DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are:
Claim 4 recites “-- the first area of the first printed circuit board comprises a recess configured to be connected to the second area --”. However, it is unclear how the recited “recess”, which appears to be a void, notch, or indentation in the first area, is “connected to” the second area of the printed circuit board. The claim does not clearly define whether the second area extends from the recess, is connected to the first area at the recess, is received in the recess, or is otherwise merely adjacent to the recess. Accordingly, the structural relationship between the recess and the second area is unclear. To fix this, the language should be amended to describe the structural relationship of the physical parts, such as: "--comprises a recess from which the second area extends--", "--comprises a recess, and the second area is connected to the first area at the recess--" or "--comprises a recess configured to receive the second area--".
Because claims 5-7, and 12 depend from claim 4, they inherit this ambiguity, fail to cure the deficiency.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the conductive waterproof member" in claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, from which claim 9 depends, recites “a conductive waterproof film” and does not provide antecedent basis for “the conductive waterproof member”. It is unclear whether “the conductive waterproof member” refers to the previously recited conductive waterproof film or to a different conductive waterproof component. Applicant may clarify the claim by amending “the conductive waterproof member” to “the conductive waterproof film”, if that is the intended meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 8–11, and 13–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jung (Jung et al., US 2020/0265212 A1, 2020; as provided by the applicant in the IDS filed 5/30/2024), in view of Choi (Choi et al, WO/2016/036046, 2016).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches an electronic device comprising:
a housing including an opening formed through a first surface of the housing; and
( [0064–0067], [0075–0076]: Jung teaches a housing 410 that includes a side member 403 having an opening 4031 formed through its outer surface. )
a fingerprint sensor assembly coupled so that at least a part of the fingerprint sensor assembly is disposed to pass through the opening,
( [0067–0069], [0075–0077]: Jung teaches a sensor key assembly 4200 disposed in and passing through the opening 4031 of the side member 403, with the sensing face of the fingerprint sensor exposed on the exterior of the device. )
wherein the fingerprint sensor assembly comprises:
a fingerprint sensor;
a first printed circuit board the fingerprint sensor,
( [0068–0069], [0086–0088]: Jung teaches a fingerprint sensor 420 is mounted on third face 421, a of circuit board 421, and that circuit board 421 to which fingerprint sensor 420 is bonded is electrically connected to the PCB by flexible circuit board 422 and connector 4220. )
wherein the opening includes a first space exposed to an outside of the electronic device and having a first size, and a second space extending from the first space in an inner direction of the electronic device and having a second size smaller than the first size, and
( [0072], [0075–0080], [0100–0103], [0115–0119]: Jung teaches the opening 4031 is stepped, the opening 4031 in side member 403 exposing the sensing face of the fingerprint sensor to the exterior environment, and mounting opening 4040 recessed inward in the second direction to accommodate the sensor key assembly. Jung further teaches a waterproof structure 443 separating and sealing second space S2 from first space S1. Jung also teaches first and second stepped portions 4032 and 4033 in opening 4031 that form first and second gaps g1 and g2, with the stepped portions becoming gradually smaller in step shape. The opening 4031 has a wider outer area where the top of the sensor key sits [the first space exposed to the outside], and it steps down to a narrower inner hole defined by a "second stepped portion 4033" through which the flexible circuit board passes [the second space, smaller than the first size]. )
at least a part of the fingerprint sensor assembly is positioned in the first space.
( [0072], [0089], [0103]: The exterior portion of the sensor 420 sits in that wider S1, outer first space so the user can touch it. )
Jung teaches waterproofing around the sensor key assembly, but fails to teach the claimed conductive waterproof film between the fingerprint sensor and the first PCB where Choi teaches:
a conductive waterproof film attached to one surface of the fingerprint sensor; and
a first printed circuit board at least partially attached to one surface of the conductive waterproof film,
( [21–22], [34–36], [45–46], [65], [82-87], [111]: Choi teaches: An anisotropic conductive film (ACF 500), constituting the conductive waterproof film, provided on one surface of the main board (300) and attached to one surface of the fingerprint sensor (auxiliary board 150 of sensing unit 110), wherein a first printed circuit board (main board 300) is attached to one surface of the ACF (500), the ACF simultaneously electrically connecting the fingerprint sensor terminals to the main board terminals and sealing the space therebetween to block ingress of moisture from the outside. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Jung’s electronic device to include Choi’s conductive resin, such as an anisotropic conductive film, between the fingerprint sensor and the circuit board/ main board. Jung discloses portable electronic devices with biometric fingerprint sensor assemblies integrated into a housing opening, which is the same general invention concept as the instant application. Jung further teaches waterproofing around the side-mounted fingerprint sensor assembly. However, Jung does not expressly teach that the waterproofing is provided by a conductive waterproof film disposed between the fingerprint sensor and the first printed circuit board. Choi is in the same fingerprint sensor module field and teaches that a conductive resin, which is an anisotropic conductive film, is provided between a fingerprint sensor and a main board to electrically connect the fingerprint sensor and the main board while sealing the space therebetween to block moisture from the outside. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Choi’s conductive waterproof ACF/ resin interface into Jung’s fingerprint sensor assembly to improve waterproofing and electrical connection reliability at the sensor-to-board interface, prevent moisture-related short circuits, and maintain a robust bonded assembly. The modification would have been a predictable use of a known conductive waterproof interconnect in a similar fingerprint sensor assembly to obtain the expected benefits of electrical connection and moisture sealing.
Regarding claim 2, Jung [as modified by Choi] teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the conductive waterproof film comprises an anisotropic conductive film.
( [22], [34], [87], [111]: Choi teaches that conductive resin 500, which electrically connects the fingerprint sensor and main board and seals the space therebetween to block moisture, is an anisotropic conductive film, ACF. )
Regarding claim 3, Jung [as modified by Choi] teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first printed circuit board includes a first area attached to the conductive waterproof film, and a second area bent in a substantially vertical direction from the first area, and
wherein the first area is disposed in the first space, and the second area is at least partially disposed in the second space.
( [0067-0069], [0141], [Fig: 5B, 10, 13-14]: Jung teaches a flexible circuit board 422 having a first flat area electrically connected to the sensor key assembly 4200 and disposed within the first space S1, and a second area bent in a substantially vertical direction from the first area and passing through the waterproof structure 443 into the second space S2, wherein the first area is disposed in the first space and the second area is at least partially disposed in the second space. )
Regarding claim 8, Jung [as modified by Choi] teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the housing further includes a second surface positioned between the first space and the second space, and the second surface is configured so that the fingerprint sensor assembly is attached thereto.
( [0066], [0076], [0080-0082], [0120-0123], [FIG. 5B, 9A–9B, 13–14]: Jung teaches that support member 404 includes a first face and a second face, that mounting opening 4040 is recessed in the support member and accommodates sensor key assembly 4200 and key assembly structure 4300, and that waterproof structure 443 is mounted on the support member to separate first space S1, in which the sensor key assembly is located, from second space S2, in which the PCB is located. )
Regarding claim 9, Jung [as modified by Choi] teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the fingerprint sensor includes a first surface facing a first direction, the first direction being an outer direction of the electronic device and including a fingerprint measurement area, and a second surface facing a second direction opposite to the first direction, and in contact with the conductive waterproof member.
( [0075], [0086–0088]: Jung teaches fingerprint sensor 420 having a sensing face exposed to the exterior environment through opening 4031 of side member 403, wherein the exposed partial face is a surface capable of detecting the user’s fingerprint. Jung further teaches that fingerprint sensor 420 is mounted on third face 421a of circuit board 421. Choi, in [66–68], [84–88], teaches conductive resin or ACF 500 disposed between the fingerprint sensor and board to electrically connect the fingerprint sensor and board while sealing the space therebetween to block moisture. Accordingly, the outward-facing first surface of the fingerprint sensor includes the fingerprint measurement area, and the opposite second surface contacts the conductive waterproof ACF member. )
Regarding claim 10, Jung [as modified by Choi] teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein at least a part of the housing has a curved surface, and the first surface includes a curved surface corresponding to the curved surface of the housing.
( [Fig. 4], [0064]: Jung teaches an electronic device housing having side member 403, with sensor key assembly 4200 disposed in opening 4031 of the side member and the sensing face of fingerprint sensor 420 exposed at the exterior of the side member. Jung’s device figures show rounded/ curved exterior housing portions, and Jung teaches the fingerprint sensor 420 is assembled to the side member such that its exposed sensing face forms a side key top at the exterior of the housing. )
Regarding claim 11, Jung [as modified by Choi] teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a first output pad portion disposed on the fingerprint sensor and a second output pad portion disposed on the first printed circuit board are configured to be electrically connected through the conductive waterproof film.
( [0023-0024], [0036], [0067-0068], [0079-0083]: Choi teaches a first terminal 155 disposed on one surface of the auxiliary board 150 of the fingerprint sensor and a second terminal 310 disposed on one surface of the main board 300, wherein the first and second terminals are electrically connected through the anisotropic conductive film ACF 500 via conductive particles 510 included in the ACF, the first and second terminals thus constituting the first and second output pad portions electrically connected through the conductive waterproof film. )
Regarding claim 13, Jung [as modified by Choi] teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the fingerprint sensor assembly and the housing are coupled by a waterproof adhesive member comprising a waterproof adhesive material disposed between the fingerprint sensor assembly and the housing.
( [0072], [0074], [0080–0083], [0129–0134], [0138–0141]: Jung teaches waterproof structure 443 mounted between support member 404 of the housing and the key assembly structure to seal the gap between first space S1, where sensor key assembly 4200 is located, and second space S2, where the PCB is located. Jung further teaches first and second waterproof tapes 442 and 444 attached between bottom dummy 441 and support member 404, attached along the circumference of mounting opening 4040, and implemented using double-sided tape. )
Regarding claim 14, Jung [as modified by Choi] teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the second area of the first printed circuit board is electrically connected to a second printed circuit board disposed in the housing.
( [0066-0069], [0088-0089], [0133], [0141]: Jung teaches a printed circuit board PCB disposed inside housing 410 between the display and the second plate. Jung further teaches flexible circuit board 422 electrically connecting sensor key assembly 4200 to the PCB, with one end connected to the sensor key assembly and the other end connected to the PCB by connector 4220. Jung also teaches that the remaining portion of the flexible circuit board 422 and connector 4220 are disposed in second space S2, where the PCB is located, after passing through the waterproof structure. )
Claims 4–7, 12, and 15–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jung [as modified by Choi], in view of Lei (Lei et al, CN 105404880 B, 2020).
Regarding claim 4, Jung [as modified by Choi] teaches the electronic device of claim 3,
While Jung [as modified by Choi] details the general sensor circuit board structure, but fails to discloses where Lei explicitly teaches:
wherein the first area of the first printed circuit board comprises a recess configured to be connected to the second area, and
( [Fig. 2-4], [0021–0022], [0024], [0065–0066], [0071]: Lei teaches a flexible FPC substrate 30 covering the surface of the sensor die 21 and extending to one side with a connecting piece 36, wherein "A long strip of flexible FPC substrate 30 and connector 36 extends from the side not covering the sensor die 21" such that the flat first area of the FPC substrate covering the sensor die surface includes a recess at the junction from which the connecting piece 36 extends outward, the recess being configured to connect the flat first area to the extending second area of the FPC substrate. )
the fingerprint sensor assembly further comprises a reinforcement plate corresponding to a shape of the recess, disposed on the fingerprint sensor, and having a thickness substantially the same as a thickness of the first printed circuit board.
( [Fig. 2-5], [0016], [0023–0024], [0068–0070]: Lei teaches that the fingerprint sensor assembly includes reinforcing plate 31 for supporting sensor die 21, located on the back side of the die. Lei further teaches filler material 32, made of epoxy resin/adhesive or other integrated circuit packaging material, filled between the front side of sensor die 21 and flexible FPC substrate 30. The reinforcing plate 31 corresponding in shape to the sensor die area and disposed at a position complementary to the recess of the FPC substrate, and having a thickness corresponding to that of the flexible FPC substrate 30 so as to provide uniform structural support to the sensor assembly, helps protect the fingerprint sensor assembly from mechanical, electrical, and environmental damage, and can absorb vibration/impact when a finger presses or slides on the sensor surface. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Jung [as modified by Choi]’s fingerprint sensor assembly, to include Lei’s FPC connection-piece and reinforcement-plate arrangement. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to provide a recess or cutout at the transition between the sensor-attached FPC area and the extending FPC connection area to compactly route the connection piece toward the internal PCB and reduce stress at the FPC transition. It also would have been obvious to shape and dimension the reinforcement plate to correspond to that FPC transition region and adjacent PCB/ FPC thickness, because doing so would provide a compact, mechanically stable sensor assembly capable of withstanding external pressing or sliding forces. The modification is a predictable use of known FPC packaging and reinforcement techniques to improve durability, compactness, and reliability in a fingerprint sensor assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Jung [as modified by Choi and Lei] teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the fingerprint sensor assembly further comprises an adhesive member comprising an adhesive material disposed on the first area of the first printed circuit board and the reinforcement plate and including a first hole through which the second area of the first printed circuit board passes.
( Lei, [0016], [0023], [0068–0071]: Lei teaches filler material 32, such as epoxy resin/glue or other suitable packaging material, disposed between fingerprint sensor die 21 and flexible layer 24/FPC substrate 30. Lei also teaches that reinforcement plate 31 is installed on the back side of fingerprint sensor die 21 and that metal support 33 includes opening 35 through which FPC connection piece 36 extends. Lei further teaches that, during assembly, the fingerprint sensor assembly 20 is fixed in the slot of housing 11 by adhesive and that FPC connection piece 36 passes through opening 35 of metal support 33. )
Regarding claim 6, Jung [as modified by Choi and Lei] teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the fingerprint sensor assembly further comprises a support disposed on the adhesive member and including a second hole through which the second area of the first printed circuit board passes.
( Lei, [0024], [0069], [0071], [Fig. 5]: Lei teaches metal support 33 sleeved over the edge portion of flexible FPC substrate 30 and configured to support the fingerprint sensor assembly. Lei teaches that metal support 33 includes opening 35, and that FPC connection piece 36 passes through opening 35 to electrically connect the fingerprint sensor assembly 20 to internal PCB 50 through connector 51. )
Regarding claim 7, Jung [as modified by Choi and Lei] teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the fingerprint sensor assembly further comprises an epoxy disposed to fill the first hole of the adhesive member and the second hole of the support.
( Lei [0016], [0023], [0068], [0070], [Fig 2 & 4]: Lei teaches filler material 32 disposed between fingerprint sensor die 21 and flexible layer 24/FPC substrate 30 to protect the sensor assembly from mechanical, electrical, and environmental damage. Lei further teaches that the filler material 32 may be epoxy resin/glue or another suitable integrated-circuit packaging material. Lei also teaches applying the filler material during assembly before attaching reinforcement plate 31 and assembling the sensor assembly with metal support 33 and PCB 50. The epoxy resin filler material 32 filling the space between the sensor die 21 and the flexible layer 24 including the hole areas of the adhesive member and the support through which the connecting piece passes. )
Regarding claim 12, Jung [as modified by Choi and Lei] teaches the electronic device of claim 4,
wherein the conductive waterproof film includes a first part to which the first printed circuit board is attached, and a second part to which the reinforcement plate is attached.
( Choi [20–22], [34–36], [66–68], [84–88], [111–116]: Choi teaches conductive resin 500, which may be an anisotropic conductive film, ACF, disposed between fingerprint sensor 100 and main board 300 to electrically connect the fingerprint sensor and the board while sealing the space therebetween to block moisture. Lei, in [0016], [0021–0024], [0065–0070], teaches a fingerprint sensor assembly including flexible FPC substrate 30 coupled to fingerprint sensor die 21, reinforcing plate 31 mounted on the back side of the fingerprint sensor die, and filler material 32, such as epoxy resin/ adhesive, between the fingerprint sensor die and the flexible FPC substrate to support and protect the sensor/ FPC stack. Therefore, arranging Choi’s conductive waterproof ACF/ resin in the Lei-type reinforced fingerprint sensor/FPC stack so that a first portion of the conductive waterproof film attaches the first printed circuit board/FPC and a second portion attaches the reinforcement plate, thereby providing electrical connection, waterproof sealing, bonding strength, and compact mechanical support for the fingerprint sensor assembly. )
Regarding claims 15-20. The rationale provided for claim 1-14 is incorporated herein. In addition, the electronic device of claims 1-14 correspond to the electronic device of claim 15-20, and performs the steps disclosed herein. Therefore, the claims are all rejected.
Conclusion
KEN KUDO
Examiner
Art Unit 2671
/KEN KUDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2671
/VINCENT RUDOLPH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2671