Detailed Action
Drawing Objection
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Claim 1 recites a feature not indicated in the drawings, where an elastic ring is connected to the internal shoulder of the body, receiving the housing of the electronic module therein to hold same and then the elastic ring also surrounds the parting line between the half-shells. The ring is depicted as only a radial surrounding seal without any claimed attachment feature. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an elastic ring connected to the internal shoulder of the body, receiving the housing of the electronic module therein to hold same, surrounding the parting line between the half-shells” where the elastic ring’s structure is unclear as the elastic ring is connected, receiving and holding the internal shoulder without clarity on how structurally these three functions are performed and then the ring performs the surrounding the parting line between the half-shells. Examiner looks to the specification [0014: elastic ring forms a seal about the half-shells, protecting the parting line e.g. a radial seam seal] and [0032: the ring attaches to the shoulder].
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the two half-shells of the housing are assembled together with an unsealed join” which seems to not further limit the elastic joining ring of claim 1. It seems the “unsealed join” would remove the elastic joining ring which does not further limit/define the claimed elastic ring element.
All dependent claims are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 & 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Gorenzweig (US 20170232807”: “Gorenzweig”)
Claim 1. Gorenzweig discloses a device for a motor vehicle tire [0002] including an inflation valve (1 & 2) comprising an elastomer body (2) [0020-0021] having an internal shoulder (Fig. 1: 2 lower support region) [0021] coming to bear in the tire on a rim edge [0003] & [0046], and including an electronic module (1) of a system for monitoring pressure inside the tire [0047] that is disposed in a housing (Fig. 5: 3 & 7) made of two half-shells (Fig. 5: 3 & 7) assembled along a parting line (Fig. 5: seam between 3 & 7 with 5 between) [0067], wherein the valve (1) includes an elastic ring (Fig. 1b: ring 5 with connector seal 4 to connect inlet 11 to pressure sensor 12) connected to the internal shoulder of the body (Fig. 1: 2 lower flared shoulder) [0062] [0068: The seal 4 of the air inlet 11 is also discernable in the sectional view C-C. In the upper part, the valve 2 can be discerned and the circumferential seal 5 between the housing shells (lower housing shell 3 and upper housing shell 7) can be discerned in the sectional view C-C], receiving the housing (3 & 7) of the electronic module (1) therein to hold same [0083], surrounding the parting line [0067] between the half-shells (3 & 7) thereof [0066-0069].
Claim 2. Dependent on the device for a tire as claimed in claim 1. Gorenzweig further discloses the elastic ring (5) forms a seal about the half-shells (3 & 7), protecting the parting line [0083].
Claim 3. Dependent on the device for a tire as claimed in claim 2. Gorenzweig further discloses the housing (3 & 7) includes an outer groove (Fig. 5: seal 5 in a groove between 3 & 7) surrounding the parting line thereof, receiving the elastic ring (4 & 5).
Claim 7. Dependent on the device for a tire as claimed in claim 1. Gorenzweig further discloses the housing (3 & 7) includes a hole (Fig. 5: opening leading to mounting on plate 16)[0079] receiving the end of a rigid tube (11) of the valve projecting into the elastic ring (Fig. 1b: 5 & 4 with hole in 4).
Claim 8. Dependent on the device for a tire as claimed in claim 1. Gorenzweig further discloses the two half-shells (3 & 7) of the housing are assembled together with an unsealed join [0084].
Claim 9. Dependent on the device for a tire as claimed in claim 1. Gorenzweig further discloses the elastic ring (4 & 5) is formed by one and the same mold with the elastomer valve body [0069].
Claim 10. Dependent on claim 1 a motor vehicle wheel comprising a tire mounted on a rim fitted with an inflation valve (1 & 2), comprising a device (Fig. 1) for a tire as claimed in claim 1. Gorenzweig further discloses including the electronic module housing (3 & 7) thereof that is fastened in the elastic ring (4 & 5) of the valve (1)[0082].
Claim 11. Dependent on claim 10 a method for assembling a wheel as claimed in claim 10, Gorenzweig further discloses the method comprising, before the tire is mounted on the rim, a step of inserting the valve body into a hole in the rim [0046], and a step of fastening the housing (3 & 7) of the electronic module in the elastic ring (4 & 5) of the valve body (1 & 2)[0046].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorenzweig (US 20170232807”: “Gorenzweig”) in view of Raschke (DE 102014202354: “Raschke” translation provided for citations).
Claims 4. Dependent on the device for a tire as claimed in respective claim 3. Gorenzweig, does not explicitly disclose:
the outer groove has a hollow circular arc section.
Raschke teaches a sealing device for a sensor housing [0009]. Raschke further teaches the outer groove [0013: the sealing element is designed as an O-ring, and that the sealing seat is designed as an annular groove, wherein the sensor housing and the housing cover are designed in such a way that, in the assembled state of the sensor housing and housing cover, the groove is created on the outer circumference of this assembly part into which the O-ring can be received] has a hollow circular arc section (Fig. 3: 7 groove with a curved arc portion in the groove) [0030: As shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, the housing shoulder 7 and the cover edge 9 form a sealing seat 10 shaped as a circular groove when the sensor housing 1 and housing cover 8 are assembled].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Raschke’s curved groove with O-ring seal as Gorenzweig’s outer seal portion of the outer seal with attachment because the circular O-ring compressed into a curve arc portion improves the seal contact area with a cost-efficient design [Raschke 0014].
Claims 5 & 12. Dependent on the device for a tire as claimed in respective claims 3 & 4. Gorenzweig, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the elastic ring has a cross section forming a circle fitting into the groove.
Raschke teaches a sealing device for a sensor housing [0009]. Raschke further teaches the elastic ring [0031] has a cross section forming a circle (Figs. 2 & 3: 11 o-ring is circular in depicted cross section) fitting into the groove [0013: the sealing element is designed as an O-ring, and that the sealing seat is designed as an annular groove, wherein the sensor housing and the housing cover are designed in such a way that, in the assembled state of the sensor housing and housing cover, the groove is created on the outer circumference of this assembly part into which the O-ring can be received].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Raschke’s curved groove with deforming O-ring seal as Gorenzweig’s outer seal portion of the outer seal with attachment because the circular O-ring compressed into a curve arc portion improves the seal contact area with a cost-efficient design [Raschke 0014].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorenzweig in view of Kaefer ( EP 1840436: “Kaefer” translation provided for citations).
Claim 6. Dependent on the device for a tire as claimed in respective claim 3. Gorenzweig does not explicitly disclose:
the elastic ring has a cross section comprising a rounded part fitting into the outer groove, extended on each side by a lip that covers the edge of the housing beyond the outer groove thereof.
Kaefer teaches a seal that comprises a combination of an O-ring sealing section and a lip sealing section [0005]. Kaefer further teaches an elastic ring (1) has a cross section comprising a rounded part fitting into the outer groove (2), extended on each side by a lip (4 & 5) that covers the edge of the housing beyond the outer groove thereof [0012: It has an O-ring sealing section, which in this case consists of the O-ring sealing part 2, which is hereinafter also simply referred to as O-ring 2. The lip sealing section 3 is connected to the O-ring 2, in this case in the form of a one-piece or integral unit made of the same material].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kaefer’s o-ring with flap attached with Gorenzweig’s, as modified, o-ring seal because the added flap improves the seal accommodates any radial offsets of a contact seal [Kaefer 0006].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorenzweig in view of Raschke and in further view of Kaefer ( EP 1840436: “Kaefer” translation provided for citations).
Claim 13. Dependent on the device for a tire as claimed in respective claim 4. Gorenzweig does not explicitly disclose:
the elastic ring has a cross section comprising a rounded part fitting into the outer groove, extended on each side by a lip that covers the edge of the housing beyond the outer groove thereof.
Kaefer teaches a seal that comprises a combination of an O-ring sealing section and a lip sealing section [0005]. Kaefer further teaches an elastic ring (1) has a cross section comprising a rounded part fitting into the outer groove (2), extended on each side by a lip (4 & 5) that covers the edge of the housing beyond the outer groove thereof [0012: It has an O-ring sealing section, which in this case consists of the O-ring sealing part 2, which is hereinafter also simply referred to as O-ring 2. The lip sealing section 3 is connected to the O-ring 2, in this case in the form of a one-piece or integral unit made of the same material].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kaefer’s o-ring with flap attached with Gorenzweig’s, as modified, o-ring seal because the added flap improves the seal accommodates any radial offsets of a contact seal [Kaefer 0006].
Prior Art Considered but not Utilized
The prior art made of record and not relied upon and is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided in the following table:
Prior Art Document Identifier
Inventor
Comment
JP 2009154700
KEMPF, CHRISTIAN
TPMG with housing
US 20080121031
Huang; Shiao-Hwa
TPMG with housing and sealing layers
US 20150068297
Duffy; Mark et al.
TPMG with two part housing and sealing ring in between
US 20190300213
Reiner; LeRoy J.
Seal with lip
US 20200001668
Buttimer; Ryan et al.
TPMG with two part housing and sealing ring in between
US 6016102
Fortune; G. Clark
Pressure sensor with two part housing and seal in between
US 7568386
Blossfeld; Mike
TPMG with two part housing and sealing ring in between
US 20150116915
AOKI; Shinya et al.
Seal under a housing cover
US 11738607
Haesemeyer; Christian
TPMG bottom cover
CN 201833837
WU, ZONG-REN
TPMG with housing and sealing layer
CN 204577477
ZHANG, Wen-bo
Seal with flange
CN 205951628
ZHU, Xiao-dong et al.
Close reference with seal between housing elements
DE 10148876
FISCHER MARTIN
TPMG with connector through seal
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Monica S Young whose telephone number is (303)297-4785. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 08:30-05:30 MST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855