DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on August 14, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the composition recited in claims 1-6 comprising a powdered grain is a separate invention from a process for preparing milled, malted grains.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallourd et al. (US 2020/0178580 A1) in view of DeathBrewer (Easy Stovetop All-Grain Brewing (with pics), homebrewtalk.com).
With respect to Claim 1, Fallourd et al. teaches a malt sprouts extract and their uses, [0001] wherein the extract can be in the form of a powder. [0034] Additionally, Fallourd et al. teaches the extract can be used in combination with a carrier comprising additional ingredients, [0807] such as salt, sugar, and stabilizers, [0813-817] and can be used for the formation of food products, such as beer. [0837]
Fallourd et al. reads on a flavored, powdered grain material comprising a powdered, malted grain material. Though Fallourd et al. does not explicitly teach the flavoring being plated onto the powdered material, the composition as taught wherein the powdered malt sprout extract is combined with additional ingredients, such as salt and sugar, reads on the flavor composition plated onto the powdered grain material.
Fallourd et al. is silent to a porous delivery vehicle in which the powdered grain material is contained during immersion into food or beverage.
DeathBrewer teaches a beginner friendly method of brewing beer [Pg. 1, Sec. 1] that requires the use of a grain bag. [Pg. 2, Equipment] DeathBrewer depicts the proper use of the grain bag on Pg. 5, showing that all the ingredients to be submerged in the water are contained in the porous material. [Pg. 5, Fig. 1]
Fallourd et al. and DeathBrewer exist within the same field of endeavor in that they teach fermented food compositions. Where Fallourd et al. teaches a powdered, malted grain for use in a variety of compositions, DeathBrewer teaches a specific recipe for brewing beer comprising a porous delivery vehicle for the grain material that is configured to be immersed into a food or beverage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Fallourd et al. in view of DeathBrewer to have devised a flavored carrier preparation for use in flavoring food and beverages comprising a powdered, flavored, malted grain material with a flavor composition plated onto the outside and a porous delivery vehicle, configured to be immersed into a food or beverage to deliver flavor, in which the flavored, powdered, malted grain material in contained, thereby rendering claim 1 obvious.
With respect to Claim 2, Fallourd et al. in view of DeathBrewer renders obvious the invention recited in claim 1. Additionally, Falourd et al. teaches that the malt sprout fractions are prepared using grain that is primarily of the germ. [0755] Therefore, Fallourd et al. in view of DeathBrewer renders obvious claim 2.
With respect to Claims 3 and 5, Fallourd et al. in view of DeathBrewer renders obvious the invention recited in claim 1. Additionally, Fallourd et al. teaches the extract can be used in combination with a carrier comprising additional ingredients, [0807] such as salt, sugar, and stabilizers. [0813-817] Therefore, Fallourd et al. in view of DeathBrewer renders claims 3 and 5 obvious.
With respect to Claims 4 and 6, Fallourd et al. in view of DeathBrewer renders obvious the invention recited in claims 1 and 3, as described above. Additionally, DeathBrewer teaches the solvent to be used is water [Pg. 3, Sec. 1] and the grain bag taught [Pg. 2, Equipment] reads on a sachet. In a preferred embodiment, the instant specification teaches that the ideal solvent is water. [0020] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Fallourd et al. in view of DeathBrewer to have devised the invention recited in claims 1 and 3 respectively, wherein the flavor composition comprises a solvent and the porous delivery vehicle is a sachet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jones (GB 2306970 A), teaches an invention comprising a sachet comprising all ingredients for homebrewing, including malt extract and flavors, except water and sugar (pages 3-4).
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791