Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended to include the limitations of claim 3 into claim 1. However, the applicant has not presented any reasoning to support that Navarro et al. fail to disclose these limitations.
Applicant has amended to add “seventh foam layer” to claims 13 and 17. However, there is no support for a seventh layer in the specifications.
Claims 18 and 20 has been amended to include “a fourth density less than the third density”.
However, there no support for it in the specifications.
Newly added claim recites a wall behind seat comprises a portion of the receptacle. However, there is no support for it in the specifications.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the seventh layer” as claimed in claims 13 and 17 and “seat wall with receptacle” as claimed in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 17, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 13 and 17 recite the limitations of seventh foam layer. However, there is no support for a seventh layer in the specifications.
Claims 18 and 20 recite the limitations of “a fourth density less than the third density”. However, there no support for it in the specifications.
Claim 21 recite the limitations of a wall behind seat comprises a portion of the receptacle. However, there is no support for it in the specifications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Embach (US 2006/0273650) in view of Navarro et al. (10,377,287).
Regarding claim 1, Embach discloses a seat assembly 10 for a vehicle, the seat assembly comprising: a seat portion comprising: a seat back 16 comprising: a first layer 42 comprising a first foam material having a first density (para 0018); a second layer 40 on the first layer and comprising a second foam material having a second density less than the first density (para 0018); and a third layer 38 on the second layer and comprising a third foam material having a third density less than the second density (para 0018); and a seat base 14 comprising: a fourth layer 42 comprising a fourth foam material having a fourth density (para 0018); a fifth layer 40 on the fourth layer and comprising a fifth foam material having a fifth density less than the fourth density (para 0018); and a sixth layer 38 on the fifth layer and comprising a sixth foam material having a sixth density (para 0018) less than the fifth density. Embach discloses the foam arrangement is used for both seat back and seat base.
However, Embach fails to disclose a headrest portion connected above a top edge of the seat back, wherein the headrest portion comprises a vertical portion for supporting a head of a passenger seated in the seat and a horizontal portion connected to a rear of the vertical portion, the horizontal portion comprising a receptacle configured to restrain a headset on the horizontal portion.
Instead, Navarro et al. disclose a headrest portion 1 connected above a top edge of the seat back 2, wherein the headrest portion comprises a vertical portion 4 for supporting a head of a passenger seated in the seat and a horizontal portion 4.3/4.2 connected to a rear of the vertical portion, the horizontal portion comprising a receptacle (the recess between 4.3/4.2 also includes a holder 5) configured to restrain a headset on the horizontal portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Navarro et al. and use the headrest with space in the invention of Embach for the purpose of storing an item.
Regarding claim 4, Embach further discloses the vertical portion of the headrest portion 26 comprises a cushioned front surface comprising one of the first, second, or third foam materials (para 0005).
Regarding claims 5, 6, Embach fails to disclose the first density is 15-20% greater than the second density and second density is 15-20% greater than the third density, wherein the fourth density is 15-20% greater than the fifth density and the fifth density is 15-20% greater than the sixth density.
However, Embach discloses any arrangements and ranges can be used for the foam members in order to exhibit increasing spring constant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to increase the density with 15-20% range in order to keep the cost low, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Embach discloses the first foam material 42 is identical to the fourth foam material 42.
Regarding claim 8, Embach discloses the second foam 40 material is identical to the fifth foam material 40.
Regarding claim 9, Embach discloses the third foam material 38 is identical to the sixth foam material 38.
Regarding claim 10, Embach discloses thigh support bolsters 48 on opposite sides of the seat base 14.
Regarding claim 11 Embach discloses the thigh support bolsters 48 comprise the fifth foam material or the sixth foam material 38.
Regarding claim 12, Embach discloses a comfort layer 46 on the sixth layer 38 and between the thigh support bolsters 48.
Regarding claim 13, Embach discloses the comfort layer 46 comprises a seventh foam material 48’.
Embach fails to disclose the seventh foam material have a density less than sixth material.
However, Embach discloses any arrangements and ranges can be used for the foam members in order to exhibit increasing spring constant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to have different layers with different density in order to keep the cost low, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 14, Embach discloses lateral support bolsters 48 on opposite sides of the seat back 16.
Regarding claim 15, Embach discloses the lateral support bolsters 48 comprise the third foam material 38.
Regarding claim 16, Embach discloses a lumbar support layer 46 on the third layer between the lateral support bolsters 48.
Regarding claim 17, Embach discloses the comfort layer 46 comprises a seventh foam material 48’.
Embach fails to disclose the seventh foam material have a density less than sixth material.
However, Embach discloses any arrangements and ranges can be used for the foam members in order to exhibit increasing spring constant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to have different layers with different density in order to keep the cost low, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 18, Embach discloses a passenger seat for an aircraft a seat assembly 10 for a vehicle, the seat assembly comprising: a seat portion comprising: a seat back 16 comprising: a first layer 42 comprising a first foam material having a first density (para 0018); a second layer 40 on the first layer and comprising a second foam material having a second density less than the first density (para 0018); and a third layer 38 on the second layer and comprising a third foam material having a third density less than the second density (para 0018); and a seat base 14 comprising: a fourth layer 42 comprising a fourth foam material having a fourth density (para 0018); a fifth layer 40 on the fourth layer and comprising a fifth foam material having a fifth density less than the fourth density (para 0018); and a sixth layer 38 on the fifth layer and comprising a sixth foam material having a sixth density (para 0018) less than the fifth density (Embach discloses the foam arrangement is used for both seat back and seat base), thigh support bolsters 48 disposed along opposite sides of the seat base 14; a comfort layer 46 comprising the third foam material disposed on the seat base between the thigh support bolsters; lateral support bolsters 48 disposed along on opposite sides of the seat back 16; and a lumbar support layer 46 comprising the third foam material between the lateral support bolsters; and a headrest portion 26 connected above the seat portion, the headrest portion comprising a support portion comprising one of the first, second, and third foam materials, wherein a front surface of the support portion is contoured to support a head of a passenger seated in the seat portion.
However, Embach fail to disclose the headrest portion further comprising a platform extending rearwardly from the support portion, the platform configured to stow a headset behind the support portion.
Instead, Navarro et al. disclose the headrest portion further comprising a platform 4.3, 4.2 extending rearwardly from the support portion, the platform configured to stow a headset behind the support portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Navarro et al. and use the headrest with space in the invention of Embach for the purpose of storing an item.
Embach fails to disclose the fourth density less than third density.
However, Embach discloses any arrangements and ranges can be used for the foam members in order to exhibit increasing spring constant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to have different layers with different density in order to keep the cost low, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19, Embach fails to disclose second layer is thicker than the first layer and the first layer is thicker than the third layer.
However, Embach discloses any arrangements and ranges can be used for the foam members in order to exhibit increasing spring constant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to any arrangement of thickness in order to keep the cost low, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 21, Embach as modified with Navarro et al. disclose a wall 4 (Navarro et al. ) behind the seat assembly comprises a portion of the receptacle configured to restrain the headset on the horizontal portion.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Embach in view of Navarro et al. (10,377,287) and Saylik et al. (US 2021/0331807).
Regarding claim 20, Embach discloses a passenger seat for an aircraft a seat assembly 10 for a vehicle, the seat assembly comprising: a seat portion comprising: a seat back 16 comprising: a first layer 42 comprising a first foam material having a first density (para 0018); a second layer 40 on the first layer and comprising a second foam material having a second density less than the first density (para 0018); and a third layer 38 on the second layer and comprising a third foam material having a third density less than the second density (para 0018); and a seat base 14 comprising: a fourth layer 42 comprising a fourth foam material having a fourth density (para 0018); a fifth layer 40 on the fourth layer and comprising a fifth foam material having a fifth density less than the fourth density (para 0018); and a sixth layer 38 on the fifth layer and comprising a sixth foam material having a sixth density (para 0018) less than the fifth density (Embach discloses the foam arrangement is used for both seat back and seat base), thigh support bolsters 48 disposed along opposite sides of the seat base 14; a comfort layer 46 comprising the third foam material disposed on the seat base between the thigh support bolsters; lateral support bolsters 48 disposed along on opposite sides of the seat back 16; and a lumbar support layer 46 comprising the third foam material between the lateral support bolsters; and a headrest portion 26 connected above the seat portion, the headrest portion comprising a support portion comprising one of the first, second, and third foam materials, wherein a front surface of the support portion is contoured to support a head of a passenger seated in the seat portion.
However, Embach fail to disclose the headrest portion further comprising a platform extending rearwardly from the support portion, the platform configured to stow a headset behind the support portion.
Instead, Navarro et al. disclose the headrest portion further comprising a platform 4.3, 4.2 extending rearwardly from the support portion, the platform configured to stow a headset behind the support portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Navarro et al. and use the headrest with space in the invention of Embach for the purpose of storing an item.
Embach also fail to disclose an aircraft comprising: a fuselage; at least one wing connected to the fuselage; and a passenger seat within the fuselage.
Instead, Saylik et al. disclose an aircraft 301 comprising: a fuselage; at least one wing connected to the fuselage; and a passenger seat within the fuselage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Saylik et al. and the seat of Embach in a aircraft because the seats are compact and increases efficiency.
Embach fails to disclose the fourth density less than third density.
However, Embach discloses any arrangements and ranges can be used for the foam members in order to exhibit increasing spring constant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to have different layers with different density in order to keep the cost low, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED A ISLAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636