DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No.12025672. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12025672 anticipate claim 1 limitations of the instant application.
#
Claims of US Patent No.
#12025672
Instant Claims
1
A battery management apparatus, comprising: a measuring unit connected to a battery and configured to operate in a measurement mode during a predetermined measurement time at each preset measurement cycle and measure battery information including at least one of voltage and temperature of the battery while operating in the measurement mode; and a control unit configured to operate in a communication mode during a preset operation time at each preset communication cycle, receive the battery information from the measuring unit while operating in the communication mode, set a next operation time point at which the measuring unit is to operate in the measurement mode based on at least one of the communication cycle and a measurement time, and change an operation time to operate in the communication mode at each subsequent communication cycle based on the measurement time so that the operation time of the control unit to operate in the communication mode and the measurement time of the measuring unit to operate in the measurement mode overlap.
1
A battery management apparatus, comprising: a measuring unit connected to a battery and configured to operate in a measurement mode during a predetermined measurement time at each preset measurement cycle and measure battery information including at least one of voltage and temperature of the battery while operating in the measurement mode; and a control unit configured to operate in a communication mode during a preset operation time at each preset communication cycle, receive the battery information from the measuring unit while operating in the communication mode, set a next operation time point at which the measuring unit is to operate in the measurement mode based on at least one of the communication cycle and a measurement time, and change an operation time to operate in the communication mode at each subsequent communication cycle to correspond to the measurement time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angel Kirchev (“Chapter 20 Battery Management and Battery Diagnostics”, Editors: Patrick T. Moseley, Jurgen Garche, Electrochemical Energy Storage for Renewable Sources and Grid Balancing, Elsevier, 2015, Pages 411-435), hereinafter referred to as ‘Kirchev’ and in further view of Kim et al. (US20160050712), hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim’.
Regarding Claim 1, Kirchev discloses a battery management apparatus, comprising: a measuring unit connected to a battery and configured to operate in a measurement mode during a predetermined measurement time at each preset measurement cycle and measure battery information including at least one of voltage and temperature of the battery while operating in the measurement mode (pg. 429, “20.4 Battery Diagnostics”); and a control unit configured to operate in a communication mode during a preset operation time at each preset communication cycle, receive the battery information from the measuring unit while operating in the communication mode (pg. 433; Fig. 20.11).
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose set a next operation time point at which the measuring unit is to operate in the measurement mode based on at least one of the communication cycle and a measurement time, and change an operation time to operate in the communication mode at each subsequent communication cycle to correspond to the measurement time.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses set a next operation time point at which the measuring unit is to operate in the measurement mode based on at least one of the communication cycle and a measurement time, and change an operation time to operate in the communication mode at each subsequent communication cycle to correspond to the measurement time (The electronic device 100 adjusts a device element associated with a specific communication state or environment, thereby reducing power required for the specific communication state or environment. For example, the electronic device 100 adjusts at least one of an operation power and an operation clock of the processor 120 or a modem or an antenna state during an inactive period (or a control signal transmission and reception period) of a communication channel. The electronic device 100 minimizes power consumption required for the inactive period of the communication channel and/or operates based on a specific power value. Also, the electronic device 100 minimizes power consumption by adaptively selecting an element of the electronic device, which is adjusted in response to a state of the communication channel (e.g., a communication environment including at least one of strength or intensity of a transmission and reception signal, a data rate, a data transfer rate, a data transfer error rate, or a bandwidth), and by optimizing maintenance of a communication service [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to adjust at least one of an operation power and an operation clock of the processor to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Regarding Claim 2, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kirchev discloses the measuring unit is configured to operate in the measurement mode at the next operation time point to measure the battery information and operate in the measurement mode at each measurement cycle after measuring the battery information (The resulting number of equivalent cycles can be compared with existing SOH(n) data, where n corresponds to a number of deep cycles or equivalent cycles, “continuous monitoring of the cumulative Faradic efficiency” pg. 430).
Regarding Claim 3, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
Kirchev discloses the control unit…measurement cycle so that the measuring unit operates in the measurement mode at an operation point of the communication mode (as discussed above).
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point based on the measurement cycle so that the measuring unit operates in the measurement mode at an operation start point of the communication mode.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point based on the measurement cycle so that the measuring unit operates in the measurement mode at an operation point of the communication mode (The electronic device 100 adjusts a device element associated with a specific communication state or environment, thereby reducing power required for the specific communication state or environment. For example, the electronic device 100 adjusts at least one of an operation power and an operation clock of the processor 120 or a modem or an antenna state during an inactive period (or a control signal transmission and reception period) of a communication channel. The electronic device 100 minimizes power consumption required for the inactive period of the communication channel and/or operates based on a specific power value. Also, the electronic device 100 minimizes power consumption by adaptively selecting an element of the electronic device, which is adjusted in response to a state of the communication channel (e.g., a communication environment including at least one of strength or intensity of a transmission and reception signal, a data rate, a data transfer rate, a data transfer error rate, or a bandwidth), and by optimizing maintenance of a communication service [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Regarding Claim 4, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kirchev discloses the measurement cycle, and the control unit (as discussed above).
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose the operation time is configured to be set in advance to correspond to the measurement cycle, and wherein the control unit is configured to change the operation time to correspond to the measurement time, after setting the next operation time point.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses the operation time is configured to be set in advance to correspond to the measurement cycle, and wherein the control unit is configured to change the operation time to correspond to the measurement time, (The operation clock control module 73 sets a clock of the processor 120 in the active period differently from when the processor 120 is in the inactive period. For example, the operation clock control module 73 controls the processor 120 to operate according to a clock at a first level (e.g., a clock at a first speed) in the active period. The operation clock control module 73 controls the processor 120 to operate according to a clock at a second level (e.g., a clock at a level which is lower than the first level, or a clock at a second speed which is slower than the first speed) in the inactive period [0066]; According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the controlling of the at least one may include differently setting, i.e., set in advance, at least one of a change order, a change time point, or a change level of the operation power, the operation clock, or the operation state of the diversity module in the inactive period corresponding to a communication environment including at least one of received signal strength, a transmission speed, or a bandwidth in the active period [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to change level of the operation power, the operation clock, or the operation state of the diversity module in the inactive period to improve accuracy of the battery management system.
Regarding Claim 8, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Kirchev discloses the control unit (as discussed above).
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point and then change the operation time based on the number of the plurality of measuring units and the measurement time.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses setting the next operation time point and then change the operation time based on the measuring unit and the measurement time (In a communication service of the electronic device 100, a request to be changed to the active period, within a certain time after entrance to the inactive period, may be repeatedly generated within a certain time by the certain number of times or more. In this regard, the operation power control module 71 minimizes damage corresponding to a change difference in power supplied to the electronic device 100 by reducing a change difference in an operation power as the request is repeatedly generated. For example, the operation power control module 71 controls a level of an operation power to have a first operation power state during a first period after entrance to the inactive period and to have a second operation power state during a second period after entrance to the inactive period [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Regarding Claim 10, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kirchev discloses the measuring unit is configured to store the battery information measured at the each preset measurement cycle (20.4.1: Data Storage, pg. 429) and transmit all of the stored battery information to the control unit when the control unit operates in the communication mode while the measuring unit is operating in the measurement mode (20.4.1: Data Storage, pg. 430).
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose the measuring unit is configured to store the battery information measured at the each preset measurement cycle and transmit all of the stored battery information to the control unit when the control unit operates in the communication mode while the measuring unit is operating in the measurement mode.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses transmit all of the stored battery information to the control unit when the control unit operates in the communication mode while the measuring unit is operating in the measurement mode (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Regarding Claim 12, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kirchev discloses the control unit (as discussed above) is configured to extract a voltage value and a temperature value of the battery from the received battery information, obtain a voltage comparison result by comparing the extracted voltage value with a reference voltage value (The prediction of charge acceptance is highly interesting for battery applications where considerable quantities of energy should be accumulated over short periods of time. It can be done combining laboratory impedance measurements delivering the parameterization for an equivalent electric circuits modeling and real-time monitoring of the current, voltage, and temperature, pg. 419; All this makes the analysis of the battery historic data a very attractive and promising approach for battery diagnostics and near-term battery prediction. We can distinguish several easy-to-define-and-analyze parameters which
can be used as battery history diagnostics tools, pg. 429), obtain a temperature comparison result by comparing the extracted temperature value with a reference temperature value (20.3.2.43, pg. 422; Thus the historic data of the temperature and the evolution of SOC can be used to perform the corresponding calendar aging diagnostics, pg. 430), and diagnose a state of the battery based on at least one of the voltage comparison result and the temperature comparison result (Battery Diagnostics:20.4, pg. 429).
Regarding Claim 13, Kirchev discloses a battery management method, comprising: a battery information measuring operation, by a measuring unit, of operating in a measurement mode during a predetermined measurement time at each preset measurement cycle and measuring battery information including at least one of voltage and temperature of the battery while operating in the measurement mode (pg. 429, “20.4 Battery Diagnostics”); a battery information receiving operation, by a control unit, of operating in a communication mode during a preset operation time at each preset communication cycle and receiving the measured battery information while operating in the communication mode (pg. 433; Fig. 20.11).
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose an operation time point setting operation, by the control unit, of setting a next operation time point at which the measuring unit is to operate in the measurement mode based on at least one of the communication cycle and a measurement time; and an operation time changing operation, by the control unit, of changing an operation time to operate in the communication mode at each subsequent communication cycle to correspond to the measurement time.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses an operation time point setting operation, by the control unit, of setting a next operation time point at which the measuring unit is to operate in the measurement mode based on at least one of the communication cycle and a measurement time; and an operation time changing operation, by the control unit, of changing an operation time to operate in the communication mode at each subsequent communication cycle to correspond to the measurement time (The electronic device 100 adjusts a device element associated with a specific communication state or environment, thereby reducing power required for the specific communication state or environment. For example, the electronic device 100 adjusts at least one of an operation power and an operation clock of the processor 120 or a modem or an antenna state during an inactive period (or a control signal transmission and reception period) of a communication channel. The electronic device 100 minimizes power consumption required for the inactive period of the communication channel and/or operates based on a specific power value. Also, the electronic device 100 minimizes power consumption by adaptively selecting an element of the electronic device, which is adjusted in response to a state of the communication channel (e.g., a communication environment including at least one of strength or intensity of a transmission and reception signal, a data rate, a data transfer rate, a data transfer error rate, or a bandwidth), and by optimizing maintenance of a communication service [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Regarding Claim 14, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 13.
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose the operation time is reduced to be the same as the measurement time.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses the operation time is reduced to be the same as the measurement time (In a communication service of the electronic device 100, a request to be changed to the active period, within a certain time after entrance to the inactive period, may be repeatedly generated within a certain time by the certain number of times or more. In this regard, the operation power control module 71 minimizes damage corresponding to a change difference in power supplied to the electronic device 100 by reducing a change difference in an operation power as the request is repeatedly generated [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Regarding Claim 15, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 4.
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose the operation time is reduced to be the same as the measurement time.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses the operation time is reduced to be the same as the measurement time (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Claims 5-6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchev and Kim, and further in view of Song et al. (US20130130068) hereinafter referred to as ‘Song’.
Regarding Claim 5, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kirchev discloses when the battery is provided in, the measuring unit, each measuring unit being configured to operate at each measurement cycle to measure battery information of a corresponding battery (as discussed above), and wherein the control unit is (as discussed above).
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose when the battery is provided in a plurality, the measuring unit is provided in plurality to respectively correspond to the plurality of batteries, each measuring unit being configured to operate at each measurement cycle to measure battery information of a corresponding battery among the plurality of batteries, and wherein the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point for each of the plurality of measuring units based on at least one of the communication cycle and the measurement time.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point based on at least one of the communication cycle and the measurement time (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
However, Kirchev and Kim do not explicitly disclose when the battery is provided in a plurality, the measuring unit is provided in plurality to respectively correspond to the plurality of batteries, each measuring unit being configured to operate at each measurement cycle to measure battery information of a corresponding battery among the plurality of batteries, and wherein the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point for each of the plurality of measuring units based on at least one of the communication cycle and the measurement time.
Nevertheless, Song discloses when the battery is provided in a plurality, the measuring unit is provided in plurality to respectively correspond to the plurality of batteries, each measuring unit being configured to operate at each measurement cycle to measure battery information of a corresponding battery among the plurality of batteries (The monitoring data may be related to one selected from the group including a voltage, a current, a temperature, a remaining amount of power, a lifetime, and a state of charge of the plurality of battery tray [0017]), and wherein the control unit is configured to set the operation time point for each of the plurality of measuring units (According to one or more embodiments of the present invention, a battery system may include a number of tray battery management systems (BMSs) controlling at least one battery tray formed of a plurality of battery cells. Further, a rack BMS transmitting a synchronization signal to the tray BMSs to measure monitoring data may be included in which the tray BMSs transmit the synchronization signal to a next tray BMS, measure monitoring data of the at least one battery tray via the transmitted synchronization signal, and transmit the measured monitoring data to the rack BMS [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev and Kim with the teachings of Song to measure monitoring data may be included in which the tray BMSs transmit the synchronization signal to a next tray BMS to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Regarding Claim 6, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Kirchev discloses the control unit (as discussed above).
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose the control unit is configured to calculate a time interval between an operation start point of the communication mode and an operation start point of the measurement mode for each of the plurality of measuring units and set the next operation time point for each of the plurality of measuring units based on the calculated time interval, the measurement cycle, and the measurement time.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses the control unit is configured to calculate a time between an operation point of the communication mode and an operation point of the measurement mode (as discussed above) and set the next operation time point for the measuring unit based on the time, the measurement cycle, and the measurement time (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
However, Kirchev and Kim do not explicitly disclose the control unit is configured to calculate a time interval between an operation start point of the communication mode and an operation start point of the measurement mode for each of the plurality of measuring units and set the next operation time point for each of the plurality of measuring units based on the calculated time interval, the measurement cycle, and the measurement time.
Nevertheless, Song discloses the plurality of measuring units (as discussed) and set the operation time point for each of the plurality of measuring units (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev and Kim with the teachings of Song to measure monitoring data may be included in which the tray BMSs transmit the synchronization signal to a next tray BMS to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kirchev discloses the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point (as discussed above).
However, Kirchev do not explicitly disclose the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point at the each preset communication cycle.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses setting the next operation time point at the communication cycle (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
However, Kirchev and Kim do not explicitly disclose the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point at the each preset communication cycle.
Nevertheless, Song discloses preset communication cycle (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev and Kim with the teachings of Song to measure monitoring data may be included in which the tray BMSs transmit the synchronization signal to a next tray BMS to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Regarding Claim 16, Kirchev and Kim disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
However, Kirchev does not explicitly disclose the operation time is reduced to be the same as the measurement time of the plurality of measuring units.
Nevertheless, Kim discloses the operation time is reduced to be the same as the measurement time of the measuring unit (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev with the teachings of Kim to optimize maintenance of a communication service to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
However, Kirchev and Kim do not explicitly disclose the operation time is reduced to be the same as the measurement time of the plurality of measuring units.
Nevertheless, Song discloses the plurality of measuring units (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kirchev and Kim with the teachings of Song to measure monitoring data may be included in which the tray BMSs transmit the synchronization signal to a next tray BMS to improve accuracy of the battery management apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are allowable.
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims and also amended to overcome the Double Patenting and 35 USC § 103 rejection(s) presented above.
Claim 7 is allowable because the closest prior art Kirchev, Kim, and Song either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious wherein the control unit is configured to set the next operation time point for each of the plurality of measuring units according to Equation 1 below based on an identification number of each of the plurality of measuring units,
, where TNEXT is the next operation time point, TS is the measurement cycle, N is an identification number set to each of the plurality of measuring units, which is a positive number, TGN is a time interval between the operation start point of the communication mode of the control unit and the operation start point of the measurement mode of the measuring unit whose identification number is N, and TP is the measurement time, in combination with all other limitations in the claim as claimed and defined by applicant.
Claim 9 is allowable because the closest prior art Kirchev, Kim, and Song either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious the control unit is configured to change the operation time according to Equation 2 below,
, where TQ is the operation time, M is the number of the plurality of measuring units, and TP is the measurement time, in combination with all other limitations in the claim as claimed and defined by applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jun-ichi Nagata (US20190011503) discloses an information processing apparatus includes a memory, and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to, execute a first process by using electric power supplied from a battery, identify a first change amount of electric current supplied from the battery.
Yongiun Tae (US20100295382) discloses a battery management system includes at least one slave battery management system and a master battery management system.
Yusuke Kimata (US20050101283) discloses an application event in a portable terminal with the communication function that has an application control CPU (ACPU) and a communication control CPU (CCPU), the operation of a control target unit.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857