Applicant’s IDS filed on 05/30/2024 has been and considered.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kurakata et al. (JP 2022/042430, A1), in view of Kakegawa et al. (JP H06164861, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kurakata teaches at least in the Abstract an image reading device comprising:
an image reader to read image data from a document (the reading means of at least the Abstract);
a density reference member facing the image reader (the cited “density reference member that is provided opposite to the reading means” of the Abstract);
a movable mechanism to movably support the density reference member in a movable state (the cited “moving means that moves the density reference member in a main scanning direction” further comprises said movable mechanism);
circuitry (ie. controller 100 of the disclosure) configured to:
cause the image reader to read the image data from the document while the density reference member is at a first position in the fixed state (Abstract further implies image reading of the document is performed while the density reference member is at a first position in the fixed state not yet moved to the main scanning direction);
cause the image reader to read shading data from the density reference member while the density reference member is at a second position different from the first position in the movable state (abstract and the disclosure further cites the moving means configured to move density reference member while the density reference member is at a second position different from the first position in the movable state where the control means causes said image reader to read shading data from the density reference member while the density reference member is at the said second position);
generate reference data used for a shading correction from the shading data read from the density reference member by the image reader (reference density data as implied from at least the Abstract and the disclosure are generated from the read density reference member and used for a shading correction from the shading data read from the density reference member by the image reader); and
perform the shading correction on the image data read from the document by the image reader, using the reference data (Abstract and disclosure).
Kurakata is silent regarding specifically a lock mechanism to lock the movable mechanism to fix a position of the density reference member in a fixed state.
Kakegawa teaches performing shading correction utilizing a cited “white reference roller rotating mechanism of an image reading apparatus, and more particularly, only when the white reference level is read, the white reference surface portion of the white reference roller is adjusted to the image reading position” and cited “locking member that rotates with the rotation of the white reference roller, and the locking member that rotates when the transport motor rotates in the direction opposite to the document transport direction. A first locking portion that locks the member and stops the white reference roller at a position where the white reference surface matches the image reading position, and the locking when the transport motor rotates in the document transport direction. A second locking portion that locks the member for driving and stops the white reference roller at a position where the white reference surface portion deviates from the conveyance path of the original document” where the first/second locking portion/member comprises the lock mechanism configured to lock and/or unlock the movable reference member facing an image reader to be movable in such a way where shading read data may be obtained in a case from the reference member by the image reading device and to return said member obviously to a fixed locked position when not in use. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kurakata in in view of Kakegawa to include wherein said lock mechanism to lock the movable mechanism to fix a position of the density reference member in a fixed state, as discussed above, as Kurakata in in view of Kakegawa are in the same field of endeavor of employing methods and systems for maintain a shading reference member at a first fixed position where image reading of a document is performed and to move said reference member from the first fixed position to a second position where the member is read by the reading to generate reference data used for a shading correction and to perform said shading correction, Kakegawa’s combination of controlling the movement positioning of the reference member in addition to providing a reference member locking mechanism further complements the shading data generation unit of Kurakata, in the sense that said reference member locking mechanism of Kakegawa when combined with the shading data generation means of Kurakata, it further enables the reference member unit to be restrained or locked in a fixed state when not in use thereby prevent paper jamming or sheet transport inconveniences according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 9, Kurakata teaches at least in the Abstract and the disclosure an image reading method comprising:
reading image data from a document while a density reference member is at a first position (Abstract further implies image reading of the document is performed while the density reference member is at a first position in the fixed state not yet moved to the main scanning direction);
reading shading data from the density reference member at the second position (abstract and the disclosure further cites the moving means configured to move density reference member while the density reference member is at a second position different from the first position in the movable state where the control means causes said image reader to read shading data from the density reference member while the density reference member is at the said second position);
generating reference data used for shading correction from the shading data read from the density reference member (reference density data as implied from at least the Abstract and the disclosure are generated from the read density reference member and used for a shading correction from the shading data read from the density reference member by the image reader); and
performing the shading correction on the image data read from the document, using the reference data generated from the shading data (Abstract and disclosure).
Kurakata is silent regarding specifically unlocking the density reference member facing an image reader to be movable.
Kakegawa teaches performing shading correction utilizing a cited “white reference roller rotating mechanism of an image reading apparatus, and more particularly, only when the white reference level is read, the white reference surface portion of the white reference roller is adjusted to the image reading position” and cited “locking member that rotates with the rotation of the white reference roller, and the locking member that rotates when the transport motor rotates in the direction opposite to the document transport direction. A first locking portion that locks the member and stops the white reference roller at a position where the white reference surface matches the image reading position, and the locking when the transport motor rotates in the document transport direction. A second locking portion that locks the member for driving and stops the white reference roller at a position where the white reference surface portion deviates from the conveyance path of the original document” where the first/second locking portion/member comprises the lock mechanism configured to lock and/or unlock the movable reference member facing an image reader to be movable in such a way where shading read data may be obtained in a case from the reference member by the image reading device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kurakata in in view of Kakegawa to include wherein said lock mechanism to lock the movable mechanism to fix a position of the density reference member in a fixed state, as discussed above, as Kurakata in in view of Kakegawa are in the same field of endeavor of employing methods and systems for maintain a shading reference member at a first fixed position where image reading of a document is performed and to move said reference member from the first fixed position to a second position where the member is read by the reading to generate reference data used for a shading correction and to perform said shading correction, Kakegawa’s combination of controlling the movement positioning of the reference member in addition to providing a reference member locking mechanism further complements the shading data generation unit of Kurakata, in the sense that said reference member locking mechanism of Kakegawa when combined with the shading data generation means of Kurakata, it further enables the reference member unit to be restrained or locked in a fixed state when not in use thereby prevent paper jamming or sheet transport inconveniences according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, and 13-15 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nakada et al. (JP 2019129457, A1), in view of Sakuma et al. (US 2018/0103168 corresponding to JP 2018061202, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakada teaches at least in the Abstract an image reading device comprising:
an image reader to read image data from a document (reading device 14 of at least the disclosure is adapted to read image data from a document);
a density reference member facing the image reader (the disclosure further cites “white reference member 16 is an example of a density reference member” configured for facing the image reader 14);
a movable mechanism to movably support the density reference member in a movable state (Nakada further teaches at least in Figs. 2, 20-21 and the disclosure “The rotating member 15 is an example of a moving member. A white reference member 16 for obtaining white correction data for shading correction is provided on the rotating member 15. The white reference member 16 is an example of a density reference member……white reference member 16 is retracted from the conveyance path of the transfer sheet to be described later. At the time of shading correction, as shown in FIG. 2B, it is moved to a position opposed to the reading device 14 to acquire white correction data” which further indicates the rotating member 15 serves as the movable mechanism to movably support the density reference member 16 in a movable state driven by at least a motor 23);
a restraining mechanism to retract the movable mechanism to fix a position of the density reference member in a fixed state (the disclosure further cites “control unit controls movement of the moving member so as to retract the density reference member to a position away from the reading position of the reading unit except when acquiring the image correction data” thereby essentially insinuating the control unit comprises a restraining mechanism means configured to fix a position of said density reference member in a fixed state when not in use); and
circuitry (cited control unit of the disclosure) configured to:
cause the image reader to read the image data from the document while the density reference member is at a first position in the fixed state (the disclosure further cites “In one example, an in-line sensor is provided in the vicinity of the delivery section of the transport sheet, reads the image of the transport sheet being transported, detects the RGB value of the image, the image density, the position of the line drawing, etc.” thereby implies a case where said image reader read the image data from the document while understoodly the density reference member is at a first position in the fixed state);
cause the image reader to read shading data from the density reference member while the density reference member is at a second position different from the first position in the movable state (the disclosure further cites said caused reading such as “In this case, when the reading of the white reference member 16 is started (t = t0), the point a of the white reference member 16 is at a position facing the reading device 14 as shown in FIG. Further, when the reading of the white reference member 16 is completed (t = t1), the point b of the white reference member is at a position facing the reading device 14. That is, as shown in FIG. 7, it can be seen that the reading length of the white reference member 16 at “t = t0” .fwdarw. “t = t1” is equivalent to “L” of the effective area of the white reference member 16” thereby causing read shading data from the density reference member while the density reference member is at a second position different from the first position in the movable state);
generate reference data used for a shading correction from the shading data read from the density reference member by the image reader (read density reference member data of at least the Abstract are inherently generated used for a shading correction from the shading data read from the density reference member by the image reader); and
perform the shading correction on the image data read from the document by the image reader, using the reference data (as further cited in the Abstract).
However, Nakada is silent regarding wherein specifically a lock mechanism to lock the movable mechanism to fix a position of the density reference member in a fixed state.
Sakuma teaches at least in para. 0048 and the disclosure an image reading device includes a second reading unit for reading an image from a document passing a reading position, and a white density reference member 41 placed at a position from the reading unit than the reading position across a transport path; Sakuma further teaches in para. 0048-0050 and Figs. 5-6 the system further comprises a locking part 42 as the locked mechanism adapted to lock the movable mechanism to fix a position of the density reference member 28/41 in a fixed state when not in use. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakada in in view of Sakuma to include wherein said lock mechanism to lock the movable mechanism to fix a position of the density reference member in a fixed state, as discussed above, as Nakada in in view of Sakuma are in the same field of endeavor of employing methods and systems for maintain a density reference member at a first fixed position where image reading of a document is performed and to move said reference member from the first fixed position to a second position where the member is read by the reading to generate reference data used for a shading correction and to perform said shading correction, Sakuma’s combination of controlling the movement positioning of the density reference member in addition to providing a reference member locking mechanism further complements the shading data generation unit of Nakada, in the sense that said density reference member locking mechanism of Sakuma when combined with the shading data generation means of Nakada, it further enables the reference member unit to be restrained or locked in a fixed state when not in use thereby prevent paper jamming or sheet transport inconveniences according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 1), Nakada further teaches wherein the movable mechanism includes an operation member, and the operation member is movable between the first position and the second position (the disclosure further cites “The rotating member 15 is an example of a moving member. A white reference member 16 for obtaining white correction data for shading correction is provided on the rotating member 15. The white reference member 16 is an example of a density reference member……control unit controls movement of the moving member so as to retract the density reference member to a position away from the reading position of the reading unit except when acquiring the image correction data” essentially noting said rotating member 15 controlled by the disclosed control unit inherently comprises an operation member obviously movable between the first fixed position and the second position when conducting reading of the reference member)
and unlock the density reference member at the second position in the movable state (the system likewise further notes “control unit controls movement of the moving member so as to retract the density reference member to a position away from the reading position of the reading unit except when acquiring the image correction data” essentially further implying said control unit causes obviously the unlocking of the reference member when instructed to perform reading of the reference member from the first position to the second position in the movable state).
However, Nakada is silent regarding wherein specifically to cause the lock mechanism to: lock the density reference member at the first position in the fixed state and unlock the density reference member at the second position in the movable state.
Sakuma further teaches at least in para. 0048-0050 and Figs. 5-6 the system further comprises a locking part 42 as the locked mechanism adapted to lock the movable mechanism to fix a position of the density reference member 28/41 in a fixed state when not in use and to obviously unlock the density reference member at the second position in the movable state to perform reading of the density member for obtaining the reference data. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakada in in view of Sakuma to include wherein said cause the lock mechanism to: lock the density reference member at the first position in the fixed state and unlock the density reference member at the second position in the movable state, as discussed above, as Nakada in in view of Sakuma are in the same field of endeavor of employing methods and systems for maintain a density reference member at a first fixed position where image reading of a document is performed and to move said reference member from the first fixed position to a second position where the member is read by the reading to generate reference data used for a shading correction and to perform said shading correction, Sakuma’s combination of controlling the movement positioning of the density reference member in addition to providing a reference member locking mechanism further complements the shading data generation unit of Nakada, in the sense that said density reference member locking mechanism of Sakuma when combined with the shading data generation means of Nakada, it further enables the reference member unit to be restrained or locked in a fixed state when not in use thereby prevent paper jamming or sheet transport inconveniences according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 1), Nakada further teaches wherein the movable mechanism movably supports the density reference member in a main scanning direction in which the image reader reads the document (Nakada further teaches at least in Figs. 2, 20-21 and the disclosure the rotating member 15 movably supports the density reference member 16 in a main scanning direction or axial direction in which the image reader reads the document).
Regarding claim 7 (according to claim 1), Nakada further teaches wherein the movable mechanism movably supports the density reference member in a sub-scanning direction in which the document is conveyed to the image reader (Nakada further teaches at least in Figs. 2, 20-21 and the disclosure the rotating member 15 movably is capable of supporting the density reference member 16 such as “The rotation member 15 is rotatable in the sub scanning direction with the center O as a rotation axis……At the time of shading correction, as shown in FIG. 2B, it is moved to a position opposed to the reading device 14 to acquire white correction data…… Note that the reading device 14, the rotation member 15, and the white reference member 16 may be arranged anywhere in the paper conveyance path (the arrangement positions of the reading device 14 to the white reference member 16 are arbitrary” essentially noting that said mechanism movably supports the density reference member capably in a sub-scanning direction in which the document is conveyed to the image reader).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 1), Nakada further teaches wherein an image forming apparatus 3 of Fig. 1 comprising: the image reading device 14 according to claim 1; and an image former 5 to form an image based on the image data read by the image reading device.
Regarding claim 9, Nakada teaches in Fig. 1 and the Abstract an image reading method comprising:
reading image data from a document while a density reference member is at a first position (the disclosure further cites “In one example, an in-line sensor is provided in the vicinity of the delivery section of the transport sheet, reads the image of the transport sheet being transported, detects the RGB value of the image, the image density, the position of the line drawing, etc.” thereby implies a case where said image reader read the image data from the document while understoodly the density reference member is at a first position in the fixed state);
releasing the density reference member facing an image reader to be movable (Nakada further teaches at least in Figs. 2, 20-21 and the disclosure “control unit controls movement of the moving member so as to retract the density reference member to a position away from the reading position of the reading unit except when acquiring the image correction data” thereby essentially insinuating the control unit comprises the means to release or unlock the density reference member 16 facing an image reader to be movable for performing reading of the said member);
moving the density reference member from the first position to a second position different from the first position (Nakada further teaches at least in Figs. 2, 20-21 and the disclosure “control unit controls movement of the moving member so as to retract the density reference member to a position away from the reading position of the reading unit except when acquiring the image correction data” thereby further insinuating the control unit further comprises the means for moving the density reference member using at least the cited motor to move said member from the first position to a second position different from the first position for reading);
reading shading data from the density reference member at the second position (the disclosure further cites said caused reading such as “In this case, when the reading of the white reference member 16 is started (t = t0), the point a of the white reference member 16 is at a position facing the reading device 14 as shown in FIG. Further, when the reading of the white reference member 16 is completed (t = t1), the point b of the white reference member is at a position facing the reading device 14. That is, as shown in FIG. 7, it can be seen that the reading length of the white reference member 16 at “t = t0” .fwdarw. “t = t1” is equivalent to “L” of the effective area of the white reference member 16” thereby causing read shading data from the density reference member while the density reference member is at a second position different from the first position in the movable state);
generating reference data used for shading correction from the shading data read from the density reference member (read density reference member data of at least the Abstract are inherently generated used for a shading correction from the shading data read from the density reference member by the image reader); and
performing the shading correction on the image data read from the document, using the reference data generated from the shading data (as further cited in the Abstract).
However, Nakada is silent regarding wherein specifically unlocking the density reference member facing an image reader to be movable.
Sakuma further teaches at least in para. 0048-0050 and Figs. 5-6 the system further comprises a locking part 42 as the locked mechanism adapted to lock the movable mechanism to fix a position of the density reference member 28/41 in a fixed state when not in use and to obviously unlock the density reference member at the second position in the movable state to perform reading of the density member for obtaining the reference data. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakada in in view of Sakuma to include wherein said unlocking the density reference member facing an image reader to be movable, as discussed above, as Nakada in in view of Sakuma are in the same field of endeavor of employing methods and systems for maintain a density reference member at a first fixed position where image reading of a document is performed and to move said reference member from the first fixed position to a second position where the member is read by the reading to generate reference data used for a shading correction and to perform said shading correction, Sakuma’s combination of controlling the movement positioning of the density reference member in addition to providing a reference member locking mechanism further complements the shading data generation unit of Nakada, in the sense that said density reference member locking mechanism of Sakuma when combined with the shading data generation means of Nakada, it further enables the reference member unit to be restrained or locked in a fixed state when not in use thereby prevent paper jamming or sheet transport inconveniences according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 13 (according to claim 9), Nakada is silent regarding specifically wherein said image reading method further comprising: locking the density reference member at the first position using an operation member movable between the first position and the second position; and unlocking the density reference member at the second position using the operation member.
Sakuma further teaches at least in para. 0048-0050 and Figs. 5-6 the system further comprises a locking part 42 as the locked mechanism adapted to lock the movable mechanism 15 comprising an inherent operation member movable between the first position and the second position to fix at a first position said density reference member 28/41 in a fixed state when not in use and further configured to obviously unlock or release the density reference member at the second position in the movable state using implied operation member or the like to perform reading of the density member for obtaining the reference data. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakada in in view of Sakuma to include wherein said reading method further comprising: locking the density reference member at the first position using an operation member movable between the first position and the second position; and unlocking the density reference member at the second position using the operation member, as discussed above, as Nakada in in view of Sakuma are in the same field of endeavor of employing methods and systems for maintain a density reference member at a first fixed position where image reading of a document is performed and to move said reference member from the first fixed position to a second position where the member is read by the reading to generate reference data used for a shading correction and to perform said shading correction, Sakuma’s combination of controlling the movement positioning of the density reference member in addition to providing a reference member locking mechanism further complements the shading data generation unit of Nakada, in the sense that said density reference member locking mechanism of Sakuma when combined with the shading data generation means of Nakada, it further enables the reference member unit to be restrained or locked in a fixed state when not in use thereby prevent paper jamming or sheet transport inconveniences according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 14 (according to claim 9), Nakada further teaches wherein the moving the density reference member includes moving the density reference member in a main scanning direction in which the reading of the document is performed (Nakada further teaches at least in Figs. 2, 20-21 and the disclosure the rotating member 15 movably supports the density reference member 16 in a main scanning direction or axial direction in which the image reader reads the document).
Regarding claim 15 (according to claim 9), Nakada further teaches wherein the moving the density reference member includes moving the density reference member in a sub-scanning direction in which the document is conveyed (Nakada further teaches at least in Figs. 2, 20-21 and the disclosure the rotating member 15 movably is capable of supporting the density reference member 16 such as “The rotation member 15 is rotatable in the sub scanning direction with the center O as a rotation axis……At the time of shading correction, as shown in FIG. 2B, it is moved to a position opposed to the reading device 14 to acquire white correction data…… Note that the reading device 14, the rotation member 15, and the white reference member 16 may be arranged anywhere in the paper conveyance path (the arrangement positions of the reading device 14 to the white reference member 16 are arbitrary” essentially noting that said mechanism movably supports the density reference member capably in a sub-scanning direction in which the document is conveyed to the image reader).
Claims Standings
Claims 2-4 and 10-12 remained objected over the prior arts of record, as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and/or if properly incorporated in the indepddent claims including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior arts do not appear to teach claim 2. The image reading device according to claim 1, further comprising: a first memory including nonvolatile memory; and a second memory including volatile memory, wherein the circuitry is further configured to: generate first reference data from the shading data read and store the first reference data in the first memory via the second memory; generate second reference data from the shading data read after a generation of the first reference data; select one of the first reference data in the first memory or the second reference data and cause the second memory to store selected one of the first reference data or the second reference data; and perform the shading correction on the image data using the first reference data or the second reference data selected and stored in the second memory.
3. The image reading device according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to detect and correct an abnormal portion of the first reference data or the second reference data stored in the second memory using the second reference data stored in the first memory.
4. The image reading device according to claim 2, wherein the image reader includes a first component; the density reference member includes a second component; the first memory and the second memory include a third component, when at least one of the first component, the second component, or the third component is replaced, the circuitry is further configured to regenerate reference data for shading correction, from the shading data read by the image reader from the density reference member at the second position and in the fixed state, and the first memory stores the reference data regenerated.
10. The image reading method according to claim 9, further comprising: generating first reference data from the shading data read and storing the first reference data in a first memory including volatile memory via a second memory including volatile memory; generating second reference data from the shading data read after a generation of the first reference data; selecting one of the first reference data in the first memory or the second reference data and cause the second memory to store selected one of the first reference data or the second reference data; and performing the shading correction on the image data using the first reference data or the second reference data selected and stored in the second memory.
11. The image reading method according to claim 10, further comprising detecting and correcting an abnormal portion of the first reference data or the second reference data stored in the second memory using the second reference data stored in the first memory.
12. The image reading method according to claim 10, further comprising: regenerating reference data for shading correction, from the shading data read from the density reference member at the second position when at least one of a first component as the density reference member; a second component as the density reference member; or a third component as the first memory and the second memory is replaced; and storing the reference data regenerated in the first memory.
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 07/16/2026