DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to an application filed May 30th, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 30th, 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on May 30th, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more and the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more and the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 1:
The claim 1 is directed to a statutory category of product performing a method.
Step 2a Prong 1:
The method of claim 1 is a mental process and mathematical calculations. The method of claim 1 merely consists of estimate a temperature of a storage device based on information about an outside temperature received through the communication interface and a preset temperature offset, wherein the outside temperature is a temperature outside of the vehicle; and determine a data management period of the storage device in an off state based on the temperature of the storage device that is estimated by the data retention circuit and on a data retention parameter which under its BRI consists of calculating the temperature of a memory storage device and determining how long it should be turned off to let it cool down. For example, a thermal engineer can calculate the heat of an object based on its specific heat capacity, the temperature that was being exposed to, and the temperature it was originally at and then calculate how long it would take to reach a new, lower temperature based on the new temperature of the object and the temperature of the heat sink used to cool the object.
Step 2a Prong 2:
Claim 1 recites the additional element of [a]n electronic device installed in a vehicle, comprising: a communication interface; and a data retention circuit configured to communicate through the communication interface which is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional element is merely stating that the mental process is being performed in the technological environment of an electronic device installed on a vehicle. This additional element is insufficient to find a practical application because it is merely an indication of the technological environment of the judicial exception.
Step 2b:
The additional element of [a]n electronic device installed in a vehicle, comprising: a communication interface; and a data retention circuit configured to communicate through the communication interface, which was considered mere indication of the technological environment of the judicial exception in step 2a, is similarly insufficient for a finding of significantly more because it is merely linking the mental process of determining a memory storage device’s temperature and how long it should be turned off for based on the temperature to the technological environment of an electronic device installed on a vehicle. For example, the MPEP provides that mere indication that the judicial exception is being performed in a computer environment is insufficient for a showing of significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(h)(iv) “Specifying that the abstract idea of monitoring audit log data relates to transactions or activities that are executed in a computer environment, because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer, FairWarning v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1094-95, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1295 (Fed. Cir. 2016)”.
Claims 3-10 fall under the same judicial exceptions of claim(s) 1 and are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more and the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites the same mental process of claim 1 and goes on to further add the mental steps of determine the data management period further based on an exposure time table of the temperature of the storage device and the data retention parameter which under its BRI consists of calculating the time the memory storage device should be turned off base on how long the device was exposed to a temperature. For example, a thermal engineer can calculate the heat of an object based on its specific heat capacity, the temperature that was being exposed to, and the temperature it was originally at and then calculate how long it would take to reach a new temperature based on the new temperature of the object and the temperature of the heat sink used to cool the object.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites the same mental process of claim 3 and goes on to further add the mental steps of [t]he electronic device of claim 3, wherein for each time period of a plurality of time periods, the outside temperature corresponds to a temperature outside of the vehicle for that time period, wherein the data retention circuit is configured to: estimate a temperature of the storage device in each time period of the plurality of time periods based on the outside temperature of each time period of the plurality of time periods; and determine the data management period of the storage device in the off state based on the estimated temperature of the storage device in each time period of the plurality of time periods and the data retention parameter which under its BRI consists of calculating the time the memory storage device should be turned off base on how long the device was exposed to a temperature. For example, a thermal engineer can calculate the heat of an object based on its specific heat capacity, the temperature that was being exposed to, and the temperature it was originally at and then calculate how long it would take to reach a new temperature based on the new temperature of the object and the temperature of the heat sink used to cool the object.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites the same mental process of claim 4 and goes on to define the parameters used to calculate the data retention parameter includes a data retention time and an acceleration constant according to a reference temperature.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites the same mental process of claim 5 and goes on to further add the mental steps of determine the data management period further based on a scale factor table of the temperature of the storage device and the acceleration constant which under its BRI consists of calculating the time the memory storage device should be turned off base using the Arrhenius equation.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites the same mental process of claim 1 but with the additional elements of [t]he electronic device of claim 1, wherein the data retention circuit is configured to: send environment information of the storage device to a cloud server through the communication interface in response to an error signal corresponding to corrupted data of the storage device; receive a defense code sequence corresponding to the environment information from the cloud server; and send the received defense code sequence to the storage device which do not integrate the mental process and mathematical calculations into a practical application nor amount to significantly more as these are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities of a computer recovery system. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added))”.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites the same mental process of claim 7 and goes on to define the environment information includes an exposure temperature and an exposure time of the storage device.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites the same mental process of claim 1 and goes on to further add the mental steps of update the temperature offset based on the temperature of the storage device and an outside temperature outside of the vehicle and received during driving of the vehicle which under its BRI consists of adjusting constants used to calculate the time the memory storage device should be turned off base on how long the device was exposed to a temperature. For example, a thermal engineer would be able to adjust their calculations for the heat of an object based on its specific heat capacity, the temperature that was being exposed to, and the temperature it was originally at so that they can accurate estimate how long it would take to cool off the object.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites the same mental process of claim 9 and goes on to further add the mental steps of the temperature offset is determined based on the outside temperature, the weather type, and the temperature of the storage device which under its BRI consists of adjusting constants used to calculate the time the memory storage device should be turned off base on how long the device was exposed to a temperature. For example, a thermal engineer would be able to adjust their calculations for the heat of an object based on its specific heat capacity, the temperature that was being exposed to, and the temperature it was originally at so that they can accurate estimate how long it would take to cool off the object.
Given the above analysis, examiner has determined that claims 1 and 3-10 are not eligible subject matter under 101 and are thus rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-13, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konishi et al. (US Pub. No. 20180335775 A1), herein after Konishi, and further in view of Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 20220326862 A1), herein after Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Konishi teaches [a]n electronic device installed in a vehicle, comprising: a communication interface; and a data retention circuit configured to communicate through the communication interface (Konishi: Para. 0037, teaching an automatic traveling control device for a vehicle which includes hardware such as memory configured to store programs that perform the processes of the invention), wherein the data retention circuit is configured to: estimate a temperature of a storage device based on information about an outside temperature received through the communication interface and a preset temperature offset, wherein the outside temperature is a temperature outside of the vehicle (Konishi: Para. 0063, 0066, and 0067, teaching that the temperature of a memory storage device can be estimated based on temperature readings from outside the vehicle and inside the cabin of the vehicle).
Konishi is silent to determine a data management period of the storage device in an off state based on the temperature of the storage device that is estimated by the data retention circuit and on a data retention parameter.
In a similar field, Chen teaches determine a data management period of the storage device in an off state based on the temperature of the storage device that is estimated by the data retention circuit and on a data retention parameter (Chen: Para. 0017 and 0018, teaching that a time interval for a memory storage device to be turned off is calculated based on the temperature in the environment around the storage device) for the benefit of improving the lifespan of the memory storage device.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the memory storage device temperature estimation from Konishi to control how long the memory storage device is turned off to allow it to cool down based on such calculations, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of improving the lifespan of the memory storage device.
Regarding claim 2, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 1, and Chen goes on to further teach [t]he electronic device of claim 1, wherein, when the data management period is reached, the data retention circuit is configured to output a battery control signal to a battery control device, which is configured to supply a power to the storage device in the off state, and to output a data retention management signal to the storage device (Chen: Para. 0017, teaching that when the time interval is completed the storage controller for the storage device is waked up to perform low-temperature management operations; and Para. 0016, teaching that the low-temperature management operations includes backing up data, performing refreshing, and warning the user).
Regarding claim 3, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 1, and Chen goes on to further teach [t]he electronic device of claim 1, wherein the data retention circuit is configured to determine the data management period further based on an exposure time table of the temperature of the storage device and the data retention parameter (Chen: Para. 0018, teaching that the time interval is adjusted based on the environment's temperature and how long the environment temperature is at a specific temperature).
Regarding claim 4, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 3, and Konishi goes on to further teach the outside temperature corresponds to a temperature outside of the vehicle for that time period (Konishi: Para. 0063, 0066, and 0067, teaching that the temperature of a memory storage device can be estimated based on temperature readings from outside the vehicle and inside the cabin of the vehicle), and Chen goes on to further teach [t]he electronic device of claim 3, wherein for each time period of a plurality of time periods (Chen: Para. 0020, teaching that the environment temperature readings from the temperature sensor are monitored continuously), wherein the data retention circuit is configured to: estimate a temperature of the storage device in each time period of the plurality of time periods based on the outside temperature of each time period of the plurality of time periods (Chen: Para. 0020, teaching that the environment temperature readings from the temperature sensor are monitored continuously); and determine the data management period of the storage device in the off state based on the estimated temperature of the storage device in each time period of the plurality of time periods and the data retention parameter (Chen: Para. 0018, teaching that the time interval is adjusted based on the environment's temperature and how long the environment temperature is at a specific temperature).
Regarding claim 9, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 1, and Konishi goes on to further teach [t]he electronic device of claim 1, wherein the data retention circuit is configured to update the temperature offset based on the temperature of the storage device and an outside temperature outside of the vehicle and received during driving of the vehicle (Konishi: Para. 0067, teaching that the temperature estimation of the storage device is based on the temperature of the outside air, the temperature of the air inside the vehicle, and that the estimation can be performed while the vehicle is driving).
Regarding claim 10, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 9, and Konishi goes on to further teach [t]he electronic device of claim 9, wherein the data retention circuit is further configured to receive information about a weather type, and wherein the temperature offset is determined based on the outside temperature, the weather type, and the temperature of the storage device (Konishi: Para. 0064, teaching receiving a weather forecast including the temperature outside the vehicle; and Para. 0067, teaching that the temperature estimation of the storage device is based on the temperature of the outside air, that the weather can be sunny, and the temperature of the air inside the vehicle).
Regarding claim 11, Konishi teaches [a]n electronic system comprising: an electronic device installed in a vehicle; a battery system; and a storage device (Konishi: Para. 0037, teaching an automatic traveling control device for a vehicle which includes hardware such as memory configured to store programs that perform the processes of the invention), wherein the electronic device is configured to: estimate a temperature of the storage device based on received information about an outside temperature and a preset temperature offset, wherein the outside temperature is a temperature outside of the vehicle (Konishi: Para. 0063, 0066, and 0067, teaching that the temperature of a memory storage device can be estimated based on temperature readings from outside the vehicle and inside the cabin of the vehicle).
Konishi is silent to determine a data management period of the storage device in an off state based on the temperature of the storage device estimated by the electronic system and on a data retention parameter; and when the data management period is reached, output a battery control signal to the battery system for supplying a power to the storage device in the off-state and output a data retention management signal to the storage device, wherein the battery system is configured to supply the power to the storage device in the off-state in response to the battery control signal, and wherein the storage device is configured to perform a data management operation in response to the data retention management signal.
In a similar field, Chen teaches determine a data management period of the storage device in an off state based on the temperature of the storage device estimated by the electronic system and on a data retention parameter (Chen: Para. 0017 and 0018, teaching that a time interval for a memory storage device to be turned off is calculated based on the temperature in the environment around the storage device); and when the data management period is reached, output a battery control signal to the battery system for supplying a power to the storage device in the off-state and output a data retention management signal to the storage device, wherein the battery system is configured to supply the power to the storage device in the off-state in response to the battery control signal, and wherein the storage device is configured to perform a data management operation in response to the data retention management signal (Chen: Para. 0017, teaching that when the time interval is completed the storage controller for the storage device is waked up to perform low-temperature management operations; and Para. 0016, teaching that the low-temperature management operations includes backing up data, performing refreshing, and warning the user) for the benefit of improving the lifespan of the memory storage device.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the memory storage device temperature estimation from Konishi to control how long the memory storage device is turned off to allow it to cool down based on such calculations, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of improving the lifespan of the memory storage device.
Regarding claim 12, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 11, and Chen goes on to further teach [t]he electronic system of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is configured to determine the data management period further based on an exposure time table of the temperature of the storage device and the data retention parameter (Chen: Para. 0018, teaching that the time interval is adjusted based on the environment's temperature and how long the environment temperature is at a specific temperature).
Regarding claim 13, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 11, and Konishi goes on to further teach the outside temperature corresponds to a temperature outside of the vehicle for that time period (Konishi: Para. 0063, 0066, and 0067, teaching that the temperature of a memory storage device can be estimated based on temperature readings from outside the vehicle and inside the cabin of the vehicle), and Chen goes on to further teach [t]he electronic system of claim 11, wherein for each time period of a plurality of time periods (Chen: Para. 0020, teaching that the environment temperature readings from the temperature sensor are monitored continuously), wherein the electronic device is configured to: estimate a temperature of the storage device in each time period of the plurality of time periods based on an outside temperature of each time period of the plurality of time periods (Chen: Para. 0020, teaching that the environment temperature readings from the temperature sensor are monitored continuously); and determine the data management period of the storage device in the off state based on the estimated temperature of the storage device in each time period of the plurality of time periods and the data retention parameter (Chen: Para. 0018, teaching that the time interval is adjusted based on the environment's temperature and how long the environment temperature is at a specific temperature).
Regarding claim 16, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 11, and Chen goes on to further teach [t]he electronic system of claim 11, wherein the data management operation includes at least one of a scan operation, a refresh operation, or a reclaim operation (Chen: Para. 0016, teaching that the low-temperature management operations include a refresh operation and a data back-up operation).
Regarding claim 18, Konishi teaches [a]n operating method of an electronic device installed in a vehicle, the method comprising (Konishi: Para. 0037, teaching an automatic traveling control device for a vehicle which includes hardware such as memory configured to store programs that perform the processes of the invention); receiving information about an outside temperature, wherein the outside temperature is a temperature outside of the vehicle; estimating a temperature of a storage device based on the outside temperature and a preset temperature offset so as to provide an estimated temperature of the storage device (Konishi: Para. 0063, 0066, and 0067, teaching that the temperature of a memory storage device can be estimated based on temperature readings from outside the vehicle and inside the cabin of the vehicle).
Konishi is silent to determining a data management period of the storage device in an off state based on the estimated temperature of the storage device and a data retention parameter; and when the data management period is reached, outputting a battery control signal to a battery system and outputting a data management signal to the storage device.
In a similar field, Chen teaches determining a data management period of the storage device in an off state based on the estimated temperature of the storage device and a data retention parameter (Chen: Para. 0017 and 0018, teaching that a time interval for a memory storage device to be turned off is calculated based on the temperature in the environment around the storage device); and when the data management period is reached, outputting a battery control signal to a battery system and outputting a data management signal to the storage device (Chen: Para. 0017, teaching that when the time interval is completed the storage controller for the storage device is waked up to perform low-temperature management operations; and Para. 0016, teaching that the low-temperature management operations includes backing up data, performing refreshing, and warning the user) for the benefit of improving the lifespan of the memory storage device.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the memory storage device temperature estimation from Konishi to control how long the memory storage device is turned off to allow it to cool down based on such calculations, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of improving the lifespan of the memory storage device.
Regarding claim 20, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 18, and Konishi goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 18, further comprising: receiving information about an outside temperature and information about a temperature of the storage device during driving of the vehicle; and updating the temperature offset based on the outside temperature and the temperature of the storage device provided during the driving of the vehicle (Konishi: Para. 0067, teaching that the temperature estimation of the storage device is based on the temperature of the outside air, the temperature of the air inside the vehicle, and that the estimation can be performed while the vehicle is driving).
Claims 5, 6, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konishi in view of Chen as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and further in view of Lin; Shu-Cheng (US Pub. No. 20180181454 A1), herein after Lin.
Regarding claim 5, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 4, however they are silent to [t]he electronic device of claim 4, wherein the data retention parameter includes a data retention time and an acceleration constant according to a reference temperature.
In a similar field, Konishi teaches [t]he electronic device of claim 4, wherein the data retention parameter includes a data retention time and an acceleration constant according to a reference temperature (Lin: Para. 0043, teaching the use of the Arrhenius model to determine how long data is retained based on the temperature of the memory device using an acceleration factor) for the benefit of accurately managing the temperature of the memory storage device to reduce degradation of the memory caused by having the device operate at high temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the memory storage device temperature estimation and powered off time control from Konishi in view of Chen to utilize the Arrhenius equation to calculate the data lost caused by operating the device at high temperatures, as taught by Lin, for the benefit of accurately managing the temperature of the memory storage device to reduce degradation of the memory caused by having the device operate at high temperatures.
Regarding claim 6, Konishi, Chen, and Lin remain as applied as in claim 5, and Lin goes on to further teach [t]he electronic device of claim 5, wherein the data retention circuit is configured to determine the data management period further based on a scale factor table of the temperature of the storage device and the acceleration constant (Lin: Para. 0051-0053, teaching that the data retention period is further based on a scale factor of the temperature of the storage device and the acceleration factor using the Arrhenius model).
Regarding claim 14, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 13, however they are silent to [t]he electronic system of claim 13, wherein the data retention parameter includes a data retention time and an acceleration constant according to a reference temperature.
In a similar field, Konishi teaches [t]he electronic system of claim 13, wherein the data retention parameter includes a data retention time and an acceleration constant according to a reference temperature (Lin: Para. 0043, teaching the use of the Arrhenius model to determine how long data is retained based on the temperature of the memory device using an acceleration factor) for the benefit of accurately managing the temperature of the memory storage device to reduce degradation of the memory caused by having the device operate at high temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the memory storage device temperature estimation and powered off time control from Konishi in view of Chen to utilize the Arrhenius equation to calculate the data lost caused by operating the device at high temperatures, as taught by Lin, for the benefit of accurately managing the temperature of the memory storage device to reduce degradation of the memory caused by having the device operate at high temperatures.
Regarding claim 15, Konishi, Chen, and Lin remain as applied as in claim 14, and Lin goes on to further teach [t]he electronic system of claim 14, wherein the electronic device is configured to determine the data management period further based on a scale factor table of the temperature of the storage device in each time period of the plurality of time periods and on the acceleration constant (Lin: Para. 0051-0053, teaching that the data retention period is further based on a scale factor of the temperature of the storage device and the acceleration factor using the Arrhenius model).
Claims 7, 8, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konishi in view of Chen as applied to claims 1, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al. (US Pub. No. 20160011818 A1), herein after Hashimoto, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 20200394114 A1), herein after Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 1, however they are silent to [t]he electronic device of claim 1, wherein the data retention circuit is configured to: send environment information of the storage device to a cloud server through the communication interface in response to an error signal corresponding to corrupted data of the storage device; receive a defense code sequence corresponding to the environment information from the cloud server; and send the received defense code sequence to the storage device.
In a similar field, Hashimoto teaches [t]he electronic device of claim 1, wherein the data retention circuit is configured to: send environment information of the storage device to a cloud server through the communication interface in response to an error signal corresponding to corrupted data of the storage device (Hashimoto: Para. 0235, teaching determining the end of life of a storage device or that the reliability of its data has deteriorated based on the temperature of the storage device being maintained for a period of time; and Para. 0441, teaching that the storage device backups the data stored on it to a server when it is determined that the storage device is nearing the end of its life or that the reliability of its data has deteriorated) for the benefit of ensuring that a backup of the data in the storage device exists in the event that the data in the storage device becomes too corrupted to recover.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the memory storage device management based on the temperature of the device from Konishi in view of Chen to upload the data in the device when it is determined that the data is becoming corrupt, as taught by Hashimoto, for the benefit of ensuring that a backup of the data in the storage device exists in the event that the data in the storage device becomes too corrupted to recover.
Konishi in view of Chen in further view of Hashimoto are silent to receive a defense code sequence corresponding to the environment information from the cloud server; and send the received defense code sequence to the storage device.
In a similar field, Lee teaches receive a defense code sequence corresponding to the environment information from the cloud server; and send the received defense code sequence to the storage device (Lee: Para. 0082, teaching the use of defensive codes that are meant to recover data from a vehicle; and Para. 0091, teaching that the defensive codes are executed in response to a temperature of a memory rising above a threshold) for the benefit of protecting the data in the storage device from corruption due to high operation temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the memory storage device management based on the temperature of the device from Konishi in view of Chen in further view of Hashimoto to initiate defense codes that act to recover the data on the devices, as taught by Hashimoto, for the benefit of protecting the data in the memory storage device from corruption due to high operation temperatures.
Regarding claim 8, Konishi, Chen, Hashimoto, and Lee remain as applied as in claim 7, and Chen goes on to further teach [t]he electronic device of claim 7, wherein the environment information includes an exposure temperature and an exposure time of the storage device (Chen: Para. 0018, teaching that the time interval is adjusted based on the environment's temperature and how long the environment temperature is at a specific temperature).
Regarding claim 17, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 11, however they are silent to [t]he electronic system of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is configured to: send environment information of the storage device to a cloud server in response to an error signal corresponding to corrupted data of the storage device; receive a defense code sequence corresponding to the environment information from the cloud server; and send the received defense code sequence to the storage device, wherein the storage device is configured to recover the corrupted data based on the defense code sequence.
In a similar field, Hashimoto teaches [t]he electronic system of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is configured to: send environment information of the storage device to a cloud server in response to an error signal corresponding to corrupted data of the storage device (Hashimoto: Para. 0235, teaching determining the end of life of a storage device or that the reliability of its data has deteriorated based on the temperature of the storage device being maintained for a period of time; and Para. 0441, teaching that the storage device backups the data stored on it to a server when it is determined that the storage device is nearing the end of its life or that the reliability of its data has deteriorated) for the benefit of ensuring that a backup of the data in the storage device exists in the event that the data in the storage device becomes too corrupted to recover.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the memory storage device management based on the temperature of the device from Konishi in view of Chen to upload the data in the device when it is determined that the data is becoming corrupt, as taught by Hashimoto, for the benefit of ensuring that a backup of the data in the storage device exists in the event that the data in the storage device becomes too corrupted to recover.
Konishi in view of Chen in further view of Hashimoto are silent to receive a defense code sequence corresponding to the environment information from the cloud server; and send the received defense code sequence to the storage device, wherein the storage device is configured to recover the corrupted data based on the defense code sequence.
In a similar field, Lee teaches receive a defense code sequence corresponding to the environment information from the cloud server; and send the received defense code sequence to the storage device, wherein the storage device is configured to recover the corrupted data based on the defense code sequence (Lee: Para. 0082, teaching the use of defensive codes that are meant to recover data from a vehicle; and Para. 0091, teaching that the defensive codes are executed in response to a temperature of a memory rising above a threshold) for the benefit of protecting the data in the storage device from corruption due to high operation temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the memory storage device management based on the temperature of the device from Konishi in view of Chen in further view of Hashimoto to initiate defense codes that act to recover the data on the devices, as taught by Hashimoto, for the benefit of protecting the data in the memory storage device from corruption due to high operation temperatures.
Regarding claim 19, Konishi and Chen remain as applied as in claim 18, however they are silent to [t]he method of claim 18, further comprising: receiving an error signal corresponding to corrupted data of the storage device; sending environment information of the storage device to a cloud server in response to the error signal; receiving a defense code sequence from the cloud server; and sending the defense code sequence to the storage device.
In a similar field, Hashimoto teaches [t]he method of claim 18, further comprising: receiving an error signal corresponding to corrupted data of the storage device; sending environment information of the storage device to a cloud server in response to the error signal (Hashimoto: Para. 0235, teaching determining the end of life of a storage device or that the reliability of its data has deteriorated based on the temperature of the storage device being maintained for a period of time; and Para. 0441, teaching that the storage device backups the data stored on it to a server when it is determined that the storage device is nearing the end of its life or that the reliability of its data has deteriorated) for the benefit of ensuring that a backup of the data in the storage device exists in the event that the data in the storage device becomes too corrupted to recover.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the memory storage device management based on the temperature of the device from Konishi in view of Chen to upload the data in the device when it is determined that the data is becoming corrupt, as taught by Hashimoto, for the benefit of ensuring that a backup of the data in the storage device exists in the event that the data in the storage device becomes too corrupted to recover.
Konishi in view of Chen in further view of Hashimoto are silent to receiving a defense code sequence from the cloud server; and sending the defense code sequence to the storage device.
In a similar field, Lee teaches receiving a defense code sequence from the cloud server; and sending the defense code sequence to the storage device (Lee: Para. 0082, teaching the use of defensive codes that are meant to recover data from a vehicle; and Para. 0091, teaching that the defensive codes are executed in response to a temperature of a memory rising above a threshold) for the benefit of protecting the data in the storage device from corruption due to high operation temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the memory storage device management based on the temperature of the device from Konishi in view of Chen in further view of Hashimoto to initiate defense codes that act to recover the data on the devices, as taught by Hashimoto, for the benefit of protecting the data in the memory storage device from corruption due to high operation temperatures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Heath; Nicholas T. (US Pub. No. 20230066851 A1) discloses a system for predicting data loss in a memory storage device caused by the memory storage device operating at a specific temperature for a period of time.
Chai; Seung Wan (US Pub. No. 20190339755 A1) discloses a system for detecting the temperature of a memory storage device and limiting the power supplied to the memory storage device for a period of time to cool it down.
Palmer et al. (US Pub. No. 20230214126 A1) discloses predicting the duration a memory storage device is powered down due to the temperature of the memory storage device exceeding a threshold based on how long the memory storage device has previously been powered down at similar temperatures.
Sato; Junichi (US Pub. No. 20210240381 A1) discloses a system that manages the operations of a memory storage device for a vehicle by powering down the memory storage device based on the temperature of the device and the temperature external to the device
/A.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663