DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 04 September 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed; claims 1-20 are now pending in the application, with claims 12-14 being withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 04 September 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s first argument (pages 7-8 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, that the limitation “pilot fit” is sufficiently described and definite because “the term is interpreted with its plain meaning” and “a person of skill in the art would understand the term”. However, neither of these constitutes the standard for either written description or definiteness. Thus, the argument does not address the grounds of rejection. Further, it is noted that the paragraphs cited from the specification, which the argument alleges provide a “description of the features that are recited” in the claims, only disclose the term “pilot fit” without providing any description or explanation of what features the term might include. Thus, this argument is unpersuasive and said previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
The Applicant’s second argument (pages 8-12 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, that the prior art does not disclose the language of the amended claims. Specifically, the argument alleges that the prior art does not disclose “an attachment device extending through the first section, the second section, and the flange” of the housing. While it is acknowledged that the primary reference, Vanhee, does not disclose this feature, one of the secondary references, Chamberlin, does disclose this feature. Thus, this argument is unpersuasive and new grounds of rejection have been applied below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 8 and 16 recite a “pilot fit” between the housing and the sleeve. While a “pilot fit” is known in the art as generally comprising some form of projecting surface, often cylindrical, to ensure proper alignment of two components, no such surface is evident in the drawings of the present application. Further, since the written description includes no explanation of the structure, besides the term “pilot fit”, it is unclear what structure corresponds to the claimed interface.
Claim(s) 8 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 16 recite a “pilot fit” between the housing and the sleeve. This term is indefinite for the same reasons given above. Further, in the grounds of rejection below, since no corresponding structure has been clearly disclosed, this term has simply been interpreted as requiring that inner and outer surfaces of the housing and sleeve, respectively, be in contact with one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanhee et al. (US 2023/0093220 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Vanhee”, in view of Chamberlin et al. (US 2014/0265659 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chamberlin”.
Regarding claim 1, Vanhee discloses an electric machine [101] cooling system [102] (fig. 1-6; ¶ 0017), comprising:
a sleeve [214] enclosing a stator [200] and a rotor [210] (fig. 2; ¶ 0030);
a housing [216-218] including a first section [216] and a second section [217], wherein the second section [217] is removably coupled to the sleeve [214] and the first section [216] circumferentially encloses a portion of the sleeve [214] (fig. 2; ¶ 0030, 0033, 0035); and
a fluid inlet [120] extending through at least one of the sleeve [214] and the housing [216] and is in fluidic communication with a first end winding chamber [ewc1] that surrounds a stator end winding [203] (fig. 2; ¶ 0045);
wherein the first end winding chamber [ewc1] is included in a stator cooling assembly [112] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020-0021); and
wherein the sleeve [214] includes a flange [214f] (fig. 2; ¶ 0033; the housing components are fixed “via bolts, screws, and/or other suitable attachment devices”).
Vanhee does not disclose an attachment device extending through the first section [216], the second section [217], and the flange [214f].
Chamberlin discloses an electric machine [1] (fig. 1-5; ¶ 0027), comprising a sleeve [11] enclosing a rotor [4] and a stator [2] (fig. 4a-4b; ¶ 0027); a housing [13,19] including a first section [13] and a second section [19], wherein the second section [19] is removably coupled to the sleeve [11] and the first section [13] circumferentially encloses a portion of the sleeve [11] (fig. 4a-4b; ¶ 0028); wherein the sleeve [11] includes a flange [201], and an attachment device [20] extending through the first section [13], the second section [19], and the flange [201] (fig. 4a-4b; ¶ 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the housing and sleeve of Vanhee secured via an attachment device as taught by Chamberlin, in order to form boundaries to contain the coolant within the cooling channels (¶ 0030 of Chamberlin).
Regarding claim 2, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the sleeve [214] includes a section that forms a boundary of the first end winding chamber [ewc1] (fig. 2; the left-most portion of the sleeve extends axially beyond the stator and forms the outer radial surface of the first end winding chamber).
Regarding claim 3, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the stator cooling assembly [112] includes:
a second end winding chamber [ewc2] positioned on a second axial side of the electric machine [101] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020-0021); and
a cooling channel [230,232] axially extending through a stator core [202] and in fluidic communication with the first end winding chamber [ewc1] and the second end winding chamber [ewc2] (fig. 2; ¶ 0037-0038).
Regarding claim 5, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 3, as stated above, further comprising a first end winding sealing component [217] forming at least a portion of a boundary of the first end winding chamber [ewc1] (fig. 2; ¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 6, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 5, as stated above, further comprising a second end winding sealing component [218] forming at least a portion of a boundary of the second end winding chamber [ewc2] (fig. 2; ¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 7, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 5, wherein the first end winding sealing component [217] is coupled with the sleeve [214] (fig. 2; ¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 8, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the housing [216] is pilot fit to the sleeve [214] (fig. 2; ¶ 0035; the surfaces are in “face sharing contact”).
Regarding claim 9, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 1, as stated above, further comprising a seal [302,402] positioned at an interface between the housing [216] and the sleeve [214] adjacent to the fluid inlet [120] (fig. 3-4; ¶ 0046-0047).
Regarding claim 10, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein a working fluid in the stator cooling assembly [112] is oil (¶ 0020-0021).
Regarding claim 11, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 1, as stated above. Vanhee does not disclose that the electric machine [101] is a multi-phase electric machine.
Chamberlin further discloses an electric machine [1] (fig. 1-5; ¶ 0027), wherein the electric machine is a multi-phase electric machine (fig. 4a; ¶ 0027, 0044; the machine is a three-phase traction motor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the traction motor of Vanhee having multiple phases as taught by Chamberlin, in order to increase performance and efficiency by providing more power in a smaller space (¶ 0004, 0036 of Chamberlin).
Regarding claim 15, Vanhee discloses a traction motor [101] immersion cooling system [102] (fig. 1-6; ¶ 0017), comprising:
a sleeve [214] enclosing a stator [200] and a rotor [210] (fig. 2; ¶ 0030);
a housing [216-218] including a first section [216] and a second section [217], wherein the second section [217] is removably coupled to the sleeve [214] and the first section [216] circumferentially encloses a portion of the sleeve [214] (fig. 2; ¶ 0030, 0033, 0035); and
a fluid inlet [120] extending through at least one of the sleeve [214] and the housing [216] and is in fluidic communication with a first end winding chamber [ewc1] that surrounds a stator end winding [203] (fig. 2; ¶ 0045);
wherein the first end winding chamber [ewc1] is included in a stator cooling assembly [112] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020-0021); and
wherein the sleeve [214] includes a flange [214f] (fig. 2; ¶ 0033; the housing components are fixed “via bolts, screws, and/or other suitable attachment devices”).
Vanhee does not disclose an attachment device extending through the first section [216], the second section [217], and the flange [214f].
Chamberlin discloses an electric machine [1] (fig. 1-5; ¶ 0027), comprising a sleeve [11] enclosing a rotor [4] and a stator [2] (fig. 4a-4b; ¶ 0027); a housing [13,19] including a first section [13] and a second section [19], wherein the second section [19] is removably coupled to the sleeve [11] and the first section [13] circumferentially encloses a portion of the sleeve [11] (fig. 4a-4b; ¶ 0028); wherein the sleeve [11] includes a flange [201], and an attachment device [20] extending through the first section [13], the second section [19], and the flange [201] (fig. 4a-4b; ¶ 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the housing and sleeve of Vanhee secured via an attachment device as taught by Chamberlin, in order to form boundaries to contain the coolant within the cooling channels (¶ 0030 of Chamberlin).
Regarding claim 16, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the traction motor [101] immersion cooling system [102] of claim 15, as stated above, wherein the housing [216] forms a pilot fit interface with the sleeve [214] (fig. 2; ¶ 0035; the surfaces are in “face sharing contact”).
Regarding claim 17, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the traction motor [101] immersion cooling system [102] of claim 16, as stated above, wherein a diameter of the pilot fit interface is substantially constant along an axial length from the flange [214f] to an axial end (fig. 2; the surfaces are shown extending substantially straight in the axial direction).
Regarding claim 18, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the traction motor [101] immersion cooling system [102] of claim 15, as stated above, wherein the stator cooling assembly [112] is pressurized (fig. 2; ¶ 0021; the system is pressurized by pump [116]) and includes:
the first end winding chamber [ewc1] positioned on a first axial side of the traction motor [101] and in direct fluidic communication with the fluid inlet [120] (fig. 2; ¶ 0045);
a second end winding chamber [ewc2] positioned on a second axial side of the traction motor [101] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020-0021); and
a cooling channel [230,232] axially extending through a stator core [202] (fig. 2; ¶ 0037-0038).
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanhee and Chamberlin as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Lehmann (US 2023/0043424 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Lehmann”.
Regarding claim 4, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the electric machine [101] cooling system [102] of claim 3, as stated above, further comprising a pump [116] (fig. 2; ¶ 0021).
Vanhee does not disclose a rotor shaft conduit in fluidic communication with the second end winding chamber [ewc2] and the pump [116].
Lehmann discloses an electric machine [1] cooling system [200] (fig. 5; ¶ 0158) comprising a rotor shaft [212] and end winding chambers (fig. 5; ¶ 0145-0148), further comprising a rotor shaft conduit [230] in fluidic communication with the second end winding chamber (fig. 5; ¶ 0146-0148, 0150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the back cover and shaft of Vanhee having fluid conduits as taught by Lehmann, in order to provide a uniform distribution of the cooling fluid within the electric machine (¶ 0055-0056 of Lehmann).
Regarding claim 20, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the traction motor [101] immersion cooling system [102] of claim 18, as stated above, further comprising a back cover [217] (fig. 2; ¶ 0033).
Vanhee does not disclose the back cover [217] that forms a portion of a boundary of a conduit that directs fluid from the second end winding chamber to a rotor shaft conduit.
Lehmann discloses a traction motor [1] immersion cooling system [200] (fig. 5; ¶ 0158) comprising a rotor shaft [212] and end winding chambers (fig. 5; ¶ 0145-0148), further comprising a back cover [60] that forms a portion of a boundary of a conduit [208] that directs fluid from the second end winding chamber to a rotor shaft conduit [230] (fig. 5; ¶ 0145-0148, 0150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the back cover and shaft of Vanhee having fluid conduits as taught by Lehmann, in order to provide a uniform distribution of the cooling fluid within the electric machine (¶ 0055-0056 of Lehmann).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanhee and Chamberlin as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0109350 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Kim”.
Regarding claim 19, Vanhee, in view of Chamberlin, discloses the traction motor [101] immersion cooling system [102] of claim 18, as stated above. Vanhee does not disclose that the first end winding chamber [ewc1] includes a seal that is adjacent to an inner diameter of the stator.
Kim discloses a traction motor immersion cooling system [1] comprising a stator [80] with a first end winding chamber [300] (fig. 1; ¶ 0047), wherein the first end winding chamber [300] includes a seal [200a] that is adjacent to an inner diameter of the stator [80] (fig. 1; ¶ 0050-0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the traction motor of Vanhee having seals on the inner sides of the end winding chambers as taught by Kim, in order to separate the cooling fluid of the rotor and the stator thereby increasing cooling efficiency of the stator core and the coils (¶ 0026-0027 of Kim).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Vanhee et al. (US 2023/0261536 A1) discloses a traction motor with a cooling system, comprising a sleeve within a housing, a fluid inlet, and a shaft conduit directing a cooling fluid over end windings of the stator.
Lang et al. (US 2022/0200373 A1) discloses a traction motor with a cooling system comprising a sleeve within a housing, and a fluid inlet directing a cooling fluid over end windings of the stator.
Brauer et al. (US 2017/0012500 A1) discloses a motor with a cooling system comprising a fluid inlet and a shaft conduit directing a cooling fluid over the end windings of the stator.
Iund et al. (US 2008/0024020 A1) discloses a motor with a cooling system, comprising a sleeve within a housing, a fluid inlet, and a shaft conduit directing a cooling fluid over end windings of the stator.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/about-ptab/new-ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/patent-trial-and-appeal-board-pro-bono-program-independent. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final replay that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834