DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1: “means to enable the alternating travels of the shaft for the purpose of adjusting the distance of the rotating blade with respect to the fixed blade”
Claims 2-5: “means for the instantaneous detection of the distance between the fixed blade and the rotating blade”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Management and control unit in claim 6. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: paragraph 78 “an electronic management and control unit (13) suitable for switching the motor (6) on and off.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a body provided at the top of a hopper.” This is indefinite because it is not possible for the body, which contains the grinding chamber, to be above the hopper. The limitation will be interpreted as –a hopper provided at the top of a body--.
The term “ordinary filter holder” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ordinary” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 8 recites “cylindrical helical spring is inserted into said threaded section of the rod.” It is unclear how a spring can be inserted into a thread section. For examination, it will be interpreted as -- said threaded section of the rod is inserted into a cylindrical helical spring--.
The term “useful position” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “useful” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Remaining claims rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sergio (CH516301A) in view of Jebb (US 2021/0219782 A1) and Dunkelberg (US 2021/0106177 A1).
Claim 1. Sergio discloses the coffee grinder (coffee grinder, Fig. 1) comprising: a body (Fig. 1) provided at the top of a hopper (hopper 9A, Fig. 1) that conveys the coffee beans in the direction of a grinding chamber (coffee beans fall into the milling area below the hopper, Fig. 1) housed in said body;
a pair of
an electric motor (stator 3 of the motor, Fig. 1) housed in vertical position inside said body (stator of the motor is housed in a vertical position, Fig. 1) and suitable for driving a shaft (shaft 14) capable of making alternate travels in axial direction from a lower endpoint to an upper endpoint, as well as provided with an upper end and a lower end (shaft of the motor can be moved up and down by the screw 36, par. 28);
wherein the upper end of said shaft is engaged in said grinding chamber to drive said rotating blade keyed to it (movable member of the mill 12 is removable and supported by a structure keyed onto a conical end of the drive shaft 14, par. 25);
an upper bearing (bearing 22) and a lower bearing (bearing 24) supporting the support of the shaft;
means to enable the alternating travels of the shaft for the purpose of adjusting the distance of the rotating blade with respect to the fixed blade (screw 36 can adjust the position of the shaft 14, and therefore, the movable mill, par. 28);
a tappet which cooperates and interfaces with said second bearing mounted at said lower end of said shaft (tappet thrust body 40 interfaces with the second bearing 24 and is at the lower end of the shaft 14, par. 29);
wherein said tappet is suitable for being subjected to the interference of said sliding of said shaft (screw 36 interfaces with the tappet to cause the shaft 14 to move in an axial direction, Fig. 1).
Sergio does not disclose a support assembly suitable for supporting an ordinary filter holder of a coffee machine or any other receptacles;
wherein the means used to enable the alternate travels of the shaft comprise:
an oscillating lever with a first end and a second end, wherein said first end is pivoted inferiorly to said motor, on one side of said motor, relative to a pin with horizontal axis;
wherein said oscillating lever is suitable for being alternately disposed in a substantially horizontal idle position and in an inclined operating position, with the second end raised relative to said pin;
a rod operating in parallel position to the shaft and pivoted at the second end of the oscillating lever;
wherein said rod is provided at the top with a threaded section which protrudes outside the body in order to be helically coupled with a knob suitable for imposing an ascending travel or a descending travel on said rod according to the direction of rotation imposed on it; and
wherein said tappet is suitable for being subjected to the interference of said oscillating lever when said oscillating lever is in the inclined operating position to generate an upward sliding of said shaft.
Jebb discloses a coffee grinder with a movable grinding element 342 and a fixed grinding element 344 (Fig. 3), where the system can be used for grinders with blades (par. 88), wherein
wherein the means used to enable the alternate travels of the shaft comprise:
an oscillating lever (lever 336, Fig. 3) with a first end and a second end (lever 336 has two ends, Fig. 3), wherein said first end is pivoted inferiorly to said motor, on one side of said motor, relative to a pin with horizontal axis (lever 336 is on side of the motor 346 and there is a pin in a horizontal axis connected to the one end of the lever, Fig. 3);
wherein said oscillating lever is suitable for being alternately disposed in a substantially horizontal idle position and in an inclined operating position, with the second end raised relative to said pin (other side of the lever can move to an inclined position, Fig. 3, par. 88-89);
a rod operating in parallel position to the shaft and pivoted at the second end of the oscillating lever (adjustment mechanism 301 with upper and lower rod, Fig. 3, par. 88),
wherein said rod is provided at the top with a threaded section (threading 855, par. 99) which protrudes outside the body in order to be helically coupled with a knob (knob 840 is outside of the body of the grinder, Fig. 8) suitable for imposing an ascending travel or a descending travel on said rod according to the direction of rotation imposed on it (knob 840 rotates and adjusts the length of the adjustment rod causing the end of the rod to travel, par. 99).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sergio to incorporate the teachings of Jebb and provide a lever which can be inclined to adjust the shaft of the mill. Doing so would have the benefit of obtaining a proper grind size (par. 5, Jebb).
Sergio in view of Jebb does not disclose a support assembly suitable for supporting an ordinary filter holder of a coffee machine or any other receptacles;
Dunkelberg discloses a coffee grinder wherein a filter carrier 7 holds a filter holder 6 (par. 29, Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sergio in view of Jebb to incorporate the teachings of Dunkelberg and provide a support structure to hold a filter. Doing so would have the benefit of being able to deposit the grounded coffee into a receptacle.
Claim 2. Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg discloses the coffee grinder of claim 1, wherein said coffee grinder comprises means for the instantaneous detection of the distance between the fixed blade and the rotating blade (sensor detects the position of the grinding elements to the user, par. 8, Jebb), wherein said means are of analog type (sensor can be a position indicator that displays the relative position to the user, par. 124, Jebb).
Claim 3. Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg does not disclose the coffee grinder of claim 2, wherein said means for instantaneous detection of the distance between the fixed blade and the rotating blade comprise lines and/or notches of mutual reference provided between the knob and the surface of the body.
Dunkelberg further discloses a grinding degree scale on the housing to indicate the grinding gap (par. 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg to incorporate the teachings of Dunkelberg and provide a grinding degree scale on the housing to indicate the grinding gap. Doing so would have the benefit of providing a reference for the user of the grind size.
Claim 4. Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg discloses the coffee grinder of claim 1, wherein said coffee grinder comprises means for the instantaneous detection of the distance between the fixed blade and the rotating blade (sensor detects the position of the grinding elements to the user, par. 8, Jebb), wherein said means are of
Claim 5. Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg discloses the coffee grinder of claim 4, wherein said means for the instantaneous detection of the distance between the fixed blade and the rotating blade comprise:
an electronic sensor mounted inside the body in a useful position to detect the variations in the angular position of said oscillating lever (sensor can encode the rotational movements into a signal that is transmitted to a control unit or display, par. 123, Jebb);
a display mounted on the outside of said body, suitable for displaying the variations in the angular position of the oscillating lever detected by the sensor in real time (controller may have an output device with a screen for displaying images or data, par. 150, Jebb);
an electronic board associated with the display and suitable for receiving the data detected by the sensor and show it on the display (output device, par. 150, Jebb).
Claim 6. Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg discloses the coffee grinder of claim 5, wherein:
the motor is driven by a management and control unit (controller 705, Fig. 7, Jebb);
the board of the display comprises a timer (countdown timer, par. 106, Jebb) and is interfaced with the management and control unit in order to enable the operation time of the motor (grinder system can communicate grind time, par. 7, Jebb);
the display comprises
Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg does not explicitly disclose that the display has buttons with + and -.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include buttons with + and – that can be used by the user to set the grind time, since Jebb discloses that the grind time can be adjusted by the user (par. 81). One of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of designing buttons on the display to enable the user to adjust the grind time.
Claim 9. Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg discloses the coffee grinder of claim 1, wherein the shaft supporting the blade holder of the rotating blade is the shaft of the motor (the shaft 14 supporting the structure 16 is the crankshaft of the motor 3, Fig. 1, par. 26, Jebb).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Oddera (US 2016/0345778 A1) and Kong (US 2025/0330625 A1).
Claim 7. Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg does not disclose the coffee grinder of claim 6, wherein the display comprises buttons 1, 2, E and M, wherein:
button 1 enables the operation of the motor for a preset time that corresponds to the dispensing of a single dose of coffee powder;
button 2 enables the operation of the motor for a preset time that corresponds to the dispensing of a double dose of coffee powder;
buttons E and M enable the operation of the motor for a different time than the one set with buttons 1 and 2,
wherein the different operation time of the motor can be set with the buttons + and - of the timer and stored in association with said buttons E and M.
Oddera discloses a coffee grinder with a single dose button (205, Fig. 3) and double dose button (206) wherein the grinding times are pre-set to obtain the requested weight of ground coffee (claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg to incorporate the teachings of Oddera and provide buttons for single and double dose of coffee powder. Doing so would have the benefit of obtaining consistent dosages every time (par. 35, Oddera).
The combined prior art does not disclose buttons E and M enable the operation of the motor for a different time than the one set with buttons 1 and 2,
Kong discloses a coffee brewing system wherein the user is prompted to adjust the grind times (par. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sergio in view of Jebb, Dunkelberg, and Oddera to incorporate the teachings of Kong and allow the user to adjust the grind times for the single or double dose with the press of two other buttons. While Kong does not disclose separate buttons for adjusting the grind times, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that buttons could be used instead of user prompts.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Quickel (US 1066220 A)
Claim 8. Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg does not disclose the coffee grinder of claim 1, wherein a cylindrical helical spring is inserted into said threaded section of the rod and is arranged between a shoulder provided on said rod and a tab mounted in projecting position on the outside of the grinding chamber.
Quickel discloses a grinding mill wherein a wheel 64 rotates to adjust the position of a lever arm 58 (Fig. 1) to adjust the width of the milling space 24 (page 2, col. 1, lines 40-60) and there is a spring 65 abuts the wheel and a shoulder end 61 (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sergio in view of Jebb and Dunkelberg to incorporate the teachings of Quickel and have a spring abutting the knob and a shoulder. Doing so would have the benefit of acting as a buffer to stop the movement of the mill from striking the fixed mill (page 2, col. 1, lines 40-60, Quickel).
Conclusion
/SIMPSON A CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761