400 may further include one or more steps of S401, S404, and S405. The steps shown in FIG. 7 are described below. [0197] S401: A second device sends a sensing request message to a first device. Correspondingly, the first device receives the sensing request message. [0198] For this step, refer to S301. Details are not described herein again. In addition, S401 is the same as S301, and both are optional steps. [0199] S402: The first device sends a PPDU to at least one second device. Correspondingly, the second device receives the PPDU sent by the first device. [0200] Similar to that in S302, the PPDU in S402 may be sent based on S401, or not based on S401. [0201] First, the PPDU is used to indicate the at least one second device to perform a sensing task by using a sensing signal. After receiving the PPDU, the second device may determine that the second device needs to perform the sensing task by using the sensing signal. Optionally, the PPDU may further indicate a type of the sensing signal. To be specific, the PPDU may indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using a sensing signal. For example, the sensing signal may be a midamble, a pilot, or a preamble. It should be noted that the PPDU may not indicate the type of the sensing signal. In this case, the type of the sensing signal may be specified in a protocol, or may be negotiated by the first device and the at least one second device in advance. [0202] Secondly, the PPDU is further used to indicate a sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. A manner in which the PPDU indicates the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task is similar to a manner in which the announcement frame indicates the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task in S302. For details, refer to the foregoing description. Details are not described herein again. [0203] Optionally, a physical layer header (PHY Header) of the PPDU may indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the midamble, and to indicate the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. [0204] For example, an existing SIG A may be reused. For example, some bits such as B14 in an HE-SIG A indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the midamble. For example, B14 is 1, indicating the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the midamble. [0152] For example, in this application, the second device may report the sensing result to the first device in the following manners: [0153] 1. The second device sends a feedback trigger (feedback trigger) frame, where the feedback indication information is the feedback trigger frame, and the second device reports the sensing result after receiving the feedback trigger frame. [0154] One feedback trigger frame can trigger only one second device to report the sensing result. In this case, the first device may send the feedback trigger frame to each second device in a specific order, and any second device reports the sensing result after receiving the feedback trigger frame corresponding to the second device. In other words, the at least one second device may report the sensing result by time. For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the second device sequentially sends a trigger frame to a second device #1 to a second device #N, to trigger the second device #1 to the second device #N to sequentially feed back a sensing result. [0155] One feedback trigger frame can alternatively trigger a plurality of second devices to report sensing results. In this case, after receiving the feedback trigger frame, the at least one second device may report the sensing results in a multiple-input multiple-output (multiple-input multiple-out, MIMO) or orthogonal frequency division multiple access (orthogonal frequency division multiple access, OFDMA) manner, in an order specified by the feedback trigger frame, or in another possible manner. For example, as shown in FIG. 8, the first device may send one feedback trigger frame, and a second device #1 to a second device #N may feed back the sensing results in the OFDMA manner. [0156] 2. The first device sends a poll (poll) frame, where the feedback indication information is the poll frame, and the second device performs a report based on the received poll frame. [0173] Optionally, a to distributed system (To DS) field and a from distributed system (From DS) field in the existing frame structure (for example, high efficiency (high efficiency, HE)/very high throughput (very high throughput, VHT) NDP Announcement) may be reused, to indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. When values of the two fields both are “0”, the announcement frame may indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. Further, the value of the category field may indicate the first device configures the same sensing parameter for the at least one second device, or the first device configures a same part of the sensing parameter for the at least one second device, and the second device needs to set autonomously the remaining part of the sensing parameter.).
As per claim 9, Du discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the first trigger frame comprises an extremely high throughput (EHT) variant common information field and an EHT variant user information field, and the sensing reporting setup information is carried in the EHT variant common information field and/or the EHT variant user information field (Du Figs. 10, 11, and 12).
As per claim 10, Du discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the EHT variant common information field comprises a field of a sensing trigger frame subtype, and the sensing trigger frame subtype is used to indicate a subtype of a sensing trigger frame being a sensing feedback poll trigger frame (Du Figs. 10, 11, and 12 and [0182-0193]).
As per claim 11, Du discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the first trigger frame comprises a high efficiency (HE) variant common information field and a HE variant user information field, and the sensing reporting setup information is carried in the HE variant common information field and/or the HE variant user information field (Du Figs. 10, 11, and 12 and [0182-0193]).
As per claim 12, Du discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the HE variant common information field comprises a field of a sensing trigger frame subtype, and the sensing trigger frame subtype is used to indicate a subtype of a sensing trigger frame being a sensing feedback poll trigger frame (Du Figs. 9, 10, 11, and 12 and [0182-0193]).
As per claim 13, Du discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the sensing response device, a first feedback frame to the access point device, wherein the first feedback frame comprises sensing reporting information (Du Figs. 3 and 7).
As per claim 14, Du discloses an access point device (Du Fig. 16), comprising: a memory, configured to store a computer program (Du Fig. 16 and [0236]); a processor, configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory (Du Fig. 16 and [0236]); and a transceiver (Du Fig. 16 and [0236]), configured to send a first trigger frame to at least one sensing response device, wherein the first trigger frame includes sensing reporting setup information, the sensing reporting setup information is used to determine a target sensing response device for sensing measurement reporting in the at least one sensing response device (Du Figs. 2, 3, 13, and [0196] FIG. 13 is a schematic diagram of another sensing method according to this application. As shown in FIG. 13, the method 400 may include S402 and S403. Optionally, the method 400 may further include one or more steps of S401, S404, and S405. The steps shown in FIG. 7 are described below. [0197] S401: A second device sends a sensing request message to a first device. Correspondingly, the first device receives the sensing request message. [0198] For this step, refer to S301. Details are not described herein again. In addition, S401 is the same as S301, and both are optional steps. [0199] S402: The first device sends a PPDU to at least one second device. Correspondingly, the second device receives the PPDU sent by the first device. [0200] Similar to that in S302, the PPDU in S402 may be sent based on S401, or not based on S401. [0201] First, the PPDU is used to indicate the at least one second device to perform a sensing task by using a sensing signal. After receiving the PPDU, the second device may determine that the second device needs to perform the sensing task by using the sensing signal. Optionally, the PPDU may further indicate a type of the sensing signal. To be specific, the PPDU may indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using a sensing signal. For example, the sensing signal may be a midamble, a pilot, or a preamble. It should be noted that the PPDU may not indicate the type of the sensing signal. In this case, the type of the sensing signal may be specified in a protocol, or may be negotiated by the first device and the at least one second device in advance. [0202] Secondly, the PPDU is further used to indicate a sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. A manner in which the PPDU indicates the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task is similar to a manner in which the announcement frame indicates the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task in S302. For details, refer to the foregoing description. Details are not described herein again. [0203] Optionally, a physical layer header (PHY Header) of the PPDU may indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the midamble, and to indicate the sensing parameter required by the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. [0204] For example, an existing SIG A may be reused. For example, some bits such as B14 in an HE-SIG A indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the midamble. For example, B14 is 1, indicating the at least one second device to perform the sensing task by using the midamble. [0152] For example, in this application, the second device may report the sensing result to the first device in the following manners: [0153] 1. The second device sends a feedback trigger (feedback trigger) frame, where the feedback indication information is the feedback trigger frame, and the second device reports the sensing result after receiving the feedback trigger frame. [0154] One feedback trigger frame can trigger only one second device to report the sensing result. In this case, the first device may send the feedback trigger frame to each second device in a specific order, and any second device reports the sensing result after receiving the feedback trigger frame corresponding to the second device. In other words, the at least one second device may report the sensing result by time. For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the second device sequentially sends a trigger frame to a second device #1 to a second device #N, to trigger the second device #1 to the second device #N to sequentially feed back a sensing result. [0155] One feedback trigger frame can alternatively trigger a plurality of second devices to report sensing results. In this case, after receiving the feedback trigger frame, the at least one second device may report the sensing results in a multiple-input multiple-output (multiple-input multiple-out, MIMO) or orthogonal frequency division multiple access (orthogonal frequency division multiple access, OFDMA) manner, in an order specified by the feedback trigger frame, or in another possible manner. For example, as shown in FIG. 8, the first device may send one feedback trigger frame, and a second device #1 to a second device #N may feed back the sensing results in the OFDMA manner. [0156] 2. The first device sends a poll (poll) frame, where the feedback indication information is the poll frame, and the second device performs a report based on the received poll frame. [0173] Optionally, a to distributed system (To DS) field and a from distributed system (From DS) field in the existing frame structure (for example, high efficiency (high efficiency, HE)/very high throughput (very high throughput, VHT) NDP Announcement) may be reused, to indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. When values of the two fields both are “0”, the announcement frame may indicate the at least one second device to perform the sensing task. Further, the value of the category field may indicate the first device configures the same sensing parameter for the at least one second device, or the first device configures a same part of the sensing parameter for the at least one second device, and the second device needs to set autonomously the remaining part of the sensing parameter.).
As per claim 15, Du discloses the access point according to claim 14, wherein the first trigger frame comprises an extremely high throughput (EHT) variant common information field and an EHT variant user information field, and the sensing reporting setup information is carried in the EHT variant common information field and/or the EHT variant user information field (Du Figs. 10, 11, and 12).
As per claim 16, Du discloses the access point according to claim 15, wherein the EHT variant common information field comprises a field of a sensing trigger frame subtype, and the sensing trigger frame subtype is used to indicate a subtype of a sensing trigger frame being a sensing feedback poll trigger frame (Du Figs. 10, 11, and 12 and [0182-0193]).
As per claim 17, Du discloses the access point according to claim 14, wherein the first trigger frame comprises a high efficiency (HE) variant common information field and a HE variant user information field, and the sensing reporting setup information is carried in the HE variant common information field and/or the HE variant user information field (Du Figs. 10, 11, and 12 and [0182-0193]).
As per claim 18, Du discloses the access point according to claim 17, wherein the HE variant common information field comprises a field of a sensing trigger frame subtype, and the sensing trigger frame subtype is used to indicate a subtype of a sensing trigger frame being a sensing feedback poll trigger frame (Du Figs. 9, 10, 11, and 12 and [0182-0193]).
As per claim 19, Du discloses the access point according to claim 14, wherein the transceiver further configured to: receive a first feedback frame sent by the at least one sensing response device, wherein the first feedback frame comprises sensing reporting information (Du Figs. 3 and 7).
As per claim 20, Du discloses a sensing response device (Du Fig. 15), comprising: a processor and a memory (Du Fig. 15), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (Du Fig. 15 and [0217]), the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method according to claim 8 (see claim 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476