Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear if the “connection structure between the supporting rod and the beam rod” introduced in line 2 refers to the same structure as the inserting connection or buckling connection which connect the supporting rod and the beam rod, as introduced in lines 5-6 of claim 1. For examination purposes, it is assumed the connection structure of claim 8 is the same as the inserting or buckling connection of claim 1. Claim 9 is additionally rejected by virtue of its dependence from claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, it is unclear if the “connection structure between the beam rod and longitudinal rod” introduced in line 2 refers to the same structure as the inserting connection or buckling connection which connect the beam rod and longitudinal rod, as introduced in lines 7-8 of claim 1. For examination purposes, it is assumed the connection structure of claim 10 is the same as the inserting or buckling connection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear if the “connection structure between the lateral rod and longitudinal rod” introduced in line 2 refers to the same structure as the inserting connection or buckling connection which connect the lateral rod and longitudinal rod, as introduced in lines 9-10 of claim 1. For examination purposes, it is assumed the connection structure of claim 11 is the same as the inserting or buckling connection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0192778) in view of Liu (U.S. Patent No. 12,022,954).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an assembled bed frame structure (Figure 1), comprising: a bed frame 100 having a supporting rod 11 and a lateral rod 12, a beam rod 42 used as an inner supporting member (Figure 1), and a longitudinal rod 50 defining a bed support surface 50 (Figure 1 and paragraph 0047, where crossing bars may be oriented laterally or longitudinally), wherein: the supporting rod 11 and the beam rod 42 are fixedly connected to each other by an inserting connection 43 and 19 or a buckling connection (Figure 1 and paragraph 0046), the beam rod 42 and the longitudinal rod 50 are fixedly connected to each other by an inserting connection 62 or a buckling connection, (Figure 1 and paragraphs 0047 and 0049, where the support bearings and longitudinal rods may be oriented longitudinally) the lateral rod 12 and the longitudinal rod 50 are fixedly connected to each other by an inserting connection 61 or a buckling connection (Figure 1 and paragraphs 0047 and 0049, where the support bearings and longitudinal rods may be oriented longitudinally), the supporting rod 11 defines a foldable structure (comprising two longitudinal segments 18) at a middle hinge 112 (Figure 1 and paragraph 0031), the middle hinge 112 is disposed with a supporting leg 32, ends of the supporting rod 11 are each disposed with a bed leg for support 20 (Figure 1 and paragraph 0053, where legs 20 may be coupled with the longitudinal bar 11), the ends of the supporting rod 11 are each disposed with a fixed seat, the bed leg is rotatably connected to the fixed seat (defined by the end portion of longitudinal bar, Figure 5 and paragraph 0053, where legs 20 may be coupled with the longitudinal bar 11), the fixed seat is disposed with a locking member 15, the bed leg 20 is disposed with a first locking component 22 (Figure 6), when the bed leg 20 is rotated to a support state, the first locking component 22 and the locking member 15 are locked to each other so that the bed leg 20 is locked in the support state (Figures 5-6 and paragraphs 0055-0056).
Choi does not disclose wherein the fixed seat comprises an insertion opening, which is configured for a connection with the lateral rod, the fixed seat is disposed with a locking member, the bed leg is disposed with a second locking component, when the bed leg is in a support state the second locking component enables an insertion end of the lateral rod to be locked in the insertion opening.
Liu teaches wherein the ends of the supporting rod 104 are each disposed with a fixed seat 150, the fixed seat 150 comprises an insertion opening (defined by the open top into which the lateral rod is inserted, Figure 13), which is configured for a connection with the lateral rod 208 (Figure 13), the bed leg 112 is disposed with a second locking component 146, when the bed leg 112 is in the support state, the second locking component 146 enables an insertion end of the lateral rod 108 to be locked in the insertion opening (Figure 13 and Col. 9, lines 25-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi with Liu (both being directed to detachable bed frames) such that the fixed seat comprises an insertion opening configured for a connection with the lateral rod and disposed with a locking member, the bed leg is disposed a second locking component which enables an insertion end of the lateral rod to be locked in the insertion opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the locking component of Liu allows for the members of the corners of the bed frame to be fixedly secured together to prevent relative movement between each component (Figure 13 and Col. 6, lines 20-40, Col. 9, lines 25-58).
Regarding claim 8, Choi, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Choi, as modified, further discloses wherein: a connection structure 19 and 43 between the supporting rod 11 and the beam rod 42 comprises a slot 19 located on a rod body of the supporting rod 11 and a buckle sheet 43 located on an end portion of the beam rod 42, and the slot 19 and the buckle sheet 43 define a snap connection (see Choi, Figures 1-2 and paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 9, Choi, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Choi, as modified, further discloses a buckle width of the slot 19 is in a trapezoidal shape along an insertion direction, and the buckle sheet 43 is gradually clamped with the slot 19 along the insertion direction (see Choi, Figures 1-2 and paragraph 0046).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Liu and further in view of Li (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0372138).
Regarding claim 10, Choi, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Choi, as modified, further discloses a connection structure between the beam rod 42 and the longitudinal rod 11 (see Choi, Figure 1 and paragraphs 0047 and 0049, where the support bearings and longitudinal rods may be oriented longitudinally). Choi, as modified, does not disclose the connection structure between the beam rod and the longitudinal rod comprises a buckle opening with an elastic clamping member located on a rod body of the beam rod and a buckle portion having a clamping hole located on an end portion of the longitudinal rod, and the buckle portion is inserted into the buckle opening along an insertion direction to define a snap connection with the elastic clamping member.
Li teaches a connection structure between the beam rod 2 and the longitudinal rod 10 comprises a buckle opening 21 with an elastic clamping member 4 located on a rod body of the beam rod 2 and a buckle portion 31 having a clamping hole 312 located on an end portion of the longitudinal rod 10, and the buckle portion 31 is inserted into the buckle opening 21 along an insertion direction to define a snap connection with the elastic clamping member 4 (Figures 1-6 and paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi, as modified, with Li (both being directed to bed frames) with a buckle opening with an elastic clamping member located on the beam rod and a buckle portion inserted into the buckle opening having a clamping hole located on an end portion of the longitudinal rod to define a snap connection with the elastic clamping member. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the clamping member of Li allows for a tight connection between the slats and the beams without requiring the use of tools to assemble them (paragraphs 0003-0005).
Regarding claim 11, Choi, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Choi, as modified, further discloses a connection structure between the longitudinal rod 11 and the lateral rod 12 (see Choi, Figure 1 and paragraphs 0047 and 0049). Choi, as modified, does not disclose the connection structure between the lateral rod and the longitudinal rod comprises a buckle opening with an elastic clamping member located on a rod body of the lateral rod and a buckle portion having a clamping hole located on an end portion of the longitudinal rod, and the buckle portion is inserted into the buckle opening along an insertion direction to define a snap connection with the elastic clamping member.
Li teaches a connection structure between the lateral rod 2 and the longitudinal rod 10 comprises a buckle opening 21 with an elastic clamping member 4 located on a rod body of the lateral rod 2 and a buckle portion 31 having a clamping hole 312 located on an end portion of the longitudinal rod 10, and the buckle portion 31 is inserted into the buckle opening 21 along an insertion direction to define a snap connection with the elastic clamping member 4 (Figures 1-6 and paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi, as modified, with Li (both being directed to bed frames) with a buckle opening with an elastic clamping member located on the beam rod and a buckle portion inserted into the buckle opening having a clamping hole located on an end portion of the longitudinal rod to define a snap connection with the elastic clamping member. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the clamping member of Li allows for a tight connection between the slats and the beams without requiring the use of tools to assemble them (paragraphs 0003-0005).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Choi, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Choi, as modified, further discloses a joint between the bed leg 20 and the fixed seat (defined by the end portion of longitudinal bar, see Choi Figure 5 and paragraph 0053, where legs 20 may be coupled with the longitudinal bar 11) is disposed with a rotating seat 21, the rotating seat 21 is pivotally connected to the fixed seat (see Choi, Figure 5 and paragraph 0054), the first locking component 22 is disposed on a first side of the rotating seat 21 connected to the fixed seat (see Choi, Figures 5-6). Choi, as modified, does not disclose the second locking component is disposed on a second side of the rotating seat connected to the bed leg. Liu, which is cited above for teaching the second locking component 146 (Figure 13 and Col. 9, lines 25-58), teaches the second locking component 146 being attached directly to the bed leg 112 (Figure 13). Liu, requires that the second locking component 146 be attached directly to the top of the leg such that the leg, lateral rod, and longitudinal rod may be attached together in a vertical direction. In Choi, however, the side of the rotating seat in which the first locking component 22 is placed is the same side that the leg 20 is placed, allowing for the rotating seat 21 to rotate in a way that the leg is flush with the longitudinal rod when the bed frame is disassembled (see Choi, Figures 5-6, where the spring button 15 and corresponding hole 22 are positioned directly above the leg 20). As such, there would be no motivation to modify Choi such that the first locking component is positioned on a second side of the rotating seat, attached to the fixed seat, which is different from a first side, attached to the leg. Claims 3-7 are additionally objected to by virtue of their dependence on claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0055235) which discloses a bed frame comprising a leg disposed on a rotating seat.
Jin (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0125255) which discloses a bed frame comprising a buckling/inserting connection between a beam rod and a longitudinal rod.
Lee (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0299831) which discloses a bed frame comprising a buckling/inserting connection between a beam rod and a longitudinal rod.
Qiu (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0345148) which discloses a bed frame comprising elastic clamping members.
/ALISON N LABARGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679